We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Couples Swept Away
Nearby Hotels
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$139
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$492
$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$78
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
$749
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$854
$484
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
$64
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,638)
Filter reviews
5,638 results
Traveler rating
3,572
1,360
418
194
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,572
1,360
418
194
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana grillsports complexatrium suitesea grapespatois patiocatamaran cruisemartini bargreat houseultimate chocolatebanana stuffed french toastaura loungefeathers restaurantpatios patiolemongrass restaurantour honeymoonfish tacosswim up bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,319 - 2,324 of 5,638 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have been to several all inclusives but never one like this one. The ride from the airport was very informative. Our driver was very talkative and told us alot about Jamaica and the Jamaican lifestyle, government, food etc. He also answered questions from us. Thw resort was beautiful. The room was good- nothing extravagant- but very well cleaned. In fact it was mopped twice a day due to the sand. The housekeepers were thorough and pleasant. When we had a couple of room issues, they were taken care of within 1/2 hour or less. And then we received a follow up phone call to be sure everything was done. The beach- beautiful white soft sand. My feet were loving it. Never had a problem getting a beach chair every day. The sunsets were gorgeous. The food was very good. We ate at every restaurant. The buffet - when open-had different theme nights and found the variety of food offered was excellent. The specialty restaurants were great. We loved the Sea Grape- a health type hut by the beach. We ate something from there almost every afternoon. Most of the servers and bartenders were very pleasant and friendly. We did not do any of the extra excursions- except for Parasailing. The included excursions were well worth it and we also went sailing with Leslie- from the watersports team. We did attend a lecture on Jamaica, one on Bob Marley and medicinal plants and Martini Mixology where we met our favorite bartendar Curtis. We absolutely loved this resort and will definitely return. All was EXCELLENT in our minds. Thank you to all of the hard working staff!!

Room Tip: A beachfront veranda on the first floor. 10 steps and the beach is right there.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magnolia6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is really the first time I have ever submitted a review however, we had such a great time (with a couple of small issues) that I had to let everyone know.

My husband and I, both in our early 50's arrived at CSA on February 8. Check in was a bit slow and after a long trip, we were longing to get out of our travel clothes and get a bite to eat. We found our room to be just a bit too close to the restaurant and we were proven right as at 3 am we were awoken to the sounds of staff working in the kitchen as well as dishes being carted around. Not the thing you want to hear at 3 am! The next morning we went to the front desk and we were given a room more towards the centre of the resort which was much quieter.

Beach - what can I say but that it was simply breathtaking. We spent every day on the beach.
Food - Superb. My husband has a garlic allergy and the restaurants made a point of making sure that the dishes he ordered did not have any garlic.
Alcohol - Top shelf
Staff - Most staff were excellent.
Tipping - This is a no-tipping resort. I kind of wondered about that as many resorts claim to be no tipping but really aren't. This truly was. Staff would be in serious trouble if they accepted any tips.
Excursions - Included in the price of the resort were many excursions/activities: Sunset catamaran cruise, glass bottom boat, snorkeling, shopping, Margaritaville, paddle boards, pedal boats, kayaks, sailing, and even a beginner scuba in the ocean to a depth of 30 feet.

My days were idyllic - breakfast at 8 am, beach by 9 am, cold towel delivered on the beach followed by a fruit kabob. Need a drink? Put the flag in the sand and someone will be by shortly to take your order. Needing something cold? Have a snow cone instead of a drink. Lunch at 1:30 pm followed by more time on the beach. By 3:30 pm, need a nap in our room. Late dinner followed by either entertainments at the Palms or listening to White Chocolate in the piano lounge.

Aside from really bad service in the Palms our first night as well as our room too close to the restaurant, our trip was amazing. We met many people who had been at CSA numerous times, some up to 18 times.

We will return to Couples Swept Away.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room near the middle of the resort.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gisele118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were at CSA from 1/31 to 2/7 in an Ocean Verandah room. This is our 3rd trip in the past 3 years. Here are my quick pros and cons list:
Pros:

Great Beach - soft sand and lots of opportunity for beach walks. Just awesome
Fantastic food - We did not have one disappointing meal. Favs: Patois and Seagrapes
Bathroom Reno - no more mold. They look great.
Sports complex - lovely and such a gem
Front desk service - far superior and quick this time
Mini Bar - refilled perfectly this time
Housekeeping - overall good except a few times they only wanted to give us one beach towel
Beach chairs - I thought they kept it very clean and we love the floaties on the chairs!
Security - good, but I wish they would turn down those darn radios! ANNOYING!


Cons:
Bed - It was so hard even with the topper
Linens - not comfy
Service - I will list my concerns: ignored regularly at the Palms for breakfast (just go to Patois), Dishes left for a VERY long time on the table, ignored after being seated at restaurants (longer than a few minutes and it felt awkward while we watched staff chat with each other), Indifferent treatment at beach bars overall, large chatty groups of staff ignoring customers especially at the Palms. Overall, we felt ignored quite a bit on the trip which was different from our other trips.
Price - we got a great deal. Had I paid full price I would have been very disappointed for the value.
Large loud groups of repeaters - not Couples fault, but I was glad to see them go
Wifi - iffy in many places, but decent on the beach
Ran out of Crown Royal - no idea when it would be replaced at one of the beach bars
Top Shelf liquor - lacking in many of the bars

We love the vibe at Couples, but we did not like the treatment this year. We were practically run over by staff on several occasions with carts. This has happened in the past, but was really bad this time. Many staff are not service oriented and need to be retrained. For the price point we expect more.

There were a few exceptions that I must mention... Brooks - she is a gem. The hardest worker I have ever seen. Let her retrain the rest. Michelian in Patois- fantastic server who gets it right. She should also show others how it is done. The gentleman that refills the mini bar named Adrian is so helpful and friendly. Great job. Curtis at the bar on the beach is one of the only bartenders that really knows how to interact with guests. He is trying so hard! I appreciate that.

My advice... go if you get a dea (not too many out there anymore). Go in off season. We had better weather in April than February. The beach and food are great. I am concerned we will not be able to return for quite some time as there are significant price increases. This is disappointing. 5 star prices will demand 5 star linens, beds, liquor and service.

Room Tip: Ocean Verandah rooms are close to the beach, but private and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank momof3crazykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have stayed at 3 couples resorts and this ones by far our favourite, the whole resort has a lovely relaxed feel, high quality food, branded drinks unlike some Jamaica resorts and plenty of things to do if you want it, if not just relax and enjoy

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

It’s a long flight from the UK to Montego Bay – so the Red Stripe in the Couples Lounge was very welcome, as was the 8 minute turnaround time before we were in the minibus for the 90 minute trip to Negril (HINT: If you’re in one of the small 12 seaters .. avoid the rear bench seat … it’s right on top of the woofer and makes an uncomfortable ride!

Check in was completed in less than 10 minutes and we and our luggage were escorted to our room (3304 – top floor of Bld 8 on the map). The room isn’t huge, but is perfectly adequate for the two of us. Our balcony had a nice view over the gardens and we could just about see the sea … but were welcomed by a lovely sunset. The aircon unit and fan did a super job on keeping the room cold. The bed was large and we found it, and the range of pillows, comfortable. It faced the flat screen tv and minibar (stocked every day but you do have to “order” some items … the spirits were delivered in 1 litre bottles with a pourer … nice!). There was a shortage of drawer space – but we were able to find enough space for our two weeks’ worth of clothes (50% of which never got worn!). The units were old and didn’t always close properly – but they did the job. There is a digital safe in the wardrobe. The bathroom had been refurbished and was nice – we didn’t experience the “flooding” that other reviewers have reported … but we did find that running the drench shower on “full” did cause some splashing. The room was kept clean, but I would have preferred the cleaning to have been done in the mornings rather than late afternoon or early evening … incidentally – your bedding will be changed every day unless you leave a note on your pillow. There is free Wi-fi in your room … but it is painfully slow by European standards

We ate our main meals all the restaurants during our stay… Lemongrass was certainly the best, but we found both Feathers and Patois more than satisfactory. Confusingly – the “buffet” restaurant “Palms” only seemed to be a buffet one night a week … the rest of the evenings it was a la carte. You do sometimes have to wait for a minute or so to be shown to your table at the restaurants, and the service wasn’t as speedy as we have experienced in other Caribbean resorts … but you’re in Jamaica so chill Mon!

Breakfast we alternated between the buffet and Patois …

The jerk chicken at the snack bar was superb … but the biggest surprise to me was Sea Grapes – the veggie bar. I’m a confirmed carnivore but couldn‘t get enough of their sweet potato chips with humus and jalapeno dips or their blackened snapper on coco bread … delicious!

The beach is lovely … not as soft as, say, Punta Cana in the DR, but it is cleaned and raked every morning … and you can walk for miles in both directions. There are plenty of sunbeds but not a huge amount of shade. Unfortunately the hotel does not enforce its’ “no reserving sunbeds” rule … we used to hear our neighbour open her door at 5am … returning 15 minutes after having secured her shade for the day.

The shore line is smooth and virtually rock free … you can walk out about 30 metres and still touch the bottom … and the sun bed mattresses make excellent floats! We did find a 5’ wide Ray swimming along the bottom near the buoys … quite a shock but it steered well away from us!

We spent a lot of our time near the swim up bar … quiet and peaceful until about 3pm when one or two US guests took up “residence” and increased their volume and liquor intake until their “whooping and hollering” became obnoxious. So … we’d nip down to the beach for a quick game of boules or horseshoes or go for a swim or a walk …

My wife loves her tennis so she was blown away with the courts and pro coaching (included in the AI plan) … and she’d like to say “thanks” to Rolston who escorted her across the road and back every day. In addition to the tennis courts, there are also racket and squash courts, a massive and well equipped (and underused) gym, a six lane lap pool, an aerobics studio, and a pool table and table tennis table …. And one of the many outdoor 104’f jacuzzis!

Evening entertainment was well above the standard we have experienced with other Caribbean (mainly Riu and Iberostar) resorts as most of the shows were put on by external groups and not by the entertainment team (who we never saw during the day!).

Our only bad experience was at the “Blazing Piano” show … a sort of “live” karaoke. It was there when we saw just how rude the aged “repeater” guests could be to the “newbies”. One young lady, invited to sing by the pianist, had the microphone taken away from her by an elderly woman who said something along the lines of “You’re new here. When you’ve been here 13 times like me, that’s when you get to sing!” She then proceeded to caterwaul a terrible rendition of “Hey Big Spender” which was greeted with massive applause from her fellow repeaters. I was stunned that the pianist allowed this to happen. We never returned to the Piano Bar.

We’re definitely going to try to get back to CSA (but as it would only be our second visit we wouldn’t venture into the Piano Bar again!) as the resort and staff were excellent.
Don’t expect US or UK levels of 5* luxury … you’re in Jamaica … the sun is shining … and have a “Bob Marley” shot on me!

Room Tip: The rooms are a lot quieter (but more expensive) the further you are away from the road
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews