We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamaica Tamboo

Jamaica Tamboo
Ranked #93 of 194 Restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Best Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Best Pizza, right on the beach. Wonderful staff. Would recommend this place to everyone. Really enjoyed it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Wynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love the lobster pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Look for the "Lobster Pizza" sign on the beach. I am a picky Chicago pizza eater, so we usually don't eat pizza on vacation. This is a notable exception. This is a decent hike (maybe 1 mile) from our hotel at Country Country, but it turns out to be a fantastic outing. By the time we would get here, we would be so hot. So, order 2 icy cold Red Stripes and a lobster pizza. Then, go for a swim while they cook. It takes a while. I guess it's a lil pricey - but so worth it. And you can't beat the view.
One of the days we made the walk only to find out they were out of lobster! I almost cried. That didn't stop us from going the next day tho! mmmmm

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had to wait a little while for out pizza but we're pleased when we got it . The crust was a little different , it tasted great when it was hot but as it got cooler not s good as Angela's or CIAO JAMAICA

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lobster Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband loves this place's Lobster Pizza. The first time we went here they had a worker named Slinky who waited on us. Nice guy. Forward a year later we are walking on the beach and we lovingly hear "I KNOW YOU!!! I RESPECT YOU" After squinting our eyes from the noon sun we see Slinky. He actually remembered us from the one visit a year before. Most Jamaicans will tell you they know you, call you "My Friend" etc but this guy was genuine. I come from Chicago, home of the best pizza in the world so I am pretty spoiled as far as pizza quality goes. Id have to say that Tamboo probably has the best pizza that Ive had in Jamaica. It will never compare to Chicago pizza but Lobster Pizza on the beach is pretty hard to beat.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank hearsechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bed, beach, beer, and food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Our visit to Tamboo was a last minute reservation, and they were very accommodating. We were able to recharge our batteries at the outside bar while watching the waves roll in. Their food was delicious, Jamiacan breakfast with Johnny cakes an kalalu, and a large variety of entrees for lunch or dinner. Lobster pizza, Curry chicken, and Jerk chicken were our faves! There was a mega Monday's party which happens each week. Over all experience was pleasant. Good People!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 15star25star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamaica Tamboo also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Jamaica Tamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing