We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best time of my life..again and again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Cave Castle

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Cave Castle
Ranked #49 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best time of my life..again and again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have been this this place twice now and going on my third again next year. First time was November 2010. Then again this past New Years (Dec 30th-Jan 7th 2012) and am returning again for New Years next year! I looove this place! I have been tempted to try Sandles/Beaches type deal to do something new but I always end up coming back to Blue Cave, I just looove it. We came with a large group this past New Years (9 people) and were ALL returning this third time around, so it's safe to say we all enjoyed it. The decor is modest but charming. The views are spectacular and sunsets are to die for. Another poster mentioned they've seen the owner wandering around and felt they couldn't speak freely - I didn't AT ALL share that same experience. I felt totally free here, and I'm a girl that appreciates her privacy as well. Never did I ever one time feel uncomfortable. I rarely saw the owner walking around and of the couple times I did, she didn't bother me one bit, not even a little - it never even crossed my mind? I had the best time of my life, hence upcoming trip number 3. The location is great, near the 7 mile beach, plenty of shopping and restaurants. Free all you can drink blue high mountain coffee until noon! BIG plus for me! Highly recommend this place and like everyone else has said Teddy's Hideaway restaurant is absofrigginlutely delicious!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hellolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    40
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
111
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here last summer for three nights during the height of ATI. When we pulled up to the hotel we were like WTH! that looks nothing like the pics we saw. The street the hotel is on seemed like an alley and we pulled up late at night so that did not help. However when we awoke in the morning we were pleasantly surprised; the place was just like all the pics we saw online.Our room was quite large and so was the bathroom...we stayed in superior 9 if memory serves me right. Our room had a queen bed and a little dining area equipped with a fridge the room also had a tv. We had a verandah with a beautiful view of the ocean and we ate there on most occassions. The hotel staff was pretty pleasant; our maid came in the morning/afternoon (along with a big dog..i think he belonged to the owner, he just was following her..scared the mess out of me...i'm not a dog lover) with fresh towels and little soaps. We had an issue with water in the room - i guess from the windows or under the door since it rained pretty hard while we were there- and it was taken care of promptly. The guard at the gate was pleasant also, he suggested restuarants and called local taxis for us. The only issue we had with during our stay was getting a meal from the restuarant.. the food was either not ready or they didnt have what we wanted...this probably had to do with it being ATI time. This was quite disappointing and inconvenient since we had to get taxis back to town for food. However waking up to the view every morning and eating on the verandah or sitting in the courtyard was worth the $90 we paid for the room; you dont get those views in PA. We didnt attempt to swim since we were gone most days but you could via step access down to the caves then into the water, not for the faint of heart i guess. All in all the hotel is just like it presents itself to be and we would stay here again...the place was quiet and serene.

Room Tip: the superior rooms have a personal verandah and very nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neekah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

THIS HOTEL IS VERY PRETTY UPON FIRST GLANCE. IT IS SET UP LIKE A CASTLE WITH STAIRCASES DOWN TO THE WATER ON THE CLIFFS. THE OWNER LIVES ON SITE AND APPEARS TO WALK AROUND WATCHING THE GUESTS. I FELT LIKE Mcpiggy100 AND AGREE THAT IT WAS LIKE HAVING A MOTHER-in-law following and listening to your every word. We were there while a guest had fallen into the (very loose) sink in her bathroom. She was cut to pieces and received NO HELP AT ALL from the owner. In fact the owner instructed her staff not to touch her at all. THis poor woman's husband had to bandage her up and make all the arrangements for care for his wife. DISGRACEFULL!! Our air conditioner spewed out this chemical every time we turned it on, smoke detected was going off while showering in my room. THe owner was outside yapping away to someone and completely ignored the alarm. Luckily the battery was gone in the smoke dedector and there was no fire. They removed the smoke dedctor but NEVER brought it back. THe treatment that this poor couple got was horrible and if I had somewhere else to go, I would have.
That is not the way to run a business. I DO NOT recommend this hotel at all. NOW THe restaurant called "Teddy's is right beside the Castle Cave and has wonderful service. Teddy and his staff are wonderful and in no way does this review reflect that wonderful restaurant.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lindabean58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Very interesting and charming on the outside, but definitely not a castle. Property has endless possibilities for injuries. You'll have to watch your step constantly due to uneven pavement, etc. The owner lives onsite, and she was not the least bit hospitable. In fact, we felt like we were staying at our mother-in-law's house and walking on eggshells. In addition, we hardly slept due to the owner's dogs barking at irregular hours, and the nonstop noise from the street. On a bright note, staff and management are friendly and the onsite restaurant, Teddy's Hideaway, is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mspiggy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barandy, Owner at Blue Cave Castle, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
A few years back, Blue Cave Castle was deemed as an historical site. Blue Cave Castle is licensed by (J.T.B) Jamaica Tourist Board and highly recommened by (T.P.D.Co.) Tourism Product Development Company Ltd. Blue Cave Castle constantly meets all regulatory standards and requirements in HEALTH, SAFETY, FIRE SAFETY, SECURITY, PUBLIC LIABILITY INSURANCE and ENVIRONMENTAL PROCEDURES by way of bi- annual inspections. Last quality assurance assessment signed by T.P.D.Co. on November 15th, 2011.

Blue Cave Castle Staffs and Management continually work towards achieving these goals and more. There is a constant upgrading. All walk-ways are leveled and tiled. The Owner is always commended for her efforts and consistency in maintaining the product and ensuing guests satisfaction by all relevant licensing and authorities.

And I thankfully appreciate the loving support of the families and thousands of guests from all over the world who visits us yearly since 1980.

Susan Evanko
Owner/Developer/Operations Director
Blue Cave Castle
Lighthouse Road
Negril, Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, AB
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We just came back from a Christmas holiday in Jamaica, and our stay in Negril was undoubtedly the highlight of our trip. We were lucky enough to stay one night in the Blue Cave Castle, Upper Tower Room #6. It's a very basic room located right above the sea with the waves crashing against the rocks below. The food at the restaurant (cash only, no charging to the room) was fabulous and the service was excellent. Complimentary coffee and tea is served on the hotel grounds beginning at 6:00 a.m -- we added our own Jamaican Rum Cream available at any grocery store. The second day, a vacancy opened up in room #12, so we jumped at the chance to stay at the Blue Cave Castle one more night. We were hoping the sea would calm down enough to try swimming through the pirate's cave into the sea and snorkeling along the reef. The room was bigger with A/C, TV, three beds and huge bathroom, but it faced the road so we heard traffic instead of ocean. The other reviews of Blue Cave Castle are very accurate. The staff is incredibly friendly. Petrona let us print our boarding passes in the office and the gate guards jumped at the chance to assist at every opportunity. There was plenty of room to park our car. Scooters and bicycles are available to rent, just a short walk away. Internet access is strongest in the gazebo. A small refrigerator is in each room. The resorts along the beach area of Negril bus their guests to the rocky part of town each night to watch the sunset, but we were able to do so from the comfort of the hotel grounds chatting with other guests. One gentleman told us he comes to Jamaica for years, has tried many hotels in Negril and this one is the best. We believe him. If we come back to Jamaica, we will skip Ochos Rios and Montego Bay and head straight to the Blue Cave Castle.

Room Tip: Each room is unique in design and layout. Pictures and descriptions of each room are on the Blue Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed at Cave Castle for 2 night in December. Very clean, staff is very pleasant. The location is good for those who don't mind taking a taxi to leave the property (no sidewalks, even the locals don't walk the quite busy road behind hotel). No beach, access to ocean via ladder down a rocky edge. Not good for children or people with physical limitations. Snorkelling just off property is 5 STAR *****!!! Saw trumpet fish, an eel, sting rays...etc. Food at adjoined restaurant is tasty, however they don't take credit cards. Coffee is to die for, and so are the views of the sunset.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoannaDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I´ve been in Blue Cave Castle for 4 days in the Penthouse Suite. It´s really an amazing place. Don´t expect a 5 star hotel; it´s a different place to be in touch with nature, see the best sunsets & do some snorkeling. You should try it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therion2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.3 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#56 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#32 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackie's on the Reef
Jackie's on the Reef
#37 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#29 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#31 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royale Hummingbird Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Cave Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cave Castle

Property: Blue Cave Castle
Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#21 Family Hotel in Negril
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Blue Cave Castle Negril
Blue Cave Castle Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing