We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simplicity is Sweet!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Sands Negril
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Pennslyvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simplicity is Sweet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Negril last night. First we want to big up Chef for a pleasant ride from Mobay to Negril. Kerryann greeted us upon our arrival (she is always smiling, and very helpful). We were very hungry and she recommended and nice local small restaurant called Sweet Spot (big up all the lovely ladies serving good food, it tun up!) Nuff respect to Blacka for keeping us out of the rain. Nuff respect to Henry for keeping the grounds clean and inviting. Everton is the don when it comes to having fun in the water. Nuff respect to the ladies working @ 1 mile on the beach (Stew fish sell off!). Much respect to Francis for making this a pleasant stay for my wife and I. The white sands is perfectly located near the Jungle night club, and all the food you can eat. Big up Power for driving us around the town. My wife and I don't have a lot of needs, just a clean place to sleep and shower. Great Birthday dinner @ Catcha Falling Star, big up Mauvette (tun up, till it buk) We will surely return to the White Sands soon. Farewell letter to Negril: May your food pots stay full, your parties tun way up, your sunsets paint the sky, and your sands be forever white!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jusjamaican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
What a joy it was to read your review. I am thrilled the staff took such good care of you and that you and your wife enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the wonderful blessings you send our way and we hope you will come back soon to enjoy our sunsets and white sands. Much respect.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    274
    87
    48
    32
See reviews for
124
255
83
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was the first time that my husband and I have booked a non-all inclusive. We had a wonderful driver from the airport (Chef) upon arrival we were put in the smallest room I have ever seen with a broken toilet and cold shower...however this was taken care of and we were moved to the garden side insead of beach side. Which was no big deal as the walk to beautiful beach was short. Our new room was spaciaous with a kitchen but if you are looking for nice comfy bed...2 twin matresses... no box spring pushed together is what you get. Both rooms I must say were clean no bugs and air conditioning worked great.

I think our first trip doing non-enclusive we learned alot about where to eat what to buy at grocery store etc. Worth taking taxi to west end to Hi Lo for cases of beer ;-) There are many places to eat on the beach...CoCo LaPalm for fast service...Chances for pizza...and my favorite right next door the Rainbow Arch..get the fish!!! A few days we had breakfast at White Sands and Jennifer is a beautiful person always friendly! Your cook at White Sands makes a mean Chicken Salad on fresh greens for lunch and a spicy fish with jerk mayo...just have a beer near.

A typical day for us was simply paridise the fresh mangos off the tree would start the day and pick out what suit to wear for the day...go get breakfast and down to the BEAUTIFUL beach ! Be sure to try the juicy patties that come from a box on the beach about 12:45 each day. I will let you in on a secret too..the far pool on the Garden Side is a great retreat in the after noon. ;-) I packed a few beers on ice and my wonderful husband and I had the pool to ourself everyday.

All and all everything was irie mon!!! Any time alone spent with my husband is a wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZumMallens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I wish the whole world could read your email to understand that the REAL Jamaica is only found at non all-inclusive hotels. Non all-inclusive hotels are the problem in Jamaica. The guests never leave, never meet locals, never try different restaurants, never go to local bars, etc... You never would have discovered the awesome Jamaican patties if you had booked an all-inclusive !

All-inclusive hotels tell the guests to never leave because they know if they actually do venture out and see the town, the guests will find another place to stay. Simple as that.

Thank you for trying something different and thank you for allowing us to host you.

Jamaica is a beautiful country and Negril is a cool funky beach town. Glad you finally discovered the real Negril !

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed 7 nights at $67 a night in garden room near reception which is across the road from the beach. WIFI worked strongly at all times. Breakfast not included but you could get breakfast and lunch at the hotel cafe on the beach. Room was spacious with double bed, aircon and fridge etc. Had a relaxing sleep every night. Outdoor balcony to relax on (bring your insect repellant). Bathroom also OK although the hot water was a bit hit and miss as was the water pressure at times. Beach a 200 metre walk from reception but close enough. Daily clean of room and staff always helpful. 7 Mile Beach is very pretty to look at but a little disappointing if your looking for a swim as it is knee deep a long way out. Negril is very spread out so consider hiring a scooter if you want to get around with a bit of flexibility ($25 a day for 7 days) and check out Xtabi out near the lighthouse which has a nice swimming area free to the public.
Resort was nothing fancy but very functional and reasonable value for money in Negril.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Great review and good advise for readers. Renting a scooter in Negril is a great way to see the town at a cheap price. Just make sure you remember to ride on the left had side of the road and avoid the goats!! Oh yeah....and save the Red Stripes for when you get back to the beach. Driving in Jamaica takes concentration !!

Thank you for taking the time to write in and we hope to host you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned home from our first trip ever to Negril. We along with three other couples rented the villa at White Sands. It was very accomodating. Villa was clean, the pool was great and Henry was there every other day to clean our pool. The bar was magnificent with a great staff. Drinks were amazing and the food was good. Tony and Paul were great Bartenders and very condusive with customers. Would I stay at White Sands again YOU BET!!! And would absolutely recommend it to others. Keep up the great work White Sands!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachelle1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Very cool you rented the villa. It is definitely the least expensive 4 bedroom 4 bath villa with pool in the beach area of Negril. Great that you were able to share it with other couples. Henry Brown is 'The Man' at White Sands. He always takes care of everyone with a smile.

Glad you enjoyed your time here and that you will be back. I will reserve a chaise lounge beach chair for you and it will be ready when you return !

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Long Branch, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I agree about the pillows, just ask for more. Staff very accomodating, for the most part. Tried the Gardenside for a change, so I wouldn't have to change rooms. Very nice, quiet, nothing facncy, but thats not what I look for. I look for a good bed, clean bathroom & fridge (big +). Breakfast is teriffic----they don't do dinner, but there is a barrel (jerk chicken) on the road that is VERY good. Good beach!

Room Tip: Really, how long are you in your room? Prefer the "Standard" over the "Deluxe"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzon Folk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Glad you tried the Garden Side. I agree that it is quieter. Totally different feel than the beach side. Not better or worse, just different. Definitely more mellow on the garden side. Thanks for the feedback and we hope you have a great summer.

Come back soon, we would love to host you.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We just returned from our 4th stay at White Sands and it was again another wonderful vacation!!!
The staff has always been wonderful and welcoming and no doubt one of the many reasons they have many repeat guests. It is a nice family owned hotel in the middle of 7 mile beach. This last trip our son Nicholas had an injury in the ocean and the staff was awesome in the care they gave us including driving us to the clinic!!! Thanks again Paul and Francis and all the others that day for your help, you truly went above and beyond!!!
You will find nice, clean and affordable rooms on the best part of the beach. Security is always on site and watching your belongings as you walk the beach, thanks Liddon and Marvin:). They also offer daily 241 drink specials made by the two greatest bartenders on the beach. Great breakfast and lunch but dinner is not available, no problem mon because there are plenty of wonderful places to eat nearby. The only thing I can see that needs to be improved are the pillows;). They are quite flat and just not the most comfortable but thanks to my sons Pillow Pet I survived. If you are looking for a family friendly and affordable hotel on the best part of 7 mile beach then look no further!!! Thanks White Sands for another awesome trip and we will see you again next year March!!
The Barnes family

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are truly blessed for your loyalty and it was our pleasure to host you and your family on your 4th trip to our little piece of paradise. I hope you took the pillow to the front office and had housekeeping exchange the pillow. Pillow pets are very cool but your son must have been sad that Mom stole his pet ! Too funny. Oh well, the kids must sacrifice at times for the parents. Right?!

I trust you are having a wonderful summer vacation and we hope to share our beach with you soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If your looking for minimal accommodations and close enough walking distance to food, drinks, ect. This is place for you! I met great people and it was cheap and clean. My only compliant is that they turned off the water sometime which happened twice during my time. The staff were great and I felt safe!

Room Tip: rooms are basic bed and bath and fridge which is nice! Bring bug spray to spray your room while you...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank zazama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Well said and to the point. Glad the staff treated you well, they are what keeps so many great people coming back each year. Sorry to hear about the water issue you experienced, but glad it was solved. There have been water issues in Negril but we have our own self contained system and water delivery is not an issue for us. Please come again soon. Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.6 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#34 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#14 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
2.8 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#31 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing