We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Negril
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beach Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our first time at Couples Negril and we plan to go back. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the resort property lush and well tended. We love the beach, there were even trees to offer shade if we'd had too much sun. We took advantage of some of the freebies: snorkeling excursion, "booze" cruise to the cliffs, kayaking. We loved the entertainment and the food was wonderful. We could be as lazy or active as we wanted to be. We took several walks along the beach and played in a ping pong tournament. We enjoyed soaking in the hot tub and having a couple's massage. We were content to just stay at the resort the entire week; we didn't feel the need to leave the property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LuvtheSun002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear First Timer:

We are happy to know that you are planning to return to Couples Negril. I see that you enjoyed the included amenities, as well as, the food and entertainment. We try to strike a balance whereby persons can either relax quietly or get actively involved. It was certainly a pleasure hosting you. Do come back soon.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,828
    974
    247
    129
    42
See reviews for
49
3,240
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,009)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from 5 nights at Couples Negril. We enjoyed this resort on a pretty beach with great friendly staff, good food and plenty of activities. We dined at all of the restaurants and attended the repeaters dinner. Couples resorts works to see that all guests enjoy their vacation. If you are looking for marble foyers and fountains, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for lots of fun or laid back times, I highly recommend the resort. The rooms are simple and many face a beautiful gardened area. Just don't expect fancy accommodations and you can't go wrong with this vacation choice.

Room Tip: We always book the lowest category room. For the most part the rooms are identical, with some havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Suecitysue72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your honest opinion.

Thank you for spreading the word about us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We are on our last day, waiting for the transport back to the airport and back to the cold once again. This is our second time in Jamaica (which we adore) and our second "2 week stay" at a Couples Resort (a year ago we were at Couples Sans Souci in Ocho Rios).
What did we love? 1) the beach was wonderful - we walked it every day, and not even the people trying to sell us everything under the sun, from pot to lobsters, could put us off it). That said, listening to Donnovan Dalrymple "the guitar man" every day - (with "music is life" on his guitar) was one of the highlights of our trip (check him out on Youtube). 2)The weather, which other than a fairly brisk wind every day (app 30 Kph) was warm and for the most part, sunny. We did have a major "blow" for a day or so which brought out the red flags and made the water unswimable for 2-3 days due to masses of seaweed washing inshore - so much so that it took front end loaders to bury the 10'x10'x 7' mounds of weed piled up all along the waterfront. 3) the entertainmant crew, from Okeno Jackson, to Carlos, to one of the finest piano players around, Paul in the piano bar (who was able to convince a confirmed "shower singer" to take the mike and solo for the first time in his life - I had a ball) - Thanks Paul! 4) Bonfire night, spent listerning to Moses under the stars, was about as romantic as you can get.
Now for the negatives. 1) the rooms when compared to Sans Souci, were smaller and not in as good condition. 2) the food, while wonderful, didn't change that much and after the first week was starting to get boring. 3)the crowd here was decidedly younger, with a lot more in their 20's and 30's than Sans Souci. It was a lot noisier in general, with the occasional night where a few had had way too much to drink. 4) the "nude beach" is right next to the main beach (and separated by only a fence. Plus it was also only about 15 feet or so from the "bridal area", which could result in some "interesting" wedding photos.
That said, we did have a reasonably fun and very relaxing 2 weeks, but will probably make Sans Souci our next destination. (note: we are both in our mid-60's, take it for what it's worth).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CCandBeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear recent guests:

I am pleased to hear that your vacation at Couples Negril was wonderful and noticed that you particularly enjoyed the beach and entertainment.

We are grateful that you will remain within the COUPLES family as Couples Sans Souci is also wonderful. I trust that you will enjoy your next visit there.

Best regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I visited Couples' Negril for a friend's wedding. We had a ocean view room but our room was set back a bit. You could see the water but we were not super close. Still very nice, balcony was great and very quiet spot. The room was clean, beds were comfy (you sink in) and the blinds will block out every amount of sun if you decide to take a mid-day nap. No issues with the bathroom and turn down service was cute each night (pillow animals). You could also have wine, beer and soda placed in your rooms at no additional cost (rumor from our friends was if you asked for wine or liquor you received a full bottle - pretty nice!).

I cannot comment on how their planning went as I do not fully know but their ceremony and reception was beautiful. Their ceremony was on the beach. My boyfriend and I were a bit worried as it was right next to the nude beach, but no nudies in any photos or ruining any of the ceremony (haha!). It was perfect weather (immediately followed hurricane season) 80s degress everyday, sunny, still warm enough for the beach without any humidity. Gentleman who performed the ceremony was very nice, funny and had done hundreds of weddings from what we found out talking to him. It was hard to hear everyone talking on the beach but understandable and not anyone's fault. Following the wedding, we moved to a small garden area for wedding toast, speech and their red velvet cupcake cake! They had their first dance, signed the marriage license and it was very intimate. Even though the garden area was adjacent to some of the rooms we were not disturbed, or even noticed, once. The dinner was not for about an hour or so after, but it was buffet style and we had our own table set up. Again, not disturbed and felt like just the wedding guests/party was there.

My boyfriend had attended Negril before and he said the people were very pushy and rude. I was preparing myself for this but the staff was amazing. Incredibly kind and extremely accommodating. What we loved was that you could talk casually with them, ask questions and have friendly conversation and it never felt cheesy. They would also remember you as you walked around the resort and said "Hi." We even saw some servers and bartenders dancing in the piano bar at night; very fun.

The beach was great. You did not feel cramped and no obnoxious wave runners getting too close. There were a few beach vendors (I remember 3) selling items but they were not pushy and did not come up to you asking you to buy something. Also, one gentleman with a guitar playing some Bob Marley but he did not beg for tips either. We never ran into into selling us something and were not disturbed out entire trip to spend money. We did try one of the activities which was the hobie cat. Instructions were fast and we had some issues out at sea but the gentleman was fast to come out and help.

Food was very good. They have a grill that is open early and late for burgers, fried calamari etc. It becomes a sit down place for dinner in the evening with a more elegant menu but we never ate there. There is a Japanese/Thai restaurant which was very good (lobster night on Fridays!), a large area which is good for breakfast and buffet style food and one restaurant that is formal dining and reservations only (we only at at the grill and Japanese/Thai restaurant; buffet area for the reception). My only disappointment was that none of the restaurants had Jamaican food. I was very interested in learning more about the island and culture but this was not offered in the food. But the meals were good and fresh, no bad ingredients or getting sick for us.

Another gripe we had was the drive from the airport. The gentleman who took us was aggressive with wanting a tip. He just stood there with his hand open. Good thing was we did not get him on the way to the airport on our last day. The people who pick you up from and to the airport are not affiliated with Couples' Negril as posted on the signs when you land but just FYI.

Overall it was such a great time. We stayed for 3 nights and wished it was more. There is a lot to do and plenty of nice days in November to enjoy on the beach. Do not be worried about younger or simply obnoxious crowds. We met one group of couples in their late 30s or so who were loud and very drunk in the water but nothing else to ruin our time.

Room Tip: Our suite was near the nude side (far left side) very quiet in the room. Some road nose when you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sdu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Recent Wedding Guest:

It was interesting reading the details of your experience and I am sure that your friends had the destination wedding of their dreams.

It is regrettable that you did not try all the restaurants on property, as we do promote our Jamaican cuisine by having a nightly Jamaican special listed on the menus in the main dining area, that is, the Cassava Terrace Restaurant. In this restaurant throughout the week, there are 3 nights when dinner is served buffet style and the other nights service is a la carte. The menus change nightly featuring International and local dishes. On a Thursday night, the menu is all Jamaican. Recently, we have added a Jamaican breakfast and lunch item on the buffet.

I am sorry you were made to feel uncomfortable about tipping. Couples Negril is a no tipping resort; however, tips are optional for the drivers and the ‘Red Caps’ baggage handlers at the airport also require tips as they are not COUPLES’ employees.

I hope that next time you visit us, you and your boyfriend will be able to enjoy more of what Couples Negril offers to all our valued guests.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been to Couples Negril 9 times and Couples San Souci 2 times. Couples Negrill will alway be home to us. We are going back in April and can't wait. The staff treat you like family. The resort is just the right size. Never too far to walk anywhere. The food is excellent. And the sand is so sofft.
Would never think of going to another resort that was not in the Couples family.

Room Tip: We always stay on the 2nd or 3rd floors for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your COUPLES experience with others.

We look forward to welcoming you back home to Couples Negril next month.

Regards,

Couples Negril Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here the last week of February with another couple. We had been at Couples Negril 2 years ago and last year decided to give Couples Sweptaway a try. This is definitely the superior of the 2.
The beach is absolutely beautiful with the seagrape trees and lots of hammocks. There were always plenty of chairs, as compared to Sweptaway where people would reserve chairs and sometimes never use them. The red flag service is also a definite bonus. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but it is definitely the staff that make this resort exceptional. Everyone from the busboys to waiters to lobby staff were so friendly. They cater to your every whim, and care about your vacation. Their main focus is to make your vacation one you will never forget and that you will want to return. The service throughout was exceptional. The food was superb.
Overall, we will definitely return as we feel this is a little piece of paradise. The management of this resort is to be commended as they made sure every detail was taken care of.

Room Tip: We had a recommendation to stay on a 1st floor, and this was definitely right both times. We were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your commendation. The red flag service is just one of the little things we do to enhance the luxurious service we seek to offer all our guests.

Our staff are our best assets and we are happy that you enjoy interacting with them.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Couples and I have to say the most expensive all inclusive holiday we have ever taken. I was starting to get a bit anxious about how much we had spent on it, especially when you see all the last minute deals to other resorts, but it was absolutely worth every penny and I would do it all again in a heartbeat. From check-in to check-out there was not a single thing that I could complain about.
I had read all the reviews before we left and did go with low expectations of the rooms, but I was pleasantly suprised when we walked in, they were just fine. We staying in block 3 on the 3rd floor overlooking the spa garden and it was perfect, nice and quiet.
It's the details at this resort that make it special, from the champagne and cold towel at check-in, the red flag drink service on the beach, the comfy pads on the lounge chairs that you can use as floaties in the water, champagne cocktail at sunset on the beach, while listening to a saxaphone player.....magical!!! It far exceeded any other resort we have been to.
The food was awesome, Friday night is lobster night and I'm not a huge lobster fan, but I loved it there, I don't know what they did to it but that was my favorite. The beach party was a lot of fun, we really enjoyed the Jamaican theme.
My husband took advantage of the scuba diving lessons and ended up doing his PADI cert. and he said the dive staff were fantastic, very patient and fun. He said that after speaking with other guests that were diving there, the dive staff at Couples were some of the best they had ever come across all over the world.
Go on the complimentary catamaran, it was a lot of fun and the caves it takes you too are pretty cool to swim around. We did the shopping trip to the little mall there, I wouldn't really recommend that too much, the shops are pretty much exactly the same and are overpriced, but if you want a Bob Marley t-shirt, that's the place to go.
I can't comment on the pool as we never even put our feet in, we are beach people and the beach there is just beautiful, clear warm water, soft white sand, super clean, we loved walking up and down everday and there is plenty of shade and beach chairs and as I mentioned earlier, you gotta love sticking a red flag in the sand and getting served a yummy cocktail.
All in all a fantastic trip and we will most definately be back to Couples Negril.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lara363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear recent guest,

I trust that your first experience will definitely not be your last. I am pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the room, the food and all the other amenities included.

Congratulations to your husband on achieving his PADI Certificate.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to Couples Negril Resort for another “unforgettable holiday”.

Warm regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
83.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Property: Couples Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing