We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful long weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Judy House Cottages and Rooms
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a long weekend trip to Judy's Cottages. My husband and I flew down from New York and it was very worth it. We stayed in Judy's Cottage -- the smaller and more private of the two cottages. Loved it! Spent many hours lying in the front porch hammock. The mattress is a little lumpy, my husband had a little trouble sleeping one night. Sue is a great host. She even drove us and some of the other hostellers to All Natural, a wonderful breakfast place. Thank you again, Sue!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NYSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your long weekend, lucky you to be close enough to Jamaica to do that. Looked at the bed and replaced the mattress, thanks for the feedback! Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and I look forward to see you back again one day for another long weekend or full vacation? One Love .. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 465 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I loved every moment of staying at the hostel. it felt like it was a little out of town at the start but once I got to know the area it was great to have the town and beach close enough to walk to but also to go home and have so much peace and quiet away from everything. Sue was great with answering any questions or concerns I had as I was a solo female traveller. I felt very safe in the neighborhood. If you get a chance join the locals at their church on a Sunday morning it was the most amazing thing to be apart of and they were beyond happy to have us there!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 564melissac564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Love that you all went to church! It was so appreciated by the community. Enjoyed your company too, very much. Hope you and my other Banff guest get to link up when back at work! Thanks for taking the time to write your review so soon after you got back. One Love

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

That was an amazing experiance to stay in Judy's House. Sue is such a wonderfull and welcoming person. The atmosphere in hostel was fantastic. The garden and hamacks were so relaxing. Hostel is little away from seven miles beach (which I found too crowdy and little bit too noisy), so I was really glad to be there. Thank you Sue for a fantastic time I had in Judys house. I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you writing the review and hope you enjoyed/still enjoying the rest of your travels around Jamaica and the world. All the hammocks have certainly been a big hit with everyone this year, glad you spend time relaxing in them too. Very please to hear you enjoyed your stay here so much, it was also great to have you around. One Love !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were in Negril for 3 days after being in montego bay and we loved it right away. We first went to Judy's house and fell in love with the place, it was what exactly want we needed after a less charming stay in Mobay. Sue (the host) is an amazing person to have when you first arrive in Jamaica. She knows where to go and how it can be overwhelming to be in that country when you are not used to it and she can give you some tips on that. The place is safe and the rooms and bathroom are clean. There is wi-fi, wich is not always the case in hostels in Jamaica. The location is amazing, directly in between the "tourist area" with the beach and resorts and the "local area" with more bars and restaurants. There is a local bar at the end of the hostel's street and it's one of my favorite place for my whole trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieCou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Love that you "fell in love" with my place, really enjoyed having you here too. An important of what I set out to achieve in both this and other businesses I have had here is enabling positive interaction between local people and guests. Helping guests enjoy the 'real Jamaica' is something I really enjoy doing. Many thanks for taking the time to review me and my place. One Love !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Lovely garden in safe community, a little bubble away from the hustle. Nice rooms, big plus from the safe in the rooms. Convenient self-service bar. Wi-fi service to log into the real world.
The sound of the tropics will help you sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Many thanks for your review & so glad you enjoyed all the detailed attention we pay the place so you do have all those little extras that are so important. One Love x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Judy's House is not merely a place to stay but an experience. It is a very peaceful, green, clean and relaxing environment and the host (Sue) is highly interactive so you have the benefit of not just a place to sleep but also a knowledgable tour guide and host who takes a holistic approach in taking care of the needs of guests. It is simply my best experience to date in Negril.. Being a Jamaican who lives in Kingston i was not aware that such an oasis existed in Negril; I plan to return simply because I love the environment and the interaction.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperMike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thankyou os much for the review, it was really great having you two here, even if you did not run the Reggae Marathon after all! Looking forward to seeing more of you both in the future and will get my bicycle ready next time so I join in some of your adventures. One Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was in Negril for a week. Sue is a gracious and friendly host who made me feel very welcome. The cottages are secluded in the hills but convenient to all the beaches, restaurants, and sights of Negril and the West End of Jamaica. Sue was very helpful in guiding me.

I was traveling alone but I felt like I immediately made friends with Sue and her guests, who were from all parts of the earth. It was a real pleasure. I would choose to stay here again and would suggest it to my friends.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your review, it was a real pleasure to have you here too. I too love that the Judy House property attracts such a mixture of people from so many parts of the world. Lots of learning and lots of fun too. One Love ..... Sue x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Roots Bamboo
Roots Bamboo
#13 of 53 in Negril
64 reviews
2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#35 of 81 in Negril
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villas Sur Mer
Villas Sur Mer
#3 of 53 in Negril
167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#38 of 81 in Negril
484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Negril Beach Club
Negril Beach Club
#22 of 53 in Negril
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judy House Cottages and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judy House Cottages and Rooms

Address: Westland Mountain Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Price Range: $24 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Judy House Cottages and Rooms 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Judy House Cottages and Rooms 2 pretty, private, self-catering cottages & a private double garden room with ensuite are surrounded by the most beautiful tropical garden, with flowers and fruits in abundance. The cosy cottages have veranda; private patio; hammock; safe; monitor; free Netflix and wifi. Everything you should need to make your cottage your home whilst in Jamaica! Added last year is also a cute double private garden room with ensuite. Nestling at the back of the secure property is my Backpacker Hostel, 8 bed, 5 basic rooms sharing kitchens, bathrooms. Communal areas for hostel & cottage guests are provided to meet people from all over the world. Free WiFi for all and a well stocked private 'Honesty' bar/shop is provided 24/7's. Set in a real local, friendly community giving you the chance to experience the real Jamaica, with shops, restaurants, bars & Mary's Bay Beach on the One Love Drive at the end of the road. Tourist facilities just a walk away or taxi ride away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Judy House Cottages and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judy House Cottages Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing