We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach, Great Food! Service meh.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Beach, Great Food! Service meh.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My Wife and I stayed for a week beginning on January 28th.

We are BEACH people and this resort did not disappoint. Very wide and lots of chairs with pads that also double as flotation devices! Loved that! Prompt service on the beach too! You will still need to get up early to secure the primo spots like those shade palm umbrella thingies but otherwise, you will always find a chair, any time of day. Seriously, likely one of the greatest beaches ever. CSA has an awesome stretch of it.

Jamaica has more beach hawkers than anywhere I've ever seen but security did a great job...don't make eye contact and you won't be hassled and the CSA cops don't let them onto the private area of the beach. CSA Management: You need to get that Iceblock singer dude to alternate days. I heard the same 2 songs for a week and went from applauding and giving him cash to wanting to throw tomatoes and choke him. Send him to CN every second day or something! Please!!

Food. Very good for an all inclusive! We ate at Patois a lot , (A la carte place - no resos necessary). Buffet was good too. We were actually very impressed with the Thai place...Lemongrass. Didn't equate Jamaica with Thai, but it was easily our favorite meal and we wished we had gone earlier so we could have done it more than once. Jerk Chicken and sweet fries at the grill was pretty much our daily lunch and was excellent but the little place on the other side of the resort was awesome too! Had fish tacos there and a fish sandwich that I loved.

Nightlife. The resort is very wide and the nightclub/piano bar are located on the extreme South side and were a hassle to get to...mainly because I'm lazy. We went one night and it was dead and kinda weird. If we return to CSA again we won't bother.

Rooms. Simple and clean. I liked them. Mini bar system is easy and stocked daily. You use your room towels as beach towels and our maids replaced them ALL THE TIME! Great maid service!! iPhone dock was great but be sure to bring an adapter if you have an iPhone 5...Tip, if you have a ground floor beach room ask for the patio door key...saves you having to walk around back if you need to use the loo or something.

Staff...Hmmmmm...Honestly, found mostly everybody lackadaisical, slow and either emotionless or downright unfriendly. My stay at CSA made me realize that I prefer resorts that allow tipping. I feel like a jerk working people, (in what is a developing country.) to the bone and not being allowed to give them a few bucks for their hard work. We stayed at another property in Montego Bay the following week and the service difference was night and day. Management: It's one of these things. Training, coaching, workplace culture, compensation or distant management. I'd be happy to consult if required :) It's a wonderful property that has great food and should have world class service.

Activities. Tons! Lots of free inclusions! Great gym/fitness area and spa. We spent most of our time on the beach but we toured the facility and had very clear collateral on all the inclusive activities.

Wifi: Spotty...you probably won't be Facetiming anyone from your room or watching Netflix but email/imessage/whatsapp etc should be ok. It's your vacation! Unplug, (like I was not able to do.)!

Tip: I ordered one of their honeymoon packages and the bubbly was delivered warm, to the door 3 days into our vacation. Also, needed to check into the front desk to get things rolling for the rest - despite asking that it be in-room on our arrival....I would either skip any of their "Romance Packages" if I were you or make sure you stay in contact with your romance concierge to ensure you get what you pay for.

Will I return?????? Yes. Probably. Will likely test out some other paces first but overall CSA was a really nice time. Really tough to lose with that beach!

Room Tip: 2118 is a walk out onto the beach and steps from one of the beach bars...Get it! Stay away fro rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ottawawintersucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,156
    1,234
    378
    180
    90
See reviews for
97
3,911
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just arrived home from our first experience at CSA, 2/13/13. It was everything we expected and even more. We have traveled to other popular inclusive resort chains in the Caribbean and this one wins overall for us, hands down. The variety that is included in the resort fees and the resort location on 7 mile beach set this one apart.

Food was excellent at all of the restaurants. Feathers was as good as it gets for resort dinning.

Garden view room was comfortable, well stocked and clean. We were one of the bldgs close to the road and the road noise was not an issue in the evenings for us. The only drawback, ever so slight, is that we like our room cold at night. We could set the AC at 17 (assuming Celsius) but it never got below about 70 F in the room. It wasn't that big of a deal, don't let it affect your decision to come to CSA.

With the combination of the activities, food, fitness center, location on 7 mile beach (amazing location) this resort would be hard to beat. We ran into many couples that had been to this resort numerous times and after our trip we understand why. We plan on returning as well, we will just stay longer next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank owencarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a long over due review. My wife and I stayed at the Sweptaway and have never found any place that comes close to the the way we felt while we were there. From the moment we arrived to the day we left we felt like we were on another planet. there is no way to describe the way you will feel untill you stay for a week yourself. Your sences will come alive!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beached2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The shuttle from the airport was wonderful, convenient and fast. Took about an hour and 15 min from the airport to the resort. Beer at the airport when you arrive and Champagne and a cool towel upon arrival to the resort.

Negril is the hot new resort side of Jamaica- way newer, younger and more fun than Montego Bay. Swept Away is an AMAZING PLACE! Great ala-carte food which was important to us (we hate buffets) but even their Buffet was delicious, we had it for breakfast one day. The restaurants are delicious and they all have individual kitchens with actual chefs/cooks that can will cater to you.

We had breakfast delivered to our room most mornings because we both liked to play sports early. The croissants are homemade and coffee fresh and hot. I had a half hour private lesson with a Tennis Pro for FREE! And all golf green fees are waived with a free shuttle every morning to the golf course for FREE! Caddy's are helpful and great to play with. I took a private catamaran sailing lesson *included* and used stand up paddle boards and kayaks every day. All water sports equipment are NEW and well maintained.

We stayed in a Garden Verandah room and were a little nervous but everything else was booked. We were VERY HAPPY WITH THE ROOM! It was spacious and the mini bar was always fully stocked the air conditioning was perfect and the bathroom was simple but very large. The sheets are soft and clean and the balcony is huge. We were on the 1st floor too and it was totally great.

There is a GREAT mix of young couples and older couples (who tend to return every year! some people say it was there 9th or 10th year coming!). We are in our mid-late 20's and met a lot of great friends. The drinks flow freely and the wine is actually drinkable unlike most resorts. They will give you full LARGE bottles in your minibar upon request!

You can walk to Margaritaville (its literally up the beach) or take a free shuttle there (we took the shuttle home when it got dark). It's a good spot to see just once but the food is better at the resort.

Our FAVORITE PART: The Sunset Catamaran Cruise! This is a MUST! Sign up at the concierge upon arrival. Rum Punch and music flows the entire time, the staff on the boat is wonderful- its not over crowded you feel safe and comfortable and they take you to caves where you can jump off and swim.

WE WILL GO BACK! We loved it 100x more than a resort we went to last year in Punta Cana, DR. Jamaicans are wonderful happy people!

Room Tip: Garden Verandah isn't as bad as it looks online. Good value for the money Most are very close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

After a bad experience, we were referred to Kathy at Beach Bum Vacation. She recommended this resort for us. We stayed in August 2011 and booked a return trip with Kathy for 1/29 - 2/9/13 for our 25th anniversary. Kathy even arranged a cake delivered to our room that day. We once again loved the resort. We took free tennis lessons, did the Catamaran Cruise, the glass bottom boat and snorkeled. The Super Bowl party was amazing. Once again the food was unbelievable and the drinks were good and they did not spare the liquor. We loved the music at breakfast and during dinner. We had a massage in the spa and it was great. We had smoothies every day after tennis lessons and truly enjoyed them. The photographer gave us great sunset pictures and we bought the images for a reasonable price and have been able to give everyone pictures. Our only thoughts are we missed the Miller Lite and the bottle water at the beach bars and the staff did not seem as outgoing and as happy as they were before. But I would like to give a shout out to Bead Man who remembered us from over a year before. I am one who never wanted to go to the same place twice, but CSA has changed my mind.

Room Tip: I would try not to get a room at the back as the road noise can affect your enjoyment of your patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I spent the end of January at Couples Swept Away Negril. We are both avid tennis players and chose this resort for that reason based on a friend's recommendation. The tennis facility is excellent, clinics and round robbins are organized and the resident pros are excellent. No extra charge for the court, activities or private lessons.

In addition, you have a beautiful beach, excellent restaurants, and a wonderful staff. We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: If you want to hear the ocean all night, choose an ocean front room. But we prefer a bit more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethany40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful week at CSA Negril. We spent many hours searching resort before we decided on CSA and went with our eyes wide open to the good and not so good we had read about the resort. Although we are glad we knew of some of these negatives we found them to be unfounded! Our week at CSA left us sad to leave and anxiously looking forward to our next stay...and yes, there will be another trip to Jamaica and specifically CSA!

It is hard to know where to start but I will try to hit all the highlights as briefly as I can:

Arrival to Montego Bay airport was smooth. Found the Couples lounge easily and waited only long enough to use the restrooms before we boarded our private shuttle to the resort.

Check-in was seamless. We were taken to our rooms right away. (we were traveling with another couple) We had Oceanfront Verandah suites. Although we did not have a direct view of the ocean the rooms were clean, the verandahs were nice, the surrounding greenery was stunning.

Beach:
Awesome! The best beach along the 7 mile stretch. Plenty of loungers, shade if wanted. We loved using the lounger floaters in the water.
We did not use beach service...personal choice on our part. We enjoyed walking up to the bar, talking with other guests and the fun "bantering" of the bartenders! We often let the bartender come up with something delicious and surprise us~ still don't know all we drank other than by the names "Edwardo's Love" (swim up bar), "Damion's special" (main bar), "Kavion's special" (beach hut)!
One tip I had read and so glad we followed - we brought our insulated thermos for our drinks on the beach. This kept our drinks cold and clean, encouraging us to "pace" our drinking and enjoy!

Beach Security: We went concerned about how we would feel about the beach vendors but we found this to be a non-issue! The vendors are only allowed up so far on the beach, which reduces the opportunity to appoach you. A simple polite "No Thank you" sent them on their way. We enjoyed talking with some of them. Security keeps a close eye on the interactions and will immediately come over to see that you are comfortable and accepting of the interactions. If you are uncomfortable the vendor is immediately asked to move on. We NEVER felt uncomfortable! Even when we walked off the resort down the beach we never felt we were in danger or pushed to aggresively by anyone selling their wares.

Food:
For the most part we loved the food. As with any place you find a few things you enjoy less than others.
Seagrapes: Loved the sweet potato chips and the dips, Veggie Burgers were awesome!
We also enjoyed the fish tacos, snapper sandwich
Cabana Grill: Great burgers, nice to have this outdoor option in between larger meals.
Patios: Wonderful pizzas anytime of the day! This was our favorite breakfast spot. Loved
the breakfast pizza, banana stuffed french toast, omelettes. Lunches and dinners were all
wonderful...never found anything we didn't like!
Palms: Breakfast buffet was ok, the omelette bar was very good but the buffet itself was
not always very warm. The dinner pasta bar is fabulous!
Lemongrass: We ate here just once and enjoyed the atmosphere and food very much. We
didn't have time enough to make a second reservation but I don't think we would have
anyway. It was good but we found the other restaurants were preferrable.
Feathers: We ate here once, although the food was ok we did not care for the enclosed
dining. The accustics were not good for relaxed conversation. Why be indoors when you
have such beautiful outdoors?

Activities: We did the Catamaran Cruise which was awesome! Because of the rough waters the day we went we were not allowed to swim in the caverns. We were a little disappointed in this but the cruise inself was worth it anyway!
We enjoyed the nightly music in the Palms. The Friday night Shipwreck beach party was impressive. Superbowl party all day long on the beach, with 3 large screens set up on the beach to watch the game that evening.
Sports Complex was great. We thought we would use it more than we did...there is just so much to do all the time if you chose to do them that we couldn't fit everything into one week!

Staff: CSA staff were great! We found it refreshing to be surrounded by people that were happy at work and genuinely enjoyed the guests. EVERY staff member was pleasant, we were always greeted with kind words whether it was wait staff, housekeeping or groundkeepers!
Kirk in Entertainment was great! :) Kirk- you are awesome! Will definitely keep in touch by facebook!

The only glitches we experienced:
Our room air conditioner did not work when we first checked in, so we called the front desk, they sent someone down right away and they had if running properly by the time we had gone to dinner and walked the beach.
Since we were traveling with another couple, we had requested rooms near each other but were given rooms in separate buildings. This wasn't really a problem but was surprised that near one another ended up being separate buildings near each other.

CSA is not all the glamour and glitz of some places but it was very clean, beautiful grounds & beach. The staff and atmosphere of CSA makes you truly feel welcome. CSA provided the true relaxed, friendly atmosphere we needed for a laid-back, stress-free wonderful vacation that you sometimes can't get from those stuffy glam resorts!
If you are considering CSA Negril...don't hestitate! Do it!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank CharmedwithCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.1 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
40.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Property: Couples Swept Away
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing