We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$175
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$301
$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$220
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Country Country Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
$126
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$72
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$233
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Negril Tree House Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$128
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$277
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveler rating
375
173
89
27
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
173
89
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean pointdiamond clubhunter steakhousechanadorado restaurantpresidential suitehunters steak housegrand lidotex mexscores sports bartime sharegourmet marchetravel smartpool baraqua fitswimout roommartini bar
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 685 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2018

We stayed at this resort for 1 week. Our power went out about four of the nights we were there in the evening. For some reason the back-up generators weren't functioning so we would be in the dark for various amounts of time. Some of the restaurants also lost power one evening so it limited where we could eat. Also EVERY morning between 6:30-7:00 am the security guard that sits in the hall started talking to other workers & woke us up. It sounded like they were in our room they were so loud. We tried to make the most of it but we enjoy sleeping in but that was impossible!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tammiemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmrng, Management Team at Hideaway at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tammiemoore,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent vacation and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It saddens us that we were unable to exceed your expectations during your visit; please accept our sincerest apology for the maintenance issues and inconveniences you experienced during your stay, this is certainly not the typical circumstance and your comments have been shared with the relevant managers for further review and immediate action.

It is our sincerest hope that we will be granted the opportunity of serving you to a future experience which will surpass your last.

Regards,

Hideaway at Royalton Negril
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

I am writing this review as we’re staying here.

The resort itself is decent.

Some areas were ok. But overall, the service was absolutely horrible, one of the worst.

1. It took us almost an hour to check in. Very disorganized. Not sure what was so complicated, but apparently they couldn’t pronounce our name correctly or even finding the right paperwork

2. Our luggage didn’t get delivered to our room for almost 2 hours. Apparently it was delivered to one of our friend’s room?

3. Our front desk receptionist was trying a good 5-10 minutes trying to push us to attend some VIP breakfast so we can preview their time share? Don’t need to hear you force a sale down our throats the first day.

4. No TV remote. I had to call them a total of 8 times in a span of 2 days. Couldn’t order food, couldn’t use the tv, couldn’t turn off the tv
5. Servers doesn’t seem like they want to work here, slow service

6. Waited about 2 hours for our food at their “sports bar”.. we actually just stood up and left. Wings and onion rings doesn’t take 2 hours

7. Your bartenders at the sports bar could care less when a guests is just standing there for 10 minutes waiting to order

8. They run out of towels by the pool? And apparently none of their employees seem to care nor find out when they would be getting fresh, clean towels? Their answers were “I don’t know” - continues playing on the phone

9. No towels when our room was cleaned/housekeeping

10. Buffet - meat station. Four employees, but one knife to to serve their guests? Either this resort is running out of money, or they just don’t bother.

11. Buffet - seafood grill. Decent food, towards the end of the night, the employees seem to care about cooking their own food and packing their own food rather than serving the guests

12. Gelato bar: I really like how 3-4 flies were just hovering over the pastries, in a glass enclosure. Best part, the employee sees it, totally ignores it

We’re trying to make the best of it since we’re here with a bunch of friends to attend a wedding. But this is the worst service I’ve ever had at a nice resort. What a waste.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Anson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmrng, Management Team at Hideaway at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Dear Anson L,

Thank you for choosing Hideaway at Royalton Negril for your vacation and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It saddens us that we have not exceeded your expectations and would like to extend our sincerest apology for the inconveniences you have encountered thus far. Kindly check your inbox for a private message as we would like to address your concerns in an effort to enhance the duration of your stay with us.

Regards,

Hideaway at Royalton Negril
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

We had another great trip to Royalton Hideaway! I would rate it 5 stars. This was our second trip to Royalton Hideaway in the last 6 months and it was fantastic!

I would highly recommend this resort. Before our trip I read some of the reviews since our last visit and was puzzled by some of the negative reviews. I think some people are hard to please. Also, with thousands of visitors each week I'm sure it's possible that a small percentage could have a bad experience. If you are considering this resort I would highly recommend that check it out for yourself.

We consider ourselves as experienced travelers, especially in the Caribbean and Jamaica. We have lost count but we have probably been to Jamaica 50 times starting back in the 80's. Our first few trips were to Montego Bay, Ocho Rios, and Runaway Bay before we discovered Negril. Since our first trip to Negril, we have been no other place in Jamaica. Jamaica is our favorite island in the Caribbean and Negril our favorite town. We have stayed at many of the resorts in Negril including Sandals, Couples, Riu, Point Village, Grand Lido, Couples Swept Away, and a lot of the smaller hotels. Before it closed for demolition, Grand Lido had become our favorite. We hated to see Grand Lido torn down but Hideaway is now the best resort in Negril and maybe in all of Jamaica.

Royalton is much larger than the old Grand Lido. They acquired additional property from Point Village and it is now the most scenic location along the 7 mile beach. The view of the sunset from the Ocean Point is unmatched by any location, even Rick's Cafe. It is not only a luxurious, well designed resort where every room has a nice ocean view, but what makes this a 5 star facility is the staff. There are so many friendly staff members! It is also nice when the staff recognizes us from our previous trips to Grand Lido, Point Village, and Sandals, etc. It amazes us that with so many visitors that they see week after week and year after year that they remember us. It makes us feel great when they welcome us back 'home'.

The staff is great across the board but a special kudos to the Travel Smart Staff - Judine, Keisha, Paris, and Tasha who made our trip extra special. They were all wonderful and attentive. And a special shout out to Keisha Rhodes who assisted us from before our arrival, upon our arrival, checked on us during our stay and made my wife's birthday celebration extra special.

CONS: The only negative was the television channels in the room. We visited during the World Cup and I was looking forward to seeing some of the games. Unfortunately none of the channels that covered the tournament were available in the room. It wasn't a big deal because we could go to the Sports Bar or walk to Margaritaville but it would have been nice to been more convenient to watch it in our room.

Overall, we love this place, the food, and the staff. We are already planning our next trip. I hope we will be able to watch Dallas Cowboys football during our next trip to Royalton Hideaway in December.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JFF_Football_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmrng, Management Team at Hideaway at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear JFF_Football_fan,

Thank you for choosing Hideaway at Royalton Negril for your recent vacation and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We appreciate your comments highlighting our amazing views, excellent amenities and attentiveness of our wonderful hosts who contributed to your positive vacation experience; they will certainly receive the recognition which he deserves.

In regards to your comments relating to World Cup 2018 channels; there was indeed a FIFA World Cup channel category which consisted of two local channels which displayed the games as well as our regular Sports channel category Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconveniences caused if you were not properly informed of this update.

It was certainly a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Hideaway at Royalton Negril
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

This was our first time in Jamaica for our yearly girls trip! I can honestly say from the moment we arrived in the lobby for check in we wanted for nothing! We are from Texas, and very much so pride ourselves on our southern hospitality. These folks definitely have us beat! My favorite and most memorable parts of our stay were classes in the fitness center. Kaffain was our kick box instructor. If you're looking to squeeze in some challenging yet fun physical activity during your stay, you will not be disappointed with the fitness center staff! Super fun and very professional! The swim up bar at the hideaway (adults only) was a great time also! Chana and Dwight took great care of us! If your looking to have a few cocktails and dance you cant go wrong with Scores sports bar! Rickey was hilarious and super fun! He definitely made our night! We look forward to visiting our friends at the Hideaway Royalton in Jamaica again soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmrng, Management Team at Hideaway at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Dear Brittany H,

Thank you for choosing Hideaway at Royalton Negril for your recent vacation and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We appreciate your comments highlighting our fitness activities and welcoming hosts. It was certainly a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Hideaway at Royalton Negril
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

i’ll try keep it short and sweet: stayed in May with my family and we had the best experience with the nature, weather, beaches, resort facilities but most importantly the staff!! can’t stress enough how incredibly everyone was!! BIG SHOUT OUT TO OUR BUTLERS DAMARI AND CLINTON - YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST ..my family and I highly recommend this resort without any hesitation will be back again and again!!

Thank you :)

The Elmans

Room Tip: oceanfront is dreamy
Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elmandanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmrng, Management Team at Hideaway at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Dear Elmandanya,

Thank you for choosing Hideaway at Royalton Negril for your recent vacation and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We appreciate your comments highlighting our wonderful amenities, resort facilities and exceptional service provided by our Butlers, Damari and Clinton.

It was certainly a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Hideaway at Royalton Negril
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews