We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Negril”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have been to Couples Negril at least 8 times. We have thoroughly enjoyed each stay. Everyone was friendly and the food was fantastic! We have been to Jamaica 20 times and we wouldn't go any where else for a very relaxing vacation. We have been to several other resorts on the Island, but we still go back to Couples Negril. It's a smaller more intimate all-inclusive hotel and we love that kind of hotel We also love the location on Bloody Bay. We have visited the 7 mile beach on a day trip, which is practically around the corner, and that was fantastic also. So much action going on. We have toured the Island visiting many sights and we still have more to see. We are used to the vendors and people on the beach selling items. We usually buy something to remind us of our stay there and we also know that this is how many of the Islanders make their living. I would recommend this Island vacation to everyone. If you haven't been, you at least must try it just once. You just may be hooked!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lindy2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 4,449 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nancy Finn did a great job as our agent recommending Couples Negril for our Anniversary trip. The resort was absolutely beautiful, very friendly staff, great accommodations and loved the water sports. We would highly recommend this location to any couple that is looking for a relaxing, quiet vacation with just enough options to keep you entertained.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room at Couples Negril. However, we did like our location at Building 5. Very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelsbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Last year we went to Couples Barbados so missed our annual 2 weeks in Couples Negril. Have also been to Tower Isle and Sans Souci but have spent around 100 nights in C.N..The staff and Management were as fantastic as usual. Always try to get building 4 , top floor.The rooms are not updated yet but are very comfortable.

We went in June this year and found a much younger crowd and lots of weddings. Never seen a Wedding dinner served to a large group on the beach before.

The A.N. bar was much larger with a beautiful counter top. Still no choice but patties for lunch.

Liked that they still ran the bus to Church on Sundays.

Dressing for dinner appeared much more casual than in previous years. It amazes us how often the ladies dress up but the men just wear long shorts with shirts hanging over them. Maybe because it was a younger group.

There were many nice new seats in the garden area where you could sit and relax. Enjoyed our meals in all the Restaurants especially the Lychee. The Otaheite was excellent and all the food was laid out beautifully. We only went to the beach resturant once as there were quite a few sandflies when you ate out on the deck. There was not very much choice there at lunch time.What they had waas good. We preferred the Buffet restaurant.

We always walk down to the Riu Negril at the other end of Bloody Bay. There were a few stalls previously but now there are stalls all the way down the beach. Lots of new things to buy.There was even a lady with a massage table. None of the vendors bothered you if you said "No Thanks" when they wanted you to look at their wares. We have been to Jamaica over 35 times so have all the souveniers that we need.

We were looking forward to a quiet time on the beach when we heard that the jet skis were gone. Passed 8 of them lying on the beach on our walks. However one of the para sailing boats had a very noisy engine. There appeared to be more beach entertainers.

The scuba diving is one of the best organized and well run operations. The snorkelling was enjoyable but there did nto seem to be as many fish as on previous trips.

The bus to Times Squre for shopping was a bit too long. Previously the bus also took you into Negril but that has stopped.

Would highly reccomend this resort to anybody who wants a restful vacation with excellent staff. If you golf and scuba dive you will really get your monies worth.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank damien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Last minute, impromptu trip booked for our 3rd stay, 21-28June... we will be back, for sure! Stayed in Dlx GV Room #3302.

A bit disappointed we did not get upgraded; it was our 3rd stay and according to Operations Manager David (with whom we spoke at the Returning Guest Cocktail Party), the hotel was just over 60% occupancy - he even said they had to lay off some staff temporarily and according to Esther (our mgmt. rep from the Gift Shop at the Returning Guest Dinner), some chose to take some vacation time.

In any event, our room was cleaned every day by the time we returned to it late afternoon; a/c worked well thank goodness, water pressure and temperature was never an issue, mini bar was stocked as requested (and we did not have to be in room for it to be). Ants were a bit of an issue, but after spraying on a couple occasions, they abated. We NEVER did get turn-down service with towel refresh in the evenings despite leaving our room for the evening at different times.

Having a 2 hour time difference, we were up early and headed to breakfast close to Cassava's opening time. We never had a problem getting a lounger at the beach or pool with shade. Even at 10am, there were still 'prime' spots available - quite surprising actually.

Still wide variety of options for breakfast and lunch at the buffet. Breakfast included Baked Ham a couple mornings, Roast Turkey for lunch and still the best soups, which we had most lunches! Don't know if it was the cut-back of staff or not but we would heed the sign at Cassava to "wait to be seated" (many did not!), only to have to wait to be seated even though there were staff 'hanging' around. Coffee/water/wine service was slower than we are accustomed to and the birds are still annoying - we would never accept to sit below a rafter - did that only once and got s*** upon!

We had late lunch at the grill and the wings, nachos were very good - the onion rings were soggy and should have been cooked longer though, but filled the void!

Ate once at Heliconia for supper and it was just OK... I did not finish my chicken as it did not seem to be done - it was one of those flash frozen breasts so was not pink inside, just watery - YUK. My husband ordered Salmon and got the chicken dish - he just rolled with it instead of getting it re-ordered. And it was not busy - you would think a waiter would get it right!?

We ate twice at Otaheite and both meals were very good and nice that the menu changed, so we got to try two separate menus! Brad was our waiter both times and he was attentive, friendly and engaging without being intrusive.

We ate at Lychee once with their menu and it was very good; still enjoy the deep fried ice cream for dessert! Lychee hosted the Returning Guest Dinner as well; this meal was very good and the service was the best, probably as there were only two full tables and part of a third at the dinner, so about 30 guests - one of the smallest groups ever according to the GM. He said the chefs were pleased not to have 150 to serve!

Maybe the busy winter season really does wear the staff down!?

Pool attendants and watersports guys to a fab job of keeping the beach, pools, hot tubs clean and sparkling. Pools vacuumed every morning and every second day they were scrubbing down the tiles inside the pool area. Good to see as the 'gunk' can build up!

Big shout out to Ivylyn, the best bartender at the swim up pool bar! |She kept our drinks fresh. Thanks also to Camille - she stepped in for us when Ivy was busy! Top shelf was available, just ask.

Entertainment was varied; we only took in a couple of the evening shows. Not to be missed are the Silver Birds who currently perform on Friday nights. During busy season they also perform on Sundays at lunch time. New this trip was live music at breakfast. We were usually finished up by the time they started, but we could hear the music from the pool area where we parked. One morning there was a harpist and another was a violinist. One evening a saxophonist played as well. Very nice!

So bathrooms in Bldg 1, 2, 8 are done and they have started on 7 (or 7 done and they have started on 8, I forget)- with the exception of the Beachfront rooms in them which have not been renovated as yet, with 9 next. David, Ops Mgr, said all should be completed by Dec 2014 ready for the next busy winter season.

A few hiccups along the way, but nothing interfered with our enjoyment of the resort, the ocean and each other...it was sad to have to leave,, but we know we are closer to our next trip.

Look forward to returning for stay #4!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DeniseAtBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I read a ton of reviews and had my doubts, it was very good! The food was great, rooms were good people were awesome! I really don't know if we could have a better vacation. I am getting ready to book another one for feb. 2015 we watched the superbowl on two screens of 20 by 40 foot. incredible!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were looking for a relaxing, quiet vacation, away from the stress and busy life and we found that at Couples Negril! All the staff was friendly and helpful, especially bartender Charles! Can't say enough good things about this resort. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LJS900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

After staying with Couples Swept Away 8 years ago for our honeymoon, we opted to try Couples Negril for our return visit. Some of the things that we really enjoyed about our first trip were just as good or better this time around. We were greeted at the airport by Couples staff in the Couples lounge upon arrival. We had a short 25 minute wait for the shuttle to take us to the resort while we sipped on our choice of Pepsi or Red Stripe Beer. It took about 1 hour and 45 minutes to travel to the resort as there seemed to be alot more traffic than we remember. We arrived around 2:00 and were met by friendly folks welcoming us to Negril with champagne and a cold towel. We were taken to our room within 10 minutes. Our Deluxe Oceanfront room was clean, comfortable and well air-conditioned. Big king size bed with 6 pillows, mini fridge stocked with red stripe, pepsi, ginger ale, orange juice, pineapple juice, cranberry juice, a bottle of white wine and a bottle of champagne. We appreciated the in-room safe, big beach towels, excellent housekeeping service and nightly turn down. We were starving so we headed out looking for food. We had just missed the afternoon buffet at Cassava Terrace so we ate at the beach grill where they have a small selection of food like burgers, chicken, grilled cheese, fries, onion rings, chips and a few other items. There is also self serve ice cream and a bar right there next to the grill. The beach area was a good size with lots of padded chairs, tables and flags for drink service. We never had to fight for a place to sit and the view was gorgeous. The main pool is nice with two jacuzzi's on either side and another bar with swim up service. We ate dinner at Cassava Terrace which is an open air restaurant with nighly entertainment and either a buffet or sit down service. Food was pretty good and there was a nice selection. We also ate breakfast there every morning at the buffet and there was always something new to try. There did seem to be a lack of fresh pineapple which I missed as this is one of my favorites. We took the Catamaran cruise out with about 40 other folks and enjoyed music and rum punch on our way to the caves/swimming area. There is a small slide on the top of the boat that you can slide off of into the water below. This would have been a great trip had it not started pouring down raining with thunder and lightning on our way back. Kayaking was fun and there were alot of water activities to choose from. Snorkeling and diving seemed to always be booked which is only offered a couple times each day and you have to sign up a day in advance. We missed out on both. Dinner at Otaheite was fantastic and is a dressy, elegant atmosphere with impeccable service. You need reservations and there are 4 seating times. We tried dinner at the Asian place, Leechy, but it wasn't worth visiting again. Jamaican people can cook but Asian is not their forte. We enjoyed massages at the spa which were priced fairly and since it rained almost every day we were there, we spent alot of time in the Game Room playing pool and chess. The highlights of the trip were the bonfire on the beach with a wonderful singer playing acoustic guitar; very romantic. We also enjoyed Casino night and the auction afterwards. Overall the entertainment staff is very friendly and will go out of there way to make sure you are happy. The bar staff didn't talk much and many of the wait staff seemed less than happy to be there which was not as we remembered it at Swept Away. The gift shops were a great place to pick up items we forgot and also some souvenires to bring back home. Our only complaint was that ALL of our alcoholic beverages were very weak and watered down. You can tell that they mix water with all of the bottles behind the bar. This was disappointing for an all inclusive resort. Also most of the options are bottom shelf brands. I had to drink 4 or 5 drinks just to feel that there was any alcohol in them. Our departure was good with 1 hour and 20 minute drive in the shuttle. We opted to pay extra and use the Club Mobay VIP lounge since we had about 3 hours to kill before our flight. It was well worth the $30 each we paid as it included unlimited drinks, food, snacks, tv, wi-fi, showers, a sleeping area, magazines, air conditioning and great service. Overall it was a great trip. Rained every day except 1 and it was hot and humid but what can you expect traveling to the Carribean mid-June.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 9 are right next to the nude beach area. You may see naked people and pass them i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mommyof3monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 81 in Negril
5,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 81 in Negril
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
83.4 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
4,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 81 in Negril
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $378 - $1,300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing