We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overall five star rating.”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2005

* 2nd and 3rd week of March, 2005.
*With so much to do around the resort, I never got a chance to do day trips that I had planned in my two weeks there.
*The Sports and Fitness complex is first class with experience fitness instructors
*The food at all the restaurants were great with friendly service. Even lobster tail was on the menu at one of the restaurants.
*The entire staff did an excellent job to make my holiday enjoyable.
*Scuba diving, snorkeling, golfing, sailing were all part of the "all inclusive"
*The room was very clean. The bathroom was equipped with shampoo, skin cream, aloe and hand soap. The bar fridge was always filled with my favourite drinks.
*A safe place to be, as Security and Safety are of great importance to the resort.
*Entertainment was good (not great) especially if you like dancing. It is not the type of entertainment you get on cruise ships or some resorts in Mexico.
*The air temperature averaged 86 degrees F.(30 C.) and the ocean temperature averaged 82 degrees F. (28 C.).
*I am looking forward to going back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank mikedefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,903 - 4,909 of 5,347 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Onalaska, Wisconsin
117
Reviewed April 3, 2005

My husband and I experienced Couples Swept Away for our honeymoon. We were greeted with a cold towel and a glass of champagne! We stayed in a gardenview room, which was a nice room but it was closest to the road so I could hear the traffic and was awake at 5:00am every morning. We're not complainers so we didn't mind. The rooms were cleaned twice a day and we always had clean towels! The beds were comfortable. The best part about these villas is that you're not staying in a hotel.
The best part of the trip was the amazing sunsets! We loved laying in the hammock and watching the sunset melt into the Caribbean!
The beach was wonderful! You could always find a spot to camp out for the day! The food was spectacular! We went to The Lemon Grass restaurant 3 nights in a row because we couldn't get enough of the coconut shrimp and ribs! mmm Feathers had surf n turf that melted in your mouth! The strip loin steak at The Palms was our next favorite! The service was great! They treated us like royalty! Never, did we have to worry about our water glass being empty! We were always taken care of and made sure that everything was perfect! We never needed to leave the resort because they always had something going on! We enjoyed the beach party, the talent show, the disco dancing party, reggae bands, snorkeling, the glass bottom boat, and the Catamaran Cruise! Needless to say, we had the best time of our lives and we would go back every year if we could! Perfect!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2005

My husband and I were married at Couples Swept away last month and it was the most awesome, wonderful, romantic wedding, honeymoon and vacation ever. We had a perfect time and didn't have a single complaint. The food was to die for, the staff was courteous and fun, and the resort was very clean. We had an oceanfront room, 2nd floor and our view was beautiful.

The wedding went perfectly and Nikki is the best wedding coordinator ever. We just loved her and still keep in touch with her.

We met another couple who said they have been there 9 times, and we can understand why. We are hoping to go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Prego41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2005

I stayed at this resort in April 2004. My sister got married here and a few days later I got engaged!
I loved everything about this place. The food was great, the people were amazing, (never stayed somewhere where they call just to make sure everything is okay!). There was always something to do. All kinds of activities. I'm more of the 'lay on the beach w/ a drink nearby' type, so I didn't really participate in any activities. It's nice that the staff let you know if something is going on, but they don't push you into anything.
The rooms were fantastic! You barely knew there were other people at the resort when you were in your room, but everything is so secluded, we felt like we were the only ones there!
The other plus is that this is a couples only resort so it was nice to not have any screaming kids there, either.
I would recommend this resort highly to anyone seeking a relaxing vacation or to "get away from it all". This is THE place!

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank twink73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
127
Reviewed March 30, 2005

My wife and I went to CSA from 22 to 29 March 2005. We had a great time. CSA was wonderful: hotel facilities, room, staff, food and drink all excellent. I cannot really understand people's criticisms, they must have been unlucky.

Food was healthly and fresh. We even got up early for breakfast. Staff were polite and always smiling, some of the best I have seen. Beach was not crowded and we always got a spot in the shade: some guys reserved the good seats early but there was not the mass of people getting on the beach to reserve loungers at 6am.

What I would say is that it is a great 4* all-inclusive, what it is not to a super 6* luxury hotel. You get what you pay for, simple as that. If you go there expecting the ultimate in luxury you will be disappointed: that is maybe why it got some so-so reviews, expectations were too high. However if you expect one of the best 4* hotels on the island, with a relaxed staff and easy atomsphere where you can do as much or as little as you want, then go to CSA!

On rooms, we were in the first building in the new section, beachfront room. It was perfect: worth the extra spend. Watching the sunset from the balcony every evening with a cool glass of white wine was something to savour. I would have reservations about going further into the new section as there is a loud nightclub/bar which is not part of the resort at the end of the new section which pumped out music until 2am some nights. Maybe the atrium rooms in the old section or beachfront rooms at the middle or end of old section would be quieter.

One massive word of caution: Air Jamaica. We were lucky on the way out, our flight was on time. The rep at the airport said that normally the flight is delayed by 7 hours. We were not so lucky on the way back: 12 hour delay. 4 hours in Montego Bay, an extra flight to Kingston, 5 hours in Kingston with no water and then a flight back leaving in the early hours of the morning. Staff really didn't care. If you ask the travel agents they will say: Air Jamaica has got over its troubles but is back to normal. It is not. Really think about it. It may be worth flying with an American airline via the States. Not a direct flight, but maybe worth it. We heard some horror stories of parents missing weddings etc because there was no flight in time. I would not left Air Jamaica spoil your holiday, as CSA is worth the trip.

Minus Air Jamaica, absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hopewell, New Jersey
230
Reviewed March 27, 2005

Couples Sweptaway was simply awesome! The staff was wonderful, the food was great and they have very nice recreation facilities. We stayed in the new section in a beachfront room the third week of March. The doors opened up right onto the beach, and what a beautiful beach it was! While on the beach, if you need anything - just see Elvis. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2005

We have just returned to the UK having been married at CSA on the 16 th of March.Having travelled to many holiday destinations in the carribbean and various other parts of Asia and Europe i can say CSA was the best all round by a mile. The wedding ceremony and following party with our guests will always stay in our memory together with the resort and it staff who can not be faulted in any way.
Everyone in the resort seemed to be on a high from cleaner to manager and its a credit to the owner and his staff.
We would jump at the chance to return but only when that abismal Air Jamaica cease to operate.
Left at heathrow for 2 days and 8 hours on return form Montego Bay with an extra 129 people for the previous day in a distressed state when the plane failed to arrive at all.
Paid an extra £2600 to the agent previously to upgrade to business class yet the recline and foot rests were broken on the seats that had also been sold twice over when we eventually boarded.It is a joke
Abismal in every way and a disgrace as an Airline it almost ruined everything and beliveve me thet dont give a d--- either.

10  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,397 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,677 reviews
1.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
2 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $410 - $1,333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing