We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife & I just returned from a 5 day, 4 night trip. We have a been to multiple tropical resorts & locations & this is by far is our favorite so far. We choose an Atrium Suite ( Room 1221) and loved it. The patio & hammock were an excellent add on for us. I am an early riser and my wife not so much. So, I would just sneak out and listen to the birds chirping while I was swaying in the hammock. Great way to start the morning. Then, head over to do some laps in the pool. The lap pool isn't really long, but its still nice to get the blood flowing in the morning. We had great food at every meal, even the buffet's. Feathers & Lemongrass are a must. Very high end food & liquor selection. Beach & activities were great. We did the glass bottom boat, snorkeling, paddle boarding & the catamaran trip. We recommend all activities and they are all provided at no additional cost.
This was a fantastic getaway for my wife & I. We love our children dearly but every set of parents needs time to re-charge the batteries every once in a while in a kid free environment. We are very thankful that we choose Couples Swept Away for our destination. We met couple's from their 20's to 60's. and everyone was just layed back and having a great time. We will definitely cone back to CSA!

Room Tip: We specifically chose an Atrium Suite because there was no TV to distract us from relaxing. Also, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IHeartTravel767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Swept Away, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
IHeartTravel767, Couples Resorts has always been known to offer rest and relaxation and that seems to be just what you received. Looking forward to having you spend some more time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,300
    1,276
    391
    189
    92
See reviews for
104
4,096
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I could go on and on and on about how much we loved it at Couples Swept Away!! Such a relaxing, beautiful place with that "No Worries" atmosphere that everyone needs! The ride to the resort is a little long but it's neat (and sad at the same time) to see how Jamaicans live as you go through all their little towns. You'll see lots of poverty, but also all the beautiful shorelines and mountains! The shuttle driver is a little crazy and they drive on the opposite side of the road- so it's quiet the adventure! We were originally a little concerned about our safety outside of the resort but after being there and meeting the people- I don't think there's anything to worry about. Tourism is what supports their economy and they would never do anything to an American to jeopardize that! We had a beachfront verandah suite and it's definitely worth the extra money to have the beautiful beach view! We were on the top (3rd) floor and had a end room. Definitely the best if you don't mind walking up the stairs! In fact I would request Room 4321 if you happen to get a chance The room is very comfortable but is a little outdated.....but no worries, the view makes up for it! You aren't in the room very much anyways! You should make dinner reservations as soon as you arrive for the 2 fancy restaurants because they fill up fast. Feathers was our favorite, but Lemongrass was also good if you like Thai food. The other evenings you can eat at Palms or the Patio without reservations. Palms serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets. The patio serves breakfast & dinner and maybe even lunch off of a menu. The cabana grill is open from 11am-5am I believe and has awesome jerk chicken. Seagrapes is open for lunch starting at 11am and has awesome healthy foods like homemade hummus, etc. We usually ordered room service for breakfast around 7am and then we also hit the breakfast buffet around 9am lol. If you want a little cabana on the beach you will need to reserve one pretty early in the morning....we usually ran down around 6am and put our towels and flip flops on one, so that we had some shade throughout the day. We did the sunset catamaran cruise and the glass bottom boat tour- both are included. The glass bottom boat tour goes everyday at 9:00am and you can only reserve it one day in advance. The catamaran cruise was my favorite and is easier to reserve. The bartenders throughout the resort are awesome and will make anything that you request! Overall the service from the staff and the breathtaking view is what makes this resort a step above the rest!! Oh and don't even get me started on how wonderful the food was- some of the best I've ever ate!! You will not be disappointed at Couples Swept Away! P.S. you must try a Bob Marley shot :)

Room Tip: Beachfront Verandah Suite is definitely worth the extra money. 3rd end rooms are the best! Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBWood33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Swept Away, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi JBWood33, no worries indeed in Jamaica... Good to know you had a great time and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Well we just got back from a week in Couples Swept Away Negril and we can't say enough good things about this place.
ALL of the staff are friendly, efficient, knowledgable, and always asking if we are enjoying ourselves or what can they do for us. These employees truly know what customer service is about.
There is so much to see and do on the resort that really there is no need to leave unless you have something specific in mind(more about that later). And the best part is that most of the activities are included. Unlike other "all-inclusives" we have been at. Waterskiing, paddleboarding, kayaking, scuba diving(if certified), glass bottom boat, tennis with lessons, squash with lessons, racquetball with lessons, etc... I can tell you right now that one week is NOT enough time.
If you're like me and there are certain things off resort you just have to see(Appleton Estates anyone?), the people at the booking desk are very helpful and patient. Just be warned. Don't do the three in one trip to Black River, Appleton, and YS falls. Not enough time at any of them because they are all worth seeing.
The room we had was not beachfront, however we had a good view of the ocean, and an amazing view of the sunsets every night. Excellent. And clean and never any problem getting towels, etc.
Now to the food. One word...Awesome! None of the food could be described less than good, and at the Lemon Grass it was very good. And at Feathers? Absolutely fantastic out of this world crazy good(get the idea?) The last two are the upscale dress up restaurants but truly worth it.
I know I seem to have nothing bad about this place and you might think I'm too easy a reviewer, however if you have read any of my previous reviews you will see I have no problem calling places out. If you are an adult and a couple, GO HERE!
It is just that simple.

Room Tip: don't pay the extra for beachfront as most of the rooms are smaller and you are just paying for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wadero1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Swept Away, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Wadero1965,your review is appreciated and its good to know you had a great time with us. We do look forward to having you vacation with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We actually stayed in January 2012, it just doesn't give you the option.

We stayed for 10 nights at this lovely hotel and looking back a year on I wish I was there again! There is nothing major I can complain about, everything was the top quality that you expect without being pretentious.
The weather was brilliant, around 30 degrees everyday with a heavy shower or 2 here and there which cleared up. The beach was beautiful, white sand, exceptionally clear warm sea and palm trees galore. There were plenty of sunbeds and with the hotel owning quite big section of the beach we certainly didn't feel like we were 'on top' of anybody else.
The all inclusive aspect was fantastic with great quality food served in several eateries throughout the day with enough to cater for everyone's taste. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts which were out of this world and filled us up til evening! We had a basket of pastries and toast and a medley of fruit before even attempting a cooked breakfast. The drinks waiter service on the beach is a great idea....we'll at the time anyway.... All the staff were courteous and genuinely interested in wishing us a good day.
We enjoyed taking a wander across the road to the sports/health complex were it was quieter. After swimming a few laps of the pool, we played a game of table tennis and pool followed by a freshly made smoothie.
The rooms were very comfortable, modern but decorated in an authentic way with dark woods and crisp white linen. We had a large veranda with steps leading down into tropical gardens. The rooms were always kept clean and towels changed at our request. The stocked mini-bar was a huge bonus with unlimited amount of water/fizzy drinks and alcohol (top brands). All we had to do was fill out a card each night with what we wanted on it and leave it outside. I could go on and on, brilliant!

Room Tip: We had the 'standard room' on the ground floor which didn't have a sea view but was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrawfMerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Swept Away, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
CrawfMerc , thank you for your review. Its great to know that one year later and you still remember the impact we had on you. We hope that you will return and spend some time with us again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful week's stay at CSA. This was our second time here and it certainly will not be our last. The resort is located on Negril beach which in my opinion one of the best beaches I have ever been to. If your a beach lover this place is definitely for you. The water is crystal clear with hardly a ripple so you can just float the day away if you like.There is plenty to do if you want to be activate,kayaks, paddle boards, sail boats, snorkel trips, sunset cruises, all included in your stay. We went out snorkeling 3 different days and the reefs were full of fish and colorful coral. It rained the night we went on the sunset sail but it was just all part of the fun. The harder the rain came the more dancing people seemed to be doing creating our own story.
My favorite part of the day and one of the many reason we came back was for the spectacular sunsets. Everyday we were treated to a beautiful ending to a perfect day in paradise.
We stayed in a beachfront verandah suite which was perfect. The staff at the resort were friendly and ready to help you in any way they could. We travel this trip with a few couples and I like to give a special Thanks to Dale at the concierge desk who really helped make our trip a good one. He was able to arrange all our dinners for us so we could eat together most nights, along with helping some of our group with other things. Thanks Dale for making my stay easy.
Everything about the resort is just wonderful. It is a place you should just come and experience for yourself. You will not be disappointed and like so many you will return.

Room Tip: Beachfront verandahs are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fun2bblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Swept Away, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Fun2bblonde, another wonderful trip in paradise. We are always happy to have you and do look forwrad to having more special moments with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Couples swept away negril.Great place for weddings.We celebrated our 42 wedding aniversary with dinner on the beach.Our female server made us feel like we were the only two people of the beach.Wish we were allowed to tip the people who treated us so good.We'll be back.Best beach we have ever seen.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnc1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Swept Away, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi rnc1946, congratulations on your recent Anniversary. Good to know you tried the Private Dinner and loved it. The greatest tip you can give is by doing what you did... posting a review and we thank you for the kind accolades... Hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our first time to Jamaica and to CSA. We stayed at CSA from Nov 9 to Nov 17, 2013

When reading the reviews before booking, I was wondering why people come back here again and again....now I know.
There is something majical about this place that makes you feel absolutely relaxed and that makes you feel good! May be it is the calm waves ( mostly no waves) of the ocean, the crystal clear water, or the friendliness of ghe staff and their efforts to please you, or the tasty food, or the rocking chair on the balconi, or the quality drinks, or the Rege music....or all of the above!
We cannot thak you enough to all the staff that made our vacation so memorable: the omlets that Jarvis prepares are the best I have ever tasted, Shaggy from the diving centre is the best instructor and such a caring person, Anthony, as well, our maid, the bartender, the waiters in the restaurants!

We stayed at beachfront veranda suit, i think this is the best!
We truly enjoyed the catamaran excursion, the snorkeling, jet skiing, scuba diving...no other resort have all these included!

We are already planning our next vacation for November, 2014. I wish we could come earlier!

Room Tip: Beachfront veranda suit , 3 rd floor is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMGx59x57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Swept Away, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
LMGx59x57, we do always hope for magical experiences for our guests. Thank you for visiting with us and we are happy you had a good time with the assistance of staff and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
646 reviews
2.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,320 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 81 in Negril
2,283 reviews
27.4 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Property: Couples Swept Away
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing