We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Favorite”
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went with friends and we all loved this resort. It wasn't crowded. You could always find a chair at the pool and the staff was wonderful. Rooms were clean and a nice size (we were on the beach side). Restaurants had great food and were easy to get into - no waits. My husband scuba dives and loved it there. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KRenee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

It was a pleasure hosting you and your friends recently. Happy to know you liked the rooms and enjoyed our restaurant meals and services and also the diving inclusion.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,878
    996
    252
    131
    43
See reviews for
49
3,316
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sylvan Lake
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I arrived on the 25th and stayed through till the 8th. This was our second trip to Jamaica, first time to Couples.

Right from the moment we got through customs and got into the Couples lounge they made us feel welcome! The shuttle to the resort was good, we stopped for a break, which I think the driver knew the owner of the so called pit stop just to pay $7 for a drink!! Kinda of a tourists trap!! Once we arrived the checkin was a breeze and before we knew it Herbert had our luggage in our room and we were beach bound!!
The rooms aren't to bad, the bathroom could use an upgrade from a tub to a walk in shower and double sinks, other than that the bed was extremely comfortable and there was lots of places for storing clothes etc. the room was always very clean and towels plentiful!!! Never once had to call for face cloth's! The turn down service was a nice spruce up at night while out for supper or enjoying the show. We didn't take advantage of the mini bar or the room service as we were in building 7, room 7102, very close to the buffet and stage area, and main floor. Also for any hockey fans CBC is channel 71 in your room for HNIC!!
The food, where to start, when your at the same resort for two weeks you always wonder if after the first week you'd be sick of the food, definitely not here!! I eat a little bit of everything, especially fish is my favorite! So many different species of fish to taste, with mouth watering recipes! Always a great selection of salads, desserts, and main courses. Don't forget the grill that serves jerk chicken and fries!! There is four restaurants on the property which are almost all a la carte with exception of a couple nights the buffet was not a la carte. Only one place needed to have reservations and a dress code. This left no time frame on when you could eat just show up, sometimes there was a short wait so this gave you a chance to take in the cocktail party or a drink from the bar.
We were offered a tour of the resort from Shawna one of the great Entertainment staff. She showed us where and when everything was and explained the "Funny Money", ask about this because you will need lots of this for the auction to get your souvenirs!
The Entertainment staff, Okeno, Carlos, Ruthann, and Shawna and Kiev, were always around the grounds getting games and activities going, from Vollyball on the beach at 11&4, to pool vollyball at 2, the minute to win it, casino, and the list goes on, check the board in the buffet for your daily activities and a way to earn your funny money! They were always around talking to each and everyone at the beach or around the pool always asking if everything is good?? So friendly and accomadating!!
The beach was great, lots of chairs with floaties on each and everyone either at the pool or beach, never had to get up early and save a seat. I took advantage of the free Wakeboarding, when the water conditions were good, there is nothing like boarding on the blue ocean water, where early the bay would provide a nice calm run!! We also went kayaking one morning around the caves to the SW of the resort, first time and it was nice! We took part in the Catamaran cruise or booze cruise other than the rain on the way there, the bartender was entertainment on his own with his singing and dancing and pouring Rum Punch, that had a lot of Punch!!! We did not get to see a sunset this night though it was well worth it! We didn't do any diving but everyone we talked to that did had very good times and mentioned how good there instructors were!! We went snorkeling one morning seen some cool fish, just make sure to stay away from the Coral!! (It hurts when you rub against it)!!!
The grounds were always maintained right up to par, whether raking up leaves or just raking the sand so it looks so clean, the grounds keepers worked so hard every day and always went out of there way to be friendly!!
The staff in the dining and the kitchen were always friendly and accomadating! The house keeping ladies always had the rooms spotless and fancy towel art on the beds in the mornings!
The nightly shows were great! The one that was the best was the Silverbirds Steel Drums, amazing high energy and talent like no other!! We were lucky to catch them three times as they played on the last Sunday afternoon as a special event!
The red flag service is great! Although we only used it a few times its there if you want it.
We had a couples massage one afternoon and upgraded for the free 15 minute scrub, what a great thing after all the sun and sand it sure cleaned out the pores!! Well worth it!!

The best thing about Couples Negril is that you are close to everything, or a short walk away. Small resorts offer great service and friendly staff, and easy to make friends and hang out with them!

The average age here is about 40, if your looking for a place to party all night don't come here! If your looking for relaxation, lots of activities with great staff and fun people this is your resort!! You know when you run into people that have been there before and keep returning that it's for a reason!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Diggs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Diggs99,

It was a pleasure hosting you and your wife at Couples Negril recently.

It is not customary for the shuttle drivers to stop on route to the hotel from the airport, unless requested or in the event of an emergency. We regret that you encountered that delay.
Plans are in place to do some upgrades this year, including the bathrooms.

We appreciate the kind sentiments expressed about the team members.
Thank you for sharing your observations and experience with others.
We would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Court House, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was nervous when planning our first trip to Jamaica because I had no idea what to expect. I somehow found the Couples website and started reading the message boards...everyone was raving about ALL the Couples resorts and were talking about how many times they had been to each one...10 times, 12 times...to the same resort. We decided to try Couples Negril and we couldn't be happier. We've been there twice and are planning on heading back this fall. We love it more each time we go. The beach, the staff, the food...all are wonderful! Some of our favorite staff members have been Elkie and Franklin...but we have never had a bad staff experience...everyone is friendly, helpful, and a lot of fun. We highly recommend this resort!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CheriSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Repeater,

We are pleased to learn that you were not disappointed in your choice to vacation at Couples Negril and have found us to be one of your favourite places on earth.

We appreciate the kind sentiments expressed about the staff, the food and the beach.

Thank you for recommending us. We anticipate your return.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Jamaica and our first stay at a Couples resort. The resort is as advertised, cozy and not crowded. The beach is amazing and the floating mats are great. The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent. My favorites were the jerk chicken, meat patties, oxtail, chicken curry and the pastries for breakfast.

There are more detailed reviews on this site that you can read so I won't be repetitive.

The resort and the rooms do need a face lift but everything else is top drawer. There were always enough chairs on the beach and the red flag service (raise the flag when you need a drink) was great.

Most of the activities are included, we enjoyed the snorkeling trip and I learned to sail on one of the sailboats (included).

P.S. Skip Rick's Cafe, total tourist trap and a waste of 3 hours. Lots of people with kids and strollers, you can't find a seat in the bar, and the upstairs is for eating only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Recent Guest:

We are pleased that you found our Resort to be as advertised and that you enjoyed the various amenities and inclusions.

Thank you for sharing your view. We have plans for some refurbishing to be done at the Resort in the near future and hope to host you another time soon.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in numerous all inclusives in Jamaica (mostly the Sandals properties) but have to admit that the couples resort in Negril is by far the best. Their staff is second to none from the waiters like Chris in the main restaurant to Elkie at the beach bar just to name a couple. There was only one restaurant that needed reservations so this made going to dinner a pleasant experience. Wow is all I can say about the beach. The water was warm and the red flag service was a hoot.The staff was amazing and always made us feel welcomed and spoiled. WE WILL BE BACK SOON!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travellife60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Recent Visitors,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Couples Negril. It certainly was our pleasure hosting you and we are pleased to hear that you completely enjoyed your vacation. We are grateful for your acknowledgement of our hardworking team members.

Our aim is to ensure that you are satisfied and completely relaxed on your romantic holiday. We trust that the memories created at Couples Negril will remain with you for a lifetime and we look forward to seeing you again to discover new ones.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Couples Negril for the first time. Couples did a great job getting us from the airport to resort. I would recommend taking the private shuttle. Its about an hour and a half from airport to resort. The beaches were clean and well maintained. The water in front of the beaches had a very smooth bottom which made wading easy. Even on one windy day one could go into the surf without fear.
The food in the restaurants was plentiful and quite good. The only exception was the largest restaurant. We ate dinner there on the first night and it was rather bland and unimaginative.
I played tennis twice a day. The visiting pro was excellent and made the drills fun and exciting.
The rooms were spacious and clean. However, the rooms are in desperate need of renovation,
Tiles on the walls and floor are well worn. Same with the bathroom fixtures. Also, they claim premium cocktails. Not so, the alcohol they use is low grade stuff. You can have plenty of it and mixed with whatever is needed they taste good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of fun stuff to do on the property, snorkling, sailing, classes in various subjects to keep things interesting.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room. Which meant you had to go out on the balcony and lean over to see the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestonS_1339953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you for choosing Couples Negril as your recent vacation destination. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others.

It’s regrettable that you were not totally satisfied on your stay with us. Sorry to learn about your meal experience in the Cassava Terrace. We have also noted your comments about the rooms and bathrooms and these will be upgraded within this year.

Premium beverages are available. It is unfortunate that our offering may not have been what you were expecting. Thanks for recognizing the efforts of your team members. All our inclusions are for your enjoyment and we hope that you will return in the near future to enhance your first experience.

Best regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I loved this resort! The grounds were beautiful and the staff were always very attentive. Good food and drinks! Rooms needed a little more updating. The fact all extras were included sealed the deal for me. I loved it because we did all the activities that we wouldn't have wanted to pay for on other vacations. Such a friendly group of vacationers traveled to this resort. Loved every second!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank regina_oc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Regina,

Thank you for posting a review of your experience at Couples Negril. We are pleased to learn that you took advantage of the included amenities at the Resort and appreciated the friendly service from our staff.

Happy guests are the end results which we seek to achieve. Your kind sentiments expressed about the grounds and staff are much appreciated. In the near future, we will be updating some aspects of the facilities.

Looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 81 in Negril
5,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 81 in Negril
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.1 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#22 of 81 in Negril
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing