We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Wanted to Stay Forever”
Review of Blue Cave Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Cave Castle
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this place! Every single person we encountered was just wonderful, kind, patient, friendly and helpful. The security guards answered so many questions from us, it probably got annoying! But they were always accommodating, especially Michael and Wint! Thanks, guys!
Teddy, the chef/restaurant manger always delivered with incredible dishes nearly every day. The whole atmosphere is so incredibly low-key here. Just tell someone you want some food, within a few minutes, Teddy arrives ready to take the order. You can dine wherever you like on the grounds; we watched many sunsets with our meals! From steamed fish, to curried goat and jerk chicken, Teddy was always spot on. Since it was the off-season and the hotel was virtually empty the first couple days of our stay, he even let my husband hang out in the kitchen and watch him cook.
Petrona, the hotel manager is an absolute sweetheart. She was always helpful, no matter what we asked. Matter of fact, I kept asking if she was hiring so I could just stay. :)
Overall, I would go back to this hotel over and over again. Loved the turtle pond!! The views are spectacular, the grounds are secure and well-kept, the morning coffee is absolutely out of this world and the swimming spot is unique. I loved our room (Superior #7)...private patio that was shaded in the morning and sunny in the afternoon. Got to hang out in the penthouse apartment too and it's just amazing...GREAT deal in the off season for three levels of panoramic views! It's a great spot for anybody who wants to relax, let go and unwind.
Petrona, Teddy, Michael, Wint...if you ever see this...THANK YOU for everything! I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I would definitely split a week between the penthouse and a deluxe room, now that I've seen them...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stellabled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Blue Cave Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 233 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

We just got back from a really quick trip to Negril and stayed at the Blue Cave Castle. What a fantastic adventure. We stayed in the penthouse which has three private balconies. The views are unrivaled in the area. I would say that this room (and the swimming) is not for people who cannot easily do stairs, but for us this establishment was perfect. We did have Teddy prepare a special meal for us one night and it was really good. I'd recommend this place to anyone that has a sense of adventure and is not drawn to the all inclusive island options. Wish we'd had more time to just chill here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IsAirren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I don't know where to begin! We found the Blue Cave Castle through TripAdvisor and were drawn to it immediately. Then we saw the Penthouse, wow! Where can you get 3 floors, all to yourself for such a price!! Had to stay there. We have just returned from our 2 weeks and it was so much more than we expected. The staff and security put you at ease the second you arrive. The three patios with our room were fantastic, never a second with out sunshine, but shade to retreat to when it got too hot. 2 bathrooms, 2 showers, one on the lower, most used patio, where there is also table/chairs and lounge chairs for tanning. The room was comfortable, more than enough space for the two us, you could sleep outside really, so tons of space! We requested a coffee pot and one was brought to us right away, I have my addictions :-) With the kitchen we had the option of cooking some of our meals which was great, freed up more money for adventure. Don't think you are getting a full size gourmet kitchen, you will be cooking on a hotplate, in stages! You are on Island time now, just go with it!! When you don't feel like cooking, Teddy's Hideaway Eatery is right there on the Castle grounds for some of the best food you will ever eat!! Relaxing and private, both in your room and on the Castle grounds. Trustworthy staff. Fresh coffee awaits you every morning to start the day off right. There is a small market nearby, across the street for all of your Red Stripe needs, actually had a good selection of alcohol in there, cigarettes, food etc. Swimming at the Castle, may be a challenge if you are not a strong swimmer, the water is deep and it can get rough at times. If you are expecting a swimming pool there isn't one...just a big ol' body of water steps away from you. Some floaties, pool noodles etc. were provided so that was appreciated. This is really a unique place to stay, you will feel safe here and you will relax!! You will have geckos in your room and you will have crabs sometimes too! The stairs can be interesting after a few too many drinks, but it's all part of the fun!! We are so happy we found the Castle and enjoyed 2 very memorable weeks there. 7 Mile beach is a quick cab ride down the road and we only ended up there once! Pros: All of it, experiencing Jamaica. Cons: was a bit scary walking around in the area, narrow roads, fast drivers and no sidewalks.
The Castle may not be for you, you may be an all-inclusive person, but you can still go there for lunch and see what you are missing! (First time in Jamaica, first time travelling)

Room Tip: Penthouse is the best! If you are a heavy drinker, maybe not so much, lots of stairs to navigate. Ot...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We can’t say enough good things about the Blue Cave Castle located on the cliffs of Negril, Jamaica. We stayed for the 3rd time this year, and it just gets more enjoyable each time.

The check-in process is like no other. Upon entering the gates to the BCC, you are immediately taken to your room. There is no formal check-in. Staff are expecting you, and you are shown to your room quickly, with no confusion. Each year it’s feeling more and more like we’re arriving home to visit with old friends. We’ve met some great people here, staff & travelers alike. There are only 14 rooms, so you won’t see many crowds. The castle is pretty quiet and secluded for the most part, so if you’re looking for privacy we highly recommend. Of course it livens up during sunset (the best part of the day in Negril!) so there is also the option of making your way to the yard to meet & greet with other guests. Security is at the gate 24 hours a day, and there are 2 german shepards watching after you as well. We have had many late nights, and once security lets us in the gate, the dogs walk us to our room. (How do they know?) Very sweet! …We feel very safe here.

Rooms are all one-of-a-kind. They have a somewhat rustic and quaint feeling. So far we have opted to stay in the main castle rooms, and the ocean breeze flows through all of them, and the view…spectacular. Staff do a wonderful job maintaining the rooms during your stay. We’ve stayed in a superior room with air (that we didn’t need during our usual February trip), a tower room (if you like the sound of the sea, stay in one of these) and this year we stayed in deluxe room 4, which we LOVED. Never wanted to leave. One of Negril’s best-kept secrets…shhh!

BCC’s location on the west end is perfect. You will be only minutes away from lots of great little places to eat/drink. Also a few steps down the street is a little store, L&M…perfect place to stock your fridge! And about a 5 minute cab ride to the beach.

Of course we can’t forget Teddy’s Hideaway, BCC’s on-property restaurant. Teddy serves breakfast and lunch. He is an excellent chef. From Jamaican cuisine, Italian, or American, Teddy will do it, and with flair! You don’t have to be staying at BCC to dine here, so check him out!

One more thing…the high mountain coffee served fresh every morning at the Castle is delicious. It’s the best coffee I’ve had in Negril so far. Love to get that first cup in the morning, and just take it all in.

So happy that we found the Blue Cave Castle. We’ll be traveling here for many years to come!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WeekendPlayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Blue Cave Castle has become one of our go to places on our JA vacations. We've been there twice now, already booked for a third time next year. Recently returned from staying there again in late March, and we can gladly say that it's exactly as we remembered it. All of the rooms are great in their own way, lots of little private niches, you never feel crowded anywhere on the property. Most of the guests have been coming back for years, and we've met some great people while staying there. Great place, great people, good snorkeling. Jim, if you're still there, it was great talking to you every day. Thanks again Petrona, tell Santa I said no sleeping on the job! j/k, he would never do that. Love BCC.

Room Tip: They're all great, and each have some neat one of a kind details. The superior rooms are probabl...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TIMMMAAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My sister, her 28 year old daughter, boyfriends and I stayed at Blue Cave Castle in March 2014. Niece had a lower tower room #5. Perfect for her, right on the sea. We had Superior 10 & 11 with the luxury of Air conditioning. Which we did not need. Glad to conserve energy in Negril. You could lay in bed and watch the sea. or sit on open and covered porches looking out to sea.
The property is like home. Comfortable, private areas, and very secure.
Staff will accomidate any request at any time. Easy swimming right in your backyard. Shower to rinse off outside. Groceries right out your front door. Restaurant on property. They will serve you anywhere on the property you wish. Eat dinner under the stars by the sea. Or try any of the several other eating establishments just a short walk. Blue Cave Castle is located in a perfect spot. You can get to the beach very easy, as well as any other attraction. The accomidations are immaculate. Sheets, pillows and blankets are fresh and well cared for.
If you are looking for beautiful views, safety and service, mellow and accomidating staff then this is for you.

Room Tip: Ask the manager Petrona to assist you with your choice.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Waterwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is very charming and a little rustic. It's so full of character I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Negril!

Good Stuff
-It's a castle!
-There's a cave you can swim in!
-Everyone was super nice and chilled out - most guests we met had been coming since the 80s
-It's on the cliffs and you can just walk right in the water!
-The water is shockingly beautiful and there's decent snorkelling.
-In-house restaurant was quite good.
-Super clean
-Free wifi - it didn't reach into my room, but whatever it's a vacation.
-Good location, away from all the beach hustlers and near cool places to eat.
-Amazing views everywhere.
-Turtle pond

Not-so-good
-no tv in the room - I don't know about you, but I like checking out the local tv when I travel.
-no shampoo in the room - and it was $11 in town so that kind of sucked.
-It's not a good place for little kids - which is a plus for me, but might be a minus for you.

Best places I found to eat nearby - I'm sure there are more.
-De Bar - further into the west end - Curry Conch was the best thing I ate all week
-TJ's Restaurant - just off the strip on Ella St.
-Canoe - closer to the beach (has a little beach of it's own too)
-German Bar - beside Canoe - has good pizza.
-Chicken King - just a guy with a bbq at the side of the road - also near Canoe.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upper tower, the view was awesome and it was cheap. But if you can book the Penthou...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Unicorniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.8 mi away
Coral Seas Cliff
Coral Seas Cliff
#59 of 80 in Negril
141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#32 of 80 in Negril
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#33 of 80 in Negril
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Cave Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cave Castle

Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#12 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#21 Family Hotel in Negril
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $60 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Blue Cave Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Cave Castle Negril
Blue Cave Castle Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing