We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SuperClubs Rooms on the Beach Negril
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed 3 days at Rooms on the Beach before going to Sandals and we wanted to leave Sandals and go back to Rooms. Cute little hotel. We had a room that walked out to the ocean. Clean rooms. A/C that works. No mold or mildew. Very nice bathrooms. Big LCD tv with Sat. The pool was good. They do not serve Dinner though. We would definately go back. The beach here was amazing. You could see under water for ever in any direction. No weeds, just beautiful sand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    267
    100
    28
    15
See reviews for
81
311
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I hope this review helps, travelled 7/18/12 - 7/23/12
I've travelled to about 10 carribbean islands and enjoyed them all because my expectations are adapted to where I am. I do no expect US type luxury except maybe at the all inclusives. If I pay for a vacation then I'm going to enjoy it, not sit around and complain.
PROS
hotel - I was ocean front the room was large, clean, daily maid service
Staff - nice, helpful, will miss all of them
Beach - ok, was told they lost beachfront in the last hurricane. Much better beaches in Antigua, Barbados, Dominican republic.
Entertainment - try jungle down the block on Thursdays, seastar inn buffet and live reggae band on Saturdays, seasplash inn beach party on Sundays
Food - you're in Jamaica, great food especially jerk, curry, brown stew meats
CONS
rooms is on a public beach and you are harrassed all day by peddlers even while you're swimming. This was a major turn off for me and will be the only reason I might not go back to negril. If I return it will be all inclusive which are on private beaches .
They need to make seven mile beach private for tourists with few public areas for locals
Hope this helps

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are bigger, better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ebony195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

What can I say? Simple hotel with amazing beach, great service, big clean rooms. Location is great and close to night life. Do not hesitate to book this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anoko04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I traveled to Negril for 4 nights this past week. Rooms is an IDEAL location right in the center of the 7-mile beach. We literally walked everywhere with the exception of the cliffs. We were able to upgrade our room from a gardernview king to an oceanview for $10/night (amazing!) The room was very large and basic, with a few modern touches. One of the employees helped us bring in a table and chairs as there was no seating in the room aside from one chair at a desk. The oceanview was so beautiful and made every morning feel like a dream. I only wish there was a balcony, or a screen on the door. At nights bugs would fly in the second you opened the door. We had a few random bug encounters in the room, but that was no surprise considering the surroundings and humidity.

Rooms itself is very well maintained. The breakfast was ok, but took FOREVER to come. I understand island time.. but it's breakfast. WE ARE HUNGRY! It should not take over 20 minutes to get some toast.

Another drawback was WIFI. It didn't work at all when we arrived (my bf had to do work) and there was nothing they could do. Also $15 is very steep. TIP - go next door to 'easy vibes' and use their WIFI for free. It's on the right of the hotel, beachside.

I thought it was so crazy that they actually had a wall on the beach, but now I understand why. The vendors are really in a league of their own. They will still yell to you, but they can't approach unless you walk out. Rooms was the only hotel I saw after walking up and down the beach that has a wall for this reason.

*TIPS*
-For the cheapest beer take a right out of the hotel on the beachside to the beach bar/convenience store
-For free WIFI take a left beachside to 'Easy Vibes'
-For the BEST jerk chicken go to Jerky's, outside the hotel on the left on the streetside

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TheWanderlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at Rooms on our first trip to Jamaica to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. We are not all-inclusive people, and this was perfect for us. It is almost in the middle of 7-mile beach, and is very close to night-life, although it was quiet at the hotel. We walked to downtown several times from here. The rooms were clean and the staff members were very friendly and helpful, especially the security people. The grounds are pretty and well-maintained.

We didn't know it until we arrived, but laundry is available, although we had to walk across the street to purchase detergent.

If we stay on the beach again, it will be here.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have vaulted ceilings. Face the main walkway and you won't have a balcony acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eamontk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We visited Rooms on the Beach for the third time in a year arriving April 27, 2012 for eight nights. We used JUTA for transfers and again they were fantastic. We were the only ones on for the trip to Negril. At the hotel, there were a couple of new faces at the front desk, but we were still treated as old friends. Although the room we requested wasn't available, they worked with us to get us in it the next day since it was going to be vacated. We did rent a fridge for $8 per day. The next day, Sheilan (don't think the spelling is correct) was wonderful. She knew we were coming and had us all set for the room we wanted. We just can't say enough about her and the way she looks after us. When we moved rooms, maintenace was there in a timely manner to move the fridge and we were set to go. Everything about the hotel was still in great shape. The location could not be better, close to everything. As for breakfast, we have non complaints. Kelvin, Keisha and Gladston are great. Just remember, if you are there when they first open, they might not be ready....after all, you are on Jamaica time now. :) This trip we spent time with our Jamaican family that we met through Meet the People, laid on the beach, ate, laid on the beach...you get the idea. We did make it to the bat cave and a school in the Little London area. We cancelled a trip out to sight see after I fell and cut a knee open. My husband went out on the Ocean King with Shama to the reef to snorkel. We met Shama on our first trip and he is great to go on the boat with...another life long friend. As for food, don't miss Winston for jerk chicken on the street and Paul, the fruit guy, beside of him. They are to the right as you leave the front of the hotel. Great guys, wonderful chicken and the fresh fruit!!! I think we ate 5 pineapples and MANY nieseberries. Tell the guys that Jim and Karen sent you...and send our love. They will take good care of you. Also, Miss Sonia's across the street, featured in Caribbean Travel Magazine, was excellent. And, the Italian Cafe, I think we hit it three times. Don't miss the pattie man on the beach. Walking his bicycle, one pedal and no seat. he's the guy to buy from. $100 JA for a pattie and it was wonderful...he is super sweet and also featured in the magazine. What more can I say? Everything at Rooms on the Beach was perfect...except check out. They actually let us leave!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nerakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

18°17'37.09"N
78°20'18.58"W
Rooms was a surprise to us even though we knew it was on seven mile beach we didn't realize we would b e 10 meters from the beach and another 10 to high tide.
Our room was newly painted and the everything worked, generally not true of all Caribbean resorts. One of our groups A/C failed but the staff worked hard to get it back in action, unfortunately they spent one sleepless night in the heat. We had one occasion of no water, but one phone call had it fixed in no time.

The restaurant was open for breakfast and lunch only, but with a dozen restaurants within 10 minute walk, they would have to compete with a lot of nice places. Beach food is very good and cheap, you might want to carry a small flashlight, as some operate by the light of the moon, but they may be the best of the lot. Don't expect fast food from any of the restaurants, arrive well before you are hungry, but remember you are on vacation no need to rush. I received two polite and respectful lectures on this from vendors.
The pool outside our door was kept spotless. Housekeeping and the rest of the service staff were very friendly, front desk was a bit less so.
Rooms has a private area walled off from the public beach by a knee high wall. Vendors come up to the wall but do not enter. If you move your chair onto the public beach you will be talking to a lot of vendors, a few will be selling illicit materials. If you have kids with you or are uncomfortable dealing with this, stay inside the private area when you are not in the water. The vendors are very polite no matter what they are selling, be polite and listen to the pitch before you say no thank you.
Bank machines (ATM) in Times Square shopping centre is 600 meters from Rooms
18°17'17.89"N
78°20'22.70"W
I would definitely stay at Rooms again, partly for the facility and partly for its location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.0 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
0.8 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.5 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#46 of 80 in Negril
278 reviews
81.3 mi away
Rooms Ocho Rios
Rooms Ocho Rios
#14 of 35 in Ocho Rios
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuperClubs Rooms on the Beach Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuperClubs Rooms on the Beach Negril

Property: SuperClubs Rooms on the Beach Negril
Address: 7 Mile Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#35 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SuperClubs Rooms on the Beach Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimately nestled within 2.5 Acres of lush flora, this 57-room hotel faces the Caribbean right on Negril's seven-mile beach, famed for its powdery white sand and spectacular sunsets. Rooms is a convenient base for the adventure-seeking, destination exploring traveler and within a quaint walking distance of an authentic Jamaican experience. The hotel features ocean front and spacious family rooms, swimming pool, on site restaurant and bar, gift shop, fitness center and Internet cafe. Rooms operates a continental plan and provides a daily continental breakfast. Fridges are available at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SuperClubs Rooms on the Beach Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superclubs Rooms On The Beach Negril Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing