We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xtabi Resort
Nearby Hotels
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$140
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Negril Tree House Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$143
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
$64
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
$639
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$484
$469
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveler rating
271
149
34
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
149
34
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffwest endoutdoor showerconch burgerjamaican breakfastwaves crashingcoffee potseaside cottageceiling fanlaid backgarden roomevery morningocean siderick's caferock housealways felt safeclear water
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 492 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Beautiful spot on the cliffs. I was staying at Samsara just down the road. We walked up to have lunch and check out the caves. The food was really good. Caves are very cool. Great spot for snorkeling. One of the caves has a small patch on beach and you can walk right into the water.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. It is always our delight to hear such positive feedback. We are most happy that you had a wonderful time passing by at Xtabi. We look forward in welcoming you again here with friends in the near future.

Thanks you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Xtabi was a decent place. It is a pretty good value for the lodging, however, they raised their prices by 20% before my group arrived and even asked some of us for the higher amount even though we already had confirmed reservations at the lower rate. This is not a good business practice. The caves here are really cool. They even have bars set up down in the caves although they weren't in use when we were there. Maybe due to slow season. I was happy to find out that they had an air con (standard superior) room available for me for two nights, which worked very well. Can't say the same for my brother's A/C unit when he upgraded from the standard room to room 24, which has two bedrooms, kitchen, and nice living area/porch pool side. His room had a window A/C unit in the master bedroom, but due to an old unit and really high cathedral ceilings, the A/C could not cool down his bedroom too well. My standard pool side room (23) for the final two nights was pretty nice as well. Celling fan and a nice breeze cooled it off pretty well at night.

Most of the staff were pretty friendly. Some others didn't pay much attention. The overall feel of Negril has changed over the years. It's much more of a hassle to walk on the street or beach than it used to be. And after talking to a few locals/hotel staff, I was told "Negril is not what is was 8 years ago. You pretty much stay at the resort and only take rides from people the hotel staff recommends. The drivers the Xtabi uses are excellent. And I must say from first hand experience, def only take a ride from people the hotel recommends. However, this can all add up if you want to go to the beach a lot or even visit some of the other bars/restaurants on the cliffs. The Xtabi restaurant has decent food, but it is on the pricey side.

Overall, Xtabi is an ok hotel. With the rise in their rates, it may be comparable to other resorts on the cliffs. It's a basic resort.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are further away from the road and are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterTnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Greetings, Thanks for visiting us here at Xtabi, we are all sorry that Negril has changed not to your liking, but they call this progress??? Any way things do not always stay the same. Such as the cost of doing business here in Jamaica, has doubled over the years and we have held our prices as long as we could have. I will say the price has only risen by an average of 6%, the other charges are the taxes , good ole taxes.... Xtabi is still one of the best deals in Negril for the type of accommodations received. Caves are beautiful, but you can not compare Xtabi to the Caves or the Rock House.. Xtabi is at best a 2 Star, while priced in that range, far below the 3, 4 & 5 stars resorts on the west end. We all here hope that you will return to Negril again sometime in the future, and you will again love here. We will strive to keep our guest happy.
On a business note: any room that was paid for in advance was honored. only the unpaid rooms were paid at new rates. Thanks again for your Stay. Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We absolutely loved Xtabi! We stayed in #6 and it was excellent--super comfy bed, great shower and AC! From the moment we arrived, we felt so welcomed and at home. The gardens are beautiful, the caves are wondrous, and the bar is excellent! Omar is a great bartender....best Rum Runner Pon di Rock, with Dwight's being a close second. The restaurant is delish (perfectly grilled lobster, tasty grilled chicken, perfect Jamaican omelet) with great waitstaff and ambience.

Location is perfect! Walk to 3 Dives and Eddie's DeBar for awesome jerk. Great snorkeling right from Xtabi.....as good as going out to the reef from the beach. Maybe even better!

Can't wait to come back.....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KJT_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us on the cliffs in #6
And thank you so much for your positive post about Xtabi and the Restaurant we always try our best to make sure everyone has a great vacation and leaves with a smile and suntan ;-)
We look forward to seeing you again next year and hopefully many more to come!!
Take care,

the rumrunners are waiting ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Xtabi for the second time last fall and it was just as wonderful as the first time. We stayed in cottage 1 which has the bedroom upstairs and a living dining area on the main floor. Both of us come here for the peace and quite away from the hotel strip. This is Jamaica man, things get done when they get done, no problems man. Staff are wonderful, scenery is great, you snorkel right from your sun pad. Our second visit was just as great as our first. Omar around, you still got the bug spray we left!! Ttvm everyone at Xtabi.

Room Tip: Cottages 1-2-3 are more private. Cottage 1 the balcony overhangs the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bren_Zen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your stay was a relaxing and enjoyable one, as our aim is always to provide our guests with a welcoming, warm, relaxed and hassle free environment. Thank you again!! For your wonderful compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Xtabi in one of their traditional rooms. The value for the room was tremendous at $64/night. Room was a great size with a larger than normal bathroom. Our only negative was that the pool was closed for some maintenance issue. The view from the dining room is spectacular as well as exploring through the caves (a must do in our book).

Room Tip: It was our first stay here so I can't comment on room location. We were in #18 on the first floor which we really appreciate.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gman4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidppreble, General Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

I would like to take a moment to thank all our friends of Xtabi. We have enjoyed serving you and hope we will keep making our guest happy in the years to come......
Thanks, Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews