We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Negril Tree House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Negril Tree House Resort to your Saves list
Negril Tree House Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 29, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Negril Tree House Resort during Easter break and booked online directly through the hotel. The reservation process was very easy and inquiries were answered promptly.

The hotel is a great option for people who are looking more freedom to explore than at an all-inclusive. The staff were all very kind and helpful, especially the team at the beach bar/ restaurant. When we were there, there was no wifi available in-room, only in the lobby/ lounge area. (In my opinion, this is a blessing in disguise as it keeps folks from camping out in their room, and it was kind of a nice vibe to have small groups hanging out talking about activity/ restaurant reservations. Probably not the best if you need to work or make a lot of calls though.)

Our standard garden room (on the second floor) was spic and span, cool and comfortable. One thing to note, however: the buildings are all made from wood and not sound-proofed. If you are easily bothered by someone else´s noise, and end up with partying neighboors, or (in our case) a beach concert you might not be a happy camper. We are heavy sleepers, so it was no big deal, but it is something to keep in mind.

The food at breakfast (buffet, with eggs on request included in the rate) and at the beach bar/ jerk hut was very good. I really enjoyed the Jamacian food at breakfast (including bun and cheese for Easter!). The jerk chicken with rice and peas is a must, and the kitchen was more than willing to cook up some seafood specialties for us (stewed conch).

The Tree House has a section of beach with chairs and umbrellas, as well as a small pool. We didn´t use the pool, but it seemed like a nice feature for kids.
We hung out on the "hotel beach" a couple of days, but also spent time walking up and down and checking out other spots. Yes, there are a lot of vendors, but personally I didn´t find them overly a aggressive. Usually just a nice "no thank you" with a smile worked. And don´t be afraid to try some new things! (Like coconut candy, patti, and mangos!) There were a lot of activities offered, but we spent our 3 days being lazy on the beach ;)

Finally, the taxi service the hotel set up for us to get back to Montego Bay Airport was priced fairly (slightly lower than other services we checked). Also, for souvenirs check out the gift shop in the hotel parking lot. We found the prices to be okay (especially for t-shirts), and (of course) much cheaper than the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCCR506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    358
    79
    14
    10
See reviews for
196
462
79
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My daughter, her partner and I were at Negril Tree House Resort for 5 days in July.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Good food. Jamaican specialties at the breakfast buffet. Drinks on the beach. Snorkeling boat off the beach.... We would go back.
Georgine
San Diego

Room Tip: Away from the main house will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Georgine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Treehouse was very private, quaint, and clean. I usually have issues with ants but not this time. Second floor end unit was quiet, big and private. Because of the unique shape of the buildings, I could sit in my rope swing and take a daily nap with no intrusions...IT WAS WONDERFUL!!!

Room Tip: Get a second floor beech front - beautiful scenary Second floor end unit, totally private!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This vacation was wonderful. There are no words to explain how much fun I had. The staff at tree house resort are second to none, The food was delicious and the drinks are very good! My wife and I had so much fun we are definitely going back next year!!!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites are sunny and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great, relaxing place to stay. Enjoyed the friendliness of staff and other vacationers at the resort. Interesting local food options included on the breakfast buffet (included with reservation). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I attended a wedding at the Treehouse. My stay was for five days. It was simply amazing. From breakfast to bedtime, the staff was totally accommodating The breakfast, that is included, was very good every morning. The Jerk Hut, on the property, has thee best lunch. The dinner menu has such a wide variety to choose from. From the lobster to the curried goat, everything was delicious.
The beach has so much to offer. All the water activities you may want are available, as well as horseback riding. My massage on the beach under the shade trees was so very relaxing. I fell in love with the Negril Treehouse. I will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGaPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Traveling dates: November 2013
This was the smallest resort we have ever stayed at, but absolutely loved it. We loved how quaint and personable this place was. In November there were not at full capacity and it felt so private. Some nights at dinner we were one of just a few couples. We ate at the resort a few nights, other nights we walked down the beach to some other restaurants....all great food! You do have to be careful for people trying to sell you things (marijuana) along the way. They just come out of the little alleys and try to put things in your hands. That was our only complaint. We read online sometimes they are undercover cops so you really need to be careful what you buy and what you don't.
Wifi in resort is limited to the lobby.
Breakfast is served every morning above the lobby and it was delicious!
Beach! We can't say enough about the beach and water in Negril! The most amazing we have seen thus far. I laid in my floater in the water and hardly even drifted away and you could see clear to the bottom as far out as the boat ropes. Everyday the local fisherman would come to the beach and clean his fish. At that time the stingrays would come as week. There were at least 2 or 3 that would linger around, but never bother anybody, very neat to see.
The rooms were old but kept very clean and were plenty big for just the two of us.
Loved the jerk chicken stand, ate there all most everyday!
Would absolutely recommend staying here, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
3.8 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
3.9 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 88 in Negril
5.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Travellers Beach Resort
#16 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
0.3 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#14 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Tree House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Tree House Resort

Property: Negril Tree House Resort
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 29, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#17 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Negril Tree House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laid-back family friendly property. Fabulous breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Negril Tree House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Tree House Hotel Negril
Negril Tree Hotel
Negril Tree Resort
Jamaica Tree House Resort
Negril Tree House Resort Jamaica
Negril Tree House Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing