We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star experience at a 2 star price!”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

White Sands is a wonderful place to relax & unwind. The friendly staff and laid back atmosphere is perfect for anyone who is looking for a great vacation experience. We have stayed at White Sands for our annual trip to Jamaica the last 4 years. We love it and have our next stay there in December 2014 already booked. Between the great price of our room, the attentive staff (Henry, Nora, Leedon, Francis, Valerie, Paul and the great office staff & Judy) along with the overall experience of staying at White Sands I can't imagine staying any place else while on vacation in Negril.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind words. We are consistently rated as providing the best value in Negril, and your Review Title says it all. We appreciate your shout out to all the staff, they are awesome.

Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 918 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We love White Sands because of the staff who are all outstanding. We stay in the Villa and have staff cooking for us. They can cook anything you want as well as all the Jamaican special dishes and we are always raving at how wonderful the food is and attractively served with such joy. The grounds are beautiful with many fruit trees and flowering tress so there are birds, including humming birds, woodpeckers, etc.The short walk from the villa and garden units is short. We love the beach and the staff serving breakfast and lunch and at the bar are all very friendly. We have stayed at White Sands many times and it always feels like we are coming home. The owners and management and staff as well as the guests make it feel this way.

Room Tip: We stay at the villa. We have our own swimming pool and there are four bedrooms each with its own b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for posting your review.

You are so right, our staff is what keeps people coming back year after year. We are blessed and grateful for having such a fantastic crew who always take care of our clients. It is like a big family.

Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I discovered White Sands 12 years ago and we are so happy we did! We spend the week of New Years Eve at White Sands and we always feel like we are coming home. Francis, the manager, Henry,
Christine and Mike are always so kind and welcoming. The staff at White Sands are the best! They are warm and friendly and always willing to help in any way they can. We always stay in a Deluxe room beachside. Love the size of the room, the refrigerator,and the porch. Peaches,our maid is wonderful and the room is always cleaned and picked up spotlessly! There is no tv which is fine with us. Yes, the bed is hard but it has never kept yes from coming back.
The beach is beautiful and there is a beach bar and restaurant. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch and the food and service is very good! There are daily drink specials at the bar. Tony and Paul are some of the vest bartenders on the beach.
We are counting the days until we are back home in Negril!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank kapond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

And we love you !!

12 years staying at White Sands means that you need to have a bar stool named in your honor!! Or maybe a cocktail !!

Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor and for your loyalty.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Friendly.. Happy.. Service.. Caring.. Safe.. Chill.. Just a few words that I feel when I pull into my home away from home. White Sands and the staff make this place the best and only place I will stay in Negril. Let's start by defining the word vacation/holiday vs. travel. You read reviews and they all tell you what you can do, about the great staff and the food.. I will tell you what you really are vacationing for THE FEELING.. I travel the world, but vacation in Negril, Jamaica.

When you come to Negril, your here to FEEL that feeling you don't have when you are at home or other places. You hang out at the bar and think of nothing while you listen to reggae and drink a cocktail Tony or Paul make fresh just for you. You walk to the office to ask the staff/ Francis a question and by the time you get to the office, you forget what you were going to ask, but you stay and chat for a while and laugh. You stroll among the White Sands property knowing your safe, because the staff pays attention to their guests, not only for your safety, but because they truly CARE about you and if you have what you need..

Let yourself go and let White Sands and their staff help you find that FEELING you flew all the way to paradise to find..

Room Tip: I love the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruttday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Wonderful trip review and wonderful words...You definitely have the LOVING feeling !! Thank you for sharing the great vibes.

You are definitely in tune with the Negril chill feeling and we very much appreciate that you chose to share it with us.

Come again soon and thank you.

White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went there Feb 22 to Mar 2.It was our 3rd time in Negril but 1st time here. Francis & I e-mailed back & forth with our needs including transfer from Mo-Bay & was very helpful thru out the week. Our driver Phang was fantastic very talkative & proud family man, we enjoyed our rides with him. We arrived at 10 pm & the office was closed, No Problem, Mr. Everything Henry helped us to our room. He never stops seems to do everything there, great man. The next morning we checked in to the office, Lydia & the lovely Kerry Ann {Janet Jackson } with there happy faces were so pleasant all week they made us feel like old friends from the start. We were in room 15 Garden side large & plain & quiet just perfect, Valerie & Cheryl kept the room super clean all week. We eat breakfast our 1st morning there on the beach, very good with great service. We ate at Montana's a 10 minute walk on road toward town, very good breakfast , lunch & dinner great prices & service. We also ate at Sonia's just a little farther down with great patties & pizza service & prices. MR . Spice's Jerk barrel near the Jungle was very good for a late night snack very nice man. We tried all the restaurant's the hotel recommended & all were very good , including juices & cakes from the beach vendors. The Great bar staff Paul & the talented Tony had great info about everything, they kept the drinks flowing all day with great specials, a place to hang out with locals & off duty staff & other tourists. The road & beach security were very pleasant & helpful to everyone. The owners daughter Judy made us feel very welcome & safe, we had some nice chats with her . We felt sorry for the beach vendor's as they were not busy in sales, all were very friendly, a quick look & a polite no thank you & wish them a good day & good luck in there sales, give them a little of your time & respect, its there living, what's everyone's hurry your on vaca . We did buy a few thinks we didn't need. Everything went so smooth all week & too fast. The hotel was just what the Doctor ordered & all the repeat guests say's it all. We will be back in the near future to see all our friends. We just love Negril & the people there, friendly & safe

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancelauriedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Wonderful to read your thorough trip report. Glad you were well taken care of by Francis, Mr. Pang, Henry Brown, Kerryann, etc.. You did a great job in your review educating people about Negril and White Sands.
Thank you for taking time out of your valuable day to share the love!

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We just returned from our 8th trip to Jamaica and our 1st time staying at the White Sands. GREAT!! The location, people, staff, and beauty of the property are tops! It is clearly very well run and very cared about, we just couldn't have enjoyed our stay there more. So clean and the price is very affordable. Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARCIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your great trip report. Always good to host people for the first time, especially when they have a great deal of travel experience coming to Jamaica.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff treated you well.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

White Sands is a small, family run hotel with long-time staff and many returning guests who enjoy hanging out with other guests and getting to know the people who take care of the hotel property. There is an acceptance of the mingling of Jamaican locals and tourists on the beach side of the property, at the bar and on the beach. At the bar, local police, guests and off-duty staff enjoy each other's company. The staff, on duty or off, are always glad to help guests with their needs, from setting up beach chairs, to carrying luggage or cooking breakfast to order. White Sands is concerned with the guests' safety and experience. Often beach police and tourist board patrol people come to White Sands for a Coke and to get out of the sun.
The rooms have beds and bathrooms, dressers and closets, along with a balcony or patio with chairs and a table. There are no TVs in the regular rooms, and the guests are glad of that as it cuts down on noise and reinforces that we are there to enjoy the ambience of Jamaica. While the beach can get crowded in high season, people talk to whomever is near them in a chair and friendships are formed that last from season to season. It is a hotel for people who like people and who are not overly particular. Everything that Negril offers is nearby and one only need walk a few minutes in either direction to find whatever isn't right there on the property. In my experience, it is not a hotel for the party-crazy or the obnoxious. The beachfront is small but you can swim in either direction as far as you want - just be careful about reckless jet-ski locals. I see mostly middle aged tourists when I am there, but it depends on the season which clientele are there. It is an immersion into an environment that is Jamaican with a keen eye on a positive tourist experience.

Room Tip: Each room has its good points. Garden side is quiet, beach side is nearer the beach and you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lzappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your very detailed and thorough trip report. Our family very much appreciates it when guests take time out of their day to give feedback so that other potential travelers can read their candid remarks and make a decision about staying with us.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.6 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#44 of 80 in Negril
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
687 reviews
2.6 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#32 of 80 in Negril
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#47 of 80 in Negril
218 reviews
1 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#38 of 80 in Negril
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $63 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing