We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“desirable”
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Montego Bay, Jamaica
2 reviews
“desirable”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Rockhouse is the most charming and serene hotel that i have stayed at in Jamaica. I have stayed at the rockhouse more than 5 times and am looking forward to many more. The service there is warm and welcoming, the food is to die for!! , and just the overall appearance is very appealing. This is the perfect place to relax and enjoy nature and the natural beauty it has to offer..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle_Sukhram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    185
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
80
636
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Overall, I have a mixed review. On the one hand - the plushness of the grounds of the resort was great...but on the other hand...it lacked "luxury" for the price of it.

One thing's for sure...VILLA 10 ROCKS!!! I can also DEFINITELY tell you which villas have the worst views: Villa 9 (sits RIGHT BEHIND 10 and the view sux) and Villa 19 (sits behind Villa 18, I think). All the other Villas - great views, so you won't go wrong with any others that you pick. Especially if you're the type that wants to get up in the morning - order breakfast - and sit on your personal patio to actually SEE the SEA! This will NOT be accomplished in the aforementioned villas (9 and 19). Sure, you can WALK to the pool or restaurant for this view...but c'mon...how often will you get this "personal view," so why not book the best Villas?

The downside of The Rockhouse is the fact that you pay so much to be there, and yet...you are nickel and dimed right out of your in-room fridge. Meaning, the water, beers, sodas aren't free in the mini fridge. There are little marts in walking distance, so if you just don't want to give the hotel anymore money - go there and stock up for the fridge.

THE SPA: Can I just say the SPA IS TO DIE FOR! FANNNNNNNNNNNN-TAB-U-LOUS!!! You won't regret it.

My only REAL complaint was the cleanliness of the outdoor shower; but ...if you are really an "outdoorsy" type - it won't bother you to bathe with huge leaves on the floor of the shower - or spider webs - here and there... - oh...and an occasional lil crab - other than that... ;-) - OH...AND the site of a rusting plastic toilet bowl wand (cleaning tool)...(totally grossed me out) - like, who REALLY wants to see the tools that they use to clean the bathrooms, and to know that those tools are also nasty/rusted? WOW...so again...for this to be as pricey as it is --- I shouldn't really have seen all those things, right?

AN ANNOYANCE: When you're super hot, this could be slightly irritating, but for the purpose of conserving energy - I get it. The A/C only works when you're IN the room...which means, it goes off when you open the door. So, if you're "hot-natured," you'd better freeze out your room while you're in there, so that it remains cool throughout the day if you're away from it.

Oh! One last thing: USE YOUR BED'S NET! It's there for a reason! The mosquitoes will be full of you if you don't.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachytique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2010

No need to think twice...just book this hotel already! Beautiful location/grounds, great food and wonderful staff. We went swimming and snorkeling in the ocean every day - very clear, warm and calm waters. I can't find one bad thing to say about this hotel. The grounds, pool and ocean at this hotel exceeded my expectations. Definitely splurge for the villa! It can't be beat!

If you are in Negril and don't stay here you at least have to eat at one of their restaurants - excellent food. Beyond the beautiful location is the amazing staff!! They were friendly, outgoing and did what ever they could to make your stay enjoyable. If you go there - ask for Tyrone he was the best! Even personally delivered patties for us one morning because we mentioned we had to try them while in Jamaica.

The only small downside to this hotel is that its more of a couples retreat. So if your looking for a lot of singles or lively nightlife this is not the place. But that didn't ruin our stay at all...it was quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed every second and will defenitely return to this place.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Spent 3 days at Rockhouse before heading down to Montego Bay and we were so sad to leave. Peaceful, beautiful, friendly, and romantic. One of the best food experiences I've had in a while, breakfast, lunch (at the pool), and dinner. The views are gorgeous, the rooms are adorable, and the staff was super friendly and non-intrusive. A spectacular coral reef right outside your door, and its all yours! Rent snorkel gear for $5 a day?!? Drinks were soooo fresh, I mean fresh mango, fresh pineapple, fresh bananas, fresh mint, fresh fresh fresh. No problem mon!

Did I mention the sunsets?!?!?

We hope to go back in the spring of next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTSHarrisburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Loved this beautiful hotel, it is unique, quiet and beautiful. The service, food and ambiance are fabulous. This is the perfect place to relax and just enjoy the beautiful surroundings...stare at the ocean from your villa and soak up the sun (if you go...MUST stay at a villa). Claudette the General Manager was superb! The pool area is also fantastic...and we loved having the coconut water directly from the coconuts...very refreshing. The food at the main restaurant was divine!!!

We usually don't repeat destination, since we love to travel the world, but we definitely will go back to the Rockhouse when in need of some relaxation!!

If you like snorkeling you must hire Vincent, the front desk can arrange everything and he picks you up right at the hotel on his boat. Also...do explore the hotel and all the access to the ocean...there are some incredible spots!! Do not be afraid to explore the caves right under the hotel.

The Rockhouse is paradise on an idyllic location with beautiful views!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, KY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Rockhouse & splurged on a villa, which was wonderful. The view was fantastic & the outdoor shower was such an exotic treat. However, we did ask to see the studio rooms before we left to see how they compared. The studios are on the upper floor of the building & although they aren't directly on the water, they do have a
nice private deck with ocean views. The rooms are smaller than the villas, but you generally aren't in the room that much anyway. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in those on another visit. The standard rooms are in the same building, but on the ground floor with no ocean view. We were there during a slow time of year & the occupancy was low, so we had the pool to ourselves during a good portion of the day. The views & sunsets were to die for - could only be described as paradise. We arrived on the night of a manager's cocktail party and the appetizers & drinks offered were delicious. We found the staff at the hotel & the restaurant to be extremely friendly & willing to do whatever required to make our stay comfortable. I am not a swimmer, but felt very safe snorkeling around the hotel with a lifejacket. We ate at both the Rockhouse Restaurant & the Pushcart & enjoyed both. I love to take pictures & the Rockhouse setting is a photographer's dream! There is a rock wall surrounding the property, so even though you are on the main road through Negril, you feel like you are isolated. I would LOVE to return on another trip with either my spouse or for a girl's trip. We used Kenny (not Kenny Tours, but the other Kenny mentioned on this site) for transportation to/from the airport & feel very comfortable recommending him for tours or any needed transportation.
He was prompt, even when we called in the morning to request an earlier departure, & was able to give us alot of information about Jamaica and the areas we were driving though. All in all, this stay combined with a 3 night stay at the new Jewel Resort Dunn's River (all-inclusive) was truly a relaxing vacation in paradise. In comparison, we stayed at the Riu Ocho Rios for a week last year & there is no comparison. Both Rockhouse & the Jewel win hands down. I will mention the only negative - the villas (& I assume all the other rooms) only have a wall air conditioning unit & it shuts off automatically any time you leave the room, so the rooms are never truly cooled down like most of us are used to. I understand that the Rockhouse is known to be eco-friendly, and I appreciate that fact, but it is worth mentioning. It does cool down enough at night with the AC to make it comfortable for sleeping though. The property is rustic with just wood shutters, so it isn't air-tight which makes it harder to cool. It is possible that the studio/standard rooms are cooler since they are smaller, & would therefore be easier to cool. This was a very SMALL negative & in no way impacted my enjoyment of the property.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2010

During our stay in Negril, we stayed in two different hotels in the West End. The Rockhouse was the first place. It is as beautiful as the pictures. The staff is attentive and polite. Especially the very nice restaurant manager (his name escapes me). We stayed in a studio one night and a standard for two nights. I recommend the studio for just $25 more--the large stone bathroom/shower is absolutely lovely and worth it. The rooms were always clean and very roomy.

I recommend that you try the lovely local restaurants around the Rockhouse. If you are going to eat at the Rockhouse, I recommend the pushcart restaurant over the Rockhouse restaurant. Its more affordable and has a wider selection.

I went with a friend of mine and I definitely recommend this hotel as a nice get-away. The West End is WAY nicer than the beach. The cliffs are awesome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerondu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
218 reviews
85.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
998 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#6 of 80 in Negril
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Property: Rockhouse Hotel
Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Negril
#3 Spa Hotel in Negril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Rockhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing