We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite the Nicest Hotel”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quite the Nicest Hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Firstly, before I complete our review I feel I must comment on the previous reviewer 'GALOCHKA1982' - has she got the right hotel?
We could not recognise any evidence of the comments made.
Like her we chose the hotel based on the many complimentary Tripadviser reviews but we were definitely NOT DISAPPOINTED.
We had a standard garden view room on the second floor of block one looking out directly over the natural pond adjacent to the Spa (with its resident heron and terrapin) and a side ways view to the beachfront.
The room was delightful, clean, fresh and well appointed and well looked after by the efficient and unobtrusive room staff
The food and restaurants were excellent - the only comment we would have about the latter was the excessive use of the Air Conditioning in the Lychee which made it like a fridge. We only used the Lychee once for this reason.
This comment also applied to the Internet Cafe
Now the big plus - the staff were delightful - friendly and efficient and aways well presented in crisp clean uniforms
The inclusive activities were excellent - being a yacht sailor of many years we made particular use of the bigger Hobie each day and that was great. The large catarmaran cruise and the snorkell trip was excellent.
We liked particularly the relaxed atmospere of the hotel with no activities in your face.
The evening entertainments were excellent - of a very high standard
The beachfront location on the western end of Jamaica in beautiful Bloody Bay was superb. Being sheltered from the prevailing NE Trade winds it was both excellent for flat fast catarmaran sailing further out and the most relaxed smooth sea swimming on the beach. We were never even tempted by the large well appointed pool with its associated jacuzzis
Being naturists (we dont like the american word nudist) of many years we were particularly influenced in the choice of the hotel by its having a designared Naturist area and the associated dedicted jacuzzi was a real plus.

I am a Consultant in the Energy Industry.
The only adverse comment we would make was the injudicious use of the Air Conditioning in both the rooms and some of the public areas.
Us Europeans come to the Carribbean to be warm and it helps in the process of our temporary acclimatisation to the overall higher ambient temperature is not to be plunged into locally very cool environments.
AC takes proportionately more energy than does heating and has a very large carbon footprint.
Another environmental comment concerns the changing of the towels - while it was very nice to have clean towels each day, even when we hung them up they were changed.
While we realise this is a fine balance with some guests it has a high environmental cost and we must all look at our activities to reduce our impact.
We have travelled all over the world (see our profile map) and would definitely count this as one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in

Keep up the good work - we definitely intend to return in the future

B & J

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BrianJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,878
    996
    252
    131
    43
See reviews for
49
3,316
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Couples Negril. The beach is the best on the planet; the water is calm; we've never spent so much time swimming/floating. The beach chairs are perfect and the cushions/floats are unique and wonderful. The nude beach was reasonably separate and easily avoided.
The food is generally good/very good with the exception of the Otaheite which was truly outstanding both times we had dinner there. The house red wine could be a bit better but the Red Stripe is superb.
The room and some of the furnishings could use a bit of updating but was more than adequate. The staff was attentive and friendly.
The watersports included unlimited diving, snorkeling, waterskiing, hobie cat sailing, kayaks, glass bottom boat trips, etc. and the staff there were the best! Don't miss the Catamaran Cruise which is also included!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EandGLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitownshandi, Director of Sales and Marketing at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
Hello and thanks for your review of Couples Negril. Its funny how important the small things are - who would think a cushioned floating device (exclusive amenity of Couples Resorts) could provide such lasting impressions :) And by the way, I totally agree. Please be sure to sign up for Romance Rewards before your next stay so we can give you perks for being a loyal guest. Thanks again, we look forward to inviting you home again soon.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

The resort is great for the couple that wants to get away and relax. All 4 restaurants were great. I recommend at least 1 night in the Otahitie (reservation required) restaurant. The staff is accommodating and friendly. The rooms were recently renovated from our last stay and the upgrades are worth it. In room refrigerator stocked every morning at your request. Great views and comfortable large beds. The entertainment staff was very friendly and not pushy at all. If you don't want to be forced to participate in beach volleyball, you won't be.

The one thing every couple mus do when you go is spend a night at the Piano Bar during a sing a long night. Paul the piano player is great fun and it kicks the pants off of Kareoke. If you are a fan of a good pub sing song, the piano bar is the lace to go!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank toybrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitownshandi, Director of Sales and Marketing at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Hello and thank you for your review of Couples Negril. AND Thank you so much for being a return guest - nothing speaks louder as far as that - if you didn't love it, you would not have come back. But we are SO glad you did. I am sure you know, but just in case, be sure to register for Romance Rewards, so we can give you perks the next time you come back. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

First the good things
Lovely hotel very compact and everything is close to hand
Beautiful beach pool and gardens
Excellent service everywhere on the property
Negatives
Amateur entertainment
Hotel dead after 10 p.m. ish
Low occupancy at the moment probably due to the ecenomic climate
Piano bar lacks atmosphere
reccomended for anyone who wants a very laid back relaxed atmosphere who is happy with their vown company and does not require entertaining
Took a day pass to couples swept away bay and must say that couples Negril beats this one hands down just a bit too quiet for us

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tom0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitownshandi, Director of Sales and Marketing at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 3, 2009
Hello and thank you for your review of Couples Negril. We appreciate your commentary and opinion sharing - both positives and negatives. Because travel is such a personal choice its good to let people know what you expect and want in a resort and how that was or was not accommodated. Thanks again.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I won't bore people with the endless praise which this resort most definitely deserves. I just felt that if I did not write something I would be doing a diservice to travellers around the world. The place is amazing! I sat with friends to try to find one thing to complain about and it was difficult. Would go again tomorrow if I did not have to work.
PS. the included Sunset Cruise is an absolute must!
PPS Don't go down the slide backwards!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank x0vnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitownshandi, Director of Sales and Marketing at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 3, 2009
Hello and thanks for your review of Couples Negril. Short and sweet and to the point - thanks! Before you come visit again be sure to register for romance rewards so we can give you more perks for your repeat stays. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you back home again soon.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Sackville, Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed at CN from Oct 24-31. I won't bore you with the same comments as 90% of the other entries. We've stayed at many different resorts in the Carribean and this is the only one we've ever gone back to. This was our 3rd visit and we will be back again. If your thinking about booking this resort, just do it, you won't be sorry.The last time we were there was in 2004. I love to dive and when we were there in 2004 the diving on a scale from 1-10 was about a 4 in my opinion. Nothing against the dive operation or the dive crews, they are both excellent, it's just that Jamaica doesn't have the marine life or the reef system that some of the other islands have. But I have to say that in the 5 years since we've been there, there seems to be a major improvement in the quality of the ecosystem. The hard coral seemed heathier and there seemed to be a lot more soft coral. There also seemed to be a lot more marine life. There was a large varity of fish but they were small in size. This can be explained by the number of fish traps and locals carring spear guns. It's too bad the goverment doesn't set aside some of the area around Negril as marine park. In 5 years I feel the the quality of the reef around Negril has gone from a 4 out of 10 to about a 6. The other thing to keep in mind is the diving is included in your package, so that is a huge cost savings. I spend anywhere from 4 to 6 hundred dollars on diving when we go to Cozumel.
So if you're thinking about going here and you dive, it's well worth it. If you don't dive this would be a great place to learn. They'll do resort certification or you can get PADI certified while you are there. I forget the exact cost but I remembet that it was comparible to what you would pay in Canada, and given the choice I'd much sooner do it in Jamaica.
In closing I have to tip my hat to Couples, they run a class act.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitownshandi, director of sales and marketing at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Hello and thank you for your review of Couples Negril. And thank you for being a return guest, we value you as a preferred client and hopefully you are a registered member of Couples Romance Reward program, where we give you more perks the more you stay. It was refreshing to read your perspective on the diving in Negril. Seldom to guests really take advantage of this amenity, or write about the experience, so it was very welcome commentary. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed at Couples Negril Oct 22 - 27, 2009. This was our first vacation since we've had children and our goal was rest, relaxation and reconnecting with one another. We achieved all 3 of these goals. Arriving at the resort was like stepping into another dimension - a very laid back, casual, gorgeous dimension! I have no complaints or negatives about this resort - it was all that I/we hoped after following the reviews here and the Couples message board.

Don't be dissuaded by the few (very few) negative reviews - this is a lovely location for a relaxing, pampered vacation!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shawnitarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitownshandi, director of sales and marketing at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Hello and thanks for your review of Couples Negril. We are thrilled that you were able to accomplish your goals and your expectations were met for this special getaway. As a new mom, I understand the reasons and specific needs of being alone in a wonderful setting that allows you to truly be together and in love. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 81 in Negril
5,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 81 in Negril
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.1 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#22 of 81 in Negril
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing