We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in the cliffs”
Review of Xtabi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xtabi Resort
Ranked #34 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in the cliffs”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying here well over 20 years, always clean very friendly and has everything you need, from the view to the food.... I highly recommend to anyone going to negril!!! The staff is wonderful and for the price I just don't think it gets any better!!!!! Breathtaking.....

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank iriegirl1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your stay was a relaxing and enjoyable one, as our aim is always to provide our guests with a welcoming, warm, relaxed and hassle free environment. Thank you again!! For your wonderful compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    144
    32
    17
    16
See reviews for
31
252
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Xtabi is absolutely a lovely charming place. For starters, its in Negril, which is arguably the prettiest place in Jamaica. Your basic choices are the beach places vs. the cliff places. The views from cliffs are spectacular, so I vote cliffs. And you can always walk or get a taxi over to the beach. Xtabi has been there for a while, and its small. And my rule for great places is to stay small. Food, service and charm go down exponentially as size goes up. And consistent with this rule, Xtabi's food and service are superb. You can actually get to know your fellow guests at a small place--and we met the most interesting folks from everywhere in the world.We met couples at the restaurant who had come over from the large inclusives because our food and atmosphere was so much better (most of the big inclusives fly their food in from Miami--yuck). George and Omar are wonderful bar-tenders, and the bar and cliff-side restaurant invite serious deep relaxation. Swimming, snorkling and cliff-diving are right there, literally right off the hotel. Keep in mind that you don't get beach on the cliff side places, you've got to go to the other side of Negril if you want white sand beach.

There's a lot to do and see nearby. We hired a boat (Vincent's) to take us to the reef for snorkling. Highly recommend it--$30 a person for 3 hours, which is plenty. Vincent, and other captains, will take you out fishing or up the Negril River too. The staff (like Devon who was awesome) will help you connect with local captians, and anything else you might want. There's the Negril LIghthouse (do climb up; don't engage the guys who hang out on the grounds, unless you want to pay them for watching daredevil diving). Rick's is next to the lighthouse--its a kid zoo, but you probably want to pop in for a quick drink just to see the scene). There's also the Rockhouse next door, which has 3 different dining areas (we liked the Pushcart the best) for a change of pace. And the outdoor jerk place next door is great too.

Value-wise Xtabi is a great deal. You can pay a lot more at the newer places on the cliffs, but do no better for charm and aesthetics. Reservations were smooth, no unpleasant surprises. But the strongest testimony for Xtabi is the "returners." We met several folks who were serious regulars, including one couple who has been coming to Negril for 20 years, and who were back there for their 10th time. You can really get attached to this place!

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mespellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your stay was a relaxing and enjoyable one, as our aim is always to provide our guests with a welcoming, warm, relaxed and hassle free environment. Thank you again!! For your wonderful compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

George and Omar say hi ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We have finally found the perfect place in Negril!!
Great location great food & great staff! We will be back! We stayed in cottage 1... It was great ... So was cottage 4.....but so was cottage number 3! The outdoor showers were nicer in 3&4. We loved the view, saw lots of dolphins in the morning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that your vacation was a relaxing and enjoyable one, as our aim is always to provide our guests with a welcoming, warm, relaxed and hassle free environment.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon in either cottage 1,3 or 4 ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Beautiful spot on the cliffs. I was staying at Samsara just down the road. We walked up to have lunch and check out the caves. The food was really good. Caves are very cool. Great spot for snorkeling. One of the caves has a small patch on beach and you can walk right into the water.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. It is always our delight to hear such positive feedback. We are most happy that you had a wonderful time passing by at Xtabi. We look forward in welcoming you again here with friends in the near future.

Thanks you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Xtabi was a decent place. It is a pretty good value for the lodging, however, they raised their prices by 20% before my group arrived and even asked some of us for the higher amount even though we already had confirmed reservations at the lower rate. This is not a good business practice. The caves here are really cool. They even have bars set up down in the caves although they weren't in use when we were there. Maybe due to slow season. I was happy to find out that they had an air con (standard superior) room available for me for two nights, which worked very well. Can't say the same for my brother's A/C unit when he upgraded from the standard room to room 24, which has two bedrooms, kitchen, and nice living area/porch pool side. His room had a window A/C unit in the master bedroom, but due to an old unit and really high cathedral ceilings, the A/C could not cool down his bedroom too well. My standard pool side room (23) for the final two nights was pretty nice as well. Celling fan and a nice breeze cooled it off pretty well at night.

Most of the staff were pretty friendly. Some others didn't pay much attention. The overall feel of Negril has changed over the years. It's much more of a hassle to walk on the street or beach than it used to be. And after talking to a few locals/hotel staff, I was told "Negril is not what is was 8 years ago. You pretty much stay at the resort and only take rides from people the hotel staff recommends. The drivers the Xtabi uses are excellent. And I must say from first hand experience, def only take a ride from people the hotel recommends. However, this can all add up if you want to go to the beach a lot or even visit some of the other bars/restaurants on the cliffs. The Xtabi restaurant has decent food, but it is on the pricey side.

Overall, Xtabi is an ok hotel. With the rise in their rates, it may be comparable to other resorts on the cliffs. It's a basic resort.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are further away from the road and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterTnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Greetings, Thanks for visiting us here at Xtabi, we are all sorry that Negril has changed not to your liking, but they call this progress??? Any way things do not always stay the same. Such as the cost of doing business here in Jamaica, has doubled over the years and we have held our prices as long as we could have. I will say the price has only risen by an average of 6%, the other charges are the taxes , good ole taxes.... Xtabi is still one of the best deals in Negril for the type of accommodations received. Caves are beautiful, but you can not compare Xtabi to the Caves or the Rock House.. Xtabi is at best a 2 Star, while priced in that range, far below the 3, 4 & 5 stars resorts on the west end. We all here hope that you will return to Negril again sometime in the future, and you will again love here. We will strive to keep our guest happy.
On a business note: any room that was paid for in advance was honored. only the unpaid rooms were paid at new rates. Thanks again for your Stay. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved Xtabi! We stayed in #6 and it was excellent--super comfy bed, great shower and AC! From the moment we arrived, we felt so welcomed and at home. The gardens are beautiful, the caves are wondrous, and the bar is excellent! Omar is a great bartender....best Rum Runner Pon di Rock, with Dwight's being a close second. The restaurant is delish (perfectly grilled lobster, tasty grilled chicken, perfect Jamaican omelet) with great waitstaff and ambience.

Location is perfect! Walk to 3 Dives and Eddie's DeBar for awesome jerk. Great snorkeling right from Xtabi.....as good as going out to the reef from the beach. Maybe even better!

Can't wait to come back.....

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KJT_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us on the cliffs in #6
And thank you so much for your positive post about Xtabi and the Restaurant we always try our best to make sure everyone has a great vacation and leaves with a smile and suntan ;-)
We look forward to seeing you again next year and hopefully many more to come!!
Take care,

the rumrunners are waiting ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Xtabi for the second time last fall and it was just as wonderful as the first time. We stayed in cottage 1 which has the bedroom upstairs and a living dining area on the main floor. Both of us come here for the peace and quite away from the hotel strip. This is Jamaica man, things get done when they get done, no problems man. Staff are wonderful, scenery is great, you snorkel right from your sun pad. Our second visit was just as great as our first. Omar around, you still got the bug spray we left!! Ttvm everyone at Xtabi.

Room Tip: Cottages 1-2-3 are more private. Cottage 1 the balcony overhangs the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren_Zen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your stay was a relaxing and enjoyable one, as our aim is always to provide our guests with a welcoming, warm, relaxed and hassle free environment. Thank you again!! For your wonderful compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#33 of 81 in Negril
1,342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
0.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
849 reviews
3.2 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xtabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtabi Resort

Property: Xtabi Resort
Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#22 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xtabi Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtabi is a 25 Room Boutique Hotel, We are located on the West Cliffs of Negril, one + miles from the Negril Beach.XTABI offers a variety of different facilities such as economy and standard rooms, as well as one or two storey private cottages. Some of our accommodations are set in the lush tropical garden near the pool, others are on the impressive cliffside overlooking the Caribbean Sea.XTABI RESORT awaits you with a dramatic water front setting where spiral stairs are leading down through a cave to a sandy beach. Many grottos along the cliffs are to explore and the shallow reefs nearby ensure great snorkeling. The cliffside bar and restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving good food in a friendly atmosphere with a breath-taking view and nice music. Xtabi will make you feel IRIE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Xtabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtabi Hotel Negril
Xtabi Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing