We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best experience yet!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hedonism II

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hedonism II
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Deale, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best experience yet!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is our fifth trip since June 2011. We just returned from two weeks and have to say the service and overall vibe was the best ever. The staff has always been good but they are even more friendly and attentive. The bar was always well stocked and staffed no matter witch bar or how busy they were. The food has improved breakfast was always good with the omelete/egg station being a highlight for us with Austin at the helm. Martino's was also consistently very good.
The nude beach grill was also very good and we were taken very good care every day by Mark.
You can see the pride the staff takes in providing us with a great vacation.

The rooms are always kept clean by the housekeeping staff as well. And while they are not in the best shape are still comfortable and clean. We had no a/c issues at all and only had hot water issues twice in 14 days and that was a first ever.

There are changes coming to Hedo and its evident as we were often asked how things were and what needed to improve. The maintenance is going on all over the resort and not in Jamaica time. We can't wait to see the new Hedo that's coming!

Bruce and Denise

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeannbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    654
    201
    140
    75
See reviews for
11
1,485
154
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently returned from Hedonism in Jamaica and we had a great time, we have already booked our trip for next year. The property has recently been sold and the new owners are already making inprovements. We noticed the taste and quality of the food has improved and we saw numerous work projects taking place. We expect the work to continue and find a much improved resort when we return next spring. We had a problem with the hot tub in our room not working all week. We brought this problem to management's attention and the problem was addressed to our satisfaction. They were not able to fix the hot tub but the GM issued a credit to our credit for the difference between an oceanview room and an oceanview jacuzzi room. This was our seventh trip to Hedomism and we are looking foward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Try to book a ground floor room. Trying to climb stairs in heels can be difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friday714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Having just returned from a four day trip to Hedo I felt compelled to write this report to give an accurate assessment of my experience and to correct what I believe has been a series of false reports on the quality of this legendary resort.
I traveled alone- a single male- in mid April. My wife (who had been to Hedo seveal times) refused to go after she read several negative reviews. I wanted to see for myself how the resort fared under new management. Quick summary: it was great- well worth going, just as much fun as i had experienced in prior years.
More specifically:
FOOD- Varied and fresh. Who can complain about roast leg of lamb carved to your order, seafood medley, made to order Pasta Bar and choices of fish, chicken and beef each night for dinner? Breakfasts also included a constantly changing menu of standards and Jamaican favorites (Salt Fish and Ackee?). Granted it wasn't the Ritz but who goes to Hedo for the food?
I found the salads and fruits sufficient and coupled with the dinner more than adequate for my palate. Lunch? Jerk Chicken and Cheeseburgers were favorites for good reason especially if you were on the beach or in the pool area and didn't want to have a more "formal" lunch inside.

ENTERTAINMENT- The house band "ROOTS" rocks and should be kept at the resort under lock and key- they were that good. Wheter at reggae or jazz or classic favorites this band set the mood each night and it was awesomely good.

ROOMS- Perhaps the category that most critics complained about, but for me my room-Prude Side- was clean and functional. The sink dripped but who cared? Most importantly I saw room renovations underway daily during my visit so improvements are happening.

DRINKS- They never ran out and I could see "top shelf" booze at each bar. So no worries for the hardcore drinkers.

GROUNDS- If you're into perhaps world class tropical landscape Hedo is worth visiting. Spared from the storms this property has massive flowering trees and palms planted decades ago. The grounds crews do a great job of making it look nice.

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT- Hedo isn't perfect and could/should address the biggest problems I found of insufficient towels and dinky pool glasses. Both are inconsistent with the quality of the rest of the resort. Both can be cured quickly and relatively inexpensively. The new owners hopefully are on top of these cracks in the armor. The ear drum splitting grunge music of the Disco also needs to be looked at. The Disco can be a very fun late night place but during my trip remained "dead" due to the poor choice of music and sound.

KUDOS- Most impressive was the overall attitude of staff which I found comforting and helpful. Whether arranging an off-site excursion or a dinner reservation they smiled and tried their best.
To me this attitude no doubt stems from the GM Kevin Levee who could be found seemingly everywhere on property attending to details. Mr Levee had a calm relaxed way and genuinely wanted to know how the experience was going for the guest.

CONCLUSION- If you're up to an experience unlike any other, Hedo is the place to go. It's fun, daring and an opportunity to see feel and enjoy a side of life that is all too hard to find.

Room Tip: Prude/ Nude- doesn't make much difference- it's all walkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the resort from April 14 to April 28 2013. This was not our first visit here.
The resort is currently under going renovations, but is still functioning, so I'll comment on the two weeks we were there, and not (much) on what the future holds.
The ride from MoBay (provided by the TA through the resort) was about 1 hour 20 minutes, and we arrived about 2:00Pm
We were welcomed on arrival by Charlene from the front desk, and offered a glass of Champagne. Checkin was quick, and we were in the room in no time. Our luggage arrived quickly, and the wife began nesting.

Room;, basic, functional, but the bathroom is small, and the door jam needs replacing. No hot water(only in the shower, the sink was fine) till we complained, then it was fixed almost Immediately, with a visit to the roof by the service guy, to adjust something. The mirror on the ceiling is nice, I wonder how many people take pictures of themselves on the bed, using the mirror. The AC worked like a charm (once we figured out what setting worked best for us). We had two large safes, that could hold just about any laptop, but one had been cannibalized for parts. The room also came equipped with an ironing board and iron. The TV had about 100 channels, including CNN, FOX, CBC, and three porn channels. Also in the room was a CD/Clock radio (unplugged), but be careful where you plug it in as some outlets are controlled by the switch by the door. The phone messaging service never worked for us, and we could never check for messages. We just put up with the red light flashing, even after we commented about it to the front desk. The phone worked fine otherwise.
All our chargers (curling iron) worked fine on the 117 VAC 50Hz power (Standard US style receptacle). The TV had addition AV inputs if you want to input your own video.
Midway through our stay, there was a knock on the door and we were asked (told) that they needed to spray for ants. In they came and sprayed the corners of the room and left. We had to air the room out for about 1 hour, to clear the odour of the pesticide. We never did see any ants, before or after the spray process. We did have a visit from a hermit crab though, we named him Hawthorne, after the comic strip character, but once he saw us he vanished quickly, never to be seen again. The room was always spotless after housekeeping was finished, and the linens always clean. The main door jam looked like the door had been bashed open once, then quickly repaired. One of the support post iron saddles supporting the outer walkway, was thoroughly rusted away (see attached picture), and the support post was held up by adjoining posts further along the walkway. In other words, it wasn't supporting anything. This post went from the concrete walkway all the way up to the roof. A few boards on the wheelchair ramp up to the fitness center, also need replacement.

Food;, the salad bar was terrific, deserts great, but the main buffet was just average. We did see the kitchen staff constantly checking the food quantity and quality, even measuring the food temperature with a digital IR thermometer. On random nights we had, one of, Brisket, Turkey, Ham or Beef. There was always a "made how you like it " Pasta bar and on some nights even a sushi bar.
Never saw lobster (might be out of season) but most nights had shrimp.
Breakfast was standard fare, with eggs, cereals,French toast, pancakes and fruit.
We never went to the main dinning area for lunch, instead, eating at the beach grills.

Bars;, seems all the bars were well staffed and they had top shelf (Courvoisier for example) liquors, if you asked. The bar tender (Elroy I think his name is) in the Piano bar seems to have a photo graphic memory and always new what I wanted before I asked. It seemed all the bar tenders were going out of their way to address me by name (I had a body tag on).

The piano bar has a new piano player, who is much better than the old one. Most nights it was standing room only. But in week two the routine became a little too scripted/choreographed. Week one was a fly by the seat of your pants sing along. Week two had more energy and audience participation, but I don't ever want to hear the tune "New York New York" sung with Hedo lyrics again, every night for 5 nights was too much. Although it was really funny the first time. Lots of dancing on the piano bar, by lovely young ladies.

The hot tub had water temperature issues, with some nights too hot to bear .
The bar at the hot tub is open till the wee hours of the morning, and pizza is also available at the nude grill (beside the bar) until 4:00 am.
The beach chairs are getting a little tired, although there always was plenty of them even in the late mornings. The water mats are just downright decrepit.
There were plenty of water floatation devices that previous guest had left behind, so you really did not need these mats anyway.
The water in the small cove was always calm, and never more than 4 feet deep, but watch out for sea urchins, even in the sandy areas. Water shoes are recommended .

Augustus was doing a great job keeping the beach clean of sea weed and leaves.
The trees over hanging the beach are great for shade from the very hot Caribbean sun, but they do drop leaves and ants. We received many bites the first few days we were there (not from the ants), then for whatever reason, nothing for about 10 days, then the bites happened again. I suspect it's sand fleas, although I never could see anything, except the results. Some welts were the size of quarters, but disappeared in a few days. We've had this same experience at multiple Caribbean resorts.

There was a bon fire and beach entertainment one night, but due to a scheduling conflict, we missed it. As well, the resort could have advertised it a bit better, so we could adjust our schedule.

One of the groups that was there threw a pool party one night, with laser light shows and two video screens, guests had glow sticks and LED trinkets to light up the night. They actually played music for the audience and I have never seen so many people dancing, it's amazing what happens when a DJ plays to the audience.

The resort "fogs" for mosquitoes each night. A common practice at most resorts in the Caribbean. In fact, I think I would avoid any resort that didn't "fog" for mosquitoes. Dengue fever is not to be taken lightly.

At dinner the 4 piece band plays background music while you dine, but I think the volume is still too high as it's sometimes difficult to carry on a pleasant conversation. At 9:00pm the EC's put on a very high energy show, and there is also audience participation for prizes, for those who dressed in costume. Oh yes, almost forgot. Every nigh has a theme, and the guests are encouraged to dress in sexy costumes. I'd post pictures, but photography of guests is generally not allowed.
There is an onsite disco, but participation is spotty, with some nights highly charged, and other nights totally deserted. The disco bar closes at 5:00am.
There are two specialty restaurants on site. The Italian one has great food, but 1 of 3 beef dinners at our table had tough, to cut beef. Otherwise all was good, service, food and atmosphere. We went to this restuarant many times and only had a problem once. The Japanese restaurant cooks to order and all was good here too. The only problem was there was more food than we could eat, and we felt bad about leaving food on the table. However this could have been avoided had we not arrived 30 minutes early, then snacked on cheese and crackers while we waited.

I give this resort three stars, because it is run down and hasn't been maintained as it should have been. Hot water is a must in the shower, and door jams could have been fixed better. Rusted out building supports is another problem, as are facades that look like they are about to fall off the building (Nude side Ocean view room, about mid block) This is the current status of this resort.

However, the resort has new owners now (as of a few weeks before we arrived) and improvements are happening. While we were there, new paint was being applied everywhere. New WiFi antennas were being installed. New visual barriers were being applied around infra structure facilities (distribution transformers). New vegetation was being planted. Walkways had new concrete installed (beside the Japanese restaurant). Some rooms even had new flatscreen TV's.
Having spoken with the new owners, good things are in the works, but as this is a review, I won't go there, now.
All in all we enjoyed our adult vacation. But at this resort, it's the people (guests and Staff) that make returning, worth while.

RC

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank we2are469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We took our first trip to Hedo II in April. This is definitely a fun, unique place. Overall the resort does need some updating, but I would not let that keep you from going. We had a great time, with a great group of people. As many others have said, the rooms are old, but clean and you don't spend a lot of time there. The new owners are working updating. While we were there they were busy painting outside and come of the rooms were being updated. Some specifics:

Pros -
Very fun environement, highly charged. Even if you are not in the swingers lifestyle, and you are OK with being naked, you'd love this place. We are not swingers but the sexual energy was fantastic and invigorating to say the least. We've never been to a clothing optional resort and it was a bit scary at first, but you quickly learn that you are just a part of the crowd. It is fun to just let it go and enjoy.

As far as the resort - as everyone says it needs work. But I have every confidence that by the time we go back there will be many changes. We found the food to be good, not great, not bad. We never went hungry but I would not come to this resort for the food. The grounds are very well kept and the premium liquor is selective. No Barcari Limon, so don't expect a "complete" bar. Staff was nice, but not overly helpful as we have found at some other resorts.

Cons -
I wish the staff would have been a bit more "jonny on the spot". There were many times when we went to the bar and you had to wait until they noticed you - just remind yourself that you are on Jamaican time. The cook at the naked pool grill was great - whatevery you want mon!

The resort is old - but again they are working on it. It will take time. As you've probably read, the showers are funky. They have weird controls that go between the show head and body spays. There were times when the water was not hot - warm but not hot. But just try to plan your showers so that you are not taking them when everyone else is. Then the water was plenty hot.

As with any group of people, you will get a few "bad apples". In this environment it seems to mostly come in the form of single guys. Keep in mind that they are there looking to hook up, and most of them are very respectfull, but you may encounter a few "creepy single guys". A good firm "no thank you" and they moved on to other opportunities.

All in all we had a great time. We went in with the right attitude and new the place needed work, so our expectations were not set too high. We are planning on going back. If are planning on going as a couple - look for a group to go with as it makes it much more fun and your someone that can get things done for you if needed. We went through Castaways travel and they hooked us up with a great group.

If you are thinking about going - go and experience it and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RnBfunsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just got back from a week at Hedo II. It was our fifth trip, and we very much enjoyed it. We will be back next year.

If you want a top notch resort with outstanding food, exquisite amenities, and over-the-top personalized service, then Hedo II is not for you. If, on the other hand, you want decent-to-great food, reasonable facilities, and a certain vibe that is really, really hard to describe in words, then Hedo can be as fun and as enjoyable as any place you ever go. You can really relax, try new and naughty things (if you want to), and have a great time. You can be in the middle of naked people that are having a vibrant time partying, or you can keep your clothes on and find a quiet place to read a book in the shade. You'll meet lots of different people and that's half the fun. And, a good percentage of the people you meet will have been there before (aka "repeat offenders).

We saw two of the new owners several times while we were there, and they very approachable. We saw many renovation activities in progress. Most of the renovations will take some time, but they seem to be serious about really giving Hedo the face-lift it deserves (and SuperClubs neglected). Most importantly, all of the staff seemed to be excited about the improvements and management, and it shows. Our biggest complaints about the resort are the (sometimes) lack of hot water, the tiny bathrooms, and the outdated furniture in the rooms. They say they're going to fix the hot water (and, quite frankly, if you don't have hot water when you step in the shower, try again in five minutes, and you probably will). I think they'll replace the furniture, too. And, the tiny bathrooms will probably always be tiny bathrooms, but oh well.

The staff at Hedo is fantastic, and they seemed better than ever this trip. All of them seemed courteous and willing to give a little extra effort every day. They all work very, very hard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place was Incredible we visited for 7 days and traveled with friends. The hotel rooms are well cared for and the beds are good. Hot water was good. but when you come here you don't talk about the beds, rooms, or hot water. The Staff was amazing from the minute you get off the shuttle, friendly and go completely out of the way to make you happy. Completely exceed your expectations. The pools are clean and well maintained swim up bars are nice. Parties and events are alot of fun and very relaxed atmosphere. The Food was my most favorate part of the trip. Flavors you have never tasted before. Cant wait to travel back here again.

Room Tip: Water view rooms better location on property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.6 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedonism II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedonism II

Property: Hedonism II
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Spa Hotel in Negril
#11 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedonism II 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHAT IS HEDONISM? THE SEXIEST PLACE ON EARTH WHERE YOU CAN BE WICKED FOR A WEEK Hedo®, Hedo 2®, Hedo II®, H2®, or HII®. No matter what you call it, Hedonism II is the world’s most iconic adult playground. An all-inclusive paradise where you can turn your fantasies into reality! Experience what you only read about in erotic novels and let loose! Be as mild or as wild as you like! People travel to Hedonism II from all corners of the world to live out their fantasies, to escape their inhibitions, to play. Life is too short. Do it now, before later becomes never. Your Pleasure Is Our Passion! he.don.ism noun the pursuit of pleasure; sensual self-indulgence. synonyms: self-indulgence, pleasure-seeking, self-gratification the ethical theory that pleasure (in the sense of the satisfaction of desires) is the highest good and proper aim of human life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelsClick and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hedonism II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedonism Ii Hotel Negril
Hedonism Jamaica
Superclubs Hedonism Ii Negril
Hedonism 2
Hedonism Resort
Jamaica Hedonism 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing