We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset at the Palms
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

my self and my friend anne have just stayed at sunset.
.all i can say is amazing ive stayed in many hotels in jamaica but this one tops the lot
From the lovely welcome to everyone of the very polite wonderfull staff who cant do enough for you.
They always greet you with a warm hello and a very big smile
.the tree top accomodation was beautifull very relax and very clean .the gardens were so well kept by lynford our lovely gardener .
and the food was very nice no complaints the bar staff were funny and very nice but dont have a bet with kemp hes a very smart guy lol
.
such a relaxing time cant wait to go back next year and take more friends with us ..i didnt want to leave all i can say i go and stay you wont want to leave either .
Alison bond & Anne parker

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,737
    533
    126
    61
    23
See reviews for
162
1,792
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

staying in this hotel made our vacations in Jamaica really wow: this idea of little wooden bungalows in the tropical garden is great! especially afterwards when we had a chance to go around and to see these huge noisy buildings of another hotels.. we were happy to come back to our nature paradise.

very beautiful garden, terrrases with day beds are great! stuff is very professional and helpful

food is good, esp breakfast and theme dinners at the night

beach is across the road but its not bothering at all cause beach itself is very nice

but to go anywhere else you need to take a taxi and its rather expensive

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I came here for a wedding & stayed 4 nights. The rooms are nice but its true they have no glass panes in the windows so you hear every tree frog, raindrop & music coming from the bar. We had a room away from the road as requested but some in our group hadn't requested quiet rooms & complained of road noise. The buffet is aweful....tasteless food as you would get at any buffet stateside. The Lotus Leaf had the best food but is only open certain nights & requires reservations. The beach is littered with trees & leaves. The staff was the only bright spot in our stay. Book any tours thru "Patcha-gray" a tour bus driver who showed us around & was great. Beware the drive to any resort will put a damper on your stay .... these folks live in abject poverty.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spotterwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We are a middle aged couple who just got back from a wonderful week at SATP in Negril, Jamaica. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and would gladly return. Having said that this resort is not for everyone.
Basically all the previous revues are correct. The food is good but of limited variety. And the same can be said for the bar service: all the basic party drinks are available, but they have only two types of wine (red & white). You can't have a mimosa because they don't stock champagne. And they don't make mojitos (this is confusing because its a rum based drink). There is no evening entertainment to speak of, unless you just need some excuse to return to the bar after supper.

SO WHAT DOES SATP HAVE? They have the most beautifully landscaped grounds you have ever seen. It is a paradise of palms. bamboo, and tropical flowers. All the "tree house bungalows" are situated for maximum privacy and surrounded by the most beautiful flowers. The peeper frogs do sing deafeningly at sunset but settle down to a gentle background for the rest of the night... this place is as close as you will ever get to living in the garden of Eden. The overall jungle effect causes this also to be the quietest place - as far a people noise goes. So it is a marvelous location for reading, lounging, and having pleasant conversations with your many new-found friends. When we were there the tourist population was a balanced mix of Canadians, British, Germans, and Americans. The only obnoxious party-animal type tourists were so small a group as to be easily ignored. Add to all this a friendly and helpful wait staff. A well kept pool (it's not small, just skinny and serpentine).

Here is another important characteristic: because of its layout, and the fact that the resort has a maximum occupancy of under 200, even when at capacity the place still feels mostly deserted (which is what we like). You never have to stand in line for anything and you can always find an available lounge chair by the pool. The resort owned beach is just a short walk across the street and a crossing guard is there to assist you. It is very sandy with a long shallow entry into an almost waveless lagoon of warm clear water -- and yes the sunsets are beautiful.

As to SHOPPING. Don't waste your time at "Times Square" the expensive shopping center has just expensive jewelry & watches (that you can find anywhere), and otherwise cheap souvenirs made in China. The Craft village has pretty much the same thing with the exception of wood carvers, bead, and basket weavers -- who do good and reasonable work worth the purchasing.... but they all carve basically the same thing: Bob Marley's face and Red Stripe Beer trays. You can find all the same thing at the small resort store and as you walk along Sunset Beach without the hassle of having too many sellers wanting you to "also take a look in my shop." Roland Pinnock is a wood carver who has set up his tent-workshop along Sunset Beach. His Marley carvings are better than most and he also does a larger variety of carvings. Buy his art -- he's worth supporting.

So here's the SUMMARY: If you want huge crowds, a continuous party, an endless banquet of food and liquor, and an activities director filling your day with pool and beach side games then don't go to SATP Resort. But if you love tropical gardens filled with nature sounds and intimate settings giving you ample time to curl up peacefully with a book and a few good friends then this is the place you want to be. SATP is one of the less expensive all-inclusive resorts in Jamaica and you get what you pay for... But for what you pay, you get a lot! Oh, and the Blue Mountain Coffee is excellent!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 107, one of the furthest from the main lodge but worth the pleasant walk every ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Salley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I cannot say how much I loved this hotel. On the website I saw so many concrete enormous monster hotels in Jamaica and knew that I wanted something more in touch with nature. The balinese style of the hotel with it's wood cabin like rooms and lush tropical gardens were more beautiful in reality than any photos could suggest on the website! Each room is it's own private haven.The gardens are what makes this place stand out from other hotels around the world. they have been carefully cultivated with love for many years. The fact that each room has a large balcony with a daybed overlooking the gardens makes it tranquil and the sounds of the tree frogs lulls you to sleep.

The beach is s short walk across the road but this means that the hotel has the best location away from the road and the 5 min walk to the beach, is no big deal. I also liked the fact that the beach is a real beach and not one that the hotel has cordoned off to everyone. There is security to watch over the sunloungers but the beach has a natural feeling. There are a few locals wandering up and down as well as joggers and other visitors walking the length of the beach. I loved the food. It was authentic Jamaican home cooking. I don't eat meat so the fact that there was a fish dish and veggie dish every night made my life easy.They cater for all tastes and there is a generous buffet with lots of fruit and salad as well as meat, fish and veggie dishes.
I am a photographer and I went to both relax and also socialize. The hotel was perfect for both couples, singles, any age and a few families. It is not full of screaming kids but the privacy means that the few children there were also welcome and a pleasure.

The staff were very hospitable and friendly. They were also good at customer service.

So all in all I can't recommend this place enough. I would go again. I will also recommend it to my parents who want peace and good service.

Room Tip: I asked to be as far away from the road and so I had total peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sallygriffyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to this resort for 10 days. (10 days is too l long...7 nights would of been perfect) I will share all the pros and cons with you folks:

- There is limited selection for food. There is 1 La Carte restaurant with the same menu..we did not enjoy the food at this restaurant, very small portions and was not a fine dining experience. There is 1 buffet which is excellent. Not a huge selection but healthy food, great spices and overall delicious. There is 1 beach grill which is awesome. The jerk chicken is absolutely delicious!!!

- Beach is gorgeous! Aqua coloured crystal clear water! The sand is not bad at all! It's across the street..we were both really worried about the walk but it was literally 2 minutes..super close! There are no huts or hammocks but you can find shade.

- Rooms...We called our room a "tree house" it was really nice. Our room had windows then wooden shutters, nice shower and bathroom. Our bed was really hard and uncomfortable..we told the staff our bed was too hard and they sent housekeeping to make it softer by adding additional cushion. This made a difference. The crickets and tree frogs are extremely loud. If you love the jungle atmosphere then the noise won't bother you...but honestly its really loud! They come out as soon as it gets dark and are chirping until the sun comes up! Seriously super loud!

-Entertainment... OK there is NO entertainment on this resort. They have karaoke and a small music band that plays from 830-1030 each night..nothing exciting or to rave about. Some nights there were only 3-5 people watching. So, if you are looking for a party resort or shows, games, music in the pool, socializing this is NOT for you! This is a very quiet resort.. the quietest resort I have ever visited. My boyfriend loved it! I found it relaxing for the first 3-4 days but was bored thereafter.

- Pool, there is 1 pool and it is very small. No music, games or entertainment. The hot tub is nice!

- Weather, obviously depends on when you visit...we went in October during raining season and it rained a lot for hours at end ... but that's nature nothing to do with the resort!

- Atmosphere, lots of plants, trees, jungle feeling, birds, land crabs, tree frogs, geckos, you are surrounded by nature. It is beautiful if you love the out doors! This is definitely a resort for COUPLES a great bonding experience... I would not visit this resort with a friend, family or children. Nothing to do.

- Staff/Service, The staff are very friendly, excellent service, they go above and beyond to meet your needs and make you happy!

-Overall, we had a good vacation...I don't like to party but do enjoy doing activities and entertainment and there was nothing to do on this resort. Thank god we met another couple that we ended up spending most of our vacation with.They were great and we are planning to meet them for a cruise in the spring. Do visit Ricks Cafe it is beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tamara0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our 5th visit to SATP, still many of the same faces and a few new ones - they still make the place feel like coming back home.

Won't mention all of the other things that have been stated a million times, but you must know that the staff is what makes this resort. The grounds are beautiful, the beach is the best on Bloody Bay (and even 7 mile, as far as I am concerned), food options are good and enough to keep you happy and the rooms are nice and unique.

I have had 2 roaches visit me over the last 5 trips and probably a thousand mosquitos - but I expect it to some degree. I realize that I am in lush tropics and more in their territory then they are in mine. I have had trips with no bug bites, and some with lots, but there is nothing at his resort that would prevent me from coming back - or thinking they do a poor job with spraying, cleaning, etc.

If you are on the fence, just go. The bartenders will take care of you like friends at home, Opal will cook you good food on the beach and everyone will make you feel welcome.

Congrats to JD and Lisa on their wedding (thanks for having us as part of it!) and the West Indies on winning the World ICC Twenty20!

Enjoy you trip!

Room Tip: Room 203 - I scouted it out - give it a shot ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason-Lyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
5.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,220 reviews
2.5 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
26.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,185 reviews
26.2 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Property: Sunset at the Palms
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing