We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Xtabi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xtabi Resort
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Xtabi for the second time last fall and it was just as wonderful as the first time. We stayed in cottage 1 which has the bedroom upstairs and a living dining area on the main floor. Both of us come here for the peace and quite away from the hotel strip. This is Jamaica man, things get done when they get done, no problems man. Staff are wonderful, scenery is great, you snorkel right from your sun pad. Our second visit was just as great as our first. Omar around, you still got the bug spray we left!! Ttvm everyone at Xtabi.

Room Tip: Cottages 1-2-3 are more private. Cottage 1 the balcony overhangs the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bren_Zen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your stay was a relaxing and enjoyable one, as our aim is always to provide our guests with a welcoming, warm, relaxed and hassle free environment. Thank you again!! For your wonderful compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 484 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Xtabi in one of their traditional rooms. The value for the room was tremendous at $64/night. Room was a great size with a larger than normal bathroom. Our only negative was that the pool was closed for some maintenance issue. The view from the dining room is spectacular as well as exploring through the caves (a must do in our book).

Room Tip: It was our first stay here so I can't comment on room location. We were in #18 on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gman4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidppreble, General Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

I would like to take a moment to thank all our friends of Xtabi. We have enjoyed serving you and hope we will keep making our guest happy in the years to come......
Thanks, Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went to Xtabi for a stop on our bar crawl and I was so glad we did. Its a gem!
If you get the chance, take a cab ride there and plant your butt in a chair all day, tanning and cliff diving. As long as you're drinking or eating.. they wont bug you.

The bartender there makes an AWESOME dirty banana. Im craving it just thinking about it now!

Room Tip: Day trip for tanning and cliff diving!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Em P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your positive post,
Were happy to hear you enjoyed your stop at Xtabi on your bar crawl
The dirty bananas are blending up and are waiting!..
So please don't be a stranger and pass by again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have been going to Jamaica for 21 years now and my wife and I were married at Xtabi! The wedding was amazing, perfect with fresh flowers picked on the grounds, a pastor who was wonderful, they decorated it for us and we loved it and we had a double wedding with my sister in laws! Our wedding was awesome and as a guy it only took 10 minutes for the ceremony and let the party begin. It was also very reasonable, we had chicken and fish for 44 guests, and they got us a caske made by a local which was to die for! The rooms are super clean and I have stayed in the cottages which are super nice a give you the ocean breeze but lack AC units so we stay on the garden side with the rooms that have AC and TV and they are well taken care of. Sharon the cleaning queen does a great job and is very personable, the bar......well lets say that if you come to Negril and don't stop by to see George the bartender and server (we love when he bartends becuase he is the best) George will make you a drink called the Filthy Banana and it's the best drink on the planet, I have had several bartenders try to make it and they fail, he should have a cape! The front desk is very helpful, the food is very good and the pumpkin soup is unreal! You will love Xtabi, and ask for Kingsley to pick you up and take you to the airport, he is less then the shuttle, and you don't have to waste hours dropping off tons of tourist before you arrive at the resort. Kingsley is very personable and reliable, he also has a nice van and will give you a complimentary drink! If your looking for a very nice place at a great price, this is it! I love Xtabi! I will be back again in 19 days!

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side have AC and TV which I love, the cottages are super cool, I stayed in numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Guest Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback,
Regarding your stay and wedding at Xtabi. Were all delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed your vacation here.
Kingsley and George both were both very happy to read your positive post and on behalf of the Xtabi team we all hope to see you again soon!..

Almost forgot to mention George has the blender out
The Filthy Bananas are ready and waiting
;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Jamaica many times and love it! By far Negril is my favorite spot on the island and it doesn't get any better than the West End. With all that said I think Xtabi is one of THE best places to stay!!! It's location is perfect keeping you accessible to Negril's best. The staff is awesome and always make my stay special. The ocean front cottages are the bomb! There is no better waiter in Negril than George and Dwight at the bar is always a great evening. There's many places I love through out Negril but only Xtabi feels like home. To make the most of your stay I recommend renting a bicycle (I always take a headlight/taillight combo)...leisurely touring Negril on a bicycle with snorkeling gear and an Irie-attitude is heaven. :-)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank The_Dun_Dada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

While in Negril last week we decided to spend the afternoon at Xtabi for lunch and swimming. What a great place! The water is beautiful. Swimming here is the best along the cliff's. They have a little cove and places where you can jump from. The lunch was very good, and I had the best dirty banana drink there. Next trip we will definitely stay here. Excellent location too.

Room Tip: Get the Dirty Banana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Public Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing Xtabi to spend your afternoon. It is always our pleasure to welcome you to our beautiful property. We are thankful for your positive review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful afternoon and look forward in welcoming you here to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here on the recommendation of my sister, who stayed here about 3 years ago. We came after being in an all inclusive, and let's just say we won't be going back to the all inclusive next time we come.

We stayed in cottage number 3 - AMAZING. A panoramic view of the ocean from our bed. The room was clean and comfortable (no AC but the fan worked wonders) and the fact that we had our own little swim platform was just an added bonus.

The location is great (within walking distance to a lot of restaurants and bars). Don't be afraid to venture outside, just be careful and mindful of the very fast drivers on Lighthouse road. If you need to go into town or further up the road and don't feel like walking, Xtabi works with a few cab drivers who are always just a call away. We almost exclusively used Damion - he was awesome! Always willing to take us on little errands, or on bigger trips. We walked to 3 Dives on the regular, but also ventured down to Jenny and Jaco's and up to Sips and Bites which are both within a 5 minute walk. Rockhouse is also about a 5 minute walk as well, and right across the street from Rockhouse is a little strip of stores to get souvenirs

The restaurant and bar here are great. The servers and bartenders were always so friendly and we had a great time just sitting and chatting with them. Omar, George and Dwight - thanks!

Do yourself a favor and stay here - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtabi, Public Relations Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. It is always our delight to exceed our guests expectations. We are most happy that you had a wonderful time here at Xtabi and it surroundings. We look forward in welcoming you again here with friends in the near future.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#32 of 80 in Negril
1,382 reviews
0.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
3.6 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#30 of 80 in Negril
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 80 in Negril
530 reviews
2.9 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#38 of 80 in Negril
238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xtabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtabi Resort

Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#22 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $64 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Xtabi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtabi is a 25 Room Boutique Hotel, We are located on the West Cliffs of Negril, one + miles from the Negril Beach.XTABI offers a variety of different facilities such as economy and standard rooms, as well as one or two storey private cottages. Some of our accommodations are set in the lush tropical garden near the pool, others are on the impressive cliffside overlooking the Caribbean Sea.XTABI RESORT awaits you with a dramatic water front setting where spiral stairs are leading down through a cave to a sandy beach. Many grottos along the cliffs are to explore and the shallow reefs nearby ensure great snorkeling. The cliffside bar and restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving good food in a friendly atmosphere with a breath-taking view and nice music. Xtabi will make you feel IRIE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Xtabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtabi Hotel Negril
Xtabi Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing