We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Staff - Noisy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Negril Tree House Resort
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Poor Staff - Noisy rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Rang the Hotel months before our stay to book with them. Staff member said I could not do that over the phone and had to go onto the Hotel's website - still unable to book, so called back. Told again, I had to then use Bookings.Com! On checking in, the Receptionist was unfriendly, very curt. We were never given details of anything i.e. activities apparently on offer at the hotel (found out on departure). Got to our room which was the furthest away from the desk to be greeted by LOUD TV noise from nxt door. Turns out the occupant had left a DND sign on door with TV blaring. The staff sent someone to open the door and turn it off. We later found out that they all knew this person who was there partying for a week with another group at the hotel. We asked for a room change to be told the hotel was sold out - it was not (we found that out later too). Unsurprisingly, we were woken both nights by the neighbour - the walls are like paper anyhow. The second night the TV was so loud at 2a.m. that when we called reception, they said they could hear it and didn't know where it was coming from! No apology offered on checking out. We asked to meet the owner - who never makes herself known (not a good sign), which in itself is odd. The place is run by unprofessional, uncaring staff and I woud not recommend.

Room Tip: No idea - we have tried this resort for two years (never again). Rooms are NOISY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank walker92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    404
    88
    18
    11
See reviews for
221
532
84
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is my second time here and I just love this place. If you are looking for posh and fancy, this is not the place. If you are looking for clean, relaxing and a comfortable atmosphere, then this is the place for you. The food in the restaurant is always good, especially the oxtails and beans and rice. The free breakfast is just wonderful. The staff is just awesome and the owner gives the family feel with her weekly cocktail party. It's a place I will return to again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed for a week there last June. Really great breakfast every day. Bar and Restaurant right on the beach. Be sure to pay for the breakfast plan in advance and you will save some dough. Nice and quiet place so if you are looking for the "crazy action" stay at a place further up the beach.

Room Tip: An oceanview room is the best, but It might cost you a little more. Ask the front desk and be frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

My impressive experience started in the planning of this trip. I planned a group trip with 9 other ladies in celebration of my birthday. Cheryl and Charmaine were extremely helpful with the numerous email transactions, changes, upgrades, downgrades, cancellations, additions, etc. They never made me feel like I was a bother. When I checked in, they had all the emails attached to my information and it was bigger than the Bible. It just showed how thorough they were.

In the past, I stayed in the regular room and I was impressed with that....but Suite K...was like the Jeffersons...moving on up....2 bedrooms/2 baths, 1 of the bedrooms had a bathroom attached, a side room with a full size futon, the 2 Murphy beds in the living room, and a twin in the loft. We had four ladies staying in the suite and it could easily fit 2 more with all our "stuff" and we were not crowded or falling over each other.

We had a dining area with dining room table, 3 tvs, a kitchen complete with a refrigerator, microwave, washer (clothesline for drying on the balcony), stove, and kitchen/cooking utensils. In addition to the clothesline on the balcony, there was a table with chairs, a couch and a hammock. I have stayed in a regular room, a suite, and now this "apartment" and I loved every room. I could even see the ocean although it is not an oceanview room. The only issue this time, in part due to the rains, were ants. We requested extra spray and realized that it helped keeping our garbage outside and cleaning up immediately. After a few days, the issue was resolved.

Another standout, was Janice. She took care of any and every need while on property. Remember a group of 10 women, total, and always did it with a smile. We hear about "Jamaican time" but she took care of every need immediately. I teared up in saying goodbye to her.

Jessica, the yoga teacher, was always full of spunk and very personable and friendly and I never even took a yoga class. That will change next time.

I noticed a notable improvement in the food. In the past, I only would have breakfast (always delish) and Chef Allans jerk chicken but the dinner/restaurant options were MUCH more tasty than in the past. I also enjoyed the specials. I talked to Gail about this and compliments to the new chef.

I am proud to call the Negril Treehouse my second home. Gail, the owner, love shows in her property. Well manicured gardens, beautiful beach, the improvements. She treats her guest like family. There is no other place for me in Negril. Home Sweet Home.

Room Tip: If you have a chance to stay in Suite K, do it. The regular suites are also nice. All rooms are a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Exhaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Omg! The best experience ever!!!!! This was my first visit and I'm already trying to figure out the next time I will be visiting. I really would like to come back before the year is out, but if it does not happen I will definitely be back, with the kiddos of course! I stayed at Treehouse 5/31-6/5, the staff was awesome! It truly felt like home, I sleep good, bed was nice and comfy. Janice is the most FUN LOVING, VERY POSITIVE, SMILING, LAUGHING PERSON YOU WILL WILL EVER MEET. I miss her and the whole Jamaican experience. I have several people saying they plan to visit Jamaica this year, and I'm telling them to stay at Negril Treehouse Resort. I will probably never be interested in staying anywhere else! And get this..the Resort is owned by a BLACK WOMAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The suites..Suite K is bomb diggity!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JazzFrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I've stayed at the Tree House on three separate occasions and each time feels like home. The staff is extremely friendly. One particular outstanding staff member is Janice. During one visit, on her off day, she made sure that she arranged to have a roll away bed in our room. She goes above and beyond to make sure the guests are greeted in friendly manner and well taken care of. She is very knowledgeable of the island and gave us suggestions on which places to visit and avoid. The housekeeping staff is also wonderful. I've never had an issue with cleanliness in my room. During my last visit, the remote to my air conditioning unit didn't work. The issue was addressed immediately. The owner is also on site should you have any questions or concerns. I'll never stay anywhere else while I'm in Jamaica.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HoustonMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I absolutely LOVED my stay at the Negril Tree House! There was great food, awesome hardworking staff, and its was clean. It quickly became like a 2nd home. I wanted to stay in a hotel that was not all "Americanized", but true to Jamaica, and I could not have stayed at a better place!! I absolutely ADORE Janice - she is extremely friendly and helpful. I loved seeing that smile every morning at the front desk!! By the second day - I was dreading having to leave in another 5 days. Their location was perfect, allowing for a few 2 AM walks on the beach! They make it so you never want to leave!.....and I promise, I WILL BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: 2-Bedroom Party house is GREAT!! Even the Murphy Beds are extremely comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheGlAmazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.9 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#7 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#13 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Tree House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Tree House Resort

Property: Negril Tree House Resort
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 29, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#17 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Negril Tree House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laid-back family friendly property. Fabulous breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Negril Tree House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Tree House Hotel Negril
Negril Tree Hotel
Negril Tree Resort
Jamaica Tree House Resort
Negril Tree House Resort Jamaica
Negril Tree House Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing