We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weddingmoon - we couldn't have asked for more!”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Weddingmoon - we couldn't have asked for more!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed Nov. 30 - Dec. 7. Got married there, had a couple (newbies) travel with us and our sons stayed at another nearby resort that was more age appropriate for them.

What can I say, it was everything we could have hoped and dreamed of! The resort room, food, entertainment and setting were all fantastic.

Had a couple of issues with our friends room at check-in and our bathroom backing up (3x) especially on our wedding night which wasn't fun - but David Ebanks the Operation Manager was right on top of things to make sure that we were satisfied.

Priscilla the wedding coordinator did a wonderful job, and Carlene in the salon did a fantastic job on my hair - she paid attention to the details, which I appreciated.

We did the pub crawl, catamaran ride, trading places and our own trip to the west end to visit some favorite spots (this is my 10th trip to Jamaica).

We held our wedding reception at Lemongrass, even though Feathers had been pre-booked for us, but I wanted to be in an outdoor type feeling (after all I am in Jamaica). Feathers food is better, but I didn't care for the no atmosphere of a closed in room. All went well with our wedding/reception, everything we dreamed of.

This was a bit of a splurge for us, but was definitely money well spent. Hope to be back to CSA again!

Room Tip: The premium beach front rooms looked awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,295
    1,276
    391
    188
    92
See reviews for
104
4,092
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We traveled this past summer to a friend's wedding and stayed at this resort. I have always been skeptical of all-inclusive anything, but I really enjoyed my stay here. Great beach location. We utilized the resort dive boat to go scuba diving on three of the days we were there - the staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was great. I would say that the only negative thing is that it's a decent shuttle ride from the airport & it felt somewhat sketch once you left the beach part of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gte071u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just came back last night from an amazing week at Couples Swept Away. The beach is by far the best; the food is very good; the intertainment is excellent, not cheezy at all. The service and friendlyness of the staff is of high standard. There is no pretention at this resort. It is very lush and although the resort is a little older it is well kept and clean and still very beautiful... The beds were very comfortable. It's true that the rooms near the road are a little noisier but the positives outway the negatives by far. We are looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This resort is wonderful! Everyone is really relaxed and friendly. We stayed 10 days in an Oceanview Veranda Suite on the 3rd floor, which was excellent. I think our room had recently been renovated, as our bathroom was exquisite with new tile and a big glass shower. There were french doors leading out to a huge veranda and beautiful ocean view - it was to die for!! Also it felt very private which was excellent. I would recommend the Oceanview suites, as these are close to the beach at the south end of the resort close to the Great House where some of the bars and restaurants are, including our favortie restaurant - Patois.

Negril was amazing, I would highly recommend coming to this end of the island. It is a short 15 minute ride into Negril proper and the famous cliffs. There are lots of bars and restaurants along the cliffs which are so cool to explore. A great way to see everything is to go on the 'One Love Pub Crawl' which we did and it was the highlight of our trip!

We also hired a driver from the resort one day to take us shopping in Negril and to see a few attractions. His name was Happy and we would highly recommend his services. Just ask for him at the front gate or accross the street in the parking lot by the gym.

Speaking of gym, the fitness facility was amazing! You should definitely check out the spa, pool, and gym which are just across the street from the resort. The security guard (probably Rolston) will see you safely accross the road. The grounds are beautiful and the gym looks to be well equiped. We didn't workout but we had massages at the spa which was wonderful! Ask for Cherry, she was so nice.

So all in all this was a wonderful honeymoon, I'm so glad we picked CSA!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachSmilesForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We recently stayed at Couples Swept Away at the end of November beginning of December for our wedding and honeymoon. I can not begin to say how much we enjoyed our time there. From the time you check in and get some champagne and a cold towel from the time we checked out everything was great! We stayed in the Atrium Suite and we loved it! I loved waking up and laying on the hammock every morning. The lighting at night is a bit dim but it really didn't bother us much. We stayed on the second floor which we liked but as a heads up the bathroom is rather open and not fully enclosed so if you are in need of a bit more privacy I wouldn't suggest it. Our fridge was always stocked with drinks both alcohol and not and everything was kept clean. My parents stayed in the beachfront verandah suites and they offered fantastic views since they were on the third floor if your a view type of person.
The beach was great one of the nicest!
The food was really good. I loved Lemongrass. The ambiance was very romantic and the food was very good! Feathers was nice and the food again good! Our server Orrin was an absolute delight! Patois was good for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Pizzas there were very tasty. Seagrapes I loved for lunch! The Palms was the buffet and was good as we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there. The Cabana grill was good for late night snacks or lunch. Overall there were plenty of options for us and we could not complain.
The drinks were good and the bartenders were always trying to make you happy and find something you would like! The guys at the Martini Bar were great and I don't even like Martinis and I had a few they were so good! Have to try the juices and smoothies over at the sports complex as they area nice break from alcoholic drinks!
For the entertainment you have to catch the Silver Birds on Wednesday at the Palms, what a show that is!! We also enjoyed the late night music at Aura and we never made it to see the piano playing unfortunately. The catamaran is a must do. Nice ride and it's nice to see all the hotels and spots along the beach and cliffs. Sunset is gorgeous and it's a good time with drinks and music! We did a sailing lesson which was nice even though not a great day for sailing.
Since it was our honeymoon we did the 25 minute massage which was great and I wish we would have upgraded for longer! Georgette at the salon did my hair and makeup for the wedding and she really took her time and everything came out great! Priscilla was our wedding coordinator and she took care of everything for the ceremony. It was so easy and laid back I highly suggest it! We did not have our reception there because our 2 sons were with us staying close by with family, but they were allowed at the ceremony with no problem.
The staff were truly amazing and everyone was great that we encountered!! Security, housekeeping, front desk, servers, bartenders, watersports...everyone!! They truly made the trip what it was and make Couples Swept Away the magical place it is. We loved the laid back, beachy and romantic feel of the resort. It is spread out which was nice because it never felt crowded once. There's plenty to do, see, eat and drink that we will have to return for more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our second visit... unbelievable staff and service, beautiful location, top not beach, unbelievable activities...you can't even begin to take in everything. The food is five star, and served beautifully, great variety of restaurants, the bar service and drinks are super. We are already planning for the next trip... thanks for another wonderful vacation. Sue and Pete Robertson

Room Tip: Apparently Trans At now has direct service... Air Canada and West Jet usually have you go thru Toron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizwold12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorville ca
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is such a fantastic resort! We stayed over Thanksgiving break and the weather was excellent. There are several things that make this resort stand out from the others.

Staff: Most everyone had an upbeat, friendly way about them. We did not have one person that was rude in any manner. We were greeted at the airport with cold beers and a ton of information. The hour and a half drive to the resort from the airport was fine. We had a hilarious driver that kept us entertained. When you arrive you are met with a glass of sparkling wine and a "Welcome Home". Check-in was a breeze. The bellmen walked us to our room and carried our bags. Wow...you feel like you are on vacation the minute you step foot on the resort. Top-notch customer service.

Rooms: We stayed in the Garden Verandah Suites. The rooms are rustic/Caribbean. While there is no grandeur to the rooms, they are clean, spacious, and comfortable. The rooms are cleaned once to twice a day. Beds are not too firm, not too soft. Just perfect. I never felt that the rooms smelled moldy like other have reported. In the future, however, I would spend more money and stay closer to the beach. The GVS rooms are near the main road and the traffic noises could possibly keep you awake. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

Restaurants: We ate at all of the restaurants. By far, our favorite was Patios Patio. We ate breakfast there everyday. As most people have mentioned, the banana french toast is not to be missed. But the other food is fantastic as well. I loved the omelets. We also had lobster on Lobster Night here. (Be sure you book your trip so that you are here for Lobster Night on Saturdays. You will kick yourself if you don't.) They served an amazing portion of lobster and when they asked us for dessert, my husband joked that he wanted more lobster. 10 minutes later, he was served 4 more lobster tails. We have never had that type of service at any other all-inclusive resort.

The Palms was your basic buffet-type food, however, they incorporated many traditional Caribbean food-Jerk chicken and pork, Jamaician oxtail, curry, seafood etc. Food was pretty good. I did not like the Palms for breakfast. Everything was over-cooked. They do have an omelet station here that looked to be pretty popular.

Lemongrass- Beautiful ambiance. We ate outside looking at the ocean. Nice Asian decor. We had the lamb appetizer (too salty to even eat), and Pad Thai (excellent!). I would return to this restaurant. It is less formal than Feathers so my husband was much more comfortable at this restaurant. Schedule 20 minutes or so before your reservations to sit at the martini bar. I loved the chocolate martini and the key lime pie martini.

Feathers-I did not like one thing at this restaurant. It was too cold, the food was awful and in very small portions, and you had to dress up for no real apparent reason. Seriously, we left went to Patios for an amazing dinner of chicken saltimbocca.

The Cabana Grill has awesome Jerk Chicken, good hamburgers, and even nachos. We spent quite a bit of time eating here for lunch. Good stuff.

Seagrapes: This was probably our favorite. The fish tacos are delicious. Fresh sushi, grilled fish sandwiches, creative salads, daily juice specials, and sweet potato chips with hummus kept us coming back each day. Also, our favorite staff person, Kimoy, was there and he made us fell right at home.

The Beach: We have been all over to find the nicest beach. It is here. The crystal clear water is spectacular. The white sand is powdery soft. There are solicitors, but a simple "no thank you" will do. Bring some money for the steel drum performers on the beach. They are fantastic.

Activities: You must go on the sunset catamaran cruise. It is so much fun. (They take you close to Rick's Cafe- but you don't stop.) They stop at a cave that you can swim into and see the bats. Pretty fun experience. Bring a dollar or two for the local boys that will jump off the cliffs. Also, we tipped the catamaran staff. We also went on the snorkeling trip. It is only about an hour trip in total. It turns out to be plenty of time to see the tropical fish and wildlife. There are so many activities to choose from. I wish we stayed longer!

Tips for your trip: Bring your own sunblock, bug spray, and dramamine. It is very expensive on the resort and you cannot pay with cash. Everything is charged to your room. Also, the Montego Bay Airport has EVERYTHING you would ever want as far as souvenirs at a much cheaper price. We purchased bracelets from a vendor on the beach for $6 and picture frame for $20. The exact same bracelets were $2 and frame was $10. (Man, we got scammed.) Bring a large cup to fill at the airport if you like beer. Also, they will fill your cup at the resort. Spend the $15 to go to Rick's Cafe. The staff is not allowed to take tips, so we had to give them tips in a sneaky manner. They work very hard and deserve it. So much fun! Don't go the CSA thinking that it will be like the Ritz. Enjoy it for what it is and you will have an amazing trip.

We cannot wait to go back to Couples Swept Away. Almost every couple we met were returners and we can see why. It is a great place to relax, reconnect with your love, and find a small slice of paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shannenavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,313 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#18 of 81 in Negril
2,264 reviews
27.4 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Property: Couples Swept Away
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#11 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing