We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless paradise”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spotless paradise”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We chose this place based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. It was a true paradise and the food was so amazing in all the restaurants, the staff was great! "respect". We talked to a lot of couples who go there regularly, so if you repeat a place it must be good.
If you want to take a trip outside the resort I recommend you Rick's cafe, the views and the atmosphere were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Damafina,

Our dedication to excellent service is just one of the many reasons why the Couples Negril family is so large.

Looking forward to counting you among our list of repeaters.

Regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,867
    988
    251
    129
    43
See reviews for
49
3,295
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Couples Negril August 25 to September1, 2013. The resort was suggested by our travel agent as well as a cousin and his wife who went to Couples Ocho Rios for their honeymoon. This was a first time trip to Jamaica for both of us, we were not sure what to expect. We liked how Couples had a place for us at the airport to use the restroom and grab a Red Stripe while we waited for the resort shuttle (a few other hotels had the same service). While the scenery to and from the hotel was beautiful, the driving was NOT. Both to and from the resort I was honestly scared for my safety in regards to the way the resort shuttle drivers drove. They were speeding, tailgating, and passing every chance they could get (the road is curvy and only two lanes).
Upon arrival to the resort, we were greeted with champagne and also told they had overbooked our beachfront suite (we had booked this room in February 2013). This meant we could still stay in a suite, but it was a garden suite for two nights which was fine with my husband and I, however, we had paid extra money to stay in the beachfront suite since this was our honeymoon (normally we would stay in the cheapest room we could get). Staff told us we could have a resort credit to purchase souvenirs. I declined this and we ended up getting cash back in the nightly difference along with an extra 30 minutes added on to our honeymooners massage. No big deal, glad they took care of it.
Both my husband and I loved staying at Couples Negril. Staff was great, loved the floats on the lounge chairs and the food was great. My husband I have been to Mexico three times previously and he was concerned about the food in Jamaica as he didn’t care for the resort food in Mexico. He loved the food at Couples and even tried a few new things. The rooms of course do new updating; however, we didn’t mind because we don’t spend much time in the room. We did this trip because it rained and/or stormed every afternoon so we went back to nap. The extra things at the resort like the water activities are a huge plus. This is the first time at an all-inclusive resort we felt we didn’t need to leave the resort to do an excursion. We went snorkeling and sailed at the resort. The beach and beach service was also a huge plus. It is nice to have trees on the beach for shade. I didn’t mind the locals trying to sell us things at the beach, usually a polite no thank you worked. It should be noted this resort sits in a bay like area and you can only walk so far off the resort on the beach.

Pros:
Beach
Water
Floating lounge chair covers
Food
Staff/service

Cons:
The way staff drove the shuttle
Rooms needed updating
Our room being overbooked (only because we unpacked for two days and then had to re-pack to move rooms)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indianales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear First Time Guests,

We are happy to have facilitated your first all-inclusive experience in Jamaica. Welcome to the Couples family. I see that you enjoyed our AirportLounge and our delectable cuisine. While we regret the disappointment you experienced at check in, we are grateful that this did not negatively affect your experience. Thank you for your compliments of the hardworking staff.

The shuttle drivers are encouraged to abide by the road safety laws and the standards of the resort and if they deviate, corrective measures are taken. We are currently undertaking a few renovation exercises to effect some changes to our accommodations and other general facilities.

We do encourage you to visit again.

Regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

8/19/13-8/26/13 I love this resort. This was my second time to Couples Negril, new person to erase the old. I loved it the first time and I still love it. It was his first trip and now he loves it too. We plan to get married there next year. I highly recommend it but make sure you bring bug spray. We hardly spent any money. We were there for 8 days and that still wasn't enough, we hated to leave so we left kicking and screaming. Big shout out to Taylor the bartender, she was great. Everyone was so nice and helped in anyway that they could. We didn't need much so we were always good. The food was great although we didn't go to the other restaurants. We ate and drank until we couldn't anymore. It rained a lot but it didn't stop us from hanging out in the pool the whole time.

If you want to rest and relax this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The first time I stayed in building 5 and that was great. Had a partial ocean view with a balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear WhitePlains2011,

It’s good to know that we have become a favorite of yours. We are pleased to have provided you with another blissful experience. The insects tend to surface more in these weather conditions; however, we have measures in place to address them.

Thanks for recommending us. We look forward to sharing with you again soon.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

what a wonderful resort. we had a great time, it was everything and more than we expected. the staff are by far, the most amazing and beautiful people in jamaica. i cannot say enough about the service, amenities, grounds, and experience at this resort. i now understand why so many are repeat visitors. :) i cannot think of a single complaint! the food quality was beyond compare. chef and pastry chef were amazing! so pleased we chose couples negril!

Room Tip: we were in the 9 block, ocean view, quiet, lovely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drobslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Drobslover,

Exceeding your expectations is our main objective and we are happy that from your feedback this was achieved.

We hope this experience becomes a catalyst for many more visits to come.

Best regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went on a late Honeymoon...lol
The Beach is great and all the water sports. The meals in some of the restaurants were okay.
Great Staff at the beach, bars and house keeping. But the checking Staff needs to put a smile on the face. When i was checking out, the Gal was not smilling and did even say good morning. That was not a good check out.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main restaurant, music can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review. Our team members are usually known for very friendly service, we will continue to reiterate our standards.

Do come again.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just spent a relaxing week long vacation with my wife at Couples Negril. The beach location is great. It's nestled in between two other resorts and there's about a 2 mile stretch of beach to walk. If you make that stroll you'll come to realize Couples Negril has the best beach area. There are an abundance of trees for shade seekers and several hammocks great for napping on. Buoys are used to cordon off the area which is a decent size for everyone in the resort to be in the water and have your own space. Each lounge chair comes with a float lounger to be used in pool or sea, definitely an added bonus. Occasionally you'll find starfish or other shelled creatures, had my go with a little stingray and jellyfish but nothing to be scared for (at least with our experience). They offer separate snorkeling excursions for $35 for those seeking a real snorkeling adventure. For those seeking other water activities they have more than enough paddle boards, kayaks, and offer waterskiing activities. They have 4 small sail boats so secure them early because there's no time limit on how long you can take these out.

Locals walk along the beach line to sell you stuff: bracelets, seashell souvenirs, sarong wraps for women, fake purses, cigarettes/cigars but they are required to stick close to the water line and are regulated by beach security. It can get old after a while but it's how they make their money so if you don't want to buy anything, just don't make eye contact. We will never forget the guitar players who also play the classic Bob Marley songs until the sun comes down. They also allowed some vendors on the resort on occasion to sell local items: artwork/woodwork, baskets and the like, jewelry, and footware. They use the flag service - they distribute the red flags every morning and when you want something, just stake the flag in the sand and they immediately come to take your order. There's also a main pool attached to the poolside bar and 2 spas on opposite ends of the pool for a change from the beach. We were in the 5000 block of the compound and had a separate smaller pool and spa in the vicinity which didn't seem to get much use.

Our room was okay, not very modern but that was okay because it was impeccably cleaned twice daily in the morning and after we got back from the beach while we were at dinner. They made sure we had fresh ice water and fully stocked mini bar. Day in and day out I would try and leave tips on the bed for the housecleaning staff and they would never take them. This was consistent for all staff. They said there was a no tip policy and as good practice I just feel like you get better service with tips and I tried at every opportunity and they were happy enough with just a heartfelt thank you.

The staff made us feel so welcome and special. Apart from the beach, the staff were what made the resort. All the smiles, everyone had the nicest laid back attitudes and always asked about our day, recommended things to do, and the entertainment staff walked around the resort and tried to talk to each couple and include them in events they had going on. There were plenty of events/activities going on each week in and around the town that are listed in the main Cassava Terrace restaurant and in your welcome room packet. Examples include: beach/pool volleyball, tarot reading (extra $20), tie dye class, basket weaving, shopping excursions, Margaritaville excursion, church excursion, etc. Some activities you participate in will give you "funny money" - fake money to be used at random auctions for souvenir prizes. Our favorite night was casino night where they offered roulette, poker, blackjack, bingo, and hermit crab racing which united the crowd! We won jamaican hot sauce which tastes pretty good. Night entertainment was also great: local bands, steel drum band, magicians, contortionist, and dance/beach night.

Food was on point and there were 4 different places to choose from which gave a great variety. Buffet was always good and our go to for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Heliconia Grill was standard grill fare: hot dogs, burger, nachos, nothing to write home about but definitely try the jerk chicken! Reservations needed for the Otaheite with "resort elegant attire required".

Overall I never felt the need to venture off the resort. The great service from all of the staff and beach serenity with the nightly entertainment were all we needed to make our trip one we will always remember. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are no screens on the doors and windows so pick a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melicin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Thank you for providing such a helpful review especially to those who are not familiar with Couples Negril. The Team works assiduously to maintain our high standards and to ensure that you are absolutely comfortable during your stay with us.

Our beach location is a public thoroughfare and is accessible to vendors who ply their wares; however, we try our best to ensure that you are not disturbed while relaxing on the beach. For others, a wide selection of included activities is there for your indulgence. The “Red Flag” service is one of the added perks enjoyed by many.

You are encouraged to get involved in the activities but at your own pace.

Thank you for your compliments. We do hope to see you again.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our third time at Couples Negril. It never disappoints. The grounds are lovely, the staff so very attentive and the food is to die for. We utilize the watersports center, on the property for scuba diving. We have always found Steve and the group there to be top notch.

Big shout out to Ricardo, the general manager who is always on hand to make things, not just right, but perfect!

Thank you Couples Negril for another memorable week.

Room Tip: Rooms near the watersports building tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DinaH3428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Repeat Guests,

It is certainly nice to hear from you. Thanks again for your commendations, however it is the efforts of the entire team that is to be accredited for the resort’s success.

I will relay your sentiments to the rest of the team.

We look forward to hosting another time.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 80 in Negril
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
83.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing