We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Toss Up Between Here and Couples Negril”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a tough review. We have stayed at Couples Negril for years, probably more than 20 times over the last ten years. We love it. This December we split our time between CSA and CN since Karen Lanegan moved here as the manager from CN and we knew Brian the water sports manager from CN. Bottom line - we are going back to CN this Christmas but it was a very, very close call. This is a great 5 star resort. Here's how it shakes down for us:

Beach larger than CN - beautiful - but there are more people since the resort has more rooms.

Food - not quite as good as CN. Feathers is not Otaheite. It's very good, but not as good. Otaheite is a world class restaurant - as good as the best in some of the world's top food spots. Same with Lemongrass - not as good as Lychee. Great view, but not quite the food selection or quality.

Diving - Brian and his team are excellent and the sites are almost the same set as CN, and they have a new Newton 46. But they were not putting the tanks on the boat for you.

Room - the older sections have mahogany shutters, Hunter fans , Mexican tile floors and big balconies with lounge chairs - very old Caribbean and wonderful - better than CN.

Sports Complex and Spa - awesome - much more comprehensive than CN with huge lap pool, gym facilities and spa.

So why are we picking CN? For us it came down to the food and quieter beach outweighing the better room at CSA. But both are the best All Inclusive Adult resorts you will ever find anywhere, and an incredible value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rfdf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,266)
There are newer reviews for Couples Swept Away
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,287 - 2,293 of 5,267 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Amazing time, amazing experience, amazing resort! Food was good, beach was UNBELIEVABLE, service was awesome. Stayed in the atrium suites- no TV but who cares? You are in Jamaica, mon! Did no excursions other than Margaritaville- tourist trap. No need to leave the resort. Night life good- piano bar is fun for the first night, then it's the same thing each night. Nightclub was fun if you can stay up to 11! Rained every afternoon but it was a welcome break from the heat. Met great people too. Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just got back from CSA, June 30-July 7, 2013. CSA was better than expected. We have stayed in an all-inclusive in Punta Cuna and this was much better in nearly every way. The only negative was the bus ride from Montego Bay to Negril but it beat a cab fare because it is included in the price! Weather was very nice with only 2 afternoons of rain with highs 88 and lows 78 with a gentile breeze!
Rooms are nice, not fancy, but roomy, air conditioned and comfortable. We also enjoyed our porch and spent some relaxing time there. As advertised the grounds and the beach was off the charts beautiful. We have been to Trunk Bay, St. John Island, list as one of the top 10 beaches in the world and honestly this was just as nice with a bar and unlimited drinks within 100 yards of just about anywhere on the property!
The food was very, very good with Feathers being the best and we thought Patios was #2 ahead of Lemongrass but to each his own both very good! We honestly did not have a bad meal during our 8 days. Service was VERY good and they aimed to please!
The excursions were great, do not miss the Sunset Catamaran cruise and swimming in the cave, great experience and last almost 3 hours!
Snorkeling was very good as was the Glass bottom boat. The crew was informative and very friendly and easy to talk to.
One person in our group, we had 8, went into Negril and was not impressed, glad we stayed on the resort. The security was very good and at no time did we feel threatened or uneasy!
We would definitely consider going back to CSA and would not change one thing!

Room Tip: Bottom floor for convenience and able to use front and back doors, top floor for view! We stayed Oce...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was great and the beach was beautiful. The security guards do a great job of keeping the locals from coming up to you too often. The food was really good at the buffet and at Feathers (reservation only). We weren't so impressed with the Thai Restaurant and Patois. Most of the staff was very friendly. The drinks were great but if you ordered the same thing twice, I usually didn't get the same concoction which was disappointing. Check in was nice, the airport shuttle was easy and I would recommend this place for any couple. I think the resort could benefit in updating the rooms slightly and the pools weren't as nice as I had hoped. Also, the housekeeping service was always at a different time. We never knew when to come back and sometimes they came later in the evening which wasn't very convenient when we preferred to be in the room more. I was hoping for an infinity pool overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ocean view verandah and it definitely had an ocean view from our room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdottie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have been to Jamaica numerous times and this is by far our favorite resort. The beach is absolutely beautiful, white sand and blue water. The food was great with many different options, I highly recommend the banana stuffed french toast for breakfast. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to CSA for our 25th anniversary and it was amazing!!!! Everyone was so friendly, the food was delicious and the resort was just beautiful!! The one thing you want to do when you first get there is make your reservations for everything you plan to do, right then. It took us five days to get on the catamaran boat ride, and I made reservations the day we got there. Other than that, it is amazing and the good thing is, you don't have to spend a dime once you get there unless you want to! Everyone is very respectful and nice. It is truly a paradise! We are already planning our next trip there again. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LovingCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went to Couples to renew our wedding vows and we were impressed from the moment we arrived at the airport! We are frequent travelers and this is one of our favorite places. We were greeted immediately at the airport and brought to the shuttle bus waiting area to relax in comfort and drink the local beer. While the ride to the resort is long (approx. an hour), it is scenic and provides a mini tour of Montego Bay and Negril. Upon arrival, we were again greeted promptly and whisked to the check-in counter (not before being provided with yet another refreshing beverage). Check in was fast and simple and the staff couldn't have been nicer! We found our way to our room which was clean and perfect. We explored the resort to discover it's amazing beach location, impressive pools and hot tubs located throughout the sprawling resort, and the food was never disappointing. Considering the food at most of these resorts is average at best, I do have to take the time to acknowledge that the food was definitely above average and they even offer a vegetarian snack bar as well as vegetarian options at all restaurants. We had a romantic dinner on the beach which I highly recommend. Again, there is a vegetarian selection in addition to the meat/fish entrees. The chef even came over to us after the meal to ensure we were satisfied. The vow renewal was perfect thanks to the coordinator who arranged everything and walked us through the ceremony. The staff, again, was amazing. Everyone is friendly and accommodating. The resort is safe and comfortable and we will not only recommend to others but we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brodie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 80 in Negril
657 reviews
2.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,340 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 80 in Negril
2,344 reviews
27.4 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $367 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing