We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two years of research and message board reading, brought us to this..”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Two years of research and message board reading, brought us to this..”
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We took off from Indianapolis International at 0525. We arrived at Mobay at 0950 Saturday Morning. Immigration/customs took 40 minutes to get through. There were several planes that landed right after each other. Remember have a pen, fill out BOTH sides of the form that they give you and the plane and you will shorten your immigration time.
We went to the Couples lounge, very easy to find and informed them we were flying TimAir to the resort. Timair is right in the terminal a stones throw from the couples lounge. After checking in with TimAir, we went out side to the curb and waited for transportation to TimAir. It took approx. 20 minutes to get picked up, The distance from Mobay to TimAir is about 3 miles.....same airport. The small Cessna that we flew was probably 30+ years old. Which concerned us a bit. 15 minutes later we landed across the street from Couples Negril. $5 taxi ride and we were at the lobby.

We did NOT receive a wet towel nor a glass of Champagne at our arrival. We filled out the required paper work which took about 10 minutes, was asked if we wanted a glass of Champagne at that point.
We were brought to our room, a Garden Suite in building 8 3rd level. The suite was huge, the bathroom was enormous. The suites have double the deck of the non-suites and also have a Hammock. For my wife, those perks along with a huge bathroom, makes the extra cost of the suite, well worth it.

We renewed our Wedding Vows after 25 years. The whole event was handled very very well.
We ate at all the restaurants except Lychee, the Asian one. simply just didn't get around to it. Anyone that can't find something to enjoy at the restaurants or the buffets is a person that is to high a maintenance.
The include activities were a blast, the beach dinner buffet is a must do.

We did a couples message on the beach for $180.... worth every penny!
We did trip to Ricks for the sunset viewing and also watching the divers and the jumpers.

I scuba dived 5 days, each dive something new and different to see. all included. There is nothing we would consider worth our time to complain about....it was that good.

We normally go to Maui and stay on Kaanapali beach at the Westin. My wife has no desire to return to Hawaii now. Our beach vacations will always be at Couples.

My wife found that the bugs like her just as much in Jamaica as everywhere we have ever been. Bug juice didn't work.......we never saw the bugs, none the less she was bit. I was never bit.......

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ironranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,891
    999
    252
    131
    43
See reviews for
49
3,329
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,043)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We went for a four day break - given the winter we have had it was well worth it. We relaxed immediately upon arrival - we are on the beach less than three hours after we landed in Montego Bay. We spent most of our days on the beach right up until the lovely sunset each evening. The gala buffet on the beach was outstanding, as was the Asian restaurant and the Otaheite fine dining. We did a couple of nice long walks the length of the beach each day to keep from gaining weight!

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toronto_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

My husband and I just returned from our 11 day stay at Couples Negril and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect honeymoon/vacation. This was our second stay at Couples Negril (we stayed there last year this same week) and again we were treated with the same friendly faces and fabulous service from the staff at Couples Negril. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beach_Bum1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We went to Couples Negril to dive and we did just that 11 times. On the day we arrived they asked us if we would like to do a night dive and we said Yes ! My first night dive and it was so cool. I just purchased a new underwater camera and did not know how to work it. I asked one of the dive guys (Craig) if he could take photo's for me. I did not think I could do a flashlight and the new very large camera my first dive of the trip. Good decision on both. Craig took Great photo's and I was more relaxed working the light on my first night dive. Richard and Alain are also very professional diver on the team at Couples Negril.
We did do the Timair ( five seat airplane) from MBJ to Negril money well spent I would do that again in a heart beat. 15 Minuets by air vs an hour and 1/2 if your lucky by bus. ( not counting waiting in the lounge at the airport for other planes to arrive.)
Good food, clean room ( Not fancy) GREAT staff, Fantastic beach, never ending drinks... What more could you ask for. Can't wait to go back to see those sharks ....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank golfcrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

This was such as amazing trip. If you already made plans to go to couples Negril you will have the time of your life. From the moment you are finished with customs to the time you leave you are treated like royalty. If you are looking for several activities from snorkeling to volleyball this is the place for you or if you just want to hang out on the beach or in the pool. We were pretty low key during the trip hanging out mostly at the beach, pool and the pool bar.

The staff is amazing….and so isn’t the food. This trip was everything I dreamed of and even more. The worse part was leaving.

One Love,
Jack and Jill

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackandjill32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

The resort is amazing! The food and service are five stars.
Everything is included, from tennis lessons to scuba diving. Me and my husband had a lot of fun with all the activities.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joana_linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

My wife and I stayed at couples Negril from April 4, 2009 through April 11, 2009. This place was the most relaxing vacation that we have ever shared. From the time you arrive, the staff treats you like they really want you there. Nothing is a problem. We took a direct flight on US Air from Boston to Montego Bay and except for the fact that ten planes landed at approximately the same, and customs was overwhelmed, , it was a little delayed. About two hours worth of delay. We chose to take Tim Air over to Negril. The flight is fifteen minutes vs a one and three quarters hour bus ride on winding roads. The cost was $410.00. The airport is directly across from Couples Negril, a $5.00 taxi ride. We chose a beachfront room, , located behind the sports huts. We sat out on our patio every morning and night and just relaxed either before breakfast or before bed.
The options on dinner were fantastic, either the buffet, or one of three restaurants. The buffet was outside two nights, one on the beach, and one around the pool. They also offered on several nights a full menu to choose from. The other restaurants were Lychee, which was asian, (no reservations needed) Otaheite, which was their fancy restaurant serving Jamaican and caribbean food. (Reservations Needed) They also offered The Beach Grill, snacks, jerk chicken, burgers, salads, fruit salad, etc. Breakfast was the best buffet, if you wanted , it was there or they would make it for you.
The beach was spectacular, you take the float off of your lounge and put in the water and float on it. The water was about 80 and calm. They also offer at NO EXTRA CHARGE, Scuba, Snorkeling, Glass Bottom Boat, Catamaran, Water Skiing, etc.
If you want it, Ganja is readily available everywhere. For the guys, Only if you are going to Otaheite, you will need long pants, and a collared shirt.
We met some awesome people that we will try to keep in touch with, and nobody wanted to leave this place. I know I forgot to list so many more things that were available, but, If your looking for THE PLACE to RELAX, then this is it. We will definetly return to Couples Negril.
Also, apparently for us who smoke, you are now limited upon entering the United States to 200 cigarettes, don't chance it, we got stopped, it's $10.07 tax per carton after the first one. If you would like to ask me any questions pertaining to Couples Negril, feel free to write to me.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jerryconstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 81 in Negril
5,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 81 in Negril
2,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.3 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#23 of 81 in Negril
535 reviews
83.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing