We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST stop for us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicken Lavish

Chicken Lavish
Ranked #45 of 195 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Rutland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A MUST stop for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We always have our first or second meal at Chicken Lavish when in Negril. Doc runs the place well, and the food is always first-class. Great Jamaican cooking. He doesn't even ask what I want, just knows to bring the Conch soup and Curried Conch. Tender and rich and nicely spiced! Drinks and meals more than reasonable. Well worth the walk/ride to get there. I feel sorry for those staying an all-inclusive! They never get the chance to taste the great cooking of Doc and his staff at Chicken Lavish!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    45
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the taxi scam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

First of all, no complaints about the food, it was pretty good. However we were less than happy with the owner who, when we phoned to book a table, led us to believe that he was laying on a free shuttle to take us to the restaurant. Once we were there it soon became apparent that not only would we have to pay for our journey there and back but that he had also misled us as to the taxi fare. When we got back to our hotel the taxi drivers then charged us even more. We don't begrudge paying a reasonable fare but it felt like we were fed a line in order to get us to the restaurant. We also found the owner to be rather arrogant. A shame since the food was actually very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanOSullivanE17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Miss.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was my 9th visit to Negril, Jamaica and I have never missed going to Chicken Lavish for a meal during those visits, sometimes more than once. They have the coldest beer and the best chicken ever. But you go for the "World Famous" conch soup. My husband thought I was crazy for ordering soup on his first visit. Now he is the one that plans our visit and orders the soup!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food was authentic and tasty (try the creamy chicken) the the rum smoothies were off the chain. The management makes you feel welcome and will sit and talk/drink/laugh with you. I love this place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine, authentic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We enjoyed fantastic food - lobster and jerk chicken - and a great conversation with the owner. It was recommended by a local and worth the ride there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken Lavish also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Chicken Lavish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing