We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed and do not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not impressed and do not recommend”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went to Couples Swept Away for a friend's destination wedding. I've stayed at an all-inclusive in Mexico and have traveled to many beach resorts and was very excited for our first visit to Jamaica. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed and have no intentions of returning or staying at another Couples resort. The service at the resort was lacking - throughout our stay the staff was with not friendly or accommodating OR they were severely understaffed resulting in extremely slow service. I appreciate the country's laid-back culture, but this was quite disappointing. As far as the food, we were not able to make reservations at the hotel's two nicer restaurants before we arrived. So when we checked in, we attempted to make reservations but were not successful, as the restaurants were either 'booked' or closed. During our stay we stopped by a few times to see if we could get in and over 1/2 of the tables were open, but yet they were 'completely booked' and we couldn't get in. The food at the buffets was decent, although they ran out of eggs one morning. They also ran out of beer and vodka one night. Our friend's wedding was beautiful, however the wedding coordinators were understaffed and the wedding attendees had to do many simple things that the hotel staff should have done to prepare for the ceremony. The flowers delivered were not what the bride requested and no solutions were ever proposed to fix the problem (or any of the concerns that we brought up throughout the wedding day). The beach activities looked great online, but when we went to do the activities (kayaking, paddle boarding), they had very limited supplies, so only 2 people could paddle board at the same time, which is just crazy given the size of the resort. One of the paddle board paddles broke, so they gave people a kayak paddle to use instead... not acceptable. The staff working the activity desk were not attentive or friendly, which again was a theme throughout the resort. The staff came at 11pm to do turndown service (that was the only night we were in that early, but being awaken by someone pounding on your door at that time of night was shocking and a bit scary). Towels for the pool and beach were hard to come by.
Overall, the trip was fun as we were with a large group of people who can make the best of every situation but I would not return or recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MInnieKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,181
    1,243
    381
    180
    90
See reviews for
102
3,941
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our first trip to Jamaica, and it definitely will be a repeat destination. Getting from the airport and checking in was so easy, they even give you a free beer before your shuttle ride.

The beach was incredible, the staff was so friendly and helpful, and it has unlimited food and booze!!! The beach is private and lush with palms, making it super relaxing. My girlfriend and I loved floating in the water on the water lounge cushions and napping in the hammocks on the beach.

We did a few activities while there like kayaking and doing a couples massage class. Both were fun and I would do them again. Would have been cool to do other activities but we were limited on time. (Next time we'll probably go for longer.)

I like to work out while on vacation and I really liked the gym they had there. It was a large sports area with everything I needed, like a weight room, a running course, spinning, and tennis courts. I didn't use the lap pool but it looked really nice.

It was one of our favorite trips together and perfect for a getaway. We were impressed with our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the ocean are nicer and have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is our second year visiting Swept Away. I have to say we still love it and will probably return next year. We have stayed at several Sandals resorts in Jamaica. However, we feel you get far more for your money at Couples. The location is beautiful. The Beach is one of the best we have visited. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation this is it! The staff is great. They are helpful and gracious. The resort offers several activites and tours. However, we wanted to relax and we had plenty of time to do so. The beach allows locals to walk and sell their goods, as well as to perform for you. I enjoy this aspect of the trip. You get to meet the locals and see the wonderful crafts they offer. We purchased several wood carvings from Mountain Man. His work is beautiful. The guitar playing, drum beating and singing entertainment is also great. These people simply are entertaining and deserve a few dollars for their efforts. The liquor at the resort is great. We did hear several people complain they could not get what they wanted. However, me and my husband did not issue what so ever. There is plently of Appleton,Grand Marnier and the Margarita's were great! This made me happy. As usual the food was top notch! I can not pick a favorite eatery. They are all great and deliver a quality meal. There are several options for lunch. The beach cafe, the buffet, Patios and Sea Grapes. All of which are casual and layed back. Our room was the same room we had last year in building 4. We can see the beach from our patio and we were located close to Patios, Feathers,the cafe and Piano Bar. The noise is minimal and did not disturb us at all. Just a little note about the cleanliness. The rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels are never an issue. By Jamaica standards this place is vey clean. However, if you ever traveled to Mexico or the Bahamas,Jamaica is not the same. However. this resort is beautiful and highly recommended. I would like to try some of the other Couples properties. However, it will be hard to pull us away from this gorgoeus beach , quality food, drink and service any time soon!
.

Room Tip: Love Building 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank budway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This has the real Jamaican flaw with plenty of class. So many Jamaican resorts try to accomodiate the Americans and or the Europeans and lose the Jamaican life style. Couples does not and stays true to the Jamaican life style. That's why we go back time and time again.

My hats off to to the management in keeping what they no best. We don't come to Jamaica to have American and/or European culture pushed upon us.

Keep up the tremendous work and never stop striving to impress.

Room Tip: all rooms good, it's what you make of it, We will back Jan 213
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaJamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Couples swept away is the best hotel in Jamaica, it has the best beaches, best hotel, best for relaxing and free booze 24/7, everyone puts in 100 per cent (staff) hope to be returning for our 5th time

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and i visited Jamaica in early August 2012. We could not decide between Negril or Montego Bay area. So we split the week and what a great choice it was. We spent 4 days at Couples and 3 days at Iberostar Grand. We loved the couple's experience over the more modern and new Iberostar. Both were great. We felt like the attention from staff, the friendly service as well as excellent food together with the daily activites made this resort one of our favorites. It was dated, but comfortable. It felt like a true rustic Jamaica experience with great food and drinks. Everyone was friendly and we met many new people during this part of the stay, so it made it difficult to leave to journey on to the other resort. If you are looking for new and modern the Iberostar is a good choice and is close to the airport (15-20 minutes) It is over an hour to Negril.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It was my first time in Jamaica and I had only seen pictures from my research around couples.com and had expected a beautiful resort, but Couples Swept Away was more than beautiful in so many ways! I knew it was going to be a great trip when we (me&my boyfriend) landed in the airport and was greeted with a champagne at the Couples lounge & an easy transport to the resort. Then, more champagne as the bellman took our bags to the room & we soaked in the "tropical rainforest"-like view. We stayed in a garden vernandah suite, that had a ocean view from afar. We were excited to see a form for mini bar items that could be re-stocked daily and a breakfast room service card (that we took advantage of everyday!) The Palms breakfast buffet is a must too, make your own champagne & bloody mary bar and all! Feathers is a great restaurant to dress up and have amazing food (excellent escargot). Lemongrass is equally as formal and just as good food, but with a thai twist....Top activities: snorkeling & a couples massage class :) My favorite part about the whole trip was being able to walk around with your love so carefree, and having anything you may need ready for you! Mats to float on in the warm water, bar to swim up to may you want a blended tropical drink, a hammock to lay on & watch the sunset, and the cabana grill for the best jerk chicken around! Cannot wait to go back!!

Room Tip: No elevators, but the top floor rooms offer a great view of the ocean/sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4,210 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#8 of 85 in Negril
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
1.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 85 in Negril
2,182 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Property: Couples Swept Away
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing