We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and always a smile”

Dudley's Big Ship Taxi and Tours
Ranked #1 of 78 Tours in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide Taxi, Tours and Transportation to and from all Major Attractions in Jamaica. With friendly drivers and clean vehicles to match we take you from your Resort to Destination safely and only stop upon request. Visit our website for rates, departure times, inquiries and reservations. "Private transport, private taxi, private tours. No rush, you can do what you want!"- Dudley Warren, Owner/Manager Big ship Tours and Transportation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and always a smile”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I contacted Dudley a month or so before our trip to accommodate a large group of us from our resort to an evening at Ricks cafe. Fast responses and kept in touch up to the day of our excursion. We had time to tour the "real" Negril, he gave us lots of history and local information, and stopped at the Red Dragon bar for a drink and jerk chicken snack. Safe, comfortable, reliable ride to and from Ricks. Highly recommend and hope to get back to Jamaica again to see Dudley again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jene793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    17
    2
    2
    0
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenville, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcome Home!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Those are the first words out of Dudley's mouth upon greeting us at the airport. My wife and I travel to Jamaica every winter and for the past three years we have used Big Ship Tours for our airport transfers and sightseeing. Each time we have been greeted at the airport by Dudley, the proprietor. He always has cold Red Stripe and this year he also had homemade Rum Punch. My wife really liked the punch.

We really love Jamaica and enjoy seeing the sights off of the beaten path. This year we took a trip with John, who works for Dudley, into the hills outside of Negril to the Blue Hole. It is a natural pool of water that is in a cavern accessible only by jumping straight down 20 feet or so. I jumped and the water was cool and refreshing. There is a small hotel with a pool and bar on the premises It was a really laid back atmosphere. He drove us above Negril where the view of 7 mile beach is breathtaking. Try getting that with a tour bus.

Best of all, his rates for private tours are competitive with the larger group tours where you have no say where and when you stop. My wife and I highly recommend Big Ship Tours for all transportation needs when staying in Jamaica.

Yeah Mon!

Jud

Visited January 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
3 Thank JamaicaJud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely" No problem, Mon", with Big Ship ”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Dudley was a big reason we had so much fun in Jamaica. Driving the roads in Jamaica are not an easy task if you're a" do it yourselfer" like me, ie, like to go when and where you want to by renting a vehicle at the airport .But this trip I decided to leave the driving to the local pros, one of which is Dudley with Big Ship tours. And I was really glad I did. We hired him both for airport transfers and a half day trip to Mayfield Falls.
He communicates with you before arriving, is patient when the plane is late arriving at the airport, drives carefully, and tells you so many things about the places you pass, where to go and what to avoid. You're safe,there's no getting lost, or late arriving. It's just more fun and relaxing. We will definitely use his services on future trips to the Negril area.
And thanks also go out to to Jermaine and David, who work for Dudley as excellent drivers. Respect!

Helpful?
Thank Pablodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Ne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“want to give Jerome a big thankyou”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just wanted Jerome a big thank you for making our trip back to the airport fun and interesting. He is a safe, careful driver. The owner Dudley did well with hiring his crew.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lnjjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
“MayfieldFalls”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Dudley took a group of us to the Mayfield waterfalls, he is AWESOME!! His company is safe and he takes good care of you!! The mayfield falls are awesome too, great excursion we got some awesome pics in the falls, definitely recommend it. Dudley took us for jerk chicken on the way back that was waayyyy better than anything we had at the resort we were staying at. If you want to have a safe but fun trip with a company that can be trusted, big ship is the way to go!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jill o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dudley's Big Ship Taxi and Tours also viewed

 

Been to Dudley's Big Ship Taxi and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing