We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,170)
Filter reviews
3,170 results
Traveler rating
1,725
910
270
165
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,725
910
270
165
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prude side nude pool piano bar nude grill hot tub kevin levee lorna brammer hedo staff single men beach grills clothing optional resort entertainment staff foam party let loose the main dining area japanese restaurant new friends
Filter
Updating list...
1,595 - 1,600 of 3,170 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2014

My wife and I made our first trip to Hedo and it was all we wanted and more. We felt like we were "home" the minute we arrived. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, we wanted for nothing.
The freedom and relaxed atmosphere was amazing
We are already planning our return trip!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank smithherlong06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2014

Just completed our 12 trip to Hedo. Love the resort! This past trip we met Harry, spoke with him briefly and thanked him for all the upgrades he's doing. The place looks great. A special thanks to Serena, Winston, Alton and Lorna. You guys all make the trip so much more enjoyable! Always excited to see everyone. keep up the great work. Like I said earlier many upgrades including, paint remodeled piano bar, courtyard totally redone. Great improvement on the food. Housekeeping was excellent. Only gripe is the men's room at the nude pool. It is so loud with the pool pumps going. Harry said that the restrooms at the nude pool are going to be remodeled. Hopefully that will fix the noise problem. Wine bar was not finished when we were there. We did get to peek in and it looks great. Looking forward to seeing the finished product in March when we return!

Date of stay: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amigojason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2014

This property is slowly but surely being renovated and upgraded. Every time we go it looks better and better. As usual, the staff is warm and friendly, and Serena Williams has been more than helpful and accommodating on every occasion. Winston is entertaining and so talented! He's a pleasure to be around and to watch! We love going back every few months and seeing the improvements and our "family".

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CPLnCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2014

This was our 4th visit to hedo and was just as good as the previous 3. There are really good improvements being made including refurbished rooms , renovated courtyard with free wifi , new menu at the nude pool grill and plenty of new sunbeds . There are also plans for new bathrooms at the nude pool.
There were a lot of new entertainment staff from our previous visit ,but they were excellent in jobs. A special mention goes to Fabian and Diana and of course the one and only Winston. Most of the staff go out of their way to make sure you are having a great holiday.
The food was excellent at both beach grills, the buffet and both restaurants, giving a wide variety choice with very good quality.
The drinks were plentyfull and branded, not just cheap stuff.
The people that you meet from all over the world, help make Hedo such a unique place. You can do as much or as little as you want to. People are very respectfull, so if you are thinking of trying this type of holiday, just go for it. The relaxed free atmosphere here is amazing and we would recommend it to anyone.

Room tip: Stayed on prude side as cheaper but still close to all the fun.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 787rnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedonismJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Hedonism II, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear 787rnj,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for making the fourth trip back! I am happy to see you enjoyed the property and the improvements quite well. Thank you for painting the picture for others to read. The world meets at Hedonism II.

We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Leethan Grandison
Public Relations & Social Media Manager – Hedonism II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2014

This was my 4th visit to H2 in the past 4 years, and we visited H3 the two years before they closed. If you're a repeat guest, this review is for you. If you visited in the past 4 years and were disappointed, try it again, things are much better!

I got the sense that management now actually wants to get the property and staff into top shape, when prior to the sale, they were just letting things go.

We were sadly disappointed by terrible service in the spring of 2013 right after the property was sold to an investor group. Things had been declining for a few years, and in 2012 and 2013 we and many friends had service issues. I won't go into them but I'll highlight what was great about our visit in October 2014.

Dining room service has improved immensely, the staff are quick to offer coffee, water, wine, and take plates away. The buffet is still hit or miss, but there's an obvious effort to improve. Some nights there are plenty of different choices, which you can read about in other reviews. I found some dishes still lacking, usually to non-Jamaican stuff. There's lots of local food, like Ackee & saltfish, and curried goat, jerk chicken... all prepared well and very tasty. The reggae Cafe is my favorite lunch spot, with a Jamaican special every day. Last year, there seemed to be a shortage of fresh fruit, including bananas. This year - fresh fruit everywhere and bananas for the bar drinks.

Our room smelled fresh every day, the room is pretty much the same but new flat screen TVs and towels and a revamped A/C (and proper maintenance) have made a difference. We were in oceanview "prude".

We had absolutely no issues during the stay, the wifi worked well, the water pressure was super high and no shortage of hot water. Towels seem brand new and there's lots of them. All these things were issues 18 months ago for many guests.

The resort has seen a lot of improvements since our last visit. New beach towels are thick, soft, and in your room when you arrive. No "towel cards" and none collected on exit. (That was a stupid policy). All new beach loungers are quite comfortable (just bring towel clips), there are some new fixed floating platforms off the beaches and the beaches are surrounded by buoys to keep boats out (the prude side offers decent snorkeling).

The piano bar was renovated and is more open, and the biggest change is the courtyard in front of the piano bar... all the uneven tiles you could possibly trip on are gone, replaced by a level walkway, astroturf, a large chess set, and plenty of seating. Some of this was added during our stay - rattan sofas with thick cushions made the courtyard a great place to gather after dinner and watch the stage show. Oh - plus FREE wifi in the courtyard.

The one thing that has not really changed, and for a while was the only thing drawing us back, was the staff and the atmosphere. When the entertainment staff remember your name, it makes a big difference, and the staff we've seen again and again, must have thousands of names and faces in their brains, and it's not because it's their job, it's because they sincerely are happy to see you again! And we're happy to see them too. I'll name a few: Serena always with a huge smile, Eldon remembering your drink, Winston now leading the entertainment staff, Augustus on the beach keeping it tidy, bar staff Paulette and Alecia ... they are still there and if you haven't met them you need to. We saw lots more security and maintenance people around this year than last, and clearly management has tried to ensure all the staff are as friendly and helpful as the ones I've mentioned. (Tip: they all wear name tags... thank them by name when they make you a drink or do something good).

As for atmosphere, that's created by the guests. Read the other reviews if you're curios. I'll just say that while my wife and I first visited H3 by ourselves, and kind of felt like observers the first few days, we were very lucky that we stumbled on a group that returns every year and have made some true friends for life. This fall trip was great in that the group was a lot smaller and we got to know some people better. Reminds me of college years, hanging out with friends. If you went and didn't have a great time because you didn't know anyone, check out some of the groups - they are all different, but you might find a good match.

One of the new owners, Harry, was at the past guest party and mentioned plans to renovate the main dining room and the hearing-hazard restrooms by the nude pool before the end of the year. He said this is his only investment and he's out to make it work. Kudos to him, it seems it's working. The first night the new sofas were out in the courtyard, they were full of people, and others were sitting on the grass. One more thing to smile about!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedonismJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Hedonism II, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear Roger T,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor review. I was really pleased to read your feedback following your recent stay at Hedonism II. I was really glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and service including the free wi-fi now in our refreshed courtyard outfitted with lovely furniture and a grand view of the nightly entertainment.

We’re happy you gave us another chance and that we gave the level of comfort a majority of our guests are willing to attest to. Our staff is at the core of a fabulous experience, in fact Serena send her regards and that she will see you in March!

Thank you again and see you soon!

Kind regards,
Leethan Grandison
Public Relations & Social Media Manager – Hedonism II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews