We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be clothing optional and not nude/prude”
Review of Hedonism II

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedonism II
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband took me to Hedo III in 2008 and we both loved it and have always talked about going back. Because Hedo III closed out we decided to give Hedo II last month, April 2013. Hedo II is not as modern as Hedo III but then again the constructions are many years apart. Also, at Hedo III we did not see nudity on the prude side, and everyone were appropriately covered for dining. At Hedo II it seems as if anything goes, anywhere, anytime, so they should just make it a clothing optional resort. We stayed on the prude side and there were as much nudity there as on the nude side. We did not mind though as we are comfortable with nudeness, it just bothered us a bit when it was openly displayed in the dining area. For anyone who is going to Hedo II and plan to stay on the prude side, be prepared to be surrounded with a constant array of nudity.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were in Hedo our first time April 25th thru May 4th. As newbies we scoured tripadvisor looking for signs that we had made the right choice. Let me tell you, we were a bit nervous about all of the bad reviews... So from one former newbie to the next let me break it down for you.

Tip#1- make up your own mind...
I will start off by saying there are a lot of opinions out there and it is somewhat terrifying trying to weed thru them all... However, like all things in life you must consider your sources. As Hedo virgins we decided to dive in head first and enjoy all the resort had to offer. As posted in an earlier comment... I too am one of the YMCA piano bar girls and I in no way was hired to be there. This after all was my first trip. However we did pay to be there and instead of wasting money complaining and sticking our noses in the air, we made a conscience effort to be everywhere, experience everything and talk to everyone. If that happened to give off the impression I was paid to be there... Then to me it just shows what having fun and putting yourself out there can get you... Wonderful memories, great new friends, and no regrets!!

Tip#2- experience what they have to offer...
I have read many complaints about the food, rooms, etc... Here is my opinion on that. You are going to Jamaica.... Jamaica is not coming to you. If you want chicken that tastes like your chicken, drinks mixed like you mix them, music like you play it and a bed like your bed.... Stay home!!! You are going there to experience their culture, their foods, they aren't there to make pizza taste like your Chicago neighborhood pie.... They aren't there to make southern comfort foods straight from the heart of Texas.... The chicken will taste Jamaican, the beer will taste Jamaican, the pizza and potatoes too! The decor will not be plush carpets found in the rooms of the Ritz... First of all because they are tile.... You are after all on the ocean front, and carpet will mildew.... The bed spread will be tropical flowers and not Down filled. The paint may be tropical and not modern and aristocratic.... You are in Jamaica! If you were to go to Paris, London, Egypt, they are not going to be like your home! Embrace the originality that they have to offer. I for one found the food, and rooms to be wonderful and inviting.

Tip # 3- Have Fun!!!
The resort itself is spectacular, however if you go and plant your rear in a corner the whole time do not expect to have the same experience I did. You alone will make or break your vacation. The staff is wonderful, friendly and highly entertaining but if you do not let loose and have fun than it is in no way their fault. Go to the naked pool games... Sing and dance... Participate in every theme night... Go on stage and win Hedo buck , dance on the piano, in the disco, go down the naked water slide at 2 am... All on night number one.... And then repeat every nigh until you leave!!! Enjoy yourself..... It will be worth it!

Tip # 4- honest opinions.

Here is where the rubber meets the road. The new owners are amazing. They really care immensely about Hedo and it shows every day. They are investing their lives into a place they love, so you in turn may love it as much. While we were there we met Jon, not only was he constantly working on improvements, but he was personally talking to so many patrons the whole time and really got involved in the activities every day. The staff is so hard working and they really love their jobs. Austin making omelets chatting away, Chad operating the water slide for us, And all of the EC's.... They are spectacular!!!!! The rooms were accommodating, and we saw changes daily on them. The grounds are well kept and the landscaping staff goes out of their way to make you part of the family. The pools, hot tubs, bars are all in great shape and the bar well stocked.

Tip #5- suggestions -

I only have a few suggestions. First, the disco is slightly under decorated... Maybe some black lights, lights will help. The pool diso parties at night were really loud... At times too loud to enjoy. Maybe turning the volume down a bit will help. The water issue is just that... However it has been corrected when asked and the first priority from what I have heard.

Basically what it all boils down to is that everyone has an opinion... But you should form your own in the end. And take it from a Texas Girl... If you have fun and do what makes you happy... You will have a vacation of a lifetime!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the prude side... A little cheaper. Good room. A longer walk to the nude beach but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Triple H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a great time. This is our 3rd trip and we love the people, the atmosphere, the food, the drinks, the great staff, the sun and of course the beach. We were there with the Zoo Krew April 25 - May 4, 2013 and where completely at home. The staff is so polite and genuine they make you feel like family. This is the second time we have had Sheryl for our house keeper and we just love her happy smile and greeting every time she sees us, regardless of where we are on the property. Our room is always just the way we want it. Every morning it's off to breakfast to be greeted by our favorite omelet chef Austin to get the day started. Then off to the buffet for ham, sausage, grits, and all the goodies you can imagine. The fresh fruit is fantastic or you can have a smoothie made to you liking. And a nice glass of orange juice with champagne or vodka if you like...or plain. Then sit down at the table with the Zoo Krew (the ones that are up) and have some nice Jamaican coffee. After breakfast it's back to the room to apply the sunscreen to the whole body (very important) and off to the nude pool. Yep, drop your inhibitions and go for it. The bar staff at the nude pool are great and can provide that little extra courage you may need. The snack bar at the pool has some great food and the jerk chicken is very good.

Don't miss out on some of the other adventures like the catamaran cruise (clothing optional). This will cost you about $55 each but is well worth it for the 3 hours of entertainment. Of course there is plenty of soft drinks, rum punch and Red Stripe on the boat. Half way through the trip there is a stop for snorkeling or swimming and the equipment is supplied. Then off to the caves for some swimming and a chance to go down the sliding board on the catamaran. Of course you will be entertained by Rasta Raphe singing and getting everyone into a good mood. On another day we took a shopping trip down to Times Square, where there are many good deals to be had. There are also other trips and tours for sightseeing offered for a price.

Back at the resort, there are many renovations taking place all over the property. We noticed the beds being replaced, a lot of painting, and many other maintenance upgrades in progress. The gift shop has added many new items and sizes to make it more appealing. However, I would like to see the pricing more in line with the items we found on our shopping trip at time square. But it is still a big improvement over the old shop. We encourage you to check out the spa. It is a ritual of ours to have a 30 min. couples massage the day before we leave so we are completely relaxed for the fight home. The ladies there extremely knowledgeable about removing your tensions, as I usually wake myself up snoring.

The evening buffet is outstanding and there are different entrées every night along with the favorite side dishes. There are also 2 restaurants (Japanese and Italian) to select from also. Both serve great food and for those of you that like sushi, there is a sushi bar at the buffet on Friday night which is great. The nightly entertainment is great and there is a different theme show each night. Winston (aka, Winstina) provides an outstanding show no matter what he happens to be performing. There is also plenty of fun to be had back at the nude pool in the evening as well. Of course there are an assortment of other pools to chose from on the prude side. We love the resort, the friendly atmosphere and highly recommend this facility if you are not afraid of the clothing optional choice. It's all safe and a lot of fun. We scoured a 4 out of 5 only because we want to reserve a little extra for when the renovations are complete. See Ya' next April !

Room Tip: If you head to bed early get a room away from the entertainment area, as it gets a little noisy some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GasHole_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

After reading some reviews, we got a little nervous and almost decided to book a different hotel. Wow! That would have been terrible. We had the BEST time. EVER!
We arrived at noon and didn't go to bed until 8 a.m. the next morning, that's how good of a time we had. We saw the sun come up on more than one occasion ;)
Yes, the rooms are outdated but guess what? If you are doing it right, you'll hardly ever be in there anyway. The food is more than adequate. If you can't find anything to eat, and enjoy it, you are crazy. I had something different everyday...well, except breakfast but I can't say no to smoked salmon.
We had the oceanfront jacuzzi room. We had issues with the control panel on the jacuzzi but someone came by often to check on us. The jacuzzi was thouroughly cleaned EVERYDAY! Our room was cleaned everyday. There was plenty of hot water and we never ran out of towels.
And yes, you will see naked people and people doing what they do when drunk and naked. I can't believe people actually gave bad reviews over this. It's pretty clear what type of resort this is.
We walked down the beach and checked out the other resorts. For the most part, they were better properties but the energy was boring. We couldn't wait to get back to Hedo and rip our clothes off.
Great first time, can't wait for the second trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Happytravelers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I visited Hedo II with a group of friends 4/16/13 - 4/21/13 (Tues - Sun). It was my first time there, my friends are repeat visitors. Most of the people there are regulars, there were people who had been there over 100 times! So my takeaway is - if it's your kind of place, then you will LOVE it, and will probably visit again, as it is one of a kind or at least one of very few. It was a little slow mid week, but the crowd picked up towards the weekend (to be expected).

As it says there is a nude & prude side. 90% of the people were on the nude side. I'm pretty open minded, but it was definitely different to see everyone naked! Got used to it pretty quick though, and then it was kind of liberating... definitely no false advertising via push up bras or compression anything - what you see is what you get! Pretty much everyone was friendly and welcoming (it is sort of a community). As a single person I'm glad I went with friends, but I also met bunches of people as well, so don't be afraid to go solo if you are a sociable person - there's lots of fun friendly people to meet.

The facilities are good as long as you don't expect 5 diamond luxury accommodations. It's been around since the 70's and some things need updated, but they were actively working on it , and conversations brought out that there are some new investors who are putting a good chunk of money into the resort. That's great, such things never hurt, but even as is there's really no reason to not be satisfied. Food was great, good liquor selection (premium brands), Red Stripe is great on a hot day, but if you want any other beer you have to make a trip to the gift shop and pay for it... I did have to spring for a Guinness one day!

On value - it is a bit more expensive than some other places, and probably pulls that off due to the uniqueness of the resort. Also the resort is large, lots of property to take care of. If you are a single person, in order to get a solo room guaranteed you pay a premium... so i opted for the shared room rate (they put you with another single traveler), I think it was $157 a night. I lucked out and didn't have to share. Don't know how common that is, but I was pretty happy about it!

Room Tip: Prude side is probably quieter - but a further walk to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SA1NZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

With this being our 7th trip to this resort, I have to say that the new owners are making it an even better place. We always have a great time, but with the employee morale being even higher than before, it made the trip that much better. While we were there, we noticed multiple shipments of new mattresses and several of the rooms already being stripped for upgrades. We have never gone here for 5 star accommodations, but they are trying to get there. The new piano player is much better and we found a much larger crowd closing down the piano bar at night. We were happy about the pizza at the nude grill - for those who miss the midnight buffet because they didn't want to get dressed to go to the dining room. I don't think I have ever seen that many people hanging at the hot tub, nude bar and grill that late at night (morning) before. The crowd was just as big as if it was the middle of the day. I definitely see that the new owners are making good on the promise of upgrading this resort. We are excited to see everything changing for the better. We travel here twice a year - this is just a fantastic place to let loose and let the inner child out. The friendships we have made will always be valued. We try and meet up with our friends as much as possible. It is no wonder that this resort has such a high return rate. It is such a great place, made better with happy long-term staff and returning guests.

Room Tip: The Prude side garden view (building closest to dining room) is the best. It is further to the nude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earthangel496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just visited after 15 years. Heard Hedo is under new management. Lots of positive changes, but same je ne se que. Snorkeling, scuba diving and the health club are among the best. Loved new wine selection with opportunity to purchase my own bottle, plus higher quality buffet. It's off season (May - Sept), so good time to check it out yourself.

Room Tip: New management is VERY accommodating, ask and you shall receive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swimvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 80 in Negril
5,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedonism II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedonism II

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Spa Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#12 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#24 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $467 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedonism II 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHAT IS HEDONISM? THE SEXIEST PLACE ON EARTH WHERE YOU CAN BE WICKED FOR A WEEK Hedo®, Hedo 2®, Hedo II®, H2®, or HII®. No matter what you call it, Hedonism II is the world’s most iconic adult playground. An all-inclusive paradise where you can turn your fantasies into reality! Experience what you only read about in erotic novels and let loose! Be as mild or as wild as you like! People travel to Hedonism II from all corners of the world to live out their fantasies, to escape their inhibitions, to play. Life is too short. Do it now, before later becomes never. Your Pleasure Is Our Passion! he.don.ism noun the pursuit of pleasure; sensual self-indulgence. synonyms: self-indulgence, pleasure-seeking, self-gratification the ethical theory that pleasure (in the sense of the satisfaction of desires) is the highest good and proper aim of human life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hedonism II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedonism Ii Hotel Negril
Hedonism Jamaica
Superclubs Hedonism Ii Negril
Hedonism 2
Hedonism Resort
Jamaica Hedonism 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing