We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprise”
Review of Jamaica Tamboo

Jamaica Tamboo
Ranked #90 of 196 Restaurants in Negril
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Assiniboia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

It was nothing special but definetly adequate. we felt safe and were treated great. what more could you ask for. we had booked into the fun holiday and were sent to the tamboo. it was all we were wanting in a hotel. clean and friendly. thank you

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carla p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Had pizza here a couple of times. Had the breakfast pizza which made us come back a second time. traditional Jamaican breakfast was quite good as well. Service was above average.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gluecipher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Slow service and pricy”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We tried Tamboo as we were passing by on a walk and it was dinner time. Average in appearance we were the only customers for dinner. Pricy and un memorable food. There is better elsewhere so I would not go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank wnyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba CA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great lobster pizza, the worst service I've ever had”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We tried Tamboo twice as we heard great things about their lobster pizza. The rumours are correct, the pizza is fantastic, but, as we found out on our second visit; be prepared to wait. First visit was a bit of delay, for food and drinks, but the second visit was ridiculous. It went way beyond the typical laid back Jamaican service; we were one of two groups in the entire place, and waited over 2 hours for our food. When we complained to our server (who was less than gracious) we were told that there were only two staff working her, and the cook. I think the only reason we were finally served before the 3 hour mark was that we threatened to just pay for our drinks and leave. This was on New Year's Eve, which has tons of people out and about on the beach. Odd. Also odd was the 'music' man playing alternating Bob Marley and Bob Dylan songs, extremely loud over very poor sound equipment. It was a terrible experience.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Riggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great time”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

have friends there too. beach parties good music and just plain fun.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sueinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamaica Tamboo also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Jamaica Tamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing