We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My party of 9 ladies stayed at White Sand Villa for 5 Nights Sep 2013. First of all I must mention the wonderful customer service. I started communicating with Francis 6 months before our arrival. All emails were professional and answered in a Timely Manner. Check in went smoothly was we were greeted by a very pleasant staff. The Villa was clean and Spacaious. One day we had a lizard in the bedroom and Mr Heny came Quickly to rescue us. There were no major maintenance problems and the minor issues we had Mr Henry took care of them quickly. We used Mr Lloyd's Taxi service for our excursions him and his staff were wonderful. I must stay that every staff memeber at the White Sands Villa was very professional and helpful. I was a nervous about what to expect after reading all the review but I must say we had a good time we were very pleased and plan on staying there again in the future. Thank You White Sands we had a wonderful vacation.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank Ebony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Your trip title of 'Wonderful' kind of says it all. Glad you and your group had a great time with us and all the staff treated you with kindness. We hope you and your group will return. If you do not have such a large group feel free to book our smaller rooms. Our staff is what keeps people coming back and we are proud of everyone here. Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
There are newer reviews for White Sands Negril
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 905 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was selected based on past reviews and value. We were upgraded from a garden view on the inland side of the main road to a deluxe unit on the beach side. Room was spacious but had limited ammenities. No television (was not needed we were on vacation) and just a bath towel (bring your own facecloth). Room had two beds which worked fine and a large closet. We were there in low season so had no problem with evening noise. We walked the beach each morning (beware it is a public beach) but we were not bothered by vendors. they have a quaint bar and serve breakfast and lunch at an additional cost. Great security on site and they provide you with a wristband to show you are staying there.

Room Tip: In busy season select a room on the inland side of the street. During slow season select a unit on...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad you took the opportunity to upgrade to a Deluxe Room. We hope you will return and when you do, you can request to stay in the same room if you like and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The white sands hotel is a quaint guest house. It was definitely one of the cheapest accomodation options in negril and I was a bit skeptical when booking it. But we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, and the rooms had everything we needed. The only con was the size of the bed which was a double, but too small for two persons. It was also very hard and uncomfortable. But we were only staying for one night and didnt mind too much as most of the time was spent outside the room.

The location of this hotel is ideal...right on the 7 mile beach with a beach bar. The water was calm, blue and amazing. We were lucky enough to experience some bioluminescence at night which was a unexpected bonus for us! During the month of September it wasnt crowded at all, and we enjoyed our privacy.

Great value for money. Pleasant staff. They even allowed us to check out a few hours late with no added charge. Would stay here again but would choose a room with at least a queen sized bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach side area of the property. There are rooms that are located on the other...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluwaters17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in your trip report. 'Great Value For The Money' is probably the most common feedback we receive from guests, and we are proud of it. Glad you enjoyed the quiet beach and experienced some special moments. We look forward to hosting you when you return.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have been conversing with Francis to return to White Sands this winter. We've stayed other places but have begun to call White Sands home now, when in Negril. It has, by far, the best beach location along 7-Mile beach and the staff is outstanding. After several stays at White Sands, we've found a large family, not only in staff but in the returning guests that have become great friends that we look forward to seeing each year. White Sands is very accommodating, whether you're staying on the property or looking to tour off the property. They are always helpful and full of wonderful ideas that showcase their locale, Negril and Jamaica. Not a New York 5 star boutique hotel, but a family run home-style feel. Think of the "Cheers" song...."where everybody knows your name...."

Room Tip: We like beachside vs. garden side, don't care to cross the blvd which can be busy and loud.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcgbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

We LOVE it when we convert guests to Family !! I have to agree, we are blessed with having the best beach location in Negril. Our little piece of heaven is all we need. We have lots of returning clients each year and many make their return trips so they meet up with other guests they meet on property. It is a pretty special atmosphere. Love the analogy to Cheers! Well said...

Regards, White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

i had always wanted to stay here and on my 5th trip to Negril I finally did !!! went with my boyfriend and 2 other friends. we stayed in the 1bed apt which worked out fine for 4 people !!! staff was great and so is location !!! rooms are clean and kept well stocked. never had a problem getting a beach chair.

Room Tip: apts. seem to be the best :)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babjsjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Nice to host you at White Sands on your 5th trip. Always good to get feedback and trip reports from people who have stayed at other hotels. Glad you enjoyed the One Bedroom Apartment, they are very roomy and comfortable. Hope to host you on your 6th trip back!
Cheers, White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been staying at White Sands for 26 years. I go at least twice a year. The hotel is like staying with family. Staff is wonderful and have been there for years. The bar has the best drinks and bartenders on the beach. Great location right in the middle of seven miles of beach. Rooms are basic but the price is right. When the water pressure is low it is like that all over the beach. Office staff is very helpful and will go out of the way for your needs. You are a guest only once at White Sands then you become family.

Room Tip: If you have a family get a cottage with the kitchen, it is worth the extra money. Rent a phone from...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank debflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

You are the foundation that makes White Sands what it is today, thank you for your loyalty and kind words. Look forward to seeing you yet again on your next trip back. We LOVE seeing our family return each year! Cheers, White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a great stay there!! The staff treated us amazing and looked after us. The food is top class and if you go get the jerk chicken its cooked to perfection. The beach and bar is amazing and the security makes sure you don't get bothered at all. I have to give a shout out to ricardo who escorted is around negril and really looked after us. And could the hotel Thank him on behalf of derek and amy and let him know he made the trip great for us. And I would like to thank the hotel staff for treating is so well. Ye mon

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank shamrockrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in your trip report. Love to read that the staff treated you well and took care of you. Glad you liked the beach grill food. Glad you toured Negril and got to check out our little town. Look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.
Cheers, White Sands Negril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.8 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#44 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#37 of 80 in Negril
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 80 in Negril
1,142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $68 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing