We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aged and tired...but still the best time”
Review of Hedonism II

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hedonism II
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

As always, Hedonism is about having good times, good parties, good conversations, and good food. The facilities are old and maintenance of the aging infrastructure is a persistent problem. The landscaping, pools, swimup bars, hot tub, piano bar (entertainment and bar staff--Eldon will remember you and your drink), and tennis are unparalleled anywhere else.

We went to Hedonism II for the week of Thanksgiving for 11 nights in Oceanview prude. Our travel agent provided transfers, so getting to and from the resort was easy although it still takes about 75 minutes by van. We are repeat guests which will color the review.

We go for the staff and friends that we have known for many, many years. We have formed friendships here with many guests who we keep in contact and, often, visit if the opportunity arises. We spend our days in sports, conversations, games, contests (how many t-shirts do we really need?), and, of course, drinking. Most any type of liquor is available, but beer is Red Stripe which I like. The wines are barely drinkable.

Our room was the standard old-style room which is fairly basic with a king bed, closet (with a safe) , TV, two two-drawer nightstands, and a six drawer dresser. There is no comfortable place to sit if you want to read or watch TV. The TV has a Caribbean satellite that carries ESPN and the US networks, although you might get different sports selection than you would expect.

As other reviews say, the staff and guests at the resort make the vacation (not the facilities). The new owners are in the process of renovating rooms one section at a time. Only a few were finished although there was a big push to get the ones being renovated done by Christmas.
Hedo is good for the active guest as scuba is still included at no extra cost. The dives were ok this year with lots of lion fish speared. Garfield, the tennis pro gives individual lessons by appointment every morning except Sunday. As avid tennis players, we always take advantage of the lessons. The gym is pretty well equipped with aerobics and weights. I didn't use it this trip (I know, I know) but have in the past when I couldn't get a tennis slot or was injured (for tennis).

Our room had some problems: safe didn't work, limited hot water, some towels missing, and no phone (resort wide, they are changing carriers). New batteries solved the safe problem. We lived with lukewarm showers. The room was clean and the A/C worked fine. We had a nice view of the beach.

Meals at Hedo are generally not eaten alone like most resorts. There are large (up to 10 people) tables that are (except dinner) open to whoever comes by for breakfast and lunch. (At dinner, they are prime locations for watching the shows.) Eating is a social event and it is not uncommon to stay and talk long past when you're done eating. People will make reservations at the specialty restaurants for a group; however, one can dine alone if one wants to.

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. Good Jamaican coffee is available at the urns before the buffet opens if you are an early bird (like me). There is most anything you want from eggs & omelets, to pancakes, waffles, and French toast for entrees on the buffet. Don't miss the carved ham, it is so good! There are various fruits (papaya was in season), oatmeal, muesli, smoothies, and various types of bread and pastries. Unfortunately, the toaster wasn't working well so it took three trips through for an English muffin. The nude grill has coffee, pastries, and fruit out early if you want some early beach time.

Lunch is at either a grill on the beach or at the buffet. The buffet has lots of choices, pasta station, and salad bar. Try the coco bread--it's a Jamaican staple. There are deserts and soft serve ice cream. The grills offer hamburgers; beef, chicken or veggie patties (Jamaican turnovers next to the popcorn); fish; chicken; and grilled cheese (customize by adding ham, tomatoes, onion). And, of course, Fries. If you want to sit down, go to the Prude grill and grab a table.

The buffet is fairly good and I could always find something tasty for dinner. Friday night is Gala Night and the resort goes all out and lobster was in season. The Japanese restaurant was pretty good and the Italian restaurant was fair; however, the chocolate mousse and creme brulee deserts were very good.

After dinner there are shows featuring the fabulous Winston and some by the coordinators. They bring in some outside talents some nights also. After this comes the piano bar which has a sing along five nights and karaoke the others starting around 10:30 or so (once the evening entertainment is over). After this a lot of people head off to either the hot tub or, if they still have the energy, the disco. The disco closes when the last guest leaves.....

Room Tip: Try to get rooms above XX06 to stay away from the disco if you want to sleep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hedorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I have already made Summer reservations for our next trip there!

THE HIGHLIGHT - Visitors mainly come here to express their sexual freedom. The friendliness of the people (staff and guests), the beautiful natural surroundings and hot weather is just an added bonus.

DEMOGRAPHICS - This usually varies on the travel groups that are present and events (e.g. mocha week). For the 6 days my wife and I were there, I noticed the following: guest were predominately Caucasian, heterosexual, 45 yrs old, and height/weight appropriate. Most minorities were in mixed couples (e.g. black/white and oriental/white). There were very few gay/lesbian couples - I counted 1 of each. Sugar daddies / mommies kept the age extremes. So did the single men. I didn't notice any single females. Older males were predominately heavier. Very few heavy females. Americans, Canadians, Russians, and Germans were some of the more common nationalities that I ran into.

DON’T… be intimidated. People at Hedo are very respectful of others – regardless of weight, age, handicap, orientation, race, etc.

DON'T... bring lots of clothing. Just bring underwear for coming & leaving. You'll spend the vast majority of your time naked. The main dining area, piano bar, and gym are just a few places where a majority of the guests are somewhat dressed.

DO... bring lots of skimpy outfits - it's the norm at dinner / show time. The Italian restaurant does require shorts for men :( Most men do wear them in the main dining area but the women wear the sexiest outfits. Some men do try to be adventurous, though. :)

THEME NIGHTS – vary each night. Website posts the schedule. Most older peeps don't bother dressing up especially the men but that's usually dependent on the crowd.There’s a contest for best dressed each night. The audience gets to vote by applause. Participants receive "Hedo money". Save enough Hedo money to buy a shirt or cap.

GIFT SHOP - Good selection of souvenirs and adult toys/wear. HIGHLY over priced (e.g. LELO Ina 2 vibrator: AMAZON $85, HEDO $200). Lingerie sizes poor for BBWs. Limited adult wear for men. Save money by bringing your own lubes, dildos, outfits, etc.

ROOM - quality vs. price = subpar (-1 star). Stayed in Garden View nude side - room outdated First impression: overall very clean; flat screen tv, water, air, and mini fridge worked; phone didn't work; no bugs / wildlife; tile floor throughout; very cheap furniture but functional; bed / mattress comfortable - didn't look for prior stains. Power service abruptly stopped, 3x for several seconds, during our 6 day stay. Water service temperature varied - sometimes all cold. Had no problems with theft - there's a safe in the closet. Maid service was good.

FOOD - Good but not great. Nude pool has a small grill where you can order BLTs to jerk chicken to cheese quesadillas. Reservations are required for the Italian and Japanese restaurants. Both styles were good but not fantastic.

PIANO BAR - Here's your chance to strip! Get there early for a front row seat. Kemar is a hell of a singer and keyboardist! He really knows how to work the crowd. Don't miss out!

OUTDOOR JACUZZI - a.k.a. the sex hot tub. Although fornication can happen anywhere / anytime on this lusty paradise resort, it's most prominent around midnight in the +40 person size Jacuzzi. This is where almost everybody loves to hang out till the wee hours of the morning. Watch, meet, or just perform - it's up to you. ;)

OVERALL for those wanting to spice up their relationship or become more adventurous, GO! You won't regret it. Everyone is welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Userguym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Being the first time to Negril and specifically to Hedo, we had a great experience. It was our first visit to a clothing optional resort and we were a bit apprehensive.The staff at Hedo is what makes this place special, especially Ms Lorna is a great example of excellent customer service. She has the most difficult job to deal with customer complaints but she makes it look easy and always carries a smile on her face. She immediately addressed an issue with our room and made arrangement to accommodate us to a different room. She also checked on us a few times to see if everything was good and if we needed any other stuff! :)

The rooms and overall facilities need improvement as you can tell the property is ageing and needs an overhaul.The food at the main dining was great, we loved the featured Jamaican cuisine!! But the food at the 2 restaurants need to be revisited as they font live upto the standards, a bit disappointing. The watersports is a great feature of this all inclusive resort! Entertainment was a bit of hit and miss but the piano bar was great! Loved it!

Overall a great experience, friendly staff, fun living environment, great people!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were there for halloween and it was the ever best halloween. Lots of people with funny dresses, very good food, very good organized. Very nice beach, warm water. Proper all inclusive hotel, even diving was included. You have choice between textile and nude beach. It is very nice garden on the back of the hotel.
The only bad thing was, that we had bed bugs in our room...

Room Tip: It depends what you like, we prefer with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeaBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The food was good and the rooms were clean. on the prude side, where we stayed, the rooms are very tired. but i understand there is remodeling of rooms going on on the nude side.

FYI...prude side means clothing optional. Nude side is must be nude. dont be confused.

the grounds are nice, many acres of property. Lots of water sports opportunities.

it's clean, the staff was helpful, friendly and remembered how i liked my eggs. :-)

for an all inclusive, it suffers what most all inclusives do..the night life is a bit lackluster after the dinner show.

if you want to party, go to the nude side, if you want to relax, go to the prude side.

the beach is ok, for such an expansive property, i expected the beach to be really incredible, but it wasnt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RhondaRoams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I went to Hedonism for the first time and we LOVED IT(Dec. 2013) !!!!!!! From we got off the bus to the resort, Ms Lorna, Mr Delano and the staff up front make us feel like family. In a good way. All the food was great, the staff made us feel like they knew us for years. The rooms were not all that but we did go for the rooms. It was clean, water was hot, and had clean towels each day. Planning on going back in March of 2014. Resort was a little dead bc of it being off season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedonismJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Hedonism II, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Rick S, thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am so elated that we were able to make your first trip to Hedonism II a success and that you are already planning to return in March 2014. I will tell Lorna & Delano all your kind words.

I hope that all our new facilities and upgrades will make your future experiences even better.

Glad we could make you a believer!

See you soon,
Your new home away from home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Don't thing this is extremely wild resort it is as wild as you want it to be. This a very friendly resort. Staff and the guests. Talking to fellow guest, was what we enjoy the most. Another plus was erotic atmosphere. Night entertainment was excellence, the best we ever experienced. Afternoon catamaran trip to Ricks Cafe was wonderful as well. We really enjoyed water sports specially the scuba diving. This was our first visit to Hedonism, but it won't be the last. We were there from 9 to16 of December. The rooms are little bit dated, but they were ok and clean. We didn't experience any thing bad, as hot water shortage, air condition worked as well, we didn't use the phone. For transportation from the airport and back, we used Turner taxi. Excellent service. They were on time and very friendly, both ways.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mmforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedonismJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Hedonism II, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

MMforfun, thank you so much for taking the time to share your vacation experience,

Especially your enlightening view on the nature of the resort. It is indeed however fun you want it to be, filled with friendly people to guide you along.

I am extremely glad that you loved your first visit to Hedonism II and cannot wait to have you back for all our improvements!

All the best,
Your new home away from home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.6 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,362 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,623 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.1 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#22 of 80 in Negril
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedonism II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedonism II

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Spa Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#12 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#24 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $354 - $946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedonism II 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHAT IS HEDONISM? THE SEXIEST PLACE ON EARTH WHERE YOU CAN BE WICKED FOR A WEEK Hedo®, Hedo 2®, Hedo II®, H2®, or HII®. No matter what you call it, Hedonism II is the world’s most iconic adult playground. An all-inclusive paradise where you can turn your fantasies into reality! Experience what you only read about in erotic novels and let loose! Be as mild or as wild as you like! People travel to Hedonism II from all corners of the world to live out their fantasies, to escape their inhibitions, to play. Life is too short. Do it now, before later becomes never. Your Pleasure Is Our Passion! he.don.ism noun the pursuit of pleasure; sensual self-indulgence. synonyms: self-indulgence, pleasure-seeking, self-gratification the ethical theory that pleasure (in the sense of the satisfaction of desires) is the highest good and proper aim of human life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hedonism II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedonism Ii Hotel Negril
Hedonism Jamaica
Superclubs Hedonism Ii Negril
Hedonism 2
Hedonism Resort
Jamaica Hedonism 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing