We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WeddingMoon!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WeddingMoon!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from our WeddingMoon at Couples Negril and our wedding and our stay were OUTSTANDING. Upon arriving to the hotel, you are greeted with smiles, drinks and a refreshing wet face towel. The check-in was quick and to the point, your bags are delivered to your room, in a matter of minutes as you get a quick orientation of the resort. A more detail orientation is given around 10am each morning.
Wedding- We went with the Tropical Package, 13 pictures and we added 7 more. Our wedding was amazing loved getting married on the beach. Let me start by saying that once you talk to Kenisha you will know that you’re in good hands. The wedding ceremony lasted 15 minutes, followed by signing of marriage certificate, cutting of the cake and a toast. The Resort Photographer (RP) will be on hand to capture your day. RP, printed photo’s are crisp and removes any unwanted background scenery. My issue is the stored images on the CD, they are low quality as you will be informed of when you try to reprint anything larger than a 3x5 image. I guess this has to do with the CD or the program used to transfer the images to the CD. Either way, we are glad we hired an outside Photographer to capture our day, SAAB photography, we used the First Associates, their work looked great and only cost $1700 for 4 hours (big thanks to Chris and Chantal). Two photographers are always better than one. Chris and Chantal, captured us getting ready, first sight, wedding, and we shot a ton of photo’s after the ceremony. They had a keen eye and insured they caught the perfect picture. The resort photographer, did a good job capturing some great shots, my only issue is the images on the CD. Like I said the prints, the resort gives you are great, but the CD images are low quality and will have to be taken to a professional developer to improve the quality of the images.
Room- Our room (8303) was very nice, it did show some signs of aging, as most Caribbean Resorts do, but nothing that would keep me from enjoying the room. Renovation to update the room will start in the summer and continue into 2014. Let’s go down the check list for the room; Flat screen TV, Mini fridge, beach towels, bathing towels and wash clothes, Information detailing resort daily activities, restaurants, entertainment and vendors (very helpful), balcony with a great view of the garden and a small ocean view, in room air-conditioning unit, spacious bathroom, Ipod Ihome docking station and turn down service every night, before you go night, night!
Service- The Mini Bar service was outstanding! You pick up the phone call the front desk and in less than 15minutes, your requested items are delivered to the room, who could ask for more. Housekeeping was outstanding and kept our room looking great. Our room was cleaned most days before lunch. The day of our wedding we requested that our room be clean before 930am and guess what it was, so we can’t complain about housekeeping. Daily in room continental breakfast available, upon request delivered at the time you request. We used this service several times to enjoy the view of the garden and ocean from our balcony.
Beach and Pool- We spent most of our time on the beach… we always were able to find great seats, love the new towel policy, NO TOWEL, NO PROBLEM MON, HERE’S ANOTHER ONE, just remember to place your wet towels in the towel bin at the end of the day. The ocean is crystal clear and the beach is well maintained. The RED FLAG service is great, no drink raise your red flag and someone will get you one. Service at the swim up pool bar was fast and fun, shout out to Franklin, Orelle and Denise; keep up the good work. The pool looks and feels great, great place to hang out and make new friends. Almost forgot chilled face towel offered on the beach.
Activities- Something for everyone! If you can’t find something to do, then shame on you ;). Top 10 things to do, 1) Catamaran at sunset 2) Snorkeling 3) Sailing a HobbyCat 4) Waterskiing 5) Paddle Boarding 6) Volleyball (beach and pool) 7) learn to scuba dive for free 8) Glass bottom boat 9) nightly Showtime entertainment (love the Sliver Birds steel drum band!) 10) Ok, I admit there’s more to enjoy but I can’t think of them. All of the above activities are offered at no extra charge. Rented a Wave Runner one day and saw more places on Negril.
Bar- drinks are great, not watered down and will give you premium liquor upon request. Three Bars opened during day and night, never waited more than 2 minutes to get a drink. You have to try a BOB MARLEY, also the Miami Vice, Hurricane, Big bamboo, No Problem, Somethin Somethin and Red Stripe. That should get you through your first hour, just kidding. A little side note, it’s impossible to drink all the liquor at the bar, so drink responsibly.

Food- last but not least the food… it was great. A total of 4 restaurants to choose from, only one of which you have to make reservations for, Otaheite, collared shirt and pants required. Cassave Terrace is the main dining area. It offers a buffet I think on Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday; the rest of the nights are five course meals, a la carte. Cassave Terrace offers a buffet for breakfast and lunch. The other restaurants are a la carte, no beachwear for dinner at any dining facility, shirt with sleeves, nice shorts or pants. Take your pick, I promise you will not be disappointed by any of the restaurants. Heliconia Grill offers lunch and dinner and is also your late night dinning option until 5am.

Staff- Outstanding, engaging, friendly; Shawna, Kiev, Okeno, Ruthann, Orelle, Denise and Franklin were amazing. Can’t tell you how much fun we had talking and hanging out with the staff. It really added to the overall experience and you could tell that they enjoyed it too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ricwothek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Newlyweds,

We thank you very much for sharing details of your experience here at Couples Negril. It certainly was our pleasure to have been able to provide you with the opportunity to perfect your special occasion.

We all know how overwhelming it can be while planning your wedding that’s why we ensure that we take everything into our hands, giving you the best packages while affording you the pleasure of completely enjoying your well deserved vacation.

We are humbled by your account of your interaction with the hardworking staff and the precious memories we have unearthed since your stay here.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Our best regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,803
    962
    245
    129
    41
See reviews for
49
3,208
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I am going to begin this review with a caveat, my wife and I were looking for a romantic getaway to recharge and reset ourselves. We are in our 30s, and not into the party scene, just looking for a quiet resort where we didn't have to think at all. Couples Negril seemed to have everything that we wanted, and while it was a good vacation, it did not meet our expectations.

We travelled April 20-27 2013 and of course had a couple of hours wait in immigrations at Sangster Airport, but this was long forgotten by the time we got to Couples and settled into our room.

Room - Clean, nice room in 2nd floor of 9000 block. The 9000 block is about as far away from the entertainment spot and we requested it for the quiet. Our room overlooked the A/N beach and while we don't partake, it was nice because the room was quite secluded. There was noise issues as the tree frogs were loud all night, and while I understand that this is nature, a little more sound proofing of the rooms would be nice. Upon arrival our minibar was not stocked as we requested in our pre-arrival form, but not a big deal. The decor was a little dated, but the bed was comfortable and the in room safe was secure. The bathroom was decent and served its purpose (what more can I say???) There was a nice balcony to sit out and enjoy the breeze coming off the ocean.

Beach/Pool - exactly what we were looking for, luxurious, gorgeous, spectacular! Lots of activites to do for any type of traveller, from fitness classes to volleyball to woodcarving there was something to do if you wanted to, or if not, the beach and pool were great and drink service was good. We took part in a lot of activities as well as walked the beach daily. Snorkeling and Catamaran tours were not crowded and a lot of fun.

Service - I had been led to believe that this would be second to none, and while the bar, towel and entertainment service was great, our service in the restaurants (specifically the Cassava Terrace) was shoddy. The housekeeping staff was very friendly, but they were unpredictable when they would be by for service (one day at 9 AM and the next at 4PM) and when we called to inquire about "scheduling" this as well as having some laundry done, the person on the phone was very abrupt and borderline rude. The activity staff, both Jamaican and the fitness&tennis instructors were very engaging, friendly and welcoming without being pushy, a great balance.

Evening entertainment - Mediocre at best, the main shows were not something of interest nor quality. The worst evening of our trip was Thursday night at the "beach party" where there was a band and dj combination. The nightly entertainment normally would go to 10 PM and then quiet down nicely so we could get a solid night of sleep to rest up for another day of beach activities, but Thursday night the bass was pumping loudly. We called the front desk a 10:30 to find out when it would be over and they told us 11 PM. That was ok, as I know some people like to stay out later and party more than us, but at 11:40 we called again and were told that it normally ends at 12 AM. The volume was lowered at about 12:15 but was still very audible in our room until 12:40 AM. We made our feelings known the next morning and while the gentleman listened to us and took notes, that was the end of that.

Food - The food quality was very good, the breakfasts were standard with some local dishes thrown in as well, lots of selection and the coffee was tremendous. Lunches at the Heliconia Grill could be a little chaotic, but the food was good. Lunch buffet was once again great selection and variety day to day. For dinners, there was always at least 3 restaurants available, the Otaheite fine dining restaurant, where reservations are required as well as resort elegant dress. We dined here twice and both times the food was very good, quantities just right and great ambiance. The Lychee restaurant is asian fusion and was a great dinner, I wish that I had another night to go back there! Heliconia Grill in the evening was very nice and the food was quite good, the service was lacking a little but Jamaican time sometimes prevails! The Cassave Terrace (buffet a couple of nights, a la carte the rest) was good but I would put the food quality in 4th versus the other 3 restaurants.

All in all, a good vacation, not as elegant as we were expecting, but we enjoyed most of our time at Couples Negril. We may try another Couples resort in the future, but we won't return to Couple Negril. I may be an old curmudgeon (and using that word may exemplify curmudgeonism) but I doubt if any people come to Couples Negril for their DJ night, but I know of one that won't return due to it.

Room Tip: 9000 block is ok as long as you don't mind overlooking the nude beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mholterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear valued guests:

We thank you for your time taken in sharing your experience. It certainly was a pleasure for us to provide you and your wife with that romantic getaway you were looking for.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our wide range of activities especially our snorkeling and catamaran tours, our restaurants and fine dining as well as the overall service we had to offer.

Room cleaning service is alternated except in cases where a preferred time is stated. Please accept our apologies for the misunderstanding where the laundering service is concerned and we regret any unpleasant encounters you may have had with any of our team members; also, for the inconvenience you experienced during our evening entertainment.

We do try our best to accommodate all our guests and their expectations. As you can imagine, this is a consistent challenge. While you may prefer an early night in, other guests may want to indulge in our nightly entertainment activities.

We also have personnel that monitor the volume of the music in order to alleviate any noise concerns. The party ends as soon as the last guest retires. Please accept our apologies if this information was not correctly related to you when you initially spoke to our representative at the front desk.

We will definitely be keeping your suggestion in mind as it relates to the sound proofing of our rooms and hope you consider vacationing with us again as we will be more than happy to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just returned last night from CN and I decided I should write my review this morning while everything was still fresh in my mind. This was our first trip to Jamaica and it will definitely not be our last!! I honestly believe we chose the perfect resort to celebrate our 25 years or marraige and could not recommend more highly!!

From the minute you arrive at the Couples lounge in MoBay you feel like you are with family who truly care and want you to enjoy your vacation. A few Red Stripes and we were on our way to Couples Negril in an airconditioned bus and a great driver who took good care of us. At first I was a bit scared driving on the opposite side of the road and cars and buses passing on blind turns but thats how its done in Jamaica.....no worries mon! We enjoyed the wonderful views and stopped for a beer and bathroom break along the scenic trip. Approximately 90 minutes later we were greeted by a cool glass of champagne and a cool wet towel to start our week of unending smiles.
We were promptly taken to our room which was very pleasant, clean, welcoming and a beautiful view of palm trees and ocean! We were in block 7000, 2nd floor which was great as we were only steps away from everything.

So many repeaters reviews have painted a picture of perfection in our minds and that is exactly what we experienced at CN. I cannot say enough about the wonderful people that work here. They treat you with respect and we love our new Jamaican friends! The food is undenieably delicious with lots of flavor. You will not go hungry. The dining is mostly casual with no need to reserve which makes your stay so much more laid back. There is one fine dining restaurant where you need to dress appropriately (men, closed in shoes and long pants, collar shirt) which is very elegant. There is also a beach grill that serves the Best Jerk Chicken! The beach is to die for!! Soft white sand that is kept looking perfect each day and the warmest, blue-green water that is so calm and clear. There are comfy floats on each chair thar you can take into the water to float on. Never a problem getting a lounger and if you want shade there is lots of palms to sit under. Put your red flag up and order your hearts away while talented and friendly locals sing and play guitar to you. We finished each of our days at the beach with a gorgeous sunset!

Entertainment is flowing everywhere and always so enjoyable! We enjoyed alot of the extras that are included such as the Catamaran cruise where we enjoyed jamaican music, swimming in the caves and saw young boys diving from the cliffs. Of course, lots of drinks included along the way. The glass bottom boat tour was a great way to learn about the area and see some marine life. Everything you want to do is included here which is a big savings for those that take advantage of it. For us though, a few little excursions and most time spent on the beach was perfect. The pool area and swim up bar are lovely although we only used the pool once. Hey...we are from the Maritimes, beachbums!

We were brought a lovely cake one day with "Happy Anniversary" on it. Such a nice touch! And avery special Bday drink was made for me. My big day is 3months away, but hey mon, one love.... jamaica!

I could go on and on about how much we loved our special vacation at CN but then I would be writing a book. We are definitely going back to this little piece of Paradise! I believe we fell in love with Jamaica, Couples Negril, and of course each other (all over again). We hope to spend every Anniversary there if we can. And make sure you try a Bob Marley shot. Wow!

Thank you to everyone at Couples Negril. "ONE LOVE"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SCOTIASUNSEEKERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Recent First Time Visitor:

We too are happy that you chose Couples Negril Resort to celebrate your milestone wedding anniversary.

It’s great to hear that you made some Jamaican friends and enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Something for everyone here, whether you want to be busy or just want to do nothing. Staff overall were great! Did have a cheap necklace stolen from room , not a big deal. But just a reminder to lock valuables in safe.
They sure do aim to please here though. Food was outstanding, beach is beautiful, many kinds of drinks available. Was asked regularly is everythng was ok and if we were enjoying our trip.
We did the trading places to Swept Away and I was curious as I debated between the two. SA was nice but I thought Couples Negril had a much better lay out with the pool, restaurants in the middle of resort. Found SA beach was winder than CN, which i didnt care for (made floating on floats more difficult). I made the right choice for us:)
Will definietly return to this resort!

Room Tip: Had a room 2nd floor ,building 2 and loved it! Joined romance rewards , made room request and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoTyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear valued guests,

It’s certainly very nice to hear from you. We are humbled at the fact that you made Couples Negril your top choice to spend your vacation.

Our apologies to you as it relates to the incident regarding your necklace, nonetheless we are still happy that your experience at our sister property Couples Swept Away along with our members of staff, our beaches and our overall service was enough to have to you deciding without a doubt to return.

All the fun and excitement will be here waiting for you.

Our best regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

What made our stay a memorable one was the customer service. Virtually every employee at Couples Negril (and there are many) was always smiling. Laughing, smiling, and singing from the staff is the norm. They all seemed to be personally invested in the enjoyment of your stay. But for specifics:
Arrival: fantastic - bus ride informative and entertaining with our driver. The ride was exciting because of two things - driving on other side of the road made everything seems a bit more frighteneing, and the a different level of attention to safety that Canadians or America would have (i.e., passing cars, motorcycles, pediastrians with extreme proximity; no real safety regulations apparent for motorcyclists) - does not affect review of trip - its a cultural thing after all. When we arrived at the resort we were immediately told not to worry about our luggage, seated and treated to Champagne while we checked in then shown to our rooms -- it was seamless and stress free.

Room: exactly as shown on the website. Very clean. Not always consistent with time it was made up, but partially our fault we were not always ready for it to be made up at the same time of day.

Main Beach: Great beach, groomed each morning, no debris, large. On a walk down-beach past another (comparably priced) resort we saw cigarette butts on the ground - but at Couples negril it was immaculately cleaned each day.
AU beach: smaller, adjacent to main beach and to a beach on another resort, not an issue for those interested in AU sunbathing I wouldn't think. It has its own bar and sheltered by shrubery.

Bars: Main bar is best - Pina coladas made from scratch as are Jamaican Smiles. Glass beer mugs. Other bars provide same fantastic service, but they have the "slushy" machine daiquiry and pina coladas, plastic beer glasses that hold about 2/3rds of a regular beer.

Restaurants: Buffets are great for the service and food- always someone to show you to a seat very quickly and pull out our chair and quickly bring great coffee for your meal. For breakfast and lunch, and for two nights a week dinner. Other restaurants are great for the service and presentation, and very good for the food.

Entertainment: competent house band, good nightly acts, a couple of standout acts too. Very good.

Activites: Craft Market walk is something that can be intimating - the merchants almost harass you into their tiny space and high pressure you to buy. Not a good shopping experience but and experience I am glad I had to see another side of the lives of some Jamaicans. ** Shopping Shuttle - a shopping strip for tourists specifically - same kind of touristy fare you would find in a gift shop, but negotiable prices. Cigars (esp Cubans) are FANTASTICALLY PRICED!! - do not appear counterfeit either - I am an avid smoker of Cubans and these are all legit - but for great prices - but again barter for the good deal. ** watersports - Desmond was GREAT! we went snorkeling and my wife wasn't up to it - so the next day he took his lunch hour - at his request - in the pool - to help her overcome her fear. He spent much time helping her for no other reason than to see her be able to snorkel. We cannot say enough about Desmond!

Departure: effortless. and with same service as the arrival.

notable employees: Desmond (watersports); jovanni (hope I spelled it correct - watersports_; Kiev (Entertainment coordinator); Okenao (entertainment coordinator). But the rest are all great too!!

as far as some of the negatives I have read - none were applicable whatsoever. Super-clean, no bugs, all fantastic!

We will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Our thanks go out to you for sharing your experience of your vacation at Couples Negril. We appreciate you taking the time to reflect on the high points of your vacation that made your stay memorable.

It is very heart-warming to know that you really appreciated the efforts of the hardworking team in addition to the fact that you were able to enjoy our many activities and the facilities.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit to the local craft market; however it’s a treat to know that you still had a wonderful experience and is considering spending another vacation with us.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Our best regards to you.

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We traveled to Couples Negril 04/16/13 to 04/23/13. Although it rained in the afternoon for the first 4 days we still had a great time. At first we didn't like how small this resort is, but at the end of our stay it was one of the reasons why we would go back. The food was better than any of the other resorts we've stayed at. The beach and ocean was AMAZING! The entertainment was the best! Big thanks and a shout out to Keiv, Carlos, and Shawna. They remembered our names and really made us feel welcome.
Thanks Couples Negril!!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper, buildings 3,4 and 5 are close to the road and can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Cherie,

We are pleased to learn that despite the afternoon showers during your vacation, you were still able to keep entertained with our rainy day activities carried out by the entertainment coordinators. Thank you for mentioning them. Your compliments will be relayed to the team. We look forward to hosting you another time.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing and I wish they had one closer to Australia! Wanting to experience and all-inclusive holiday and also visit he Caribean we decided on Couples Negril as they included Golf in their package. After booking Jamaica I was alarmed by the responses of people telling me there is a high crime rate and it is unsafe. I can only go on my experience and that of the many people who return to the Couples resort, year after year, that this couldn't be further from the truth. Not once did I feel unsafe. We booked our flights and accomodation through Expedia.com and again had no problems. On arrival at Montego Bay Airport we were quickly shown to the Couples lounge (to the left of the arrivals exit) where were seated and offered a cold beer. We were only there for 10mins before our bus departed for the 90min drive to the resort. We were asked to pay the porters $1 per bag and this is the only time we were asked to tip people. I get car sick and found the trip tolerable (I was glad to get off the bus, but I a very sensitive to bus travel). The bus was new, clean and the driver very informative. Our flight got in at 11am and it was nearly 1pm by the time we arrived, so way before the 3pm check in. As our room wasn't ready so we went to the bar for a drink and had lunch. We had a room in Block 5 (5306) on the third level. I like this as it was away from everyone and we only really had 1 other room that walked past ours. There is so much to do and there was no way we could cover everything in the 4 days. Food, drinks and service were outstanding and it was awesome not having to working about spending any money. Golf was good (not a 5 star course) but it did cost and extra $75 USD for the caddie and club hire. Transfer and green fees are included in Couples package. We also loved the red flag service where u raise a flag and get beach service for drinks. Also the cold face towels and fruit sticks are a lovely, indulgent touch when you're lying on your banana lounge looking at the crystal clear waters of the Caribeen. There were heaps of lounges in and out of the sun. There are photographers around the resort readily available to snap your picture. These are about the only thing to spend your money on and cost $15 for a 5x7 photo. They have a daily activity board so you can do as little or as much as you want. This place is great and I couldn't fault our stay. Don't bother changing money in to Jamacian dollars as the hotel accepts USD, so does the little duty free shopping centre in Negril along with the airport.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jlp9202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear valued guests,

We are very pleased to have received your view on your experience with us here at Couples Negril. The fact that you found the resort safe and enjoyed indulging in our many activities is very heart warming.

Couples Negril strives to provide vacationers with an excellent and affordable all inclusive package , we are more than thrilled to provide you with a taste of our Jamaican countryside as well as allowing you to enjoy all that the resort has to offer.

We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Our best regards to you.

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
83.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing