We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels in the world.”
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels in the world.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've been to Rockhouse three times now and I intend to keep going back. To me, it's the perfect combination of an extraordinary property, great staff and good food.

If you prefer mega resorts or formality, you won't like it here. But if you're looking for a boutique size hotel with a unique style, you won't find one better.

I see some people are disappointed in the room size of the standard and studio rooms. I find them perfectly adequate for two people, especially given that the property is so amazing, you're rarely even in your room. The villas are an option, if you need tons of space, and the premium ones are really beautiful.

The people who work here really make Rockhouse what it is. Everyone is very warm, welcoming, and helpful.

You *must* try the spa. I'm a spa junkie and the women who work in the spa are as good as any spa therapists I've had anywhere. I find that often in hotels, the massages are lackluster, but here they are incredible.

And I have to compliment the gardeners. They have created a real paradise!

My one wish: it would be great if in the mornings they could offer fresh ground decaf coffee. Jamaican coffee is so good, but for those of us who don't drink caffeine, it's sad to be handed a packet of Sanka. For now, I bring the portable Starbucks decaf packets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    185
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
80
640
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this spot in April 2012. We were driving around Jamaica for 10 days.
For the most part we were staying a hostels. It was a treat to go to Negril and treat our selves to one of the bungalows at the Rockhouse. Though we did have a car and drove everywhere it wasn''t so close to everything like restaurants and the beach. The bungalow had a nice honeymoon feel to it. We had a beautiful view of the ocean and sunset. The staff were attentive and the restaurant had a great menu. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotAtouristA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I'll start by sincerely apologizing to my wonderful friends at the Rockhouse...I'll explain soon. I called the Rockhouse based on a referral from a good friend who suggested that I take my wife to this resort if I wanted the best vacation ever for serious rest and relaxing with my wife... Well, needless to say its what I did and we had a magical vacation that we will never forget. From the moment I spoke with Inise (the wedding planner - hotel management), I had a feeling of being in good hands and that regardless of what would happen with this trip, she and her amazing staff would make it right. I've never been more RIGHT. She helped me plan every detail of the major event of asking my wife to re-marry me after 15 years- right down to what the flowers would look like that my wife would be carrying walking down the paved path to the ocean where we exchanged our vows for the second time. I'm telling you that this place is off the charts. I come from the service business and I know what it takes to deliver the WOW... So does the Rockhouse. Period. We stayed in #10 - outstanding. Food from all restaurants - outstanding. The entire staff was accommadating... Be sure to get a tour from Vincent and his private boat!
So why was I apologizing in the beginning? Because it's taken me nearly a year to actaully comment on the experience that we had in this amazing place that we hope to visit again - VERY SOON! Sincerely - Jason & Hollie

Room Tip: Talk to Inise for all your special needs/requirements.... love that girl!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited the Rockhouse for a wedding. We were able to spend some time in a friend's hotel room which was nice, but smaller than at the Caves. The room layout was nice, but the bathrooms and showers on the outside was a mosquitoes haven. Also, the food and alcohol were quite expensive. For the money, you can stay at the Caves with more amenities and larger rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Najgeenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in one of the cheaper rooms. Can only imagine how incredible the pricier rooms/villas must be because our room was pretty impressive and had a cosy cottage-like feel to it. The room was equipped with a small fridge, a/c as well as a basket of reasonably priced snacks and items one might forgot to bring along, like an underwater camera or a sarong.
Location: Well located on the cliffs so good for snorkelling and diving and the hotel rents snorkelling gear for just US $5/day so you don't even need to bring your own mask and flippers.
Recreation: The hotel boasts a pool and recreation room with chess and scrabble boards. The pool is at the edge of the cliff and gives a great sunset view so you can avoid the crowds at Ricks and simply watch it from the pool area, and enjoy pool bar Happy Hour at the same time. There's also an in-house spa.
Food: The restaurant at the hotel was pretty good and dinner was reasonably priced. Breakfast was a bit pricier so the second day, we went to Tensing Pen. They do a great (and cheaper) ackee and saltfish.
Safety: Keep your wallets on you! My bf lost his in the rec area and it was eventually returned to him without the cash. Thankfully, the hotel considered the situation and opted to reimburse him, which says a lot about the establishment.
There are cheaper places that are breakfast inclusive in Negril, but considering the location, excellent rooms, restaurant and just general hotel ambience, it's easy to justify spending the extra few dollars to stay at Rockhouse.
Could have gotten 5 stars but for the lack of concern on the part of the front desk staff when we complained about the stolen money. Only when the GM got on the case was action actually taken.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriniJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The "villas" are earthy and perfect. Food was great and the people were wonderful. Perfect for honeymooners and couples. The spa was excellent and the staff generally were friendly, warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chait6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Rockhouse Hotel to celebrate the marriage our close friends. The hotel set the stage for a beautiful sunset ocean view ceremony. The hotel thought of everything to accomodate the wedding guests attending as well as the wedding party.

The Rockhouse Hotel is made up of thatched roof huts which have access to the ocean from the front of your hut. Most have large, comfortable canopy beds with mesquito netting to keep bugs out. One of the best parts of the room were the open-air showers with high walls and an open view to the sun, star and heavens. This shower definitely makes you feel like you're in paradise.

Overall, the Rockhouse Hotel is like no other hotel in Jamaica!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwsmith_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
221 reviews
85.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
847 reviews
0.7 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,003 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#6 of 80 in Negril
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Property: Rockhouse Hotel
Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Negril
#3 Spa Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Rockhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing