We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd review for 2nd trip!”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I reviewed this resort back in November of 2010 and had nothing but positive things to say about it. We actually loved it so much that we just got back last night from our 2nd trip and are already planning on going a 3rd time (not sure when, but we definitely HAVE to go back!). We went November 5th through November 12th for our 2 year anniversary. I totally understand why we met so many couples that were on their 10th+ trip!!!

The Beach:
Amazing. The staff is out each morning raking up leaves and raking the sand to make sure it looks amazing when you get up. Lots of chairs and floaty things for everyone no matter how many people are on the beach. Unfortunately tons of people get up at 5am to reserve palapas so those are hard to come by unless you're hardcore like that- I'm not, but there are always plenty of hammocks and shady spots to hang out in.

The Included Activities that we did:
1. Catamaran Cruise. We didn't get around to this last time so we went this time and it was great! We didn't know this before boarding, but it is NOT run by the resort so bring tip $$ for any vendors on board/service you receive. No harm if you don't but remember that this is how people make their living so tip if you remember! This cruise takes you along the gorgeous Negril coast and over to some caves where you can jump in and go swimming. The staff on the boat are really nice and entertaining and the view from the boat is great. Totally a good idea.
2. Shopping Trip: Again, tip your driver! This took us to Time Square which was pretty touristy but a great idea if you want to bring back coffee and rum and don't want to pay resort prices (it's cheaper here).
3. Repeaters Dinner: If you are invited to this- GO. The food was phenomenal.
4. Other things we did were the Tye Dye (I forget the guy's name that ran it but he was freaking hilarious. His name started with a D and he was on the entertainment staff). Also Appleton Rum 101 which goes over the differences between all the rums. We saw the steel drum band which was AMAZING, shipwreck beach party wound up being held in the Palms so that was just okay. Entertainment was pretty good at the palms. Mostly I was tired from drinking so I don't really remember.
5. Margaritaville: We actually could have probably walked here but if you want a ride and to have someone from the resort kind of look out for you, then go on their tour. Pretty touristy but still fun!

The Bars:
The two that we went to (both trips) primarily were the swim up bar and the martini bar. Both of these have GREAT drinks with AMAZING bartenders. You'll get awesome service and with every bartender we encountered we could just be like "give me something fruity with rum" or whatever, and they'll make you something random and fantastic.

The Food:
We didn't make it to Feathers this trip cause we slacked on making reservations so I'm not gonna include it. The Palms is a great buffet restaurant with an a la carte dinner. We went a few times for breakfast, lunch, and once for a la carte dinner and once for buffet dinner. All of it was great. We had a server one night who recognized us the next night and came up to us just to say hi and see how we were. I can't remember her name - I really wish I was better with names!!! Lemongrass is the Thai restaurant that is my FAAAV. We went twice for dinner, the 2nd time being LOBSTER night on Saturday. Amazing, amazing service. Cabana Grill is the one by the pool which is actually quite good! Tried the Jamaican patties, the tikka veggie wrap, and the jerk chicken. They also have sweet potato fries... definitely get those. Patois Patio is a la carte for all three meals and we always had great food! Try the banana stuffed french toast for breakfast, and try at least one of the pizzas!!! I remember one night we had a server named Uleasa (Unsure on spelling, but hey at least I got the name) who was the best server we had at that restaurant. We asked her to get us shots and she came with with overproof and simple syrup- she doesn't mess around!! Hahaha.

The Rooms:
We got upgraded upon arriving which was pretty awesome. The rooms are pretty basic but the beds are comfortable and they'll stock your mini bar with whatever you want.

The Staff:
Everyone that works here is amazing. A few people I want to mention that really stood out are Krystal, Rushaine, and Shelly on the entertainment team. All of them are great and make all the guests feel like they are really at home but those three really stood out for me- especially Rushaine cause he's freaking hilarious. Again all of the servers and bartenders are great. Eduardo and Ruel will definitely take care of you at the swim up bar! Ruel gets everyone engaged at the bar playing games and interacting which is awesome.

So basically, all of this rambling is to let you know that you should just go ahead and book your trip already- unless you randomly hate great service, great food, and a great Carribean vacation!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrianneElyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,793 - 2,799 of 5,415 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Couples Swept Away in Negril from 10/22/12 to 10/28/12. This was our first time in Jamaica and several friends had recommended not only Jamaica as a great vacation spot, but also this particular resort. It is a great value for the money, both for plane tickets and the all-inclusive resort package. We worked with Melissa at Beach Bum Vacations in order to plan and book this trip and were thrilled at how easy the whole process was and how smoothly our trip went thanks to her help. She is thoroughly informed on a variety of vacation destinations and talked through all of our questions with us at length. Her customer service skills and prompt responses were what impressed me the most since so many vendors are lacking that these days. At the resort, we stayed in a beachfront verandah suite on the 2nd floor and would definitely pay the little bit of extra money to stay in a beachfront room again. It is totally worth the money to have that view from your room and be able to quickly check out the weather and beach area before leaving the room. Also, since we were affected by Hurricane Sandy during our stay, we ended up spending more time in the room than we anticipated so it helped that we could still feel like we were right on the beach even from our balcony. I was a little disappointed that it didn't feel like there were a lot of things to do while everyone was waiting to see if the hurricane would come to our side of the island, but the resort put safety first, and I suppose you can't ask for much more in that situation. We loved the fact that the beach was not crowded with people, and we were hardly ever bothered by anyone selling things on the resort property while walking the beach or the rest of the resort grounds. The inside of the rooms is nothing spectacular but the point of a place like this is not to spend much time in the room. If it weren't for a lot of activities being canceled due to the hurricane, we would have had a fuller experience here, but if was definitely a beautiful, relaxing, location and we would give it another shot during a different time of the year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our 3rd vacation at Couples Swept Away,and it still is our favorite place we have ever vacationed! We stayed in the Atrium Suite again (which we love!) and had an amazing,relaxing vacation just like we knew we would. I'm not going to repeat all the great things I've previously said in my other 2 reviews, but just know this: This is THE place for delicious food, amazing beach, and relaxing atmosphere.Love it. Next trip,we are bringing some friends with us!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherienian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I vacationed at Couples Swept Away from 10/27/12 - 11/1/12. It's hard to find anything critical to say about this place. We booked the vacation only 10 days in advance (thank you Mitch@tripguy.com for taking care of everything). We were worried we might not be able to go since Hurricane Sandy closed Sangster airport, but Mitch took care of calling the resort and checking the conditions and he gave us the green light Wednesday before our scheduled Saturday departure. When we arrived at Sangster we went through customs, claimed our luggage and found the Couples Lounge (all in @ 45 minutes). They greeted us with champagne and offered us Red Strip on tap while our luggage was gathered for loading onto the bus. This literally took less than 15 minutes and we were on our way to the resort. No stops along the way allowed us to arrive within an hour and 20 minutes. The ride was very pleasant and the driver was entertaining. When we got there they greeted us again with champagne and we were in our room within 30 minutes. We asked for an atrium room and the location was perfect (#1222). Close to the Palms Restaurant and Hotel Lobby.
ATRIUM ROOM: We loved it. We were on the second floor and had a lovely view of the garden below. It was very private (unlike the beachfront rooms).
SERVICE: Everyone was friendly. One evening we got lost on the winding paths to our room and one of the cleaning staff led us to our door. We tried to tip her but she refused (as did our regular cleaning woman).
FOOD: Awesome! We are not foodies, but we know good food when we taste it. The food at this resort is very comparable to ordering off the menu in the USA. We hae stayed at the Riu Tropical Bay and Club Hotel Riu in years past. The buffet and jerk chicken is good at the Riu but everything is good at CSA. You can't go wrong. Try it all.
BEACH: Gorgeous. Plenty of shade and sun options. One couple told us they had been vacationing there for the past 9 years and the water was the roughest they had ever seen (because of Hurricane Sandy). Normally very calm and people float in the water on the mattresses provided. We went to Couples Negril to compare beaches and we (as well as other couples we talked to) said that there is no comparison. CSA has the more beautiful beach.
POOLS: My husband enjoyed the lap pool at the fitness center and I enjoyed the beach over the pool. The pool at Couples Negril is bigger and nicer than the one at CSA.
FITNESS CENTER: In one word: AWESOME.
WEATHER: Sunny and mid 80s everyday except the day we left when it rained pretty heavy on our way to the airport.
Overall, we both agree that CSA was our best vacation in Jamaica ever! Can't wait to go back.

+

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Context – We are 50/51 year-old married couple from Ontario, Canada. This was our 10th visit south and our 3rd trip to Jamaica (but 1st to Negril). In addition to Jamaica, we have been to Mexico (twice), the Dominican Republic (twice), Antigua, Grenada, and Venezuela. We have stayed at AI resorts, non-AI hotels and rented. We stayed at CSA for 8 nights from November 2-10, 2012.

Arrival/Transportation/Check-in – We arrived on a Friday afternoon at the same time as another flight but still got through customs and picked up our luggage very quickly (probably the quickest we have ever done it in the Caribbean). The Couples Lounge at the airport is a nice extra, although we were only there long enough to visit the restroom and grab a Red Stripe. We were driven to Negril in a small van with one other couple, who were also going to CSA. We enjoyed the trip as we had not seen this part of the island before. We had to wait a bit to check in as there were several people in front of us but everything was very smooth and pleasant.

Room – We booked a Gardenview Verandah Suite and were given a room on the third floor of building #8. The Gardenview Verandah Suites are at the “back” of the resort – furthest from the beach and closest to the road. However, the resort is stretched out along the beach so even the back is not that far from it. In fact, we could see the sea from our room (I think this would be the case for all third-floor rooms in buildings #8, 9, 10 or 11). As far as road noise goes, we could hear some when we exited our room at the back or were on our balcony, but it really wasn’t bad. The fact is that the road is close to the sea in Negril so you are going to get some road noise at most places.

Beach – The beach in Negril and at CSA is lovely. The water (when we were there at least) was clear, calm and extremely warm. The sand is fine and white. It was among the nicest beaches we’ve seen, along with Grand Anse in Grenada and the beaches in Punta Cana. The only things that were a bit lacking for us were the palm trees, which are quite short at CSA (I love the tall palms in the DR) and the scenery (there just isn’t that much to see from the beach here, compared to some other places we’ve been).

Grounds - The grounds at the resort are extremely well kept. I don't think we've ever been to a resort that was quite as "lush" as this one. There are few open space and virtually no grassy places at all. You feel like you are wandering through the jungle (if the jungle had nicely swept concrete paths!).

Pools and Hot Tubs – There are two pools and several hot tubs at CSA. The pools are both fairly small and basic. We didn’t use them and didn’t see too many other people using them, either. We did use the hot tubs several times and there were usually a few other people there. We’d stop by on the way back to our room in the late afternoon and watch the sun set. One day it was overly hot (probably about 104 degrees) but it was fine all the other days.

Food and Drinks – We thought that the food and drinks at CSA were a notch above other AIs we have visited. We particularly enjoyed Lemongrass and the a la carte breakfasts at Patois (especially try the banana-stuffed French toast). Feathers was also good, although the portions are small. The house wine at Patois and The Palms was drinkable; at Lemongrass and Feathers, it was actually quite good. The drinks at the bars were tasty – lots of choices and none of the ready-made slushy drinks you often get at AIs in Mexico and the DR.

Activities and Entertainment – There is only a very small “entertainment team” at CSA and not a lot of organized games etc. during the day. There are lot of things to do, though, if you are interested. I took a pilates class at the Sports Complex and was quite happy with it. The evening entertainment was okay – better than the shows put on by the entertainment team at some resorts, but not fabulous. We were there for two Fridays and many of the acts were the same. This is an area where CSA could improve.

Excursions – We took the included Catamaran Cruise and Shopping Tour and were quite happy with both. The Catamaran Cruise is 2-2.5 hours long and takes you over to the cliffs area. There is a stop where you can get of the boat and swim around a bit. The Shopping Tour is 1.5 hours and takes you to Time Square. They also include a trip on a Glass Bottom Boat, but we didn’t take that one. We did go to Black River and YS Falls. This was a long day. We left at 8am and got back at 4pm and spent a lot of time driving over some pretty bumpy roads. We thought it was worth it, but some people likely would not.

Check-out and Departure – Our check-out was uneventful. They do automatically include a $5 donation to the Issa Trust Foundation, which I personally don’t think is the most ethical practice, but they will remove it if you ask. We were able to check out on Friday night and then just drop off our keys on Saturday morning. Our transportation back to the airport was via a small bus. There were three other couples with us, one of which we picked up from Couples Negril. We purchased Club Mobay tickets from CSA when we checked out. They didn’t really get us through the line quicker because there was almost no line to get through, but we did enjoy the lounge. It was a nice way to end a great holiday!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_and_Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

As a Destination Wedding Specialist, it is important for me to see how hotels keep up with industry demands, when it comes to facility improvements and client satisfaction. Couples Swept Away is for a very discerning vacationer. Not all clients will enjoy “one of Jamaica’s best kept secrets”. What’s the secret (s) you ask? The touch of grace and understated opulence that transcends throughout the resort is a result of the painstaking care offered by Mrs. Issa as she enhances the property’s distinctive flavor; her choices of dramatic and colorful art pieces, furniture, lighting, and the romantic white hand-made hammocks that hang on some verandahs, serves to reminder guests that when one arrives here the outside world is literally “swept away”.
Your days can be spent on one of the best sections of Negril’s Seven Mile Beach, sun bathing and swimming. However if you want to keep up your athletic prowess you may want to walk across the road to their one of a kind 10 acre sports and fitness complex. Furnished with state of the art equipment, its centerpiece is the “intimate, softly lit” Oasis Spa. This is where eight private treatment rooms and a plunge pool to “die for” evoke the “swept away” theme.
You can also enjoy a private cruise on their catamaran as a couple or with other couples in a group or dive from their new dive boat. There are several water sport activities available for your enjoyment, (kayaks, windsurfing, sail boating, pedal boats, paddle boards, hobie sail boats and snorkeling (day or night). Swept Away has three swimming pools and five Jacuzzis throughout the property.
The property boasts 8 bars and 6 restaurants, where one can indulge in some of the best cuisine I have had the pleasure of consuming. My favorite restaurant, for which no reservation is needed, is the Patois Patio, where one can enjoy a wide variety of dishes that should satisfy every pallet.

My recommendation “Don’t even consider staying less than a week….get immersed, rejuvenated and truly enjoy the finer things of life”.

Room Tip: The Premier Beachfront Suite have an extraordinary wrap-around terrace or balcony that affords the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggie196127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our 2nd trip to Jamaica, first time at Couples Swept Away. AWSOME! We were spoiled from airport on! Our Daughter was getting married there so we decided to go week early for vacation. Georgous weather all week, beachfront 1st floor room (right across from Wedding Gazabo)' excellent service, great food anywhere we ate, endless beverages, excellent staff, any need was taken care of. Security was great, we felt very safe while we were there. I was nervous with the resort being in charge of our Daughter's Wedding, I had no need to worry! The wedding office did a georgous job, they had a 5 pm Sunset Wedding, never seem anything so beautiful!! Photos they took, beautiful. Our Daughter was given the wedding she hoped for! That was everything to us. Our family & Grooms family were there, & we all had a wonderful vacation/wedding. We will definitely be going back, any staff we passed or waited on us always asked how we were doing & if we needed anything. If you could ever say a "perfect vacation" we definately had that! Our family time together was so special, we met so many nice people from all parts of US. I never knew so many people got married in Jamacia, we could sit on our patio & watch them all during our stay, each one was beautiful & unique! Thank you Couples for helping our families have a wonderful experience, we will be back!!!

Room Tip: First floor beachfront rooms are great, walk down couple steps & you are on beach. We were not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,422 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,718 reviews
2 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,524 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
4,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $386 - $1,343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing