We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,999)
Filter reviews
2,999 results
Traveler rating
2,133
630
146
65
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,133
630
146
65
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotus leafchef's tablecrossing guardbeach grilllotus restaurantcoffee barday bedtree house styleshort walk across the streetjerk chickenjohn waynetree frogsa la carte restaurantbloody baysmall resortpiano manour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 2,999 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2018

We chose to stay at SATP because of its size (small) and because it was adults only. We don't usually do all inclusives, but we were only in Negril for 3 nights and wanted the convenience. We were in room 106, which was towards the back of the resort. It was clean and spacious, and the fan and A/C worked well. The mini fridge was also stocked with bottled water, some soda and Red Stripe.

Things we loved:
1) The SATP section of the beach was by far the cleanest on Bloody Bay while we were there (the week before Christmas). We walked the entire length of the beach and the sections in front of Couples was the worst for seaweed and garbage.
2) The coffee bar - we appreciate quality coffee and americanos here were great.
3) Small size of the resort allowed us to get to know some of the other guests.
4) Spa attendants were fantastic - she got all the knots out of my back muscles!
5) We felt very welcomed when we first arrived - literally every staff member said welcome or hello.

Things we didn't love as much:
1) Despite our room location, we could hear traffic from the road at night. The property isn't set that far back from the road, so this is likely an issue for most of the rooms. We weren't too bothered by it though.
2) The late afternoon fogging of the property. I understand the thinking behind it, but it's really unpleasant to be around while it's happening. I'd avoid the pool area at this time.
3) Wifi didn't work in our room the first half of our stay, but it was fixed and mostly worked after that.

Things we could have done without:
1) House wine offerings were terrible, even the sparkling. I'm more fussy than my husband, but even he couldn't stomach the wine offerings. We aren't big cocktail fans, so we ended up drinking rum and Red Stripe most of the time, which got a bit tiring. The other option was to pay for upgraded bottles, which we didn't do.
2) Questionable food quality at the buffet - we had the seafood feast at the buffet on our final night and I ended with a very upset stomach later that evening, which carried on throughout the next day. My husband also had issues after eating at the breakfast buffet the following morning so not sure what it was (we only ate food at the resort during our stay so it wasn't outside food). I usually expect stomach issues to come up when eating at a resort buffet, but the timing was terrible as we had to travel home that afternoon.

SATP is located in a beautiful part of Negril and we really enjoyed the beach, but unfortunately our last evening/day was spoiled and so I can't say that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank beachE_keen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Thank you so very much beachE_keen. We do appreciate your taking the time to share TripAdvisor review about your vacation experience at Sunset at the Palms Resort. Your comments are definitely valuable to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas that did not live up to your expectations, as our level of service is very important to us. With regards to stomach issues, we regret hearing of this concern. Also thanks for your very kind words of compliments about clean and spacious room, massage, beach facilities. as well as your recognition of our staff.

We do hope you will consider us again for a vacation in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018

This is a very small resort. Pros; the staff and guests. You really get to meet and enjoy everyone there, it is very social, but in a laid back, relaxed way. Cons; the FOOD. Very sub-par. I may have actually lost weight due to the below average quality and execution of the food.

Room Tip: There are only 85 rooms, they are all "tree houses". Very cute.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thanks Kathryn D for sharing Trip Advisor review about your vacation experience at Sunset at the Palms Resort. We are always eager to hear what our Guests enjoyed and how we can improve. Also, thanks for your favorable comments about our staff.

Thanks again and we hope you will continue to choose Sunset at the Palms Resort, each time you plan a vacation in Negril, Jamaica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018

This place was outstanding! The entire staff was FABULOUS- so friendly and helpful (I wish I remembered all of their names, but they were all TOP NOTCH) , the rooms were clean and comfortable and best of all PRIVATE, the food was great, the beach was not the least bit crowded (unlike all the resorts on either side of SATP) and peaceful. Mostly I was impressed how every employee went out of their way to say hello or ask if there was something that we needed. We have never been anywhere like this where you almost become family. Because of the quaintness of the resort, we were also able to meet and get to know a lot of other guests. If you're looking for excellent service, beautiful grounds and beach, PRIVACY, and relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to be! We were impressed beyond words and we will for sure be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kacee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

Thank you so very much Kacee S for sharing review about your recent visit to Sunset at the Palms Resort. We do appreciate your very kind words of compliments about clean and comfortable rooms, great food offerings, as well as staff as being FABULOUS- so friendly and helpful. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests and every effort is made by all to exceed expectations at every opportunity.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

I thought this posted last April 2017 but apparently it didn't so here it is again. We stayed here in April with my sister & her husband (2nd time for us 1st for them) and had an amazing time again!! We celebrated our anniversary and they went above and beyond to help us celebrate! If it wasn't for the staff at this hotel our trip wouldn't have been so awesome. Sinclair was a great driver who took us on our excursion. Linwood the gardener was the sweetest ever & very helpful!! Shorty the gardener was such a nice guy! Doraine from the coffee bar made delicious cappuccinos and was very pleasant! Jamie the lifeguard was very helpful with getting us a snorkeling excursion. Parsiah at the front desk was so sweet! There was another young lady at the front desk who was very very helpful in changing our rooms to a better location and she was sweet also! Loleta was great in helping set up the excursion & dinners! Many others (chefs, cleaning people etc.) were all so kind as well. The beach is located across the street which wasn't a problem because there are crossing guards who make sure you are safe. The beach grill has some great food! The bar is great too! They will make whatever drink you want (even if you make it up! lol) The solicitors on the beach were not a nuisance, in fact they were so nice! If you aren't interested in what they have to sell just politely say no thank you and they will move on. The beach is clean and there are plenty of chairs. The pool was nice, it's not huge but still nice. The food was fantastic! Always something different. The chefs do a great job! The only downside I'd say would be the entertainment. The piano bar is nice but seems to close early. (maybe that's changed?) Also, maybe having some snacks out after dinner would be nice. (chips, fruit, cheese, nuts etc.) Also, they do spray for mosquitos so if you don't want to be near that, hang out at the beach during that time. We are going back again in April 2018 to celebrate our anniversary again (see a theme happening?! haha) Can't wait!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more private.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Airstreaming1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Thanks Airstreaming1976 for choosing our Resort once again as as your Vacation Destination. It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and family for your anniversary celebrations. We are very much appreciative of your very kind words of compliments about food and beverage offerings as well as beach facilities. Also, thanks for your recognition of our staff and for highlighting Team Members; who made your stay especially delightful. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests and every effort is made by all to exceed expectations at every opportunity.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back 'home' soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018

My girlfriend and I just ended a week's stay at Sunset. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. When we decided to try an all inclusive, we didn't want to stay in a 500+ room resort. We wanted something a little more chilled, more quaint. We got it! Free standing cottages (only 85), privacy, not loud and crowded, great staff (Loleta thanks for everything; Say hi to Chef Christopher at the beach grill; the maids, servers, bartenders were all nice and gratious - realise that in Jamiaca, you are on Jamaica time so relax!), the beach was beautiful, not too many people (a short walk across the street from the rooms), nice food offerings (we would love to see more traditional dishes at the buffet but the ones we had were delicious), nice restaurant (Lotus Leaf), nice Chef's selection special dinner, beautifully kept grounds by the groundskeeper fellas. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not right next to the pool
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seancie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon P, Manager at Sunset at the Palms, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018


Thanks seancie2017 for choosing our Resort as your Vacation Destination. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share beautiful review on tripadvisor. We are very much appreciative of your favorable comments about our food offerings, beautifully kept grounds and beach facilities, as well as for highlighting our Team Members; who made your stay especially delightful. They are truly the ones who create fond memories for our much appreciated guests and make each visit special.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back when next you visit Jamaica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews