We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Relaxation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Maryville, MO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just returned from CN & we loved it! Yes, the buildings are not shining and new, but very clean and comfortable. We had a garden suite in building 9 which faced the gardens but we also had nice view of beach. Definitely the best beach with plenty of sturdy chairs, towels and cushions you could take to float on! Service was WONDERFUL! Vaden, our waiter one evening, made my father-in-law's 80th birthday very very special. Everyone was great! One of my favorite things was the hammock on our balcony. Food surpassed our expectations. The resort is truly the most inclusive with many activities at no extra charge! It's no wonder we met so many people who had stayed there before! Our daughter had a beautiful sunset wedding on the beach and the coordinators did a great job. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The suites in building 8 & 9 are wonderful. If you are on the 3rd floor you have great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mona B,

Congratulations on your daughters wedding and your father in laws birthday. Happy the staff did everything to make the experience memorable and we hope we will be able to create more for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,803
    962
    245
    129
    41
See reviews for
49
3,208
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Couples from November 5-10th for our honeymoon and were overall pleased with our stay. To be clear, this was both of our first times ever being somewhere out of the country so please keep that in mind.

Check In: First off, let me mention that when you get on the bus to head to Couples that you have an hour and a half bus ride before even getting to the resort and if you are easily motion sick, you should really consider sitting in the front because the driving was more than interesting. When we arrived we were greeted with cold wash clothes which was a nice touch along with champagne. Once all of our documents were in we had to wait 45 minutes to even be shown to our room which I found more than a little long to have to wait to be put into a room. We rode the bus with a large group who evidently were not placed next to each other and so had to wait for the resort staff to fix that issue.

Room: This was perhaps the most disappointing part of our stay just beacuse our room was not at all what I was expecting. We were in building 5 which is a good ways from the dining options, pool, etc. and was not "ocean" view as we had requested at least by my experience with ocean view properties. The room was also pretty out dated and just not what I would expect for a "luxury resort." We spoke with several couples who had been to Couples several times and said they would not be returning just because of the fact that it was getting older.

Beach and Grounds: The grounds at Couples were immaculately kept and there seemed to always be someone working on something around the resort trying to make it look better and from my understanding they are renovating many of the rooms. The beach itself was also beautiful and there never seemed to be a shortage of chairs available. The resort also offers the service where someone comes up to your chair while on the beach and brings you a drink which was fantastic although by the end of the trip it seemed to be taking longer and longer for someone to check on what we needed once the red flag was up. The biggest issue with the beach I had were the vendors that walked up and down it constantly trying to sell stuff. By the last few days, I was very tired of hearing the same people selling the same stuff.

Service: We were very pleased overall with the service we received and want to give a HUGE shout out to the bartender Franklin and Ralph and Simone at the really nice sit down restaurant. They set the bar high for everyone else because of their impeccable service.

Food: The variety of food available at Couples was excellent and we really enjoyed the food at each restaurant. We waited until the second to last night to try the really nice sit down restaurant and really wish we had gone there every night as the food was just amazing!

Activities: My biggest advice is that as soon as you arrive make sure and go to the guest relations desk to check on activities and when they are offered. We didn't ever get to go scuba diving because it was constantly filled up and were there 6 days. We did take advantage of the glass bottom boat ride along with the booze cruise and had a great time on both. We also went to the Times Square Market trip and were pretty pleased with what was offered there.

A Few Points: -- TIPPING: We were constantly confused on whether to tip the waiters, etc. or not. We had been told by our travel agent to not tip but talked with many people who did and then talked to others who said the staff would get in trouble possibly even fired if they were caught accepting a tip. We found though, that service was a little better when giving a tip although it does add up quickly! WEATHER: We were a little disappointed with the weather although we are used to it being from Alabama and dealing with the afternoon storms we have here. Most mornings were beautiful and then an afternoon storm would come betwee 1-3pm and most of the time would clear up before dinner although it did get annoying having to walk through water puddles most every night so just beware of this when going this time of year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cameon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Cameon S,

We are very appreciative of you choosing our resort for your first vacation abroad. We do apologize that you were not able to experience diving in Jamaica, but hope that in the future you will. To clarify the tipping concern, Couples Resorts places a strong emphasis on our 'No Tipping Policy' as we believe this is an essential part of our carefree all-inclusive resort experience. A friendly 'thank you' or note on a guest comment card is however accepted. Looking forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our first trip out of the country and we were immediately disappointed. The resort is very small. We had an Ocean View room and it was very small. The bathroom was in urgent need of updating. The room was not even up to a Days Inn. Smoke detector battery went off in middle of night and when calling front desk service did not arrive until 2 hrs later. Restaurants were average and entertainment was blah. Definitely will never return and do not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham I, Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Greetings Deborah,

Thank you for sharing this review on your recent stay at Couples Negril.

Couples Negril has 234 rooms on 18 acres of beach front property. Be aware that Couples resorts are boutique in style and always provide an intimate setting. Overall quality and service are elevated because of this. As it pertains to bathrooms, all are currently being refurbished in stages over the next year.

Couples Negril extends it’s apology for your smoke detector going off accidentally. Front desk notified engineering immediately and the issue was resolved as fast as possible.

It is unfortunate to hear that the resort did not meet your expectations. Nevertheless, your comments are appreciated and will be used to continue improving this resort.

Regards,
Abraham Issa
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We were two couples both celebrating a 50th and 60th birthday. It was my 20th time to the island over the last 30 years. I did not chose this property, leaving that choice to the other couple. I was very happy they chose the Negril area, I was a bit disappointed with their selection of this property..but it was Negril. The rooms were comfortable and suitably equipped but a bit dated. Our next door neighbor that we met on our adjoining patios complained about their wall air conditioner that leaked down the wall all night and soaked their bags that they stored directly underneath. Our unit had broken slats that were inoperable and the air was directed at the head of the bed. My wife slept on that side the first night with a blanket over her head all night. I took that sop the next night and found that air blowing on my head all night uncomfortable as well. The tiles in the bathroom were also dated and had been caulked many times over the years. It is my understanding that some buildings were in the process of being rehabbed and that might resolve all the deficiencies at this resort. I will emphatically state that none of these issues stopped us from having a wonderful time! The resort grounds are meticulously maintained and are quite beautiful. We stayed at the St James in Montego Bay last year and although the St James was a much nicer room, Couples has the location! Although 7 Mile beach is not accessible from this property, as a Couples guest, you have access to its sister property, Swept Away which is about 2 miles away and is directly on 7 Mile. We took advantage of this and spent a day at Swept Away. It was a much larger property and with all considered, think we all agreed that the intimacy afforded at Couples Negril was more to our liking. The food...at every restaurant was excellent. A wide choice of selection and very nice presentations. In many instances even better than St James last year. I usually remember the names of one or two staff members that give exceptional service. This trip it was easy to remember Sophie at beach service, Omar who served us dinner on several nights, Camile and Tennyson at the swim up bar however ALL staff from the Housekeepers to the front desk were truly exceptional.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank beausbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at couples negril for for 7 nights at the end of October. This was our 2nd trip to Jamaica, but our first to couples negril. The hotel was a little older, but the accommodations was great, the property was beautiful.Our room was great clean and very modern, our balcony overlooked the gardens and a small pond it was wonderful and housekeeping did a great job cleaning and made sure we had plenty of towels. The hotel offers lots of free activities like scuba diving, catamaran cruise (fun fun fun), glass bottom boat, sailing and shopping trip. We also did a the Private dinner on the beach a surprise birthday dinner for my boyfriend, it was great the food was fabulous grilled lobster tail, our server Omar was excellent it was well worth the $170.00. The food and the drinks at he resort was also good, the bartenders, food service staff, the entertainment staff, guess services and even the grounds people very friendly and so committed to making your vacation a wonderful experience. The other wonderful thing about this resort is a lot of the guest are returning guest, we talked to people that said this is there fourth, sixth, and one couple said that this was there 10th trip to couples, I think that say a lot about this resort. I would definitely recommend this resort, overall this was a great vacation , it is truly an all inclusive resort. We will be back next year around the same time. One more thing the beach was fantastic, my boyfriend and I would walk the beach every morning...Love it!!!
-

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Melody R,

Great to hear this was the best vacation ever. Your kind words about the staff are appreciative and we are happy you tried and enjoyed the private dinner and look forward to welcoming you again as one of our repeat clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at couples negril for 7 nights at the beginning of November. This was our first trip to Jamaica so we didn't know what to expect. The hotel is a little dated, but accommodations are still very nice. We stayed in building 4 which was a little far from the main lobby but was very close to water sports which was great. Housekeeping comes to your room three times a day which is needed because it was so humid that towels would never dry and our floor was always covered in sand from the beach. Pack plenty of extra clothes as you will be changing often due to wet clothes not drying out.

Make sure to check with guest services as soon as you get there so you can get the activity schedule. Most activities require that you sign up one day in advance. The hotel offers free scuba diving, catamaran cruise, wake boarding, glass bottom boat and sailing. The water sports guys can be a little pushy when it comes to added promotions such as getting your scuba certification or signing up for a private cruise. A polite no was did not always get the point across which was a little frustrating. We also visited ricks cafe which is a must for anyone willing to take the plunge off the various cliff options that are available.

The food and drinks were great every day. There is a no tip policy, but the bartenders and food service staff were always there to refill your drink or help you in any way you needed. Overall this was a great all inclusive resort that I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Jamaica. The free activities and good food definitely make this a must visit resort. It is truly an all inclusive resort.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear BerkCE,

Your recent review is highly appreciated and we are happy you were able to participate and enjoy our various activities offered. We are currently refreshing the resort and hope on your next return you will fully enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went here for a friends wedding. Just got back late last night & we had a wonderful time!

PROS: The property is beautiful. Lots of things to do. Many activities included to do (hobbie cat, paddle boarding, kayaking, paddle boats, sand volleyball, water volleyball, etc). The food is amazing, the people that work there are very committed to making it a wonderful experience for everyone. Our room was cleaned at least twice a day if we wanted it to be. We were brought a snack around 4-5 pm each day. Nightly entertainment was great.

CONS: Parasailing is not included, which was a bit disappointing. And for the amount of money we spent doing it, it was not really worth it. We were approached by the "Beach Boss" the first morning we were there and were told since it was early in the morning the first ride got to go longer than the others to 'advertise'. We were in the air for about 7-8 minutes. And were bullied into paying for a $30 DVD of us parasailing. Which we just watched and the first 4 minutes of the DVD was something someone had recorded on TV, then came our crappy quality video of us. Not worth $30. And then they still wanted a tip when we were done! It was very shady, and I feel that the Couple's resort should offer something like this through them instead of whoever these people were.

The only other complaint I have is that the pictures the photographers around the resort take are VERY expensive to purchase. $15 for ONE picture on a CD. It is very frustrating. And there is no dealing and lowering the price. The pictures are great quality and we did purchase 6 (almost $70!!) on a CD and they are all there and in great quality. There is a lady that works in the picture shop that was pretty rude that I was not please with either.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are definitely worth the extra bit of money! The other rooms can be quite small. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Steph M, good to hear you had a wonderful time with us and got involved in our watersports activities.

We do apologize for less than pleasant experience with parasailing and we do not recommend excursions from beach by-passers. With regards to the photo desk, we do apologize for the behaviour of the staff, but hope that you will enjoy the pictures of paradise for a lifetime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
83.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Jetsetter, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing