We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negril Treehouse Resort--wonderful hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Negril Tree House Resort
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Negril Treehouse Resort--wonderful hideaway”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived on Oct. 4th to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was wonderful. We were picked up from the Montego Bay airport by Kenny's Travel. We were using a voucher from Living Social so airport transfers were included. The moment we arrived at the resort we were treated like family. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was quaint but very, very clean. I have stayed at 5 Star hotels that were not as clean. The beach was beautiful and the ocean was beautiful. Breakfast was prepared daily, so we were full until dinner. Taxis were expensive, but to play it safe we used the taxi service offered by the hotel. Both of the hotel drivers, Trevor and Clive, were friendly and made great suggestions on where to eat and visit. We enjoyed the local tourist attractions, Town Square and Ricks. On our last night we had a romantic dinner at The Rock, it was well worth the visit. Dinner at Treehouse was not very appealing, so I do not recommend it. Instead there is a great place next door to Treehouse and several really good places on the beach. Back to the staff, Jermaine (the bellman) and the waitress staff were excellent. Every time they encountered us at the resort they wanted to be sure we were OK and asking if we needed anything. I had a massage on the beach by Sherry, it was excellent. Just the experience of having a massage on the beach was exhilarating. I did not invest in the tours or the glass boat rides. Instead we spent our 5days on the beach, visiting downtown Negril, and finding places to eat. This is a great place to visit and as stated earlier the staff is exceptional. There were earlier reviews about the people who hassle you on the beach but with a simple no they move on. After 5 days and 4 nights, it was hard to leave. Our trip to the airport was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who plans to travel to Negril. This is our new found hideaway and where we plan to celebrate future anniversaries. Going in the off season was a great added benefit because there were no crowds.

Cons, no refrigerator in the room and taxi rides are expensive

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean view that would be highly recommended. The AC was noisy but functioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    409
    90
    18
    11
See reviews for
226
539
86
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elko, MN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I've been to Negil numerous times over the years, and although I've been at the Tree House, I never actually stayed there until this past June when we went there on a whim. Being accustomed to how "Jamaican time" works, I was thrilled to actually get to talk to Gail (the owner)on the phone, make a quick reservation with transportation and arrive just two days later. Upon arrival, a great desk staff greeted us and immediatly delivered us to our room, which was clean, spacious and had a huge bathroom! We chose a garden front and loved the gardens everywhere, and the swings outside of everyroom are so wonderful that you'll want to sneak one home (but please don't as I plan on using them for years!). The beach was only steps away, and what a beach, you won't find a better one! The jerk chicken on the beach for lunch is great, and we enjoyed the buffet breakfast everyday which is fab!! I don't know where they get the ginger syrup- but YUM!! If you get the chance, make sure to attend Gail's reception or a morning paddle board (she has the nice ones, be sure to rent one- you'll love it!). The staff was great, they were there when you needed them, but also gave you privacy, they even went above and beyond when I had a bad sunburn, fining me aloe and applying it. Casita at the front desk was extremely helpful, and I highly reccomend you contact her should you need anything. This place was so great, we're taking 16 of our closest friends there this coming January.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I just returned from a 10 day vacation in Jamaica. We met 3 other couples at the Tree House in Negril where we all stayed for the duration of our vacation. I have to say it is one of the most beautiful accommodations on the seven mile beach. The rooms are very clean and the service is excellent. We enjoyed a breakfast each morning consisting of American and Jamaica foods to choose from. We had coffee brought to our room every morning to start the morning off right. The staff is very responsive making sure you have everything you need to be comfortable. We recommend the Tree House to anyone that wants a clean, safe and beautiful hotel on one of the most popular beaches in the world. Oh yeah... we love the bar on the beach!!!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, you will see spectacular sun rises and sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Treehouse. Had a great time. Gail and her staff went out of their way to make our stay a good one.

From the airport the Treehouse was about 1.5 hours. (The roads are much better now than they were last time we were there in 97)'.

From the time we arrived until the morning we left we were always greeted with a hello or can I help you.

The Treehouse sits on part of Negril's beautiful seven mile beach. The water is clear blue for miles!

The rooms are spacious and clean. We had not one complaint. They are updated and decorated beautiful. Each unit has it's own A/C that you control. (very important for these travelers)

The food was good. If you visit you must eat the pizza and order extra cheese! We would also recommend the red snapper! yummmm.


I give the Negril Treehouse a 5 out of 5 stars!

Thanks Gail,

We'll see you next year!

Leon& Cheryl

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherylhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

September of 2012 went back for yet another visit to the Tree House. My home away from home as I like to refer to it as. Staff-awesome. Beach-awesome. Room-awesome. If you want "The" place to stay on Negril Beach it would be the Tree House. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making this an awesome hotel.

Room Tip: If you dont like air conditioning then get an East facing room so the sun doesnt bake you in the lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaicanyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I just got back from spending a five night stay at this hotel.

Cons:
No internet/fridge in room
*do not trust the taxi guys from hotel they overcharge. Esp donald. Its best to go outside and catch your own local taxi which cost 100jamaican dollars.
Food is expensive at the hotel.....dont buy there. Its not worth. No taste thawed overnight no salt no flavor food. But the free breakfast is good. But other than that font buy lunch or dinner at the hotel. Not enough authentic jamaican food. I came to jamaica for a reason.
Staff was ok. But if you black you dont get treated the same way as a white person. They were friendly to a point. I felt a difference to how i was treated and greeted verus the with guest.
Dont do the glass bottom boat its not worth its 40$ smh do go expecting nothing amazings. Waste of money.
Peddler was pesky but when you need something it was offered to you such as rent a dread. Pineapple kush. Cooked lobster etc.. lol
Dont trust the travel desk prices way way way overpriced!!!!!
Bar over charge on liquer when you can get the same liquer/beer for far less of a price just a few feet away.

Pro
Great location. Great clean hotel/beach
Room is lovely
Not kid friendly but a lil kid accomadating
Free Breakfast was great
Great views

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yashikafuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is my second visit to the tree house and I once again, I felt completely at home and at peace.

PROS:
(1) there's enough land where you're not so close to the water and you can sit/lay in the sun further from the foot foot traffic (read:peddlers whose constant calling out will wake you from a good nap). There are ample chairs, umbrellas, and side tables for books and drinks.

(2) you are centrally located on Seven Mile Beach no more than a 10-minute drive from anything you may need or want to explore in Negril.

(3) clean beach towels! You can trade one for another as many times as you like.

(4) Free delicious breakfast! You have the option of traditional meals (ackee & saltfilsh, brown stew chicken, escovietch, dumplings, callaloo, etc.) or American breakfasts (eggs, waffles, oatmeal) and plenty of fresh fruit, tea, coffee, and OJ.

(5) I haven't taken advantage of the massages on the beach, but they look like a nice indulgence and the ladies do appear to really work on you :)

CONS:
(1) Standard rooms are not furnished with mini refrigerators. This means that buying beers, wines, and cold bottled water from their restaurant (rather than for cheaper in town) your only option.

(2) The lunch and dinner menu is pretty terrible. Everything appears reheated or thawed and microwaved, traditional foods lack flavor and re overpriced and "salad" consists of the bottom of a an iceberg head with cucumbers, tomato, and carrots. Do breakfast at the Tree House but if you're serious about lunch and dinner, go elsewhere. I was always stuffed from breakfast and would do a late lunch at Shereta's (Sea Wind Resort's restaurant is a 3-5 minute walk east) or but fruit, juice, or $1 beef/chicken patties from the vendors walking the beach. For dinner, I recommend Cosmos for authentic traditional cuisine and Catch a Falling Star or Xtabi in the cliffs.

(3) You have to pay for wireless in your rooms but it is free, and fast in the lobby, or just above the lobby on the terrace where breakfast is served.

All and all, a truly fantastic vacation experience, as always. I'm also sending a big thank you to Stacy and Janice for all of their kindness and hospitality :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tobah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
628 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
998 reviews
0.3 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 80 in Negril
1,108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Tree House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Tree House Resort

Property: Negril Tree House Resort
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 29, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#17 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Negril Tree House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laid-back family friendly property. Fabulous breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Negril Tree House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Tree House Hotel Negril
Negril Tree Hotel
Negril Tree Resort
Negril Tree House Resort Jamaica
Jamaica Tree House Resort
Negril Tree House Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing