We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at White Sands...again”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #20 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay at White Sands...again”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at White Sands Jan 9 - 19 2013. Once again our trip was fantastic. What made it even more enjoyable this time was the fact that Francis and most of the staff remembered us from our last trip and greeted us like old friends. Yes, sometimes the food is slow, sometimes the water was off and sometimes the wifi was not working, but these were not typically normal occurances. Things do not always go right at home and the same goes while on vacation. But these people try to make it right. There are too many instances to list of small acts of kindness that we experienced from the staff. They are what make this hotel a place you want to return to. If you are looking for a luxury hotel this is not the place for you.
One recommendation - please replace the mattress in G9! It was our second stay in this room, and the bed is still like a cement slab!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamaicaGyal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a trip report. We are thrilled that everyone treated you so well when you were on property. Regarding your comment about the mattress, they are tricky..some like them firm, some like them soft, others like them medium. They are hospitality grade mattresses. I will check out the room you mentioned and we will see if something can be done. We recently installed a new WiFi system on property, not sure if it was installed when you were there. Coverage should be good and the goal is to get coverage at a minimum on each balcony, and inside as many rooms as possible. For those reading this who have not stayed with us yet, please note WiFi is free. Thank you again and if the winter gets too cold please come back down, we would ove to host you again !! Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    282
    90
    48
    34
See reviews for
131
275
86
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I return year after year to Negril, Jamaica and I keep returning to White Sands. The hotel staff from the front office to the maintain crew all care about you and your experience. The vibes at White Sands is calming, yet the energy has great vibes. Too many staff to name them all, but the staff at White Sands has been the same for years (that speaks volumes of the management) Your experience at White Sands and your trip to Negril will be what you make it, but White Sands will help you facilitate an authentic one. If you are a easy going traveler, this is the PERFECT place to spend your money and time.

Room Tip: garden room for nature feel, beachside if you run back and forth to your room alot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruttday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to host you again. You are absolutely correct, the staff are a large part of what keeps people coming back to White Sands year after year. We are truly blessed to have such loyal clients and we thank you for allowing us to host you each year. Safe travels and we will keep a seat ready for you at sunset...
Kindest regards,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am from the Caribbean though not from Jamaica. I have visited Negril several times (about 4 times) and I must say, after reading all the reviews about White Sands -- it was an incredible disappointment.

THE GOOD: The staff was friendly and helpful. They were prompt in responding to issues by email. The bar staff was efficient and drinks were cheap.

THE BAD:

1) No water!! There was a water shortage in Jamaica and so every other night there was no water. If flushing a toilet is important to you on your holiday, then I would say go somewhere else. And yes, the hotel staff & management will tell you that the water shortage was "all over Jamaica." However, as someone who is from the Caribbean, I can assure you that if they wanted they could buy a water tank to store water and so ensure the guests had water on their holiday. Purchasing a water tank to ensure a steady water supply in the Caribbean is common practice -- and in fact most households that could afford it do so. Any hotel that takes the experiences of customers seriously would make this a priority.

2) Our room didn't get cleaned until after 3pm everyday. The woman who cleaned our room was quite nice and believe a hard worker, but I suspect she had too many rooms to clean in a single day and our rooms didn't get cleaned until later in the day. Because of this, we would get up go to the beach have lunch and think -- let's go back to the room to relax for a few hours. When we get there, the room was not yet cleaned so we would have to leave the room again so that the staff could clean the room.

3) The kitchen is notoriously slow. They were out of things on the menu half the time. I spent about 45 minutes waiting for a simple Jamaican breakfast. And yes, they will tell you that they make it fresh -- but so do alot of other places on the beach and the service was much faster. On one day I went to the restaurant at around 12:30 or 1pm to buy lunch and they told me I would have to wait as the cook was at lunch. The cook was at lunch -- when clients are hoping to buy lunch? I'll let you be the judge of that one ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adele_Chevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Sorry to read that the only thing good things you had to say about White Sands was that we respond to emails promptly and you like inexpensive drinks. In response to yur comments....

The housekeeping staff work 9-5 and clean rooms all day long. We have check ins and check outs each day. We do not advertise rooms to be cleaned by a certain hour, only that you will get daily housekeeping service.

Negril did experience water shortages. It was difficult for everyone, owners and staff. Most guests understood that this was out of our control and in the hands of the National Water Commission. We have since implemented a brand new water tank system and have solved the problem.

White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Other than the minor problem concerning the Negril water situation we had a great time. Being a business owner myself I know that things dont always go smooth. We were not about to let anything spoil our much talked about vacation to JAMAICA! Maureen (I think thats her name) was so pleasant and a joy to see each morning when we had breakfast. Francis was always eager to help my husband and I exchange money or get extra things that we needed. Now on to Henry...Great ! He is so compassionate about his job and never passed us during the day without asking if we were having a good day or needed anything? White Sands being affordable made it possible for us to take several tours all over the island plus so much more fun! We loved being in Negril on Christmas Day. We didnt tell anyone but we were celebrating being together for 24 years and married 15 years.

The Strouds

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 900Stroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and thank you for you understanding regarding the water. It was a difficult time for about 10 days, but we have solved the situation by installing a brand new back up water tank system at the hotel, so the issue will no longer be a problem. As a business owner I thank you for your understanding. Yes, things don't always go smoothly, and we appreciate your patience. It warms my heart to read your kind words about Maureen and Henry. They, as well as all our staff, are what make White Sands what it is today. We are thankful for all of them. Have a wonderful 2013 and we look forward to sharing our beach with you again.
Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was my first time in Jamaica for the 2012 Christmas and New Years Celebration. I arrived on Christmas Day to see a Christmas tree on the beach. Sun every day! For the New Years Eve Celebration the hotel provided each room with a bottle of Champagne. They prepared a bon fire on the beach, gave everyone a chinese lantern to light and a fire dancer that entertained us. What a wonderful celebration it was!!! Nothing like what goes on in the states. So glad that I had the opportunity to be there. I always feel like I'm coming home to Jamaica when at the Whie Sands. Everyone treats me soooo special. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaVida07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
So glad you experienced New Year's Eve with us. We do it a little differently than what you will do in the USA or Europe, but that is a good thing and I am glad you thought the same. Wonderful to read that you White Sands is like home and everyone treated you with kindness. We look forward to hosting you again.
Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived on January 3 after landing in Montego Bay. On to the room, it was clean, close to food, drink and dance. Only complaint and it's not much of a complaint, there was no TV or phone in the room, but it didn't stop me from having a blast. The beach was gorgeous and the restaurant was manned (womaned) by a wonderful, lovely woman whose name escapes me!! We went out to a club right down the road called The Jungle. I would recommend the club and the hotel...highly!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garnet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Great to hear you had a good time and the staff treated you well. The beach grill is run by
Chef ( Horace ) Maureen and Jennifer. Bartenders are Tony and Paul. I will definitely tell the grill staff you give 'em a shout out ! We are lucky to be located on one of the quietest and best parts of the beach, all within walking distance to restaurants, bars, and of course....Jungle ! Glad you enjoyed Negril's only nightclub.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've been to Negril 14 times, and have stayed at White Sands the last 6-7 times. The staff is one of the main reasons we keep coming back - specifically Patrick, Henry, Lidon, Jennifer, Chef, Paul and Peaches. After we had been there a few times they recognized us and welcomed us "home" each time we came back. The bar and breakfast area are great, very spacious. I love Chef's bacon and cheese omelette and his club for lunch.

We normally stay in a deluxe beach side room and have stayed in cottage 1 a couple times too. The rooms are clean and housekeeping does a great job. If you are looking for something fancy - this is not the place for you. You will get everything you need and get treated like you are family.

The beach is gorgeous with plenty of sun, and there are also two covered areas and a few palm trees if you need some shade. You do get people walking by selling stuff, and you just tell them to come over if you want to take a look. Lidon does a great job at keeping any trouble at bay and keeping the riff raff out.

If I had any suggestions to improve the experience, it would be to add some snacks and supper for sale in the evenings. Also, it would be cool if you could rent blenders during your stay. Then you could make money on the rentals and people could make drinks in their own room if they want to. My only gripe about White Sands are the mattresses... They are hard and uncomfortable, but the mattresses have been no better at other negril hotels that I've stayed at.

Overall, great value for the money, wonderful atmosphere and staff, great food! The beach and personalities will keep us coming back for years!

J & K
Minnesota

Room Tip: Stay on the beach side unless you really need to save a few dollars. It can be a bit scary to cross...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondie277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and welcome back !! I am glad you feel at home while you are at White Sands, this is the experience we try to give everyone. We always appreciate the feedback on things you would like to see added. We are very fortunate to have the opportunity of hosting you and look forward to sharing our beach with you again on your next trip.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#37 of 81 in Negril
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 81 in Negril
1,121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing