We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food/Atmosphere”
Review of Ristorante Da Gino

Ristorante Da Gino
Ranked #166 of 194 Restaurants in Negril
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food/Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our food was outstanding here and a great value. The place is small open air and the kitchen had awesome smells! Excellent dinner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripofMonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    11
    10
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty decent”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

When you visit an italian resturant in Jamaica, you expect the worse. Don't, it's actually quite good.

Their wine list needs to be updated though

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyFriendGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
259 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Unmemorable and overpriced”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ristorante Da Gino was our attempt to try something a bit more upscale than the budget fare we'd been eating, much of which (like the fish patties, egg sandwiches, scrambled akee with calalloo, escovitch, and jerk chicken) was excellent from the small restaurants and jerk chicken vendors that dot this stretch of road.

I had some sort of pasta dish with marinara sauce and a salad and a vegetable cream soup. My husband had some other pasta dish with a marinara sauce and a salad. It was on the pricier side. It was nice, visually, being on the beach, but the pasta was an overcooked kind of gluey mess with drippy flavorless red stuff on it, the salad was basically some iceburg lettuce, and the vegetable cream soup tasted suspiciously like a Campbell's canned cream of celery soup, very salty and without any outstanding features. I didn't eat more than a few bites of it. The bread was quite nice, and the service was good, although when I asked what kind of vegetables were in the soup, the answer was, "all kinds of vegetables." But with so many other good options, for this price, I wouldn't bother. There are far, far better restaurants in Negril for all budgets.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aqusite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
564 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Overall a good night out”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner just because the restaurant was rather close to our hotel and we were not really expecting much but we were favourably surprised. First there was enough light at the table to allow us to read the menu (very unusua in Jamaica, it seems!) there was a nice selection on the menu of food and wines (and we had our best wine so far) and the food was.... Perfectly nice. Staff was smiling and welcoming. We will go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelaround59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The food was good. I don't expect great service in Jamaica, but this was too bad to overlook. The server was very sweet, but had no knowledge of the menu, and had to run back to the owner with any and all questions we had. The owner was very unyielding when it came to simple requests. It was a struggle just to get pasta with meatless sauce. My friend ordered "fresh" tuna on pasta, and the tuna was gamey and tasted like freezer burn. When she sent it back, the owner sent the server back to tell us that it was caught that day. Either way, it was horrible and there shouldn't have been any argument from the owner. My friend finally got a new dish, but we were finished eating by the time it arrived. What's worse is, we were literally the only table. Recommendation: Order strictly off the menu. Don't make any special requests. If you do this, and don't mind a very long wait, the food is good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Gino also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Ristorante Da Gino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing