We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, relaxing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset at the Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had the most fantastic vacation at the Sunset at the Palms. This is not a "concrete jungle" American style resort with thousands of rooms. With only 85 rooms it was very intimate and relaxed. The accommodations were clean and comfortable (the bed was a little hard but ok) and the bathrooms were quite nice. The lighting at night inside the rooms is a little dim but it was fine for us. The food at the restaurant was fresh and delicious. Plenty of fruit and tasty vegetarian dishes mixed with plenty of fish and meat dishes, all nicely seasoned and authentic. Shannon was our favorite server and she brought us our coffee and favorite hot sauce for our breakfast every day without us even asking! When it was time to head to the beach it was a short walk to paradise. The staff at the beach was helpful in getting us set up every day and the bartenders kept the drinks coming. Clive was especially entertaining, singing as he mixed and poured. When it was time to head over to the grill at the beach we got excellent service and food from Opal. Opal was really great. Janice set up our excursions and did a great job of helping us pick out our activities. She hooked us up with great drivers like Benjy and Mr. Sinclair who were safe drivers, professional, and fun to be with. Mr. Sinclair was especially entertaining. We ended the week extremely relaxed and not wanting to leave. We are DEFINITELY going to come back next year. We highly recommend this resort unless you are looking for a busy, crowded atmosphere.

Room Tip: The 400's are the best rooms (away from the road and facing the sunrise every day) but, if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,702
    524
    125
    61
    22
See reviews for
161
1,750
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Second time was even better, what a fabulous place and the staffm well they are the best.
This is truly paradise.
5 stars for everything about STP.
This is a unique resort as the rooms are on stilts and the vegitation is remarkable, thanks to the hard work of Shorty and his crew.
I am a breakfast person and Sunset at the Palms did not dissapoint, lunch at the beach was also top notch.
The Ocean water is warm and crystal clear, i spent hours in it and loved it, so will you.
Nice walks along the beach and plenty of vendors to checkout, they are great, so take time to say hello.
We rented a seadoo from Rock, what a thrill that was, it was our first time on a seadoo, Rock gave us a good price at around 3pm it was $50 for 1 hour.
Sunset at the Palms is a must for the adult vacationer with no kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilm3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resort could tick all the Boxes but inconsistances in staff attitudes let it down badly. We arrived 7pm Having charming staff at reception run through checkin we were shown through gorgeous grounds to our room which we found was smaller than expected, the Kingsize bed had a protruding edge all around with sharp corners at just above ankle height, which both my wife and I caught and suffered bruising from, talking to other guests they'd experienced the same . The Air con would not adjust above 20 degrees and was noisey so we switched it off. The engineer never did apear during our stay to repair despite reminders. The Ceiling fan was excellent and the room temperature was ideal for sleeping. The bed very comfortable.The bedroom has bedside tables but no drawers in them, which we missed. I feel the rooms the lack drawer space. The wardrobe is in the Bathroom. The Bathroom has an excellent power shower, the washbasin tap spout protrudes a halfway into the sink and the pressure so high, which meant I had a shower spray almost every time I used it.
My comment about the staff arises as some staff were delightfull, whilst others were downright rude. Our first meal we had excellence from our waiters and were delighted with the ambience of the dining areas and quality of the food. We retired to the coffe bar for after dinner coffee only to be rudely told at 10pm he was closing down, he finished at 11pm and we were to late Incredible! Next morning at breakfast we noticed how the personal approach to guests from the the staff varied. Some delightfull others indifferent. Management should sort this out as it spoilt what should be a super experience.
The Beach for Sunset in the Palms is excellent, very safe and clean, although you have to cross the highway to access it we found this to not be a problem. The Beach chairs are in need of some TLC and whilst its supposed to be no tipping the culture is prevelant in this area. We enjoyed the Beach Grill and choice for lunch and the Bar serves quality drinks. You do get numerous local beach vendors walking along the beach but a polite No and away they go. It was nice to hear the local beach musicians play a few songs if you chose for a few dollars. Entertainment in the evenings is mainly local artists and finishes quite early so dont expect late night entertainment. We were expecting a holiday experience different from the normal resort and this resort is delightfully different in so many ways but oh dear the attitude of some members of their staff is unacceptable anywhere and spoil the occassion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaptainGeorge1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If I had a jillion dollars, I would live here for the rest of my life.

My husband is a mega resort type of man, so we generally go to huge hotels with gambling, nice restaurants, and parties. But this year, I won the right of picking our vacation destination so I chose Sunset at the Palms.

I think I may have turned a mega resort man into a sunhat wearing beach bum. And here's why.

From the moment you enter this open-air, Bali style resort, you are met with warmth and kindness. The staff here is amazing. We have never been treated with such kindness and attention. We would get up every morning and go to breakfast by the pool. I loved the buttered hard boiled eggs and fruit, while my husband enjoyed the bacon and heavier items. The coffee bar is AMAZING. Don't skip that. Jamaican coffee is the best.

We spent our days at the beach. Upon arrival, our chairs were set up by beach security, who were always singing and smiling. Omar found us a shady place under a small tree, and we sat for hours listening to musicians play the guitar and sing while we drank our Rum Creams and I painted my toenails and listened to my husband snore in the sunshine. Lol :)

I ate my weight in red snapper from the beach grill, Opal was so nice and never once called me out for being a piggy! She was so nice to chat with. Melissa and Tion made me feel like a rock star, every time I walked into the bar area they would holler my name and smile so big. I mean it, I could live this way!

The ackee and saltfish on the buffet was so incredible, I don't understand how I possibly lost weight on this vacation. I ate fish and rum constantly! The dessert table was kind of lame, but we don't eat much dessert so it was fine. After the first night Shemoy always remembered exactly what kind of wine we each liked, and brought it immediately to the table. I love being at a place where both my name and my preferences are remembered and brought to me right away. I'm a diva!

The rooms are so comfortable, the balcony was just fabulous with a little daybed and table and chairs. Our view was of the gardens and the tree frogs would sing us to sleep at night.

The best part was that the day we left, my husband told the staff we would return...which he NEVER says unless there is a casino and parties everywhere. He loved every bit of this pampered and restful getaway, and I am so happy we get to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My fiance and I spent the most wonderful week of our lives at SATP this past holiday season. Between the beautiful tropical setting, the private beach, and the wonderful friendly personalized service, it was truly like being in paradise. We did not want to leave! i actually cried the day we checked out. :)

We have traveled the world, and wherever we go, we always enjoy engaging with the locals and learning about the culture, customs, food, traditions, etc. The staff at this resort is nothing short of amazing. My fiance loves water sports, and I don't really care for them, so while he spent his afternoons playing on the jet-skis and other water sports, I spent my time chatting with Melissia and Tian at the beach bar. I am amazed that they did not run out of rum, I drank about a barrel over the week. But the drinks and the conversation kept flowing! Their kindness was incredible, I never felt like I was being a bother even though I requested about a dozen rum punches a day and talked their ears off. I miss them so much!

The beach here is amazing. Yes it is across the street, but the location is fantastic and the short walk is worth having the resort removed from the actual beach location. Make sure you get a grilled fresh lobster for $20, that was incredible. Omar was always there to set up our beach chairs, he was adorable and sweet. He even brought me a fresh coconut one morning when I had a bit of a hangover.

I love that they serve so much fish here. The grilled red snapper at the beach bar is to die for, as well as all of the fish dishes for dinner in the evenings. I was always happy to see Ms. Opal at the beach grill, she has the most beautiful laugh. And at dinner we were greeted by Shemoy and his big smile to keep our wine glasses full. These people just really know how to make you feel special, and boy did we ever!

The beautiful landscape tour with the gardener was another highlight. I love plants and flowers, and he was willing to explain every last one.

The vendors can be a little annoying on the beach, but if you just say no they will leave you alone. But it is CONSTANT. Sometimes I would just have enough of the vendors, and I would go talk to Melissia and Tian some more. They laughed at me constantly and I admit I loved that!

I feel as though we had a relaxing time, some great food, good strong drinks, and made some friends while we were there. SATP Negril is definitely a place we will return to again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

What an extraordinary hotel! We were tired of generic all- inclusives but were sceptical about the tree houses. So happy we gave it a chance. It's small that it doesn't take you long to get anywhere, The property was gorgeous and kept immaculate. The food was actually good and fresh. The Jamaican dishes and vegetables were great. The pool is beautiful but didn't spend much time there. A. It's cold B. the beach is AMAZING! There is room for everyone, there's plenty of sand, plenty of chairs, do not listen to some negative reviews. The ocean is like clear glass and warm.
There's fun to be had on the beach if you want, water sports, traveling musicians, and people selling just about everything. They weren't pushy, just shake your head no and they leave you alone. The walk to the beach was 2 minutes. I've stayed at hotels that took longer to walk to the beach from the lobby. There was never a reason to leave, food drinks, rest room all there. Also, the only beach on bloody bay with any trees or shade.
The gym is also very nice, they could have done a few classes to bring people in. Entertainment was mellow, a great female singer 3x and a great piano player. People congregate and hang, talk to each other!
The rooms are dark, it's hard to open shutters because of gnats, there are not solid doors to the bathroom, bring air freshener, you do hear tree frogs all night( turn on AC and it drowns it out) but I wouldn't pass up this tropical paradise. The main reason, THE STAFF!!! Amazing people who served with a smile, brought extra towels, bent over backwards to make you happy! My favorite coffee girl Cristella was the nicest person I've ever met. We also loved Ken AKA Will Smith, Rory and Clive at the bar, Claudette, Damon, and Shemoyan for breakfast and dinner. Manager Sharon and the restaurant managers were also very nice people.
Bring bug spray everywhere, it's not the resort, it's the tropics. Use the taxi service outside, John Wayne or Candyman, much cheaper than inside the resort. please do not pass up this experience, it's the best! Can only hope I can do it again.

Room Tip: We supposedly had the best location, 507. Still heard the road but it's a small road not a freew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Helran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We really enjoyed the tree house, the grounds, and the service. The short walk to the beach was nice, through the green space. We found the food was not outstanding but above average for an all inclusive resort. The Internet connection at the lobby needs to be upgraded, and I would suggest they expand to get high speed Internet to the tree houses. The weather was incredible. The bar service was really good. The evening entertainment was a bit lacking though. The piano bar was great but short. They had one night of karaoke, then a few small two four person entertainers. If you want the large evening show this is not the place. The neat thing was getting to meet and then getting know other guests. In this setting you get to see folks often and striking up a conversation is quite easy. We were very pleased with our stay at Sunset at the Palms. We did our homework and the smaller venue the tree fogs and the birds just set the perfect back drop for our two weeks at one of the best kept groomed grounds we have stated at. Nice work folks. Very relaxing Very good staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harp3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,087 reviews
26.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
31.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Property: Sunset at the Palms
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing