We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff make you feel at home! Ya Mon!”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff make you feel at home! Ya Mon!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I went here just recently for a week for our honeymoon. From the second you arrive on the property the staff caters to your every need. They are inviting, friendly and make you feel at home even though you may be from thousands of miles away! They genuinely want to know about you and want to make sure you're having a the best time possible. The pool and beach is beautiful and there plenty of activities including water sports to keep you busy if you'd like. Rooms are nice and the staff is meticulous when cleaning. After your relaxing stay here it makes it hard to come home! We hope to return for an anniversary some day!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLC316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,878
    996
    252
    131
    43
See reviews for
49
3,316
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The food is excellent with plenty of choice, I normally tire of buffets after the 3rd night but not here. Good service, friendly staff, plenty of sun beds always available around the pool and on the beach. The floating sun bed mats and flag system for drinks are a real bonus.
Premium drinks available, you just have to ask. I like port with my cheese board at the end of a meal and they always found me some - really impressed with the staff going the extra mile.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, yes they could do with a bit of updating, but this does not detract from the overall experience.
Overall one of our best holidays, we have had better but paid a lot more through vacation clubs.

Room Tip: Side Sea view rooms are in block 6 and closest to the main buffet restuarant which hosts the nightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I choose this resort for our honeymoon from our travel agent. We arrived at the airport (prepare yourself for chaos) and finally got to the couples lounge. They took care of our luggage and handed us red stripes! What more could you ask for?!?
The bus ride was a little longer than expected, 1.5 hours. Everyone bashes the driving here but I never felt like my life was in danger. Yes they tailgate and pass people but come on, we do that in America. The honking at everyone is hysterical and the bus driver was very full of information and answered all of our questions. The bus ride is "free" but they do expect to be tipped. But hey, it's how they make a living!
Upon check in to the resort a manager approached us. Told us that they were remodeling and the beachfront suite we booked (7 months prior) was not available. They put us in a garden view suite and said we could move if another beachfront became available. He also comped us a free couples massage for the inconvenience which was amazing!!! After getting to our room, we decided to stay in it and we were reimbursed for the difference in rooms. After talking to other couples, there really isn't a "beachfront" due to the way the buildings are arranged so it all worked out perfect. Huge room! Stocked bar! The ac will freeze you out if your not careful, constant clean towels! Hammock on the patio. We were on the 3rd floor over some small ponds and gardens and could see the ocean from our balcony.
Food was not too bad at the buffet but the restaurant that requires reservations and has a dress code (which they do stick to!) was amazing!! 5 courses and staff was great!
Tons of activities, (go night snorkeling!!) swim up bar, constant cleaning of your room. We used our safe and never had a problem. Had appetizers delivered to our room every evening. Pina colada's were terrific!! Mixed drinks were average. Beach was absolutely beautiful! This is not a luxury resort. This is a natural looking, relaxing and simpler place. Which is exactly what I wanted. To take in the culture and enjoy a different part of the world. There isn't a lot of night life but after all the day activities and drinking, we were honestly exhausted by 10pm every night.
Dolphin swim is a must, we deep sea fished with caption Courtney and jack! Unforgettable trip!
Only complaints were that we didn't book out trip long enough! We WILL we going back and staying here!
Don't let them sell you the "mombay" package when checking out for "faster service at the airport". That airport is one hot mess and there is no "fast service" there. Just find a seat and relax!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashleymcmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Yea mon! I can't wait to come back to this place.

All inclusive done right. I really loved that I did not have to worry about transportation just head over to the couples lounge and start drinking!! They really make you feel like VIP the moment you walk to the lounge. The lounge staff informed us that it would be about 20mins but with the excitement and the drinking I don't even think it felt that long [maybe it wasn't]
We boarded the bus the rain was nonstop and the ride was about an 1hr 30mins. The drivers are very funny and keep you entertained.

Once we got to the resort check in would have been a breeze. My boyfriend and I traveled with another couple. We both booked the same garden view room. Our friends got upgraded for whatever reason to building 8 and we were going to be stuck on the other side in building 4!
So not fair... between the rain and this I was not happy.
After some hesitation the check in staff finally upgraded us both. thanks couples for not ruining my vacation!

The beach is wonderful! better than expected we spend the entire morning at the beach and some of the afternoon, before the rain, at the pool. {The pool was not clean but maybe because of the rain.?}

The restaurants were all great. no complains! I miss that jerk chicken and the coco bread. delish!!!

It lacks a little bit of Lively night entertainment but i guess the piano bar sing along wasn't my cup of tea. Reggae night was the best. We missed karaoke night had to head back home :(
the entertainment crew was awesome. okeno is the best. he does everything!!
michael at the bar is the best!
shiryl and her drink nightingale(dont know if im spelling it right) love that drink keep it up!

I definitely would looove to return to this place.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra if you don't plan to be in the room. I do not think it is worth it. Majori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our second time to Couples Negril and it was just as amazing as the first. The service is wonderful, whether its at a restaurant, a bar, or on the beach. The food is amazing. The list of free activities include everything from tennis lessons to scuba diving (yes, free scuba diving!). This is our favorite vacation spot and we can't wait to go back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If it were not for the beach this would have been a complete disaster. They did not say anywhere this place was under construction.
Housekeeping was terrible, the bathroom floor was never swept. When towels were used getting replacements seemed to be hit and miss. Big can of bug spray in the closet as you came into the room.
The lock on the sliding doors to the room was broken along with the door frame. Did manage to lock it eventually.
Food was fair but have had better at the RIU across the bay.
There were no wines in stock if you wanted to purchase the upgrade bottles. Every time we asked they had "just sold the last bottle"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank warmweathergirl2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham I, Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate this feedback and will utilize it as best as possible when improving our service.

Regarding the renovation taking place on property, we notified all of our tour operators and travel agents in advance. We apologize that you learned about this unexpectedly. All of your other observations have been forwarded to relevant departments for analysis and correction.

I hope this response has been somewhat reassuring. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Abraham Issa- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We got the 2nd floor Oceanview suite overlooking the nude beach. This room was perfect for our honeymoon. Quiet, private, with amazing balcony views(which we enjoyed daily and nightly on our hammock) The restaurants were delicious with really relish vegetarian choices at each place, each night. Beach was awesome. From the flags you stick in the sand for a waitress to bring you a cocktail, to the clear warm water, this place is heaven.

Room Tip: Side overlooking nude beach is most private. The balcony ocean view suites are worth thee extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickHamlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear MickHamlett,

Congratulations on your nuptial. We are pleased to have been given the opportunity to host you for your honeymoon. Great accommodation, food and entertainment in a tranquil atmosphere seemed to have worked out perfectly for you.

Thanks for sharing your comments. We hope to see you again.

Regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 81 in Negril
5,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 81 in Negril
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.1 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#22 of 81 in Negril
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing