We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomist trip ever!!!!Yamon, irie time at Couples Negril”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 1 week at Couples Negril in May 2013 and I hope it will be the first of many more awesome trips. The beach was fantastic, the water sports activities and staff excellent and location of our room was second to none. Everything was really top notch from the food to the service to the staff etc. It was paradise in Negril and offered so many things to do that most resorts charge for. It will hard to time this beautiful location and wonderful customer service offered at this Couples. I hope to become a regular that comes year after year,,,,yamon!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginger263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear First time guests,

We are very happy to learn that your experience was a memorable one so much so that you are considering returning.

It was our pleasure in providing you with an excellent vacation experience. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Couples Negril Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,805 - 1,811 of 4,362 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I really loved Couples. 10 years ago we stayed at Sandals Negril when we got married, and decided to give Couples a try this time around. We were very pleased! The food was great, the rooms were clean and nice, the resort itself is well maintained, drinks were good - the only negative was the staff was not nearly as friend at Couples as they were over at Sandals. I'd still give Sandals 5 stars today (we did travel there on a one-night pass and had a fantastic time!). Couples was really great, and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TinaDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Recent Guests,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you decided to give Couples Negril a try and were not disappointed.

Our Team members are actually known for their usual friendly and efficient service, we are sorry that you did not get to experience that to it's full extent; nonetheless we are very pleased that you were able to thoroughly enjoy the amenities and accomodations.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Couples Negril May 15-22. We had a wonderful anniversary trip. The best part of the trip was that everything was included. My husband is a certified diver and was able to go on 7 dives during our trip. While he was diving, I was able to lay on the beach and enjoy the beach and ocean and the red flag service! We figured with the dives he did, the two trips on the catamaran, the shuttles to the bar, water skiing and snorkeling trips we took we would have spent around $1200 but these were all included at the resort! Otherwise, the rooms and resort did not have the WOW factor. The food was okay. We did enjoy Heliconia Grill for the jerk chicken. The entertainment at night was mostly boring and put my husband to sleep. The Silverbird steel drum band was excellent! I felt the staff in Mexico were much better than the staff here. They are okay but not overly friendly and didn't go out of their way to ensure your vacation is wonderful like the staff in Mexico. We did have some fun with some of the entertainment crew, Kiev and Ruthann are AWESOME! My husband also felt the dive staff is OUTSTANDING, Steven and Dredlocks!! We did get rained on everyday except one. The rain lasted from around 1:30- 5:00pm. You could almost set your watch to it. Maybe May might not be the best time to go. Also, we took pics with the professional photographer Jason and Noelle!! They captured our special moments and we thank them. We are thinking of trying Couples Barbados next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Ginger H,

We are grateful that you took the time to reflect on your experience during your recent vacation here at Couples Negril.

We are pleased to learn that you had a great time during your stay. Our objective to refine all inclusive means providing a five star experience while including an array of excursions and activities to keep you occupied during your time with us.

We have noted your insights and suggestions and can say with confidence that you will have an equally enjoyable experience at any Couples Resort you decide to visit.

We look forward to hosting you on your next trip.

Warmest regards,
Couples Negril Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited Couples Negril for the first time in April 2013. Been on cruises the past few years and we wanted to try an all-inclusive. Sorry, cruiselines! We've been spoiled! This is by far the best vacation we've ever had! Staff is amazing! Food is great! Entertainment wonderful. And facilities exceptional. We Will Be Back!!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for "beach front". Don't really think that it was necessary as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runinl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear First Time Guests,

Thank you for your kind sentiments expressed in your reveiw. We are always eager to hear from first time visitors as we highly value your feedback. We are thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful time.

We appreciate your commendations and will be relaying your sentiments to the rest of the team.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Couples Negril Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Couples Negril middle of December 2012 for our honeymoon. The only complaint that I have was either mosquito or sand flee bites that I got all week long. Food was very good majority of the time. The breakfast buffet was pretty much the same everyday. Tried the continental breakfast room service one morning and it was just okay. The staff is extremely friendly, they treated everyone like royalty. Love the no tipping allow policy. Couple Negril is situated in blood bay so the water was calm and mildly breezy which we love. The beach was private so there was minimal hassle from locals selling things. Best parts about this resort: many included activities and the beach. Favorite included activities are sun set cruise which takes you to a rock cave, paddle boarding, snorkeling excursion. The resort was so great that we did not leave leave the resort for any additional excursion. Oh another down fail to this tip had nothing to do with the resort. We live in Portland, OR so getting to Jamaica was a journey in itself. Our airline changed our schedule so we had overnight layover both going and coming back home. We will absolutely go back to Couples but will use another airline next time. Maybe try Couples Swept away.

Room Tip: Would not waste your money on Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Recent Guests,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent vacation here at Couples Negril and even more so to learn that you loved the various amenities and inclusions.

We have noted your comments regarding the food as we are always looking to improve based on your feedback. As it relates to the mosquitoes and sand fleas we realize that they become more prevalent during the rainy season and as such we are currently controlling the situation through an ongoing pest control system.

Thank you for recognizing the efforts of the hardworking Team members as we strive to create that outstanding vacation experience for you.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,
Couples Negril Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our our third trip to Jamaica. Our first time in Negril. We chose this resort to celebrate our 25th anniversary based on traveler reviews. We were disappointed in general. There were several areas that could use a coat of paint. The red flag service on the beach was terrible. Several times we had to get our drinks. We asked for drinks from two different staff members a couple of times and never received them. We witnessed other people tipping staff which is not supposed to be allowed and they were served very quickly. It was obvious the staff had their favorite couples as they catered to them while ignoring others. The food at Cassava Terrace was terrible. My husband had to get his own coffee one day. The service was great at Lychee and Othaheite. The food at the grill was fine so that's where we ate lunch most of the time. The coffee was not replaced in our room for two days. Three weeks prior to our arrival I sent an e-mail requesting an anniversary cake. As we arrived on a Saturday and our anniversary was on a Thursday I called guest relations on Tuesday just to verify everything was all set. I was informed there was no record of an e-mail. I then requested a cake be delivered to our room on Thursday. It never arrived. On Friday I called guest relations and was told they tried to deliver it but the do not disturb sign was on our door. They never tried to deliver it again later. I was told Friday they would have the cake at our door in five minutes. They called back and said they had to take the cake to the pastry chef and would have it in our room by noon. The cake did arrive but only came with one fork. On a positive note, the snorkeling, catamaran cruise and glass bottom boat were very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank couplesfirsttimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Recent Guests,

Congratulations on celebrating a milestone 25th anniversary. We are concerned to learn that your experience at Couples Negril did not live up to your expectations.

In relation to the aesthetics of the Resort, this summer, we will be doing some projects on property to upgrade the general facilities. We apologize for the service issues you mentioned. Our team members are known for their friendly and efficient service; however, we will continue to enhance our offering through continued training and enforcing our policies and procedures.

While I do understand your disappointment in not receiving your Anniversary cake on the date specified, you will appreciate that we also have to respect your wishes and as such, would not go against your ‘do not disturb’ sign to make the delivery.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the activities and hope that you decide to return.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our 3rd consecutive time at this resort. Building 9000 is our favorite. Quiet, relaxing, good food, no children and very good customer service.
I would have given this trip an excellent rating but some changes had been made to the entertainment that we had so much enjoyed in the past. Now instead of traditional Jamaican music and entertainment during and following dinner we found ourselves dining to elevator music. Disappointed. At least the steel band and BB did make a couple of appearances before dinner and late at night.
Other than that we had great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTMTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Repeat Guests,

Thank you for choosing Couples Negril as your recent vacation destination. We are delighted to know that you had a good time.

Our nightly entertainment seeks to give our guests a taste of the Jamaican culture through different local talents. We do however try to include other genres as well; the program is currently being revised as well as the music that accompanies dinner. The changes are as a result of our ongoing efforts to cater to the interests of the many personalities that stay with us each year.

We are sorry that you were a bit disappointed but we are continuously exploring ways to improve.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards.
Couples Negril management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
663 reviews
2.1 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.3 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#22 of 80 in Negril
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $401 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing