We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE!”
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Harrison, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This place is a GEM! A spectacular place to go to when you want to get away from it all! No TV's, no noise except the birds and happy Jamaican music playing! The people are gracious and happy to be there to serve you and make your stay MAGNIFICENT!
Read more! www.thefitgreengoddess.com

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    185
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
80
640
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2011

The Rockhouse Hotel was an amazing experience. Everything good you have read about the hotel and more. The views are amazing, waking up to the cliffs and water every morning is amazing, yoga at the hotel is amazing, scuba diving outside of your room, 2 restaurants on site and a pool bar, there is so much here, you don't even need to leave! We left for several different occasions to go check out the sights but always ended up right back at the hotel to enjoy ourselves there. Ivan's is a great bar to check out and Ciao Jamaica had really good food, we ate dinner at both places.

Whatever you do, don't go to Rick's Cafe, total tourist trap and the prices are outrageous for what they offer. Do not waste your time. We were disappointed that we didn't listen to our instincts on that one.

When staying at the Rockhouse make sure you get a chance to do some spa activities, i.e. massage, pedicure, etc. Their services are like no other and the atmosphere is completely calm and relaxing.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abarkley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2011

The rockhouse is a beautiful resort. It's a quiet spot and great for couples or anyone who wants to get away. It's relaxed but has every amenity you could want. The view is spectacular and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slbedard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

One of a kind! The Rockhouse offers everything you are looking for when escaping snowy New York. True to it's name, the villas are build upon rocks. These sexy huts overlook the crystal blue water and multi colored sunsets. Our villa was exceptionally clean, and service was excellent. Once outside, you could hear the waves crashing against the rocks-. It's peaceful, surreal paramonic views will last a lifetime. My boyfriend and I traveled for liesure and collectively, neither of us have ever experienced such an outstanding place, it's number one on our top five. We refer this place to ALL-especially if you and your loved feel like getting way to soak up the sun.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYtoAnyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I wish that I had the opportunity to write this review a while ago, since it has been over three months since our stay and wedding at the Rockhouse.

The entire experience at the Rockhouse was easy and pleasant; from the first email we sent, to the moment we left the resort, everything worked seamlessly.

When we decided to have a destination wedding, we looked all over the Caribbean for the perfect locale. The number one “must” on our list was a resort that was all-inclusive, so that our guests didn’t have to worry about a thing. When I found the Rockhouse hotel, we decided to forget about going all-inclusive, and it was by far the best decision we’ve ever made (I’ll touch on this a bit more, later).

We had 75 guests, join us for the wedding on Saturday, November 20th, some staying just for the weekend and others staying a full week. Most of our guests were coming from Toronto, but we also had a few flying in from several different States in the US as well. Getting from Montego Bay to the Rockhouse was organized with Kenny Tours and it was an easy hour and a half drive.

Once we got to the hotel, the staff were waiting for us with drinks and were ready to check us all in. We arrived at night, so we didn’t know what to expect of the resort. When we woke up the first morning, we were absolutely thrilled. After reading reviews on this site, we knew that we wanted to stay in Room 10, which was absolutely perfect. The view from our balcony was spectacular. My husband was especially pleased with the 30 foot high “jumping bridge” being right next to our room!

All of the rooms exceeded all expectations. We stayed in a premium villa, but had the chance to see all of the rooms. If you can, I highly recommend staying in one of the villas. It was so amazing having our own secluded room perched right on top of the water. However, for the price, you can’t beat the regular rooms, they were all a decent size and many had outdoor showers and big comfortable sitting areas.

The food at each of the restaurants was delicious. We had lunch almost every day by the pool bar (amazing jerk chicken) and had several dinners at both the Rockhouse Restaurant and the Pushcart and both were amazing. My favourite meal of the day had to be breakfast, you HAVE to try the porridge and the Fitness Omelette! The only criticism that I have with respect to the food, is that it often took a while to get to the table after ordering. There were no quick meals. However, given that we had literally taken over the whole resort (we had guests in all 34 of the rooms), we often dined in very large groups, which is in part to blame. Nonetheless the serving staff were always very friendly and helpful and the meals were wonderful.

The food and drink prices at the Rockhouse were very reasonable. Breakfast items were all under $10.00, Lunch items under $15 and for dinner, most mains cost around $15-$25. Drinks were reasonably priced at around $3-5 each. Our guests drank plenty of Dirty Banana’s, Pina Colodas, Stingrays and Red Stripes, all day and night, treating their stay like it was all-inclusive. When you crunch the numbers and break it down, the whole stay at the Rockhouse cost much less than an all-inclusive of similar quality.

In terms of the wedding itself, Inise, the wedding coordinator, was an absolute pleasure to work with. She always answered emails promptly and made the actual wedding planning a breeze. From the minute we signed the contract, she was on the ball with every detail of the wedding. She sent us an email with a checklist of all of the things we had to think about for the wedding, and helped us out which each decision.

She put us in touch with the Rabbi, the “Queen Bee” who did our hair and makeup, Floral Fantasies for the flowers, the Hugade band for the music, and everyone that she suggested was great. She accepted any and all requests, including the groomsmen’s desire to purchase a second wedding cake that they could smash as a prank! We even had them run an internet cable all the way to the pool area so that we could video chat one of the groomsmen into the ceremony, who couldn’t make it to Jamaica.

My husband and I are big foodies, and one of our concerns about the wedding dinner, was that it wouldn’t live up to our expectations. There was no need to worry. We ended up going with the family style meal and had the steak and lobster as the mains. Both were delicious, as were all of the side dishes. There was an abundance of food, and nobody left hungry. For our wedding cake, we chose a triple layer, chocolate, red velvet, carrot cake. I was quite surprised at how delicious and pretty the cake was (the smashed one and the wedding cake). Every aspect of the meal was flawless.

I should also mention that the location of the wedding dinner was picturesque, nestled right next to the infinity pool with long communal tables, lit by Chinese lanterns. As well, the wedding party itself took place in the gazebo area in front of the pool and at one point during the wedding party, all of our friends turned the wedding into an impromptu pool party.

We are so thankful for all of the hard work that Inise and all of the staff at the Rockhouse put into making our wedding a success. If we could, we would do it all over again and wouldn’t change a thing!

As the wedding couple, we received a complementary spa treatment. My husband and I had a great massage the day after the wedding to relax. Besides being the most beautiful spa I have ever been to, it was also the best massage I have ever had.

We can’t say enough about our wedding and vacation at the Rockhouse. Inise and the rest of the staff were so professional and helpful that there was virtually no stress from the second we arrived until the moment we left. The Rockhouse is an ideal location for a destination wedding or for those looking to relax, unwind and get away from it all. There’s no pretence, no pomp, just rustic luxury and comfort. If you are the type of person who likes the idea of spending your days barefoot and relaxed, then don’t hesitate to go. After our first night in paradise, we already started planning our yearly anniversary trip back to the Rockhouse.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank StaceyandDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

What an amazing place! From the spectacular and smart design of the facilities to the service ethic of the staff, the Rockhouse knows how to do a resort experience! We had a standard room, which was fine for our needs (though I think we'll do a bungalow next time for the terrace experience). The outside shower is a fantastic idea! The pool area is beautiful; we went out early every morning before it officially opened and it was so peaceful. The bar staff at the pool were great too (shout out to Chevon!) with snorkeling equipment available for $5 a day. I thought I would miss the beach but the ocean swimming in the cove was amazing.

We had meals at both Rockhouse and Pushcart that were great...some issues with service and overdone lobster on our first night but the hotel manager was amazingly accommodating and handled our issues immediately. Definitely have the banana pancakes at Rockhouse for breakfast and the Dapper Snapper there too; at Pushcart the jerk pork was dynamite! Enjoyed meeting locals on the West End Rd too. Must also compliment the amazing service of Kenny Tours, who catered to our every taxi need, even back and forth to Mo Bay airport (thanks Kenny!)

And the spa?!! Out of this world unbelievable! We had a couples massage one morning overlooking the ocean in a private bungalow...it was just as amazing as it sounds!

Overall we both agreed that this was one of the best vacations either of us have ever had and we hope to make this a yearly adventure at Rockhouse. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else; they just do it right!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabelle4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at Rockhouse. The staff was the best I have experienced in the Caribbean. They were well trained, articulate, attentive when need be and absent when you didn't want anyone around, but above all they were friendly and warm. The hotel is very well run and kept immaculately. The food was superior...authentic Jamaican. We ate at either Push Cart or the main restaurant each night. The pool lunch food was delicious...shrimp and sausage with Jerk sauce being the best. For breakfast I recommend the Rockhouse Special - poached eggs over callalou and toast with hollandaise sauce and the crispest, non greasy hash browns. Yum! The best part of the hotel however is the spa. We had a different spa treatment each day - some out on the rocks with the fresh sea breeze blowing through our hair others in the relaxing spa building. Each person that treated us was exceptional. I wish I could have brought them back to NY to teach the therapists here how to give real deep tissue massages, natural and holistic body scrubs and wraps, facials, etc. And if all that isn't enough, the sunsets are the most amazing I have ever seen. I highly recommend this hotel if you want a quiet, chill, understated but exceptional vacation in Jamaica.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kynlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
85.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
848 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#6 of 81 in Negril
688 reviews
26.9 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Property: Rockhouse Hotel
Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#3 Spa Hotel in Negril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Rockhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing