We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax & enjoy in a romantic resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relax & enjoy in a romantic resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My third experience of Couples resorts - and my favourite so far. The beach is perfect, with a headland at each end to give a cosy feel. The water deepens slowly, but fast enough. There is a swim-up bar at one side of a really good pool. The staff and the food are excellent. The rooms are very comfortable and well-appointed. The all-inclusive arrangement makes the whole experience a seamless delight, from airport transfer to water sports and great wines, spirits - and, of course, Red Stripe beer! I recommend it heartily for a very enjoyable vacation.

Room Tip: Try not to be next to the main buffet restaurant - unless you enjoy loud music until late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Grodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,805
    963
    245
    129
    41
See reviews for
49
3,210
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was our second visit to Couples Negril and it was just as great as our first visit! The people at Couples are the friendliest you will ever meet. The service is top-notch and the atmosphere is as relaxing or as interactive as you want it to be. There are daily activities but no hard sell to participate if you chose to just lie on the beach. The food was amazing in every restaurant and if your not sure what you'd like to drink the bartenders will gladly make something special for you. Keep an eye out for Floy, Mescha, and Amay - they will take excellent care of you! Can't wait for our next visit home!

Room Tip: Building 6 and building 9 are closest to the beach, although building 9 has a view of the au natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The property is well designed. Everything was pretty easily accessible.

The room is dated.
We had a room with an oceanview. The bed and linens were fine. Any other piece of furniture looked as if it was picked up at a surplus store. It was either too big or too dark for the room...not really giving off a tropical feel
The bathroom is really challenging. It was dimly lit and looked extremely worn. There is no water pressure. My boyfriend was most dissatisfied with the shower. He actually stated that he had a better chance of washing anything off in the sea.

The food ranged from 3 to 4 out of 5.
The local fare which included jerked chicken/pork, various patties and callaloo were great!
Usually, at an all inclusive, you can expect a "tourist" version of local fare. But we were very happy to taste the real deal.
The meals that were not carribean based were average.
I tried a pasta dish for dinner and it was overcooked...mushy.
The asian restaurant, lychee, served a melange of asian dishes. I would give it a 3.5 as far as taste goes.
The buffets, both dinner and breakfast, offered a nice variety of items to satisfy everyone.
So I would say, do check out the buffets and asian restaurant....skip anything that is touted as mediterranean....not delicious

The beach and the water was quite relaxing. A local came by each day to play his guitar and sing pleasant tunes to everyone. The beach was neither noisy nor crowded. It was a perfect break from the bitter winter.

Service was cordial and good, all around.

While I would visit the island again, I will most likely check out a different resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wzero71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham I, Owner at Couples Negril, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear wzero71,

Thank you staying with us at Couples Negril. Sorry to hear that you found some of our features unsatisfactory. Most of the furniture in our rooms is locally made with high quality materials. That being said, the style of each room lends itself to an elegant Caribbean feel. Pertaining to the water pressure in your bathroom, we received no other negative comments regarding same. However, gages will be checked. Apologies for any inconvenience here.

It was reassuring to learn you enjoyed the local cuisine we offer. Jamaica has a unique array of dishes. Other restaurant inconsistencies you mentioned will be sent to our chefs for analysis.

It is unfortunate that you may look elsewhere for your next vacation. Couples Swept Away is very near in distance and might be more to your liking, seeing that this hotel has more dining options and different rooms. Feel free to learn more about our other resorts at Couples.com.

Sincerely,
Abraham Issa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Sorry a bit late in reviewing, we were at Couples Negril from 23rd February for two weeks. We had a fantastic time and loved the hotel. Food is great and choice of drinks are very good. All staff were friendly and Courteous at all times. I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of booking.
Our only complaint (and its not really a complaint as the hotel cant help it) is that we thought that there were 'groups' of people, particularly from America, rather than couples, another words they are probably block booking with friends and relatives. This causes it to be a bit noisy round the pool and times. But as I said, not the hotels fault and there is plenty of places to sit quietly, particularly on the beach, if thats what you want to do. We spent most of our time on the beach, we sailed, scoober dived, took a trip on the catamarang, and generally relaxed on the lovely sunbeds which double up as floats in the sea. We couldnt have wished for a better destination to spend our honeymoon. A big thank you to all at couples Negril

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I just returned from Couples Negril and it is our new favourite resort! We've been to much bigger and fancier resorts in both Mexico and Dominican Republic, but this small and intimate resort has us smitten! As you'll read, it is in need of updating and doesn't have the shiny luxury you may be used to, but the slight 'shabiness' all becomes part of the charm.

Unlike other resorts which are owned by North American/ European countries and try to replicate their own culture/style, Couples Negril is owned and operated by Jamaicans and you get more of a feel for the country you're actually staying in. The vibe at this resort is extremely welcoming and laid back. We loved the location (Bloody Bay) as the beach was beautiful and very relaxing. The resort is not crowded at all so you'll always have a beach chair (complete with floatie!) to lounge on.

We did an exchange to Couples Swept Away one day were very happy to have chosen Couple Negril instead. CSA is much bigger, livelier and located on the 7-mile beach. If you're looking for a more party atmosphere this would be the place for you as CN is pretty low-key. We just found it to be a bit loud and overwhelming after leaving the peacefulness of Couples Negril. We also much preferred the beach at CN, as the 7-mile beach is much more touristy, and thus you have a lot more people coming up to you and trying to sell you things. Also, the staff at CN seemed to be much more relaxed and friendly than at CSA. We also tried the jerk chicken at CSA (our favourite dish at CN) and it was the worst we've ever had!

Some quick tips:

Airport Arrival/Check in: We arrived at the airport early on Saturday morning and breezed through customs. We were sitting in the Couples Lounge with a Red Stripe in hand within 20 minutes. We were really glad we didn't waste our money on the 'MoBay Pass'. We were told that the wait would have been much longer had we arrived in the afternoon. Definitely recommend getting an early flight if you can.

Rooms: Rooms are in need of updating but are comfortable and clean. Nothing fancy, but you have everything you need. We had a room in building one on the ground floor. Highly recommended. It was very central and just a stone's throw away from everything. I requested this building in advance and they were able to accomodate. It didn't seem as if it had been recently updated (as other posts have suggested) but we were very happy with it!

Food: Jerk Chicken at the beach grill is a must! It is done perfectly everytime. We ate it every day. We also really enjoyed the meals at the Otaheite which requires a reservation. We reserved twice without any problems and really enjoyed our meals both times. The buffet was also good and plentiful. The only restaurant that wasn't our favourite was Lychee (the Asian restaurant). While it was perfectly fine, we're huge lovers of Asian food and found their interprions to be a bit bland. I imagine this is because they're trying to appeal to a variety of tastes...

Activities: My husband loves scuba diving and loved that he could just roll out of bed and go for a dive. He's used to having to do a full day excursion to go for a dive, but here he could see the dive hut from our patio. He said it was some of the best visibility he's seen. We also did the Catamaran Cruise which was great. Also, if you're celebrating something special I'd highly recommend the private dinner on the beach...very romantic! You can also choose to upgrade to send off 'wish lanterns' at the end of your dinner...really memorable.

Another tour I'd recommend (which is not included) in the "One Love Bus Tour". A great way to experience Jamaica. Check it out on trip advisor..I'll be posting a review soon.

Happy Travels!





.

Room Tip: To be close to everything, I'd recommend a ground floor room in Building 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I recently visited this amazing resort! Arrival on a Saturday-everything went very smoothly, we grabbed a red stripe while waiting to leave on the bus. Didn't wait longer than 20 minutes. The ride was an hour and twenty min and didn't feel long at all.

Check in: We were warmly greeted at the resort, given a cool towel and a glass of champagne. We booked a garden view room on the third floor (requested) and that is what we received. We were facing the spa and lush palm trees. Oceanfront would have been awesome, but for the amount of time spent in our room, gardenview was great. We were in building two with a renovated washroom. Our room was spotless and the maids were in twice a day to tidy up and change our towels. Fabulous service!

The Beautiful Beach: We are totally beach people, so we did not take the advantage of the pool. We were at the beach in our favorite spot by 8:00am the whole week. We walked the beach early every morning and loved it. We enjoyed basking in the sun and taking the floatie out into the water and totally relaxing without waves pushing up against us. We met "Donovan the musician" our first day and looked forward to hearing him sing and play the guitar every day. He is very personable, and deserves to be tipped every time. He promised to learn "Hotel California" for us when we return next time.

The food: We did not have a bad meal here the whole week. Nothing else to be said about the food-from breakfast, to lunch, to dinner-it was incredible. We enjoyed the ambiance presented for dinners-very romantic.

Service: Service we received from everyone was very warm and friendly. Beach service with the "red flags" is truly a brilliant idea. This starts at 10:00am every morning and I believe they pick up the flags at 5:00. They will have anything made for you that you want and always delivered with a smile. Servers for all meals in all the restaurants was excellent and very inviting. The bar service was fun and interactive. These people are trained very well to make you feel welcome and cared for.

Entertainment: Firstly, the Silverbirds-steel drum band. This group is truly amazing! They are so talented and energetic. If they are performing during your stay, DO NOT MISS IT! We also took in the acrobatics show. This was also very entertaining. These two shows were the best we have ever seen at an all inclusive resort. We thought we would check out the "piano sing-along" one night-just to watch as neither of us can carry a tune. Well, as soon as we entered, next thing you new, we were sitting at the piano with the lyrics in front of us pretending we were fabulous singers. We had a great time that night. The pianist is entertaining and a lot of fun. We also went to the piano bar for reggae night and had a fun time dancing.

We experienced an awesome week at Couples Negril and hope to return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MariaandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, British Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This resort was great. Our only complaint was the au natural side. Way too public. No food service or pool area on that side. If we could take the au natural side from Couples San Souci and plunk it down at Couples Negril, this resort would be perfect.

Everything was great on our stay. Staff were happy, friendly and happy to be there.... Food wasn't all that great in the reservation restaurant, but great everywhere else. Entertainment was fabulous. Piano bar rocked!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SnowAngel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
83.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing