We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at Couples Negril”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Seaking out the Hot
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at Couples Negril”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Review of Couples Negril, Westmorland, Jamaica

Time at the resort: 22 January 2011 to 29 January 2011

Arrival:

On arrival in the Montigo Bay airport we were greeted at the Couples’ lounge by friendly staff. We were offered a cold beer and they very capably took us into their care. We were checked off their booking list and settled into wait for the shuttle bus to the resort.

We only had to wait about 45 minutes (two beer) and then were escorted out to the waiting shuttle. The airport red caps took care of our luggage and loaded it into the minibus. Please remember that a small gratuity is expected for all non- Couples staff in Jamaica.

Couples Negril is situated on Bloody Bay and it is a 90 minute ride from the airport. The other option is to fly directly from Montigo Bay to Negril. The cost for the Island hopper is $75 USD per person and next time is the way we will go. The Negril airport is right across the street from the Resort but the noise at the resort was minimal during our stay and would not be a factor in future bookings.

When we arrived at Couples’ Negril (CN), we were greeted by smiling staff and what we would soon recognize as the official greeting of “Welcome Home,” a cool facecloth for our faces and hands as well as a chilled glass of sparkling wine. On we found out very quickly that at Couples’ the staff comes to you and not the other way around. We were seated while the staff checked us in and gave us our keys and quickly and efficiently we were escorted to our room.

Accommodations:

On the resort there are two types of view. Beach and Garden. Predominantly the Garden view rooms and suites are located on the north part of the resort and are close to the water sports facility and the beach views are located on the Southern portion close to the Au Natural (AN) beach.

Both the suites and rooms are beautifully appointed with a King sized bed as well as a mini fridge. The big difference between the two are that the suites have a palatial bathroom with two sinks, a rain head shower as well as a Jacuzzi tub. The rooms are pretty standard hotel fair with full tub/ shower. All rooms are easy walking distance to all facilities.

Honestly, we spent so little time in our room except to sleep that I would recommend getting a room and using the extra savings on staying an extra day at this resort!

Restaurants:

There are Five areas to eat at the resort, the food is plentiful, tasty and available 23.5 hrs a day.

The Cassava Terrace- is the main restaurant that alternates between buffet style service and A La Carte at night. Lunch and Breakfast are offered as a buffet style only.

The beach grill (Heliconia) - This is for those who want that beach front experience. The grill is open until 5:30 AM so there is little chance that you can go hungry at Couples. For supper, the Heliconia opens for table service right at beach side.

Lychee Restaurant is open for supper only and offers a great menu of Asian fusion type ala carte service. This was by far our preferred dining experience.

Otahite Restaurant- This is the only restaurant that has a more strict dress code and requires you to make a reservation at least two days in advance. All in all this was the only disappointment as far as dining experiences go. We felt rushed and the food was not up to par with the way it was billed. We certainly would not re-book this one.

Bars:

The primary bar is connected to the Beach grill it stays open for most of the day.

Swim up bar: This facility is where you go to see and be scene by the other vacationers. There is a wet and dry side to this bar and is a very social experience not to be missed.

The Circular bar: This bar is located at the Cassava open air Restaurant and is open for Mimosa’s with breakfast and then late into the evening.

AN Bar: As stated this is in the AN area and does not provide “Red Flag” service or at least I never saw anyone using it. It opens at 10 AM and closes at 5 PM.

Water sports:

The all inclusive nature of CN goes on into the area of water sports and recreation, most activities are free with some small exceptions.

Catamaran Cruise:
Free and fantastic (highly recommended)

Glass Bottom boat cruise:
Those that I spoke to had a great time and saw lots of sea life.

SCUBA:
If you already have your “C” ticket (PADI, ACUC, CMAS are all accepted) then you can go for two dives a day plus a fee for a night dive.

If you have not dived in 18 months, you must do a 2 hour refresher in the pool for $50 USD charged to your room.

All standard gear including Regulator, Air, BC, Fins, Mask are included free of charge but there is a charge of $10 a day for a wet suit or $30 for the week. If you are going below 10 Meters it is recommended that you get one.

Intro Dive package including a first dive is free for those who are not qualified.

If you do the Intro package then all successive dives must be guided and will cost $50 a dive (limit to one dive a day).

Snorkeling:
You can sign out all the gear you wish for snorkeling around the resort and/ or do a night dive for a small fee.

Other:
You can also sign out Sunfish Sail boats, small Hobicats, waterskiing. I think there is a fee attached to the last one but am unsure as we did not do this activity.

Beaches:

The beach is fantastic! There are plenty of lounge chairs along the property and they provide “flag service” for beverages. All you have to do is put your flag up and one of the staff will come to you and refresh your drink of choice.

AN Beach.

The Au Natural beach is just that. If you are going to enjoy the sun in this area you are nude. There are no bottoms or tops permitted by the resort in this area and this rule is strictly enforced by the staff. There is a bar that is open from 10 AM to 5 PM. The bartender takes a half hour for lunch between 1 and 1:30 PM but all the beverages and mix are left out for patrons to self serve.
There is plenty of shade as well as two hammocks built for two on the AN area for those who wish to remain on the beach but are feeling the direct Jamaican sun. Every one we met on this beach was friendly with discreetness and privacy if you wanted it or as social as you wanted as well. By the end of our week on the AN beach we knew most people by name and had a gang of about 4 couples that would put our chairs in a group and spend the day chatting, drinking and basking in the beautiful sunshine.

Pools and Hot tubs:

There are three regular hot tubs. Two attached to the main pool and one by the Water Sports area. As well there is an AN hot tub. All three are open 24 hrs a day.
Please, please, Please only bring plastic close to the hot tubs as they will be closed for days if there is any glass breakage. We brought plastic wine glasses with us to ensure the continued safety and enjoyment of the facility.

There are two pools at CN. The main pool right in front of the main building with an infinity ledge that spills down to the swim up bar. The swims up bar is open from 10 AM to 7 PM and believe me that is plenty of time if that is where you are planning to spend your day. The second pool is by the Water Sports buildings and is used for Dive classes during the day but is open at night for the general population.

Off Resort excursions:

There are plenty of off site stuff to do like going for shopping in Down Town Negril as well as trips to Margaritaville and Ricks Café. Most of these trips cost between $15 - $20 USD. There are also half day trips to go zip lining in the Jungle canopy and rafting.
The beauty of this site is that you can do as much or as little as you wish. Our choice was to do one activity a day and leave the rest of the day for relaxation.

In closing I highly recommend the Couples line of Resorts for an all exclusive vacation in a very romantic setting. Please remember that children under the age of 18 are not permitted on the property at any time.

The only down side was that I would have liked to see a formal occasion so that if you wanted to get all dolled up in formal attire (black Tie) for a night of cocktails and dancing with your partner there was a venue for it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CCNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,879
    997
    252
    131
    43
See reviews for
49
3,318
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Service for the most part was average to good. Breakfast service was unorganized and slow. By the end of the week I wasn't waiting for them to serve the first cup of coffee. Some mornings waited several minutes for service. Restaurant`s were good. Never went to the Japanese one. Went to the Oheite a few times and it was very good. Special thanks to Jerardo, Adrian, and Omar.

Beach was very nice, lots of chairs and room. Always looked forward to seeing Elkie on the beach with her pleasant smile and engaging personality(wish more were like her). She really works hard and was one that seemed to be more interested in bringing drinks than returning the empty cups. Tennyson at the beach bar was terrific as well. Thanks also to Glasford for the morning omelettes.

Resort was very tired looking and dated. Pools and hot tubs could use some work. I know they were clean, but didn't look very inviting. We stayed on the beach all week. Rooms were clean but dated. We were in the 5000 block. Grounds were very nice and well kept.

Overall the food was good, service was good, beach was great, grounds were great, resort was average. It was not a negative experience, just could have been better. Our travelling partners were of a similar opinion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthBay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We traveled to Couples Negril 1/14-1/21 and this was our first trip to CN. Upon arrival in Montego Bay we made it thru customs in a decent amount of time and then arrived in the Couples Lounge where we were greeted with smiling faces and a cold red stripe. We didn’t have to wait long for the shuttle and off we went to the resort. We stopped ½ way in a little town called Luce for another Red Strip and we arrived at the hotel within an hour and a half and this was during rush hour time. Upon arrival we were greeted with champagne and a cool cloth. Check in was a breeze and Hubert was wonderful with carrying our bags to our room and was full of knowledge on the resort. The room itself was decent as we were placed in the 8000 block and we had a nice view of the ocean. We did not experience any issues with the AC in our room and the bed was decent. The food was delicious with many different varieties to choose from. I am actually a very picky eater and usually live on lettuce & pickles when I travel outside of the country; however at CN I loved all the food and tried a lot of different varieties. The beach is beautiful and well-kept and the ocean is unbelievable with the clear water, we often found our-selves floating out there at sunset. The pool bar is wonderful and a great place to meet people and Ivililyn took great care of us! Try the Hummingbird and the Bob Marley’s! At night, there was always a good variety of dinner options and Omar took care of us with drinks after dinner. We enjoyed the entertainment and finally discovered the Piano Bar a few nights before we had to leave. This is hands down the best resort we have ever traveled to. When we first booked this resort I was surprised to hear how many people actually return to this resort on a yearly basis; however after traveling to CN I know understand it, and we as well will become “repeat returners” next year when we return for my husband’s 50th birthday next January. CN has a magic to it, with the resort and its wonderful staff. We can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandDreamers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Pros
* The beach, ocean temperature and visibility was wonderful. For me this is one of the nicest beaches I've ever been to and I've visited many around the world.

* We were very satisfied with the rooms. We were in the 5000 building on the far north of the resort which had attractive views and was very quiet. Great air conditioning and amenities. We also felt the beachfront upgrade was definitely worth it.

* The bay is very large and excellent for sailing. We enjoyed the Hobie catamarans most every day.

* The drinks were very good and the bartenders were happy to accommodate any request they could manage. The liquor quality was good but not top shelf. I could get Absolute but no Grey Goose or Ketel One.

* Unlike many resorts and cruise ships where you can't get a lounge unless you're up at dawn to place towels on them, we never had a problem finding a place to sunbathe or read in the shade. There were also lots of two person hammocks available throughout the day which was nice.


Cons
* My wife and I are both foodies and expected some good eats based on the reviews. Unfortunately the food was a disappointment overall, and comparable to what we have experienced with the Carnival cruise line. The reservations only restaurant was definitely good but hardly memorable. Lychee, the Asian themed restaurant was highlighted by tasty spring rolls and steamed vegetables, but we were disappointed with most everything else. One of the appetizers was so inedible, my wife almost vomited. The Helicon Grill was average American and Jamaican fare but they do cook to order which is nice. The Cassava Terrace buffet did have some nice dishes but we often fell back to the salads, fruits and cheeses.

* As newlyweds we received vouchers for a 1/2 hour couples massage. we extended it to an hour but didn't really enjoy it. Their technique was definitely questionable, and I couldn't believe they wanted to charge me extra after requesting less time on my back and a little more on my hands and feet I definitely needed. Perhaps they just didn't know how since they spent nearly zero time there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FudRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Having stayed at Couples Tower Isle last year, we gave Negril a try on this occasion. Overall, the Couples formula worked perfectly again and needs very little further explanation. Just a quick word of advice - Negril is a lot more vibrant and a lot louder than Tower Isle, no doubt reflecting that side of the island, so if you're looking to relax in the evenings rather than party the night away, you might prefer Tower Isle. Otherwise, food drink beach activities etc well up to standard, and if we return to Jamaica (an island that gets such an undeserved bad press) we'll probably try Couples Swept Away next time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

My husband and I traveled for the first time to Jamaica Jan 18-25 and choose Couples Negril based on the prior reviews. We have traveled the world and stayed at numerous all inclusives during our 15 years together. I will try to keep this short and to the point...
I guess some people can always find something wrong with anything depending on what kind of people they are...but this is one of the best , if not the best all inclusive holidays we have had.

Food: We are both foodies and neither one of us had any problems or complaints about any of the food. I am particular with what I eat and am allergic to seafood.There were more than enough options and choices. It was never cold, the coffee was great, the service even better and the Lychee is better in our opinion than the fine dining restaurant.

Service: Everyone smiled!!! and said no worries, you are on vacation before getting you anything you asked for. They are courteous hosts and genuinely great people.

Rooms: Don't bother getting an upgrade to the beach rooms. The garden view suite we had gave us a great, quiet room overlooking the pond with a clear view of the beach as well. For the amount of time being spent in the room it was fine. It was clean, enough towels, no bugs, no dirt, and exactly what was expected. The mini bar was stocked daily and anything you didn't get was easy enough to obtain by asking politely.

Beach: The best sand anywhere on earth!!!! The beach was clean of any seaweed. There were enough chairs that you didn't have to go out in the middle of the night to stake your chair on the beach. The hamocks were a fantastic romantic treat as was the self serve bar and the flag service.

If you have found anything wrong with the resort there is clearly something wrong with you and perhaps you may have been one of the obnoxious drunks who yelled at the top or your lungs and treated everyone like your servant because you thought you could. These people work hard for their money and you have to remember that you may be at a resort but outside the resort there is poverty which you closed your eyes to because clearly you don't get out of your State often.

WE will be back, and matter of fact will be back with some friends to make the experience that much better!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slinqee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The Couples Negril resort is a fantastic couples get away. The resort is clean and spacious, and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The red flag service for drink delivery is a huge perk. If you are looking for a couples escape, this is the place to go. We struggled to choose where to eat, because all their restaurants were so good. Almost all water sports are included, so you don't need to drop that extra cash. We went snorkeling, sailing, kayaking, glass bottom boat tour and the booze cruise catamaran sunset trip...all included.

Check it out, you'll love it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gepinniw2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 81 in Negril
5,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#18 of 81 in Negril
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.1 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#23 of 81 in Negril
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing